(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

Dsii,
sound like my nephew. Dun know how they can turn in the sarong hor.

My ger guai guai, lay face up, she never even attempt to turn in the sarong.

My boy hor, must sleep sideway in the sarong. Stime he will attempt to turn then i turn him back and give him a light smack and put the bean pillow on his tummy so he wun do it again.

May be boys are like that har... hahaha..

Dsii, sometimes my baby also like that, but he doesnt rotate 360 lah... he just keep shaking his head violently. If i put him once he show signs to sleep then he will guai guai, if i let him fuss or drag his awke time then its harder for me. I also "hin" last night i couldnt sleep, keep thinking of ways to make bb drink milk.

Hong, I go to this GP at healthway near my place... but he was aPD before at the polyclinic...and is very detail with my baby... that's the reason why i know he's not drinking and sleeping enough... i ask him what other methods to make him drink, dont think he offer any solution, he just keep asking me to try. he thinks its ok since he's not underweight and looks quite chubby, but i think every mum will be concern...

lok: my boy's nipple sometimes inverted and sometime normal leh.

Thanks blessings for the priority!

Hong, my boy too, likes to sleep sideways and will turn and turn his head violently until he gets his correct comfortable position. sometimes its quite funny to see him like that. Hahaha

Blessings, Hong,
Think I am getting the world map one too to put in the car. Double confirm with hubby tonight then order.

Re: Humidifier
We bought the EuroAce one from Best Denki. Also $199. But this one comes with a silver nano anti-bacterial thing, so we got it instead of novita. So far quite good. My boy's nose not so stuffy and skin better liao. My throat also not so dry in the morning.

Hi Hong, I still considering which to get. Btw, if buy from SSW also got discount is it or need to have BP then got discount?

Eh.. I heard hor.. if 1st bb suck hand means next one girl? if suck toes mean next one boy?? dun know true or not ley

Hi Lok,
hee..hee..dun really understand ur description leh, so dunno if it's consider creeping or not...paisey.

Wah, think I also wanna go library borrow books for bb liao. So those with 'P' in the coding is meant for bb huh? Btw, did any mummies recieved a coupon from National Library. Can collect free gift for our bb. I haven't collect yet.

Ya, the textured softbooks are very useful, but also very EX! Cost about $28/book. But comes with sound. I bought it from Popular. My gal also won't fuss in the car anymore. Cos I trained her to sit in the carseat since day 1. Last time used to b WAR! But now, she'll just look out of the win & doze off. Think lots of things really need to train from the start, cos bb can learn things very fast.

hong, PM
ya loh..dunno why they can do stunts int he sarong..but on bed..like so difficult ( lucky difficult, if not i more cham, hahaha)...then twist and turn...then cry for nothing...

Flashcards,
I seens some flashcards from Popular. But all of them are meant for 1yr & above leh...Is it necessary to buy for our bb now? Or story books are more suitable?

YB - I bought one set just to try it out, my Bb likes Aeroplane but when it comes to Muffin he start to show faces and fuss liao, means he doesnt like muffin? Hahaha i also dunno.

Recently im more into teether. He has 4 of them liao...

Hi Dsiitan,
Wah, so amazing. Ur boy can turn in the sarong. I think even for adults also very diff to manage this feat.

Hi Hong,
Yah, saw Mini-Toons selling these mats rolled up. So actually wat does a floormat do?

Hi Jul04,
The EuroAce humidifier is from which country? I'm also keen to get one cos every yr will definitely have haze.

YB,

A bit difficult to understand hor. The long & short of it is that though he's the smallest size in the family, he needs the whole queen size bed cos he rotates 360 degree and goes off in all directions. Not safe to put him on the bed anymore.

I saw the books at popular too. Very tempted to buy.

Yah, look for those with "P". The "JP" ones are for toddlers. Didn't collect the gift too cos Bishan community library dun hv it.

Flashcards:
Personally, I didn't buy any flashcards for bb, only do stories. If u read the June thread, there are many mummies who are fans of Glen Doman / Shichida where they advocate flashcards. Sounds very chim and ex leh. Depends on whether u believe or not. I'm not fully convinced, always think to myself: how many of us grew up with flashcards, especially since our parents' generation are mostly slogging away? Are we really worse off?

You can read this thread too( http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/567198.html#POST2291073) I particularly like this line from one of the mummies " Along the same theme, I've also borrowed a book titled "Einstein Never Used Flash Cards: How Our Children Really Learn -- And Why They Need to Play More and Memorize Less" from the National Library."

fruitee,
err, most babies suck their hands 1st right????

Hi PM,
Haa..haa...mayb ur boy wants to become pilot next time. Erhh...y need to buy so many teether huh? I only got 1 from Bkk. Very cheap. Less then S$1.

Btw, Jetstar Asia has promotion now cos of their 2nd anniversary. One-way $2 tix to Bkk, Phuket, Vietnam. $22 to Hkk, Tw etc. Book now till 17 Nov & travel anytime from Jan 07 - Jun 07.

Me thinking of going Bkk next yr to stock up on bb's stuff again. Cos really cheap. Their bb's clothings $0.60/pc.

!!! I dunno what's the F*ing wrong with my BIL. My BB is sleeping and he is blowing his hair in the room. It's not the first time, eberytime he has to wake my boy up. He has a hair dryer in his room and doesnt use it, is it because his own daugher is sleeping inside??? *Fuming mad* My MIL is struggling with baby E now.

YB,

that's a good one. Anyway, i tell this "joke" to mummies here to illustrate how illogical some of these old wives' tale are. Funny right?

YB,

I think air purifier is better if you want to "clean" the air due to haze. A few good brands like Osim, Sharp, Tiger etc. For humidifier, it gives out water vapour so that the air will not be dry esp in air-con room.

Jul,
Any pics to show me? Is it in compact size?

PM,
does yr bb likes the teether? thot of buying too cos he likes to pop anything into his mouth when it comes in contact with his hands. Should buy those that can cool in the fridge or normal ones?

YB,
EuroAce made in Korea. Think the one you thinking of is air purifier like what blessings mention?

Blessings,
Aiya, my camera in the car. It's a rectangular box size. I think more compact than the novita one. Measurements: H12"xW9"xD7"

YB,
where is the Jetstar promo? I go into the website but didnt see leh..I wanna go HK...
u got the site. can give me.

Blessings, yah he likes teether... he also puts everything in his mouth, and tries to manipulate his pacifer so i tot of giving him teether. I bought so many coz my hubby doesnt like thr first two, coz he think it will make his mouth big. dudz

Hi Lok,
Wah, really not safe to put ur boy on the bed alone. My gal still okay, cos she's too busy watching TV on bed to move all over...haa..haa..sometimes she gets too distracted by the TV that she doesn't wanna finish her milk. I'm so angry that I have to switch the TV off.

Flashcards,
I have a friend who paid about $100 for each set of flashcards. Got English & chinese per set. She swears by them & claimed that her boy recognise & picked up words very fast when he's still very young. Dunno how true it is. The flashcards I saw from Popular is cheap. Less than $10. But it's smaller in size. And it's coloured. Not just Black/red/white.

YB,

U still need the pigeon bottles or not? If so, I see whether can pass to hong tomorrow.

Dsii,

U still need the protein powder ??

Hi PM,
Oh dear..mayb u need to talk to ur BIL? I personally dun keep quiet around my gal, even when she's sleeping. Cos I dun wan her to b able to sleep only in a quiet environment. I'll still do my chores, play MJ & open/slam the door while she's asleep. Tat way, she can still sleep when it's noisy. But that's just me...

I got my bb's clothings from this forum's mktplace lor...there's a also a shop in Kovan selling mainly children's clothings. Very nice & wide variaty. $5/pc & up.

Hi Blessing/Jul04,
Is air purifier cheaper or ex then humidifier?

Teether,
It's better to buy those that can be cooled in the fridge as it's more soothing for bb who's teething...cos the coolness can soothe their aching gums.

Hi Hong,
Just select the date u wanna go on the website, then u'll know if that particular date got the $2/$22 promotional tix. I've chk for Apr & May 07, some days have the $2 tix, but popular days(i.e. Fri & weekends) dun have.

oh lok...ya protein powder..hahhaa...me now taking the fenugreek leh...i think if finish the bottle...i need then i ask u to get for me..can?? paiseh leh....

YB,

That's why i say depends on whether u believe or not. I watched a tv program (think it's called xin xin ma ma) and the lady was telling an anecdote abt a boy who is abt to identify all the "transportation" flashcards. But cannot associate it with the real things (i.e. cannot tell it's a bus when he sees the real thing). So her point is it's important to let them experience different things in the real world.

Btw, Shichida method has a free 1-hr preview this Saturday at 11am (Springleaf Tower). If interested, can register and listen for yourself. I'm going just to find out what this SM is all abt. Maybe my viewpoint will change after this.

YB,

My dad is back from Germany (he rarely does). Want to play with his grandson during weekends, so family time. Next time then we meet ok?

dsii,

OK, no problem.

Hong,

Are u home tomorrow afternoon or evening?

blessings,
Do you mean the NH 659? the link only brings me to novita site. we were comparing that with the EuropAce one also. Size wise the Novita one is longer sideways. As I mentioned earlier, we went with EuropAce mainly because of the silver nano antibacterial filter.

YB,
Think purifier is cheaper. Whichever one you get depends on the purpose you want it for. Purifier - to clean air, Humidifier - to moisten the air esp in air con room.

Hi Blessings,
I think the Power Consumption of the model is very impt if we gonna on it every night. Are all the models available in S'pore?

Hi Lok,
I agree with you. When I was contemplating to buy the flashcards, I asked my hubby what's the difference by teaching with flashcards & the real thing. I.e. by sitting bb at the win & pointing out the vehicles vs pointing out at the flashcards. So in the end, we decided not to buy cos I think it's more intersting to learn by looking & feeling the real thing. I.e visiting the supermarket & learning about fruits & vegs etc...

My nephew used to sit by the win everyday looking at the cars driving by. He was so facsinated with them that he can sit there for hours everyday. Even when he's travelling in the car, he'll b busy looking out the win. He learnt about cars, bus, motorbikes etc this way.

But mayb some mummies prefer to teach by using flashcards cos bb can also learn to recognise the words/spellings? But is our bb too young now to learn the words & spellings?

hee..hee..This sat got gathering leh. So I can't go. U go for the talk, then let us know, okay?

hong,

YB wants my pigeon bottles. I'm thinking of passing to u tmr since old airport near my in-laws' place at circuit rd. U in tmr?

Lok,
when will be ard my area tmr? I will be on leave tmr to register my ger in the kindergarten ard morning 10am - 11am.

I shld be ard in the nite time. U sms me?

Flash card - really depend on mummy.
Cos some of the objects we dun really see it often so can only show them picture lor. The flashing is more like creating photoXXX memory.. (sorry i dun know wat term they call that).

I used to show my ger flash card, send her to lesson that have flash card. Hmmm got some effect but later stop and i show her pic on books. I think as they grow older. flash card may not work that well anymore.

I believe if the kids wanna learn, u cant stop them. If they are not interested, u cant force them.

YB,

I dunno whether they are too young to learn spelling or not. But the educators believe that all babies are geniuses and love to learn. The key is consistency (not 3 min enthusiam). Take myself for example: I grew up in the Netherlands, spoke Dutch until I'm 6 yrs old. Stopped there and now I have no recollection of those early years and definitely hv forgotten the language!!

blessings,
Ya. better to go take a look and compare. things to consider - tank capacity, how many hours a full tank last, coverage - in conjunction with how many hours you will keep it on overnight, how big is your room. Others like power consumption, filter cost, ability and how frequent need to change may also be impt to you.

Hi Lok,
Haa..haa..I understand wat u mean. I have the same exp too. Used to speak dialect with my grandparents when I was young till 6yrs old. Then after going to sch, forgotten all about the language. Till now, I dun even understand nor speak a single dialect. Which I think is a handicap cos I dun understand at all when the elders r talking. Hee..hee..even when they're scolding me.

Hi hi...

just now went to the library n met George Bush!! hahah but main thing is alot of handsome body guards!! :p

Lok - i am also going for the SM talk on sat. see u there.

Flashcards - it not only for babies to recongise the object. but by flashing fast, it will trigger right brain thinking. of cos, cannot just depends on cards. actual experience still the most impt. so going to zoo, bird park etc are still v impt n nice experiences

GD/SM actually started off for retarded kids. they managed to teach brain damanged kids how to read/maths etc. since it's so successful, they start to use the same mtd on normal kids as well. think tat's why so "popular"