(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

Hi mums,

YB - my boy tear the house today when I tried to let him sleep on his own. I cant take it, whenever he cries - the parrot make noise (and its very loud) the dog is angry and barks at the parrot. Can u imagine how noisy it is with 3 loud "instrutments" simultaneously "playing". Once again, i broke down and gave up........ but this time I tried Fruitee's method.. cool myself down before i went into the room to pick him up. Baby E didnt stop to hear me.. instead I cried together with him and I think he feels it and stop for awhile and gave me that innocent look.. really melts my heart.... i smiled back at him with my teary eyes..

Hb doesnt know all these .. and i wonder if he knows i m going thru all of them by myself.. super tired end of the day u know....... SIGH!

Kin - Sorry to hear that yr BB is not well. Hope she'll do better! Take care yah..

Mich - Nice to see u too! =) My chairs are OSS, so went home without the chairs.. but not empty handed thou..hehehe.. bought from Robinson and Fox Baby... *delighted*

Lok
oic...wonder when then should let them sleep on pillow leh

mich
huh breasts sag ah? cant imagine my turn if not BFing liao

u start to hv migraine after u go back to work? or last time oso hv? muz really rest ah

Oc/Lok - My boy has 4 pillows. I also dunno what to do with them. 2 beansprouts, one babysafe (w the hole), 1 from those gift pack. I usually use the beansprout ones, coz heavier. one to tuck behide his body (to support when he sleep sideways) and one for him to hug... but by morning, we wil be hugging each other n the pillow all over the places.
Day time - i use only 1 beansprout pillow to rest on his tummy when he's sleeping in the rocker.

PM
u are not alone! i carry bb whole day, cant even eat proper meals n super tired...my hubby dunno wat i go thru in d day oso n he has been working late this week.

nowadays i give up doin hsework oso, only do laundry. n i log in here to maintain sanity if not whole day besides bb nobody else to talk to.

but agree, when they give u dat innocent helpless look as if u r d only one they can rely on, u jus melt...

hope your new place will be ready soon so dat u will hv a more peaceful environment without disturbance from d animal farm! jia you!

PM
wah so many pillows ah?
my ger has 1 bolster too but she like dunno how to hug it yet

your boy sleeps long in d rocker during d day? im still trying out where is d best place to let my ger nap in d day

Sometimes I wanna cry, in fact I think i'm very weak, i cry most of the time.... and at the slightest thing.
ure right, thank god there's this forum around, else i think i be one of those depressed mummies...........

I always tell Baby E we stay in a farm.. hahaha.. i did a count... i stay with 11 birds, 1 parrot, 1 dog, and 7 fishes...

yeah TGIF tmr! who says SAHMs cant look forward to d wkend as well. we too have a demanding job mon to fri ok, n our boss is d little one. tho im not really off work during wkends but at least i hv others to help out abit, better than nothing. n can go out gai gai..yeah!

Yup, i only bought Babysafe one, the rest all gifts or made. yah.. got a FP's rocker as a gift, so i let him sleep in there.... realise he sleeps longer in the rocker (at most 1 hr) than in the bed (10mins) maybe can rock him and its cooler to sleep in the rocker. When he's awake i attached the toy and he plays with them for awhile..

i thought u got yao lan at home?

OC - good you can go gai gai and hb to help u. To me, weekend no diff, in fact maybe i dont like weekend too, coz many ppl in the malls and makes me hate to go out. U SAHM? Where u stay? Maybe can meet weekdays...

Mummies, have u all taken a close look at yr nipples??

I think mine looks very wrinkled n dry, like a raisin. BF is #@$@ makes my nipple look old and breast so sag!

PM
OMG! really animal farm leh...

ya i never thot i can be stretched to my limits but yet still can go on cos of bb. hv to keep reminding myself to be strong, take it easy n relax.

maybe try let your HB know how u feeling sometimes? let him sayang u abit

PM
ya me SAHM staying at pasir ris, quite near SK
but i dunno how to go there...

y u wkends no diff?

ya i think i might try put her in yao lan agn cos she used to be able to sleep longer on my bed but recently dunno wat happen, same lor like 10 mins wake up liao

Hi PM, My mum also tell me not to stress up and "fan qin song". Not easy.. I know.. But I'm just wondering what stopping you from letting your hubby know what you been going through? Is it you dun wan to burden him with house stuff? During my 3 months confinement when I'm at home I will tell my hubby what I went through. Alothough he's not able to help much since he needs go work, but I felt much better after telling him. Maybe you can try to share with him what happened but let him know you just need ot talk to someone.

There are many places with not many people during weekends - such as Great world city, i like go paragon and I juz discover a place at Cantonment Road for coffee. You might want to try to look at places that you never been to and go there with family. I like to watch those shows like "HDB tai tai" etc.. where they recommend different place. The cantonment road place was recommended by the show by Michelle, and another 2 hosts (forgot their names).

Maybe we can start a thread to discuss about places to go during weekend.

PM,
I also agree with Lucida. U shld share with hubby how u feel. Dun just kept it to urself.

Lucida,
I am so tired going out with two kids. I dun know where my energy gone to.

me hor also tired once think of bringing 2 boys out alone...unless hb ard...if not i rather confine at home..hahahahaha

dsii,
even if hubby come along. Infact hubby come along all the time, i cant bring both out alone.

I feel to tire today. I wonder why.

but one thing good abt bringing babies out for gai gai - they will be very tired and will sleep more soundly at nite.

oc
My boy had stopped using beansprout pillows long time ago cos it is too light. I tried putting a normal adult pillow on him and he kicked it off within 5 mins. But he is sleeping on the pillow with a hole in it.

It's not a good thing tat our little ones know how to flip. My son tends to flip even when he is sleeping. Then he will wake up blur blur and start crying in the flipped position.

Hong
I feel tired everyday...I think if continue like this, taking care of baby at nite and working in the day, I will look 10yrs older in no time...

Mich,
Are u looking after Xaria urself at nite?

Hi Yenny, That's what I worry too. Thinking of taking those antioxidant supplement, such as pine bark extract, but dun know can or not as I still BFing.

hi mummies, kinda new to this forum, was looking thru at all of your post.. Sigh, me suffering the same thing. My 4 mths old baby dunno why recently keep crying in the MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT. Is really those loud and red face cry. No matter how i pacify him also cannot, he got a very bad temper. The more i put pacifier, the angrier he becomes and cry even louder. I wanna try the CRY IT OUT method but i think my in laws will keep knocking at my door when that happens. Sometimes it frustrates me whenever bb cry they will keep asking me. Already very frustrated still have to entertain their questions!!! Before he sleeps he also cry until very jialat then will fall asleep. I dunno is it a bad habit or what. I realise at night sometimes he can't seems to find the right position. I put him on his side but he will tend to squirm around until land face up then he will cry. I really dunno what to do, just this morning he woke up at 7.30am when i'm really tired, so i scolded him AFTER patting him for 2 hrs! Very angry at that moment coz really peck chek, pat so long he still don't wanna sleep, somemore throw tantrums at me. I so frustrated until i cry. Hubby doesn't know coz everytime i tell him i very tired, he will also say he also tired coz working outside. But i feel that i'm more tired lo, imagine like 24/7 looking after someone who can't talk, only know how to cry to communicate... sighhhhh. just wanna let out my frustrations here.. or else i really going to kee siao liaooooooo!!!!!!!

Lucida,
Currently I am taking chicken essence in tablet form. Hopefully will help to perk me up. I realise tat the dark rings below my eyes are getting darker and darker, scared will become permanent.

Mrs. T
My boy oso cries loudly when he is sleepy. Normally wat i'll do is to give him pacifier, let him sleep sideway, hugging a bolster and pat him on his back and buttock. This helps him to calm down and he will doze off after tat.

Now the only thing tat is keeping me sane is my job which i am in control.

Mrs T, Lucida,
My baby also fuss and cry loudly whenever he want to sleep. I did just like what Lucida do. It works. If still cannot, I will carry him, and pat him on his back and buttock, and sing song, and slowly he will sleep. The baby can sense it if we are peck chek, and he will cry more.

Hallo mummies!! Haven;t been able to join in though i always open up this page to know what's going on and abt the latest & hottest topics u mummies are discussing.. Hope u mummies are doing fine.

Had a week off this week n times flies.. suppose to do so many things during this break (i'll be back to work next week.. sob!), but in the end most of my time is spend wif my litttle one...haiz and yeah!!..

PM, not only our breasts and nipples are looking weird, i realise there are alot of clothes i can;t wear, can;t buy! due to the bras I'm wearing (the supporting type, wif huge bands) and the breasts will expand as the milk comes in... haiz... so shape revealing top cannot wear too! I am those who prefer not too huge breasts de.. cos i hav huge shoulders, so if hav big breasts will look weird..and now i look weird, i dun like the newvound cleveage too!

OC, my bb already sleeping on pillow since birth leh.. he started wif the babysafe pillow (the one wif the hole in the middle) then now normal bb pillow. in fact we change it, cos i realise he hated the babysafe pillow.. maybe not comfy.

Like hong mentioned, did u try pacifier? cannot do without it.. if without.. will hav to endure his loud cries till he managed to fall asleep. its the easy way out..:p

Kin, hope ur bb getting better already...

Mich, 6hrs of sleep.. not bad already... i always only hav 5hrs when i worked... cos must wake up early to pump milk... very sian...

blessing, my boy also pass motion on alternate days now.. i think as long as he is drinking enuf.. shld be ok...

missmoon, my bb also haven;t flip.. his head and body is already capable of turning.. i think his buttocks too heavier.. just cannot flip over.. guess i hav to be more patient. he dun even like to lie down on his tummy.. thot it'll be good to train his arms, legs n neck.. haiz

Got a qn.. any of ur bb's face turn red when drinking milk? my bb face turns red.. patches of red on the face only when drinking milk.. initially i thot its my BM, but then realise even when on formula also like this. However the redness will go away by itself after abt a minute or so.. very weird.. he is not comfy or anything.. poo poo also seems normal..

Hi OC,
I dun hve a problem wif the beansprout pillow cos my gal sleep on her tummy. If u gal can kick the pillow away, then better dun use already. Else she might cover her face wif it.

Regarding bb sleeping on their own, I also believe in not letting bb cry for too long else they might suck in more air. So at most 30mins, then I'll pick her up. But if ur gal is intermidiate crying or just whinning, then should be no prob.

Hi PM,
Sorry to hear about ur prob. I dun hve pets at hm so I dun have such probs. Do u think u can leave ur bb alone in the room to cry out & leave a small gap at the doorway so u can still know wat's happening inside?

Dun b too urgent letting ur bb sleep alone on ur 1st try. Like I said, my gal took about more than 1 wk to get used to the method. Even NOW, once a while, she'll still cry a bit b4 sleeping. Pick ur bb up if u feel he's crying for too long. Mother's instinct is the best. Slowly, but surely, things will get better. Dun give UP!!!

Hi PM,
U cannot compare with me leh...hee..hee...I got 8bolsters, 3 pillows & 1 beansprout pillow...haa..haa...some hand-down from my sis. Right now, I use the beansprout pillow to put on my gal's back (she sleeping on tummy)& 2 bolsters on both sides so she won't move sideways.

Hi Mrs. T,
Does ur bb has colic? My gal used to cry everynight from 9pm to 12midnight. Rocking, carrying her doesn't help at all. Then I gave her Infacol (for colicky bb), then she ok. Mayb u wanna try?

I understand abt ur fustration, cos I'm also a SAHM. And I really vent my anger at hubby, friends, family etc. Until I feel resentment against my gal. My hubby then try to spend more time wif me, bring me out, ask friends over for MJ etc, then now I feel better. Luckily, we can log on to tis forum to chat to maintain our sanity else I feel tat I'm being locked up in jail.

Yenny, Jas:

thx for your advice.. BUT BUT BUT!!!!! i also normally put him sleep on side, then pacifier then pat pat pat pat pat pat pat (endlessly). He will keep mumbling and after that flip over and gets frustrated! For the first 3 months i was swaddling him tight tight until the past 2 weeks then i start to 'realease' him and let him freestyle. I dunno is it he not use to being unswaddled. but he's rather long? (70cm!) to be swaddled and doc don't suggest i do that anymore. ARGGG!!!! total lost...

YB:
I consult doc abt his crying is it due to colic. Doc says he's 4 months old liao, if still have colic would be rather unusual. USually colic last until bb's first 3 months. Maybe i should give him colic drops. I'm using Dentinox or smtg.

Mrs T - maybe give gripewater? heard it helps too.

also for swaddling... just swaddle the hands part... legs can free it loh. slowly "free" him. maybe he not used to it.

Mrs T, u need to swaddle the hands?

I let my boy wear the sleeping bag / grobag when he sleep so he get his feet over. Cos i sleep in aircon room.

YB,
Yah most bb shld not have colic at 4th month old.

Like misaryeo's bb. My boy also sleep on normal pillow. He also dun like the babysafe flat pillow. Sometime he enjoy more on his jie jie babysafe pillow for older kid.

Yenny,
i took Tian Qi pao sheng pill to peak me up but i forget to take today. I feel i left my mind at home.

Hi Hong,

You have the grobag? Is it good? I feel like getting it but am afraid its too warm. These days my girl like to lift her legs up during her sleep, so the blanket may just cover her face over...

hi everyone! anybody knows where to get d electric motor to be attached to yao lan? me typing with one hand n d other hand pulling d yao lan now cos if stop my ger will wake up.

misaryeo
sigh...if only my ger can be pacify by pacifier, tried diff shapes n sizes oredi but she dun wan, only wan d mummy's 2 human pacifiers...

yenny
wow your boy flips during sleep as well!?
ya at least bring them out better than stay home whole day then they dun sleep eyes big big look at u

OC,
u can get the electric Yao Lan at Kiddy place.

may,
i didnt get the grobag, too exp. They selling like $70. I got mine from kiddy palace. I paid $30++ for mine. Material is suitable for spore weather and quite comfortable inner.

I think the "sleeping bag" is gd cos can cover my boy feets and i dun have to worry that he will kick off his blanket.

U go and have a look. They selling two is pack, cheaper than one pc. So if any mummies interested u can split the cost.

Mrs T,
ya agree with MTDT,maybe bb feels insecure when suddenly not being swaddled.

btw my niece used to be like dat oso, suddenly cry very loud in d middle of d nite like genah frightened or have nitemare. moreover she sleeps sarong. maybe u can oso try let bb take a bit of d "jin feng san" from chinese medical hall, see if it helps?

may
my ger oso likes to lift her legs high high then drop it down with a loud thud!

YB
thanks! will slowly try out

PM
think easiest way to get to SK is by cab!
no mrt difficult...

misaryeo
ya cant seem to wear a lot of clothes if wearing nursing bra

Hi OC,

HAHHAA....both our girls are alike...my girl likes to drop both legs so hard that the playpen shakes. My mum also complained that she likes to do it when changing diapers...Hahha

Hi Hong,
Tks for the info. I'll go kiddy palace and buy..

jia you!!! i'm back from my treatment. didn't know that ultrasound can be used to treat inflammation as well. Interesting..

My boy not so lucky, doesn't sleep in aircon room cos his parents don't sleep well when it's cold & dry. No issue with blanket for me. He doesn't need any pillows leh. At nite when he sleeps, it's as if he is "surrendering" with both hands up (quite comical).

SAHM, can understand your frustrations. I used to feel it too. Please share with your husbands, sometimes they take it for granted. Now that I shuttle to & from my in laws' place, it feels better. Am also very grateful to find this forum, so informative & make many new friends! Those of u reading the June thread will know that I found my classmate, neighbour's SIL and colleague there!

HIGH CHAIR
I'm starting to look around for one. Anyone can advise what are the main considerations?

OC,
yah just the motor

BTW, i have a nursing top that i only wore once. Anyone interested? I sell it off cheap cheap.

may
ya wonder if they are playing with their legs or wat
...so u intend to buy sleeping bags for your bb? dat means bb wear sleepsuit/PJ inside then plus d sleeping bag is it?

my hubby must sleep air con also. i read from a book dat after covering bb with blanket, u can try tuck d sides of d blanket into 2 edges of d cot mattress to keep it in place so minimise chances of them kicking away, u know wat i mean?

yenny
haha...can understand your concern! mummies,any suggestions to prevent Xavier from flipping at nite?

Lok
ya interesting...ultrasound to treat inflammation...

re:high chair
its abt time i start lookin for one too! any other options? bumbo seat/booster chair??

Hi Yenny,

Your girl so sooooo pretty!! SHe has high cheek bones!! I have high cheek bones but someone my girl doesnt inherit that from me....Sigh. Is she also 3 month old? She can lift her head up alrady? My girl too lazy to lift her head up like yours...