(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

Fruitee,
Alfred will pay more attention to the tv programme when we switch on tv leh.. jia lut.. i think he likes to see things moving fast.. then he will get excited..

missmoon,
my mum said hair grows after shave will be nicer leh.. u wan to consider to shave off your boy's eyebrow? keke..

joline
then how after the 15 cards..then how??? then this 15 cards must show for how long b4 we change to a new set leh? aiyo..these stuff is making me headache liao..joline..hehehe...maybe if u dun mind can email me how to go abt it...thks ah!!!!

hong...got file very big..must resize...then i show u...

Is it that do the flashcard everytime when baby is awake?? I kind of feel guilty as I think the total time I interact with baby for one day is at most 1 or 2 hours (accumulate) exc. feeding time. I find it very diffuclt and dun know what to do with baby when he's awake. Usually I put him by himself and when he cry for attention I go to him for awhile, play with his hands and legs for awhile and leave him by himself again... I find it really tiring to entertain him all the time.. What are your practices when you are with baby?

Joline
Kayden dun like flash cards.. but like watching TV... that day SCV show "Feng shen pang", he stared hard at the TV... then baby estein, he also watch.. that one at least can get his attention for quite sometime!

Hong
My mum mix with alot of water to make it quite watery, guess it's ok and he still poo twice everyday... so i think it's ok loh... tried changing to Nan but he still dun wan ley... haiz..

REgarding the brown rice thinggi, my mum did that for my sis baby. My aunties also mix brown rice water with FM for her children. Her 2 children (boy) in secondary school now and really big size.. but strong lar.

Hi Joline,
Ya, I know..cos my friend also engage the professionals to shave the hair & do 'tai mao bi'...Do u know tat City Sq, JB has a pushcart promoting 'tai mao bi' too? My friend went to check it out & found that the price is about 60%-70% lower than the services in S'pore.

Somemore, the material is also the same. Just tat they can't go to ur hse to shave the hair. U must cut a bit of the hair then pass to them to do the pen.

Flash Card:
I think it's fine to start now, just dun spend too much time on it cos bb will get bored easily. Once a day should b enough....Should look at the long term effect...

Hi peachsorbet,
Didn't know that the peristaltic teats have normal bottles? Where did u saw it? But the teats r so big, dun think can fit in normal bottles leh...

Hi Lok,
Would appreciate if u can give me the pigeon wide neck bottles. Didn't know tat Pigeon has tis promotion..do u know if the promotion is still ON now?

hi YB

pigeon have new product. peristalic teats that fit normal bottles. not the wide bottle ones that you have. bought the new teats and seems to fit normal pigeon bottles though they have a new type of bottle to go with it.

i was reading the aug mummies threads just now. Wa, the more i read the more stressed i am.. Their babies only 4 months old and they are already showing them chinese, maths and english flashcards! And they are sending them to SM and Julia Gabriels...Stressed! Now i realise wat a lazy mum I am.

For me i find for flash cards whether have or dun have flash cards oso same.

Bcoz my elder gal i oso neba use any flash cards, her study so far so gd.

Sometimes i find that its like gimmicks oso, trying to like earn the parents money noeing nowadays parents all very kan cheong for our kids.

My hb uncle & auntie living example, spend so much money send the kid for this class that class, den now the kid refuse to study bcoz too stress up by the parents.

Den my auntie oso like dat, kan cheong, den haiz her son now authistic. refuse to talk. very cham.

For me, i let nature takes it course. Bcoz ultimately everything will come to the same. We lay the path for our children but its their decision to walk the path or not.

YB, the normal peristaltic teats can be used with any normal sized bottles (eveen thou e packaging states tt it muz b used with some specific pigeon bottle). im using that for Germayn now. Bought the teats frm taka. Think it's 2 for $4+ if i nv remember wrongly.

Re: flashcards
I bought a set for e twins when they were abt 6 months old. Till now, mabbe i only showed them 5 times. haha.

Kin, i think i understand ur anger when ur maid keeps putting ur gal in the sarong.. my in laws used to do tt also.. then they yao2 until very jialat one.. they'll put one thin mattress on the floor below the sarong, and yao until my boy's head hit the mattress.. so my boy's head kept hitting the mattress.. then i think i prob told them 100 times to not yao2 so da4 li4. then i felt like hitting my FIL's head on the floor for 20 times see how he feels. then smmore my boy will be crying and crying. then the more he cries, the harder they'll yao2, and the harder they yao2, the more he'll cry. damn jialat.. then i always have to take over, and yao2 slowly and talk to my boy and he'll be fine. sometimes im so afraid tt my older boy and gal will have brain damage. and it's sad tt well..i still need my in laws' help.. so no choice.. but at least now things are better.. cos my boy doesnt like to slp in the sarong anymore.. and for my elder gal she still slps in the sarong.. but they dont yao2 so hard now.

I think it's the parent's attitude that determines whether the child likes to read.. If you read GD book, he stresses the teaching technique without testing the kids with the knowledge.. our purpose of flashing the words to bb is to introduce them the words, not forcing them to learn.. and of course not to ask them to memorize and test them like what we've gone thru during our schooling time...
If you have the same mindset, bb shouldn't feel any stress throughout the whole learning process..

Joline,
wat u said is right. If bb doesnt want to learn, we cannot force them at all. For our bb now, we can flash some repeated pattern that come in black, red and white. More to stimulate the brain. We can start the words when the bb can sit up on their own.

For flashing of pattern card, only let the bb see the pattern card for 10sec then change to the next one.

For bb who can sit up, the flashing timing shld be faster.

We actually tried on my daughter, sent her BJG for class and when the teacher flashed 10 over pictures card and asked her which is XXX object. She is able to point out.

i would like to gathering all the July mummies information and form a JULY 06 mummy club.

I wanna keep a contact list so i could or whoever organised the next gathering could send u email or sms.

If u wanna join the club. Do email me ur details to [email protected]

Under this format, once consolidated. i will send all "members" a copy.

1) Nick
2) Mummy/Daddy's Name
3) Mummy/Daddy DOB
4) Baby Name
5) BB's Gender
6) BB's DOB
7) Home Address
8) Mobile
9) Email address (pls provide the one that u always check)

Sorry, i wanna clarify something.

for
2) Mummy/daddy name
3) Mummy/daddy DOB.

Like Z-lia, u only need to provide me ur real name and DOB. Cos we have daddy in the thread like liverpool so i added "/daddy"

So dun provide me ur hubby detail hor.

Z-lia, i will only take down ur detail. Hee

Hi Z-Lia,
I tried fitting the peristaltic teats onto the normal pigeon bottle just now..But cannot fit in leh..the teats are too wide...My peristaltic teats come with the wide neck bottle given free when I bought the steriliser. R we talking about the same teats? Or I have to buy another type of peristaltic teat to fit in the normal pigeon bottle?

Can provide me urs and bb surname when u provide me ur info?

I have replied those with missing data.

I realised 1 mummy borned at the same yr, same month, same day as me and we have the same english name..

1 mummy bday at xmas, 1 at national day. hee hee.. WHO? wait till i send all the list ok.

YB... not sure if kiddy palace carries d peristaltic teats for d normal bottles

hmm.. thread posting move too fast.. who's d one with d insurance info? haiz.. my little girl failed her hearing test.... was gettin prudential insurance for her.. but with all this complications n d insurance advisor not so experienced.. prudential like taking so long to get back to us.. can pass me some info? v stressed up bout this..

Thx Fruitee...

Just now my gal woke up at 1.30pm since last night...dunno if I should wake her up next time, since she has slept for 14.5hrs? Then after feeding & batheing her, she cranky & wanna go back to sleep at 2.30pm....How? I'm getting a bit concern.

But she has no problems in feeding leh...she'll cry for milk every hour after 6pm till she sleeps at abt 10.30pm. Think she's storing up for the long sleep.

Peach,
are u bringing ur girl back for the hearing review / test again?

we have 14 members now. Waiting for more.

YB,

No problem. Do u still need the bottles or getting the new teats now? I didn't follow the promo but usually see it at e.g. Isetan bb fair, Taka bb fair etc.

hong,

u got mail!

wah... bb slping on stomach really lengthen the hours of slp... tried yesterday evening, she slps for 2 hrs... trying now too... so far... 1hr plus already...

Peach
I'm the one with the insurance thingy.. u wan any info??

YB
Wah, your bb can sleep so long ah.. my boy slept barely 15mins wake up liao.. haiz.. Guess if she drinking her milk & poo-ing, everything is fine!

Eeyore
really ah?? Sleep on stomach will lengthen their sleeping hrs?? Wow, think that I gonna try liao..

eeyore,

yah lor, sometimes boy boy sleep like 5 hrs in a stretch on his tummy... they feel more secure this way. Now that he can lift his chest & head really high off the mattress, i am very comfortable leaving him to sleep on his tummy.

BB sleeping on tummy,
I let my gal sleep on tummy at night & in the day...that's y she can sleep so long...if I put her facing up or sideways, at most she can only sleep for 1hour.

Another thing is my bedroom curtain can block out sunlight. At night, when draw curtain, can't even see fingers...I think tat's y my gal can sleep so long without waking up. Cos all pitch black, nothing to distract her even if she woke up in the middle of night. So, she'll suck her fists & go back to sleep.

Hi Lok,
I'm still interested if u r willing to give away ur Pigeon wide neck bottle with teats...Otherwise, I'll have to go buy those new persitaltic teats...(trying to cut cost lah)...hee..hee...

YB,
I got a collick who let her daughter sleep in pitch dark room and from then she has to sleep in this kind of environment. Very hard for the parents to stay out slightly later. End up she cant nap outside. So there is pro and con.

Teat - as long as my son finishes his feed. I am ok with all kinds of teat but i really give up on NUK.

eeyore,
dun worry i wun include ur hubby details.

Lok,
Surprisingly my boy can sleep striaght 3hrs at nite but he very on time. will wake up every 3 hrs.

My boy only finishes all his feed in the night.
My MIL just called and told me Ju's neck is developing some rashes. She complained the NUK teat kept leaking and it is possible he is having milk rash ard his neck ard.
I told her to change, she is trying to train Ju to take other teat.

hong - brought back already.. failed again. have been seeing the kkh ent specialists.. been spending $$ after $$ on tests n more tests.

fruitee - yup.. any info would be helpful.
will need to do extra reading up i guess with the complication. no longer straight-cut type... was told premium etc. may be affected. haiz.

baby sleeping on tummy - issit safe? really wanna try.. but she keep trying to turn her head (but failing or 1/2 way will drop) when i put her on my tummy to play..

Flash Card

Ya, very true. Its the parents attitude lor. Whether want or dun want its up to us.

Dun think anyone did talk about forcing baby to read.

Hong,

I have emailed you. Thanks!

YB,

I tired to get the water retention pills from my GP, he did the same test on me and say I dun have water retention but hor oso got d white depression lehz.

Mich,
wat is d white depression.

Peach,
oh dear. Fail the test? What does that mean? Wat will happen to ur gal? She still can hear right or she need a hearing aid next time.
Both of u must have gone thur alot. What did the ENT specialist say?