(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

misaryeo,
I think so...or rather i hope so. My colleague told me her gal slept thru when she was three months old. So I'm looking forward to tat day.

Lucida,
I was exactly in ur situation 2 weeks ago. Very depressed and oso thinking of giving my son away. But now i used to the nite feeds liao. As for the baby fidgeting in his sleep, I'll sleep thru it unless he cries loudly, then i'll tend to him. When my CL left, I missed her so much. If I can afford it, I'll employ her for 6 months :p. Hang on there, his sleeping pattern will improve for the better as time goes by. U can do it!

Yb,
u mean u let ur baby sleep on the rocker 1st and then transfer her to the cot. Or u let her sleep on the rocker thru the nite?

hi lucida... thanks! i'll go to the pharmacy to check out. any side effects, do u know? btw... i also hand express leh but the amount is not enough to satisfy my girl, so i direct latch loh. just that i gotta feed more often. what problems do u face when direct latching? are you on tbf? or do u supplement with FM? cuz what i usually do is i'll give my girl FM before my sleeping time so that i can sleep slightly longer b4 it's time for her nx feed.

white lady... r u eating the ginger or juz adding it to ur confinement food but not eating it? if ur bb has jaundice, best to stay away from ginger but my PD mentioned that it's ok to have a bit of ginger in ur food, juz don't eat it.

dsii... remember that you're using a manual pump? what brand r u using? i bought a manual pump but doesn't work well for me, so sometimes hand express but v tiring! haha :p

brambles
yes..im using avent manual pump...so far ok loh...hand express? wah...me use manual pump oso handache cant imagine using just hands...

Hi White Lady,

For me, i still take ginger, moderately..
i think ginger does not really cause the aggreviation of jaundice.. as long as bb pee and poo regularly, jaundice will go away.
you did tan him on the 8-10am sun right?

brambles ,

think adding ginger into my food , like chicken cook with ginger ... cos ginger get ride of wind rite , afraid that i no eat ginger then got lot of wind in me , then still so fat =P but also scare that eat liao , the BM will have ginger , not good for baby ...

Red_ridden

i try to sun tan my baby , but there is always no sun at all , so headache ... wonder when then the jaundice will go away ... and i also dont know how to tell whether baby still have jaundice anot =?

And sometime really want to give up breast feeding , cos its so tiring ! but people always say that baby drinking breast milk is more healthy ! so dont know want to stop and give baby full FM anot ... ???

white lady, i didn't eat ginger also. but not to worry so much. if i'm not wrong, jaundice level peaks at day 7. it shld slowly go down after that. has ur baby seen the pd after day 7?

n re breastfeeding... how old is ur baby now? r u on tbf? latching on or expressing? if tiring, can supplement with 1 or 2 feeds of FM at nite so that u can sleep longer

Hi z-lia,
My pigeon bottles also come with the regulator. But how do I use it?
My gal will always leave about 0.5oz in the bottle irregardless of how much milk I make. Does this mean the teat hole is too small?

Hi Hong,
Yes, I suspect the rashes are caused when my gal play wif her saliva & rubbing her face wif the mittens. But seems that the rashes are spreading from her cheeks to her forehead & earlobs leh... I now resort to changing her mittens twice a day, hopefully will improve the situation.

Hi misaryeo,
My rocker looks like a bb carseat. There's padding inside the rocker & I added a neck support inside so it's more snudge for my gal.

Normally, wat time do u bathe ur bb? Do u wake ur bb up for bathe, or wait till they wake up on their own.
My gal always doze off during feeding & I really have no heart to wake her up for her bathe...so normally have to wait till afternoon then can bathe her.

Lucida,
I drank a bit of plain water during confinement ....room temperature (although we are suppose to drink everything warm or hot) :p the weather is too hot lah!!

Working and Staying at home:
I would still like to work but can't bear to part with Kaedi. How nice if my office can accept flexi work arrangement...sigh...

It's quite serious if u gal never poo for 4days. U should bring her see a doc. They'll prescribe some medicine to help her soften her poo.

brambles
100ml??? it takes abt 10mins for me..cos my flow quite slow....and normally if my boy drinks 100ml..abt 2 hrs later he needs another feed liao

Hi Lucida,
After my CL left, both my husband & me are not used to hearing our gal fidget so much that we're not getting enough sleep. But now, after 1 wk, we're used to it already. Normally if bb fidget or whimper, we bo chap. We only get up to check on her when she started crying for a while. Cos normally, bb will make lots of funny noises (even cry) in their sleep without their knowledge.

Hi yenny,
During the day, I'll let my gal sleep in the rocker. At night, I'll transfer her to the cot. After 3 days of forcing her to get used to the rocker, she can now doze off without us rocking at all!

Girls...just a short post....me so so busy!!! Thanks for all the suggestions! Yup, I am using the 5S's to sooth my Garrick:

S waddling
S ide-way holding
S winging or jiggling or rocking
S hushing (shhhhhh)
S ucking (peci)

Most of the time, one or combi of more works!!! Heng ah!!!

YB,

My baby has lots of little bumps on the face and the body also. The cream that the PD gave doesn't help much, they'll disappear and appear again the next day...sigh. My friend say she could be allergic to the bath soap.. which was what happened to her daughter. She gave me some of her daughter's body shampoo and now there are much less bumps on her. But I also don't cover her as much now...no wraps.. my mom say so hot, no need to wrap. Also dunno whether it's because of the soap or the lesser clothings.

Hi White_lady,
today is the 2nd day I took their lunch...so far okay. Not too oily & not too salty. Not sure about their buffet though...

Poppy, YB
If i am not wrong, tat is heat rash. My boy had it few weeks ago. If u observe, the rash disappears when the babies sleeps in air con rooms and appear when they r hot and agitated(stretched). Let them wear cool clothings, wipe the rash area with wet towel frequently, apply cetaphil(brand name) moisturizer(neutral ph, no fragrance) after each wipe. It will improve.

Hi Poppy,
I didn't swaddle my gal since she's 1wk old. Cos she always perspire a lot. Think our weather is too hot. I dun think it's the bath gel tat's causing my gals prob. Cos the rashes is only on her face.

YB,
I never swaddle also, but i dress her in long pants and l/s shirt. My gal's raash also red red, seems like there is pus inside. And doesn't go off even in aircon room. But it get's worst when she gek, more bumps come out and the whole face also become red!

Dsiitan,
If i feed ebm it's about 100-110ml. You pump 100ml quite fast leh. I usually take like 25-30mins for both sides and get between 100-200ml. Like very long hor? Wonder how when I get back to work.

I am May mummy. I wonder who is the one whose intend to order 2 cans of similac formula milk for stage 1 (0-6mths)?
Are you interested? I am helping my girlfriend to order, so no need min 6 cans (cos bulk order). still at $26 per tin.
You have to self collect @ my hse @ Sengkang and do make payment first, in case, back out last mintue. I already had 6tins from my recent order will last 2.5mths.
Do email me again. Thanks

whitelady
abt 7 times bah...at times must depends loh..if he damn gd mood and can sleep longer than lesser feeds if not aiyo....pengz...

poppy
thats if my supply high side loh..if low..haiz can pump till siao ah...me never hit 200ml leh..hahaha..the most 160ml-170ml..hehehe...from both breasts somemore..and interval quite long one..not every 3 hrs...i usually pump every 5 hrs ...then can have gd supply...very miserable hor?

Hi mummies,I think i am almost like JP liao..come and go..but I can hardly online...coz BB is getting more and more of my attention. My day goes like this.

Morning, I will wake up when BB wake up...usually around 9+ to 11+ then faster bathe him coz he be crying loudly for milk... After batheing milk time. He usually falls asleep. Put him down and quickly go pack things up (left from bathing time) and throw water away and pump milk if engorged.

If he's good, he sleeps through out and I get to eat something.. otherwise I be with him, trying very hard to make him sleep again so that I can go do some work. By noon, if he's sleeping, I will go do laundry... After laundry if he's still sleeping, I will nap with him... Most of the time I will stop my laundry halfway to coax coz he will cry very very loudly during sleep.

After napping if not online like now, it will be 4-5 lioa, he wil wake up and then do nothing, I will play with him until he tired, I give him and he takes his longest nap.. all the way til sometimes 9 plus then clean him up.. I will try vey hard again to make him sleep, coz he tends to be more active at night.

He wont wannt to sleep and wants to be carried all the way til 1am at night..

Dsiitan, very good lioa le.. I even worse... pump when breast is engorged, hard like stone, I only get 120ml from both breast....

Z-lia, Emerson's like that too.. he's like fighting with me when drinking milk, even latching on he will want to push me away with his powerful boxing fist.after awhile then gan yuen to drink. I will walk ard with one hand carrying him if he screams when bottle feeding, Think he's use to carrying + walk aorund... sogh

harlow everyone! looks like most mummies finished confinement liao so busy taking care of bb themselves, me also lor

me trying to latch bb most of d time now, usu 30 to 45 mins, if she still hungry then i give FM but sometimes dunno how much to give. so no longer pumping now, lazy also. hopefully ms can last

Zita,
poo- i asked pedi this qn bfore. r u bf? if yes, 6-7 no poo also ok cos sometimes the bb absorb the bf so well no output. if not bf, 2-3 days ok.

hi gals...

PM - why dun change bb timing ard so tat he sleeps more at nite, n awake in the day. dun let him sleeps from 5pm... till mabe 9-10pm. then he will hv a normal nite sleep from 10pm to next morning. waking for feed only. slowly adjust his timing, delay one hr a day. tat's wat i did with my boy. also, dun carry n feed, next time when he is heavier, u will hv a hard time. :p

dsii - cute boys leh!!!

so going to try for a bb gal? :p

PM,
My ger also push my breast away while she tries so hard to reach the nipple, she'll then scream when she can't reach. I have to grab hold of her hands sometimes! Silly ger.

I'm also lazy to pump, sometimes I only pump like 1-2 times a day.

MTDT
har?? try for a gal?? aiyo..dun want liao...enuff liao...now still hvaing hard time..dunw ant to think abt that..thks ah!!! hahahaha

Dsiitan,
I don't get 200ml often, only occasionally. Usually it's about 160-170ml also. You pump at 5hr interval but you latch directly in between right? Sometimes I get so lazy I just feed FM and never pump. I think my longest was only pump once in the morning at 9am, feed FM in between and only latch direct at about 11pm... I do this usually when I go out shopping or to my PIL's place. I think at this rate the ms will be reduced to nothing very soon

nowadays , my BM supply getting lower n lower , why is it so ?? i drank lots of soup n longan tea ... issit have to drink lots of water ??

poppy..no lah..i dun latch...i 99% on EBM..haha..maybe MS very slow...so boy gets impatient...and at least i will know how much he drinks when bottle feed...

Hi dsiitan ,

normally before you pump , do u massage or use hot towel to clean ? or u just pump and can get good supply ? btw , do u drink lots of water ?

I'm an august mummy. I realise dat when i pump, i can get REAL pathetic amt but when i latch my boi, he seems to be satisfied & can fall asleep for betw 1-2 hrs. So i'm wondering if he's having enuf of my BM? But based on wat I pump, dun tink it can satisfy him leh.

MTDT
how can i keep bb awake from 5 till 9pm? cant play with her for so long also. mine also sleeps a lot in d day then very awake at night esp between 10 to 12 midnight then sometimes stretch till 1am

hi skyblue
me have same problem also, sometimes 1 whole day few sessions can pump out only 100-120ml, only enuf for 1 feed! so decided to save d hassle latch bb on instead,if she not satisfied then give FM. but for night feeds sometimes i give FM also.

think i read somewhere cannot based your supply on how much u can pump out leh, if your bb is satisfied after latching direct n have enuf wet nappies, gaining acceptable weight then shld be ok bah...

YB, Poppy,
my boy face is also like that. There is some pus in the pimples sometime but it is ok. As long as not very very big pimples like those acne with pus.

The little pimples if with pus will dry up and go away after a few days. Most of the newborn have this and it take abt 2 - 3 month for the skin to completely go smooth. `

whitelady
last time i used to massage with hot towel...then supply also same same..so i gave up doing that...so i just pump straight but of cos clean the breasts 1st lah..hehehe...gd supply? ehere got gd supply? mine oso very cham ah...my fren told me her neighbour can pump 180ml from just 1 breast...dunno when can i reach that amt too..mine 2 breasts oso can beat her 1 breast

Dsiitan ,

Wow , 180ml from 1 breast !! You 2 breast cannot beat her , i think mine , 4 breast also cant beat her ! LoL ...LoL