(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

hong, i din really faint. Juz felt it coming.. the feeling i had when i really fainted when juz preg. Am ok now.. sleep for a while bt breasts kinda pain, can only lie on the back.
Cant take iron pills yet coz gynae ask to stop as constipation, altho now better.
Dun online? My only "enjoyment" now is to chat wif u all loh.... otherwise i am always in my room.

YB, its pain juz on the sides of the breasts & the underneath. I can feel it esp when i wanna turn in the bed. I wun express out the BM unless i really cant take the pain.
Really cant take fish & milk? I nid milk then can poo loh.... guess i wd reduce the intake then.

wander_mum, wat if u pain? Cabbage can stop the pain?

OC, i din engage a massage lady. Coz i cant bathe yet, dowan to have the oil on the body.

Mummies, where can i get cold compress & tummy binder? Thanks!

Sandy,
My confinement will be over on 31st July but till now still got some virginal discharge leh! I found i got more discharge when i bf my baby and when i eat confinement foods with wine. Anyway, i put panty liner instead of pad now..

Jazzy,
U did not buy the herb to bath ah?

OC,
Eat more ginger can pass out gas also. Better dont anyhow massage if u just gave birth. The uterus pretty fragile..

Dsiitan/ hong,
your kids taking Nan HA? I got 6 cans of samples at home. Heard it is not too bad esp if you have a family history of allergy. How is the poo? hard or not after taking?
The taste not nice? I'm going to introduce some formula to my dd soon. She took it once when she was a few days old... i'm afraid if it's not nice, she will reject it.

Joan,
U looking for mum's kitchen also.

I found their service a bit lousy. I booked the baby full month buffet online and wait 2 days still never hear from them. So i called them to check whether they see my order. They confirmed received it and checked the dishes with me. The person said will email me later but today is 4th day i still did not receive any email from them...aiyo! Dont know what they doing..

tinklebell,
the milk powder doesnt smell nice to me.
My boy is very funny when he took NAN HA. At 1st was yellowish then it turn greenish.

YB,
if u scare ur girl have allergy to cow milk then u shld try NAN HA cos the milk are make to reduce allergy.

Jazzy,
u can try engage a massage lady on ur 2nd or 3rd week of confinement. Just wipe ur body before massage. The massage is very gd, at least relax urself.

tinklebell

ya loh..my boy took Nan HA in hosp liao..so far ok..my son no allegy..but ppl said they are gd loh..then more similar to BM..so i let my boy drink Nan HA...as for the poo..not hard...mustard colour with something like sesame seed..hehehe...not watery.just soft poo...

Sandy, yah lor.. long labour.. but heng i keep sleeping..time pass very fast that way :p

jazzy i got my cold compress from mothercare, i think kiddy palace sell too but different brand

just wondering the tummy binder from kiddy palace and pharmacy any diff from osim? other then the price.:p

mummies, when i had engorment like some of u.. i use the cold compress consistently even when i sleeping.. then when i pump milk.. i'll use a small towel and put ice inside so when alternating the pumping, i'll use the towel to press and roll onto the harden area, and massage and massage although veyr painful... it helps for me... my engorment ends after 2 days.. u all might wanna try..

glad to hear that my bb is normal.. really worried when he not sleeping.. hahaa.. think i too gan jiong liao.. firts time be mummy lah.. better be safe hor..

hong,
i was told the taste of Nan HA is v close to breast milk... hmmm doesnt smell nice ar.
u mean the poo poo turns greenish?

re: caterer
we got ours fr Neo Gardens. Although we only ordered mini buffet, the service was good, food nice and the food packaging was v presentable. Their mini eclair was v nice. But we got a lot of food left... so i suppose can under cater.

Tinklebell,
At first i want cater Neo Gardens. But my sis told me "mum's kitchen" foods very nice when she attended her friends full month celebration.

So i decided change to mum's kitchen but who know the service so lousy. I shall wait till tomorrow, if not news from them i think i wanna withdraw liao! hiazzzz!

sandy, thanks!

noif, i bought the herbs. My mum dun allow me to bathe. If i cant take it anymore, i wd. I wipe everyday 2x.

hong, guess i wd engage a massage lady, not now, perhaps 3rd week.
My bb gal wd fuss ard esp when she is sleeping & she peed.. uncomfy. Sometimes she wd "act sleep", put her down she wd open her eyes.

NOIF,
U call them lor... maybe they have forgotten to email u or email to wrong email address.

Hee hee.. this was the first time i ordered fr Neo... can say i'm quite pleased with them.

Lok n NOIF
thanks for d advice, was a bit worried too cos hubby massage quite hard on my abdomen, he also not sure he doin correct or not.
i left 1 week for confinement. is it too late to engage massage lady now? n is it a must to complete 7 sessions?

jazzy
when then u can bathe? i now bathe with d herbs every 2 to 3 days cos of MIL's rules

misaryeo
i read from another thread that besides using nipple shield, u can also pump first before u latch bb on, cos pumping helps to draw out d short nipple

tinklebell

ya loh..mustard colour..hehehee....ya loh..thats wat i heard too..near to breats milk...so wont reject my BM mah..hahahaha....

Noif
fruitee complained abt mum's kitchen..she was so angry tat day..she called mums kitchen a week b4 her bb full mth..the staff whp picke dup the phone just told her the order closed..then b4 fruitee can ask any more further..the staff hung her phone...she was so mad that she called back and complained to the manager ..hahahah

my bb ger is 5 days old today. jus to find out have anyone of u here start to bath during ur confinement? if not, how to keep clean while still BF ur bb?

Hi jazzy,
Try not to touch/stimulate ur breasts anymore. I also feels some pain at the side, but I don't touch it lor. I'll just apply cold cabbage/compress to soothe it.
The last time I took pig's stomach soup, then next morning milk leak. So I very cautious abt wat I eat now.
Cold cabbage is very soothing...u should try.
U can get cold compress & tummy binder at the pharmacy.

My discharge slowly lesser. But after taking the medication, my lochia increased. My gynae said tis is normal. The nurse also not to anyhow massage my stomach.

Hi Hong,
Thx for the recommendation. Dun think I'll change FM in the meantime. Cos dun wanna cos unnecessary disruption to my gal. Anyway, doc says the rashes is not related to allergy. I'll continue with Similac.

Hi OC,
I guess I'm the most naughty mummy. Everyday, I bathe with herbs but will shower off. Then I also wash hair with shampoo. At night, I'll take another shower. Cos in toilet, nobody knows wat I'm doin...
Then at day 5, I go out already. So thereafter, I always sneak out with hubby..hee..hee...otherwise, I feel so miserable!!

Hi Shining,

I oreadi started bathing on the 2nd day liao and wash hair on the 3rd day... Cannot tahan...

I didn't use any dry shampoo or wat, as per normal...

YB, juz now pain, juz express out a bit, felt better than i stopped. Ok, i wd ren.. n put cabbage.
I thk i know the "pelvic sensation" u mentioned.. like somethg "dropping" rite?? So this is uterus contracting??
Ya, noticed tat after the med, today more lochia. Seen gynae on Tues, said the uterine lining still qte thick, mite continue for a few days more.

Wow.. u still go out?? So nice.. now stil qte weak, doubt i can go out.

YB
ya u naughty mummy, so envy u, i wish i can sneak a bath but cannot cos MIL will jus barge into my bedroom anytime wait she can hear d shower running leh

shining
u can jus use water to wash your breasts if u haven bathe, no need soap

What do u all used to wipe our body? Herbal or just warm water? when do u gals start to bath. I'm on my day six, feel like bathing as perpired alot.

shining,
i used to believe a bit abt the not washing so much part cos a lot of friensds testified they got pain here and there after they bu ting lao ren yan. BUT... myself got rashes at buttocks and calves but cleared after i bathe 2 times a day. So i think it is just plain dirty. the sweat caused my rashes. so bathe!!! warm water i think ok.

shining, decimal point

ya i started to have rashes on arms n legs when didn't bathe. wipe with warm water ok
most impt thing is wear back your clothes quickly n dun be in front of direct fan/wind

Decimal point, OC,
I've rashes on my breast and neck too. Moreover i felt picky heat at the breast when taking the confinement food. still hesitate dunno wan to bath or not.

Do u gals used normal tap water to wash your hand and face? I feel abit pain on my finger after doing this dunno due to the water or not?

Hi Shining,
I am a disobedient mummy...hehehe...I am supposed to wipe my body with the herbal water, but I cannot tahan, so I secretly bathe with the herbal water instead, and use warm water if not enough. And I do this everyday.

OC,

It is usually recommended to have the massage within 1 month of delivery. For C-section, I think have to wait longer. For my massage lady, minimum is 5 session, to be done consecutively.

Bathing - i bath with herb everyday and wash my hair with herb alternate day.

i cannot tahan the heat, stickiness and the smell.

BTW, Mum kitchen food is nice but service bad har.

We decided to hold full month celebration for two days. Too many relatives and frds. Beside Neo Garden and Mum's Kitchen what other catering is gd?

Kin,

Aiyo, wan2 send PM to u but u dun accept PM lehz...

Anyway I got the massage lady number liao...

U msg her will be better, b4 12pm or after 11pm from Wednesday to Monday bcoz she's workin. U can call or msg her anytime on tuesday as she's off. Jus to let u noe, she can't reali speak gd english so she might ask her son to talk to u if she dun understand.

She recommend that we do continous for 3 to 4 days then rest bout 2 to 3 days den continue with the rest of the session. She can onli do in the morning.

Her charges is $300 for 7 sessions. She will provide everything.

She's a very nice lady! She even teach me how to do binding for myself next time so i can save money!

Her name is Rose, her number is 96207278. U tell her u r Michelle's fren, she will noe.

hong,
Wats the purpose of binding?

NOIF,
Ur massage lady charges r very cheap. The 7 sessions r consecutive or a few times a wk for a mth kind?

mich,
How long is each session and does ur massage lady use oil or herbs or mixture?

Hi jazzy,
Ya, u better try to tahan the pain a bit lah..else the milk will keep coming back. Actually my locia already reduce, but after taking the med, locia becomes more lor...
I will bored to death if I can't go out...

Hi OC,
I have to shower lah, else I'll have rashes...my skin is very very sensitive. I got eczema too..dun wanna have to see doc for my rashes just because of the stupid confinement myths...

hi, can i check w u all.

do u all hv to bring bb back to polyclinic to check for jaundice on the 3rd, 4th, 5th day after delivery?

is it only applicable to those who delivered at kkh only?

hi skyblue,

each session bout 1 and a half hours. she use herbal oil to massage, den she will use slimming gel or herbs on ur tummy before binding. u can call and double check with her. according to her she use slimming gel bcoz it doesn't itch, for me i chose to use the herbs lor but after u take out the binding, it reali does itch a little.

Havent been online for a few days...tired lor. I have started my massage by Mdm Rokiah. She is very good....gives you advices and tips on baby as well. I think 5 sessions is $300. Always doze off during massage :p

I dunno anyone experiencing sleeping discomfort. I on the aircon when I sleep at night, then in the middle of the night, I started to shiver...I put on a sweater but then perspire alot until very uncomfortable but too sleepy so just sleep...but these shivering and perspring are making me uncomfortable leh.

BTW, anybody knows how to increase BM supply? Quite disheartening that my BM supply is low and I have to do a Fm supplement. I heard cold cabbage can relieve engorgment but also can reduce milk supply eventually. So have to use sparingly if still want to BF lor....

lok
thanks, im still considering whether to engage massage, now 3 weeks after my delivery liao

YB
ya not worth it if u end up seeing doc cos never bathe during confinement.but do remember to wipe dry before u come out of d shower n dun be exposed to wind hor, n blow dry your hair if u wash. cos i do have frens who dun care then end up here pain there pain oso, think at d end of d day as long as we are careful, we can still bathe everyday

edksd
i delivered at kkh n was also asked to bring bb to polyclinic abt 4th day later to check for jaundice. think it's normal procedure cos my fren who delivered in raffles hosp oso went back. as for those bb who already detected jaundice straight after delivery, then they cant be discharged together with mummy. so for my case, bb could discharge hosp with me but still hv to follow with check at polyclinic

regarding bathing, i tahan for a week plus wif just wiping for body, and after 1 an a half week, i cannot take it liao.. i bathe like normal already. but i try to bathe before night lah.. and wif warm water. as for hair, at abt day 3 or 4 i wash liao.. but after that i blow dry, beginning is alternate days,now i just wash everyday. cos i keep perspiring the whole day.. so cannot take it.. dun wanna care so much already.. very rebelious :p

edksd, i give birth in KKH and hav to bring bb to poly clinic to check for jaundice. Unless is serious case, if not usually they'll ask u to go back after a few days or a week to monitor..

mummies, my bb is crying to be carried.. how? dun wanna spoilt him.. could it be colic? dun think so right.. only 2 weeks old only.. stress!!! i think he likes to be carried that's why... any of ur bbs also like that?

hi blessings

if u on air con at night then start to shiver no good for your body leh,instead of putting on sweater, why dun u use blanket or comforter, can keep warm but not to d extent of perspiring

btw my fren sugggests for engorgment prob, prevent it before it happens.if u hv engorgment its a good sign that means milk supply coming in so u dun wan to suppress it. always emptying your breasts be it thru bb latching or expressing is d way...before letting them to be engorged. so mus be hardworking n discipline, empty every 3 hrly, then d brain will receive d signal to fill up d breasts again, your BM will slowly increase liao

Hi edksd, I delivered at KKH. Ya, was asked to bring bb to polyclinic next day for jaundice check. As they found a slight increase in jaundice, we were asked to bring bb back on the next 2 days everyday to check, then a few days once, till his jaundice fall back to normal level.

Am back. I delivered on 25th July. came back home yesterday - stayed one more day at tmc as baby needs light therapy for jaundice. will log my labour story later. It was really a fast super for me. even the nurses were impressed ;p as it's my first pregnancy.
I have not bath since tat day.. i'm sweating all over now. will tahan till tomorrow (now raining) and then shower with herbs
Let's see how the herbal bath works for me. If no good guess I will join the group of "disobedient" mums.

For no. 1, i really never bathe 12 days,after that only wipe with herbal water.No problem on that.
Now, after 5 days of wiping, I give up and use herbal water to bathe and shower. After that, I got pimples(with pus) all over my body, no choice got to stop and use just really warm water to bathe. I also wash my hair now, coz really smelly. Sometimes i bathe 2 times a day. Worse still, the herabl water causes my stiches to itch. And when I see gynae, say I got infection!!!! So, I stop herabl water liow.
No Choice. Morover, I got to bathe the bb and change all diapers for bb,and wash bottles sometimes... How to don't touch water.... Moreover, after drinking red dates water for 2 days,got so heaty, got ulcers and sore throat........so xian...

Can recommend any good outlets to hold a lunch or hi-tea for full moon plz? Not too expensive alos hor.

Thanks!!!

Me got to run now...BB Garrick is waking up once every 1-2 hours...might be his grow sprout! (I think that's what it is called)