(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

lyn,
wow your hub so good even arrange for u a trip... mine has never ever initiated one. usually i have to plan and arrange everything sui sui for him... he just take the ticket and go.

serene,
agreed... need to recharge..i like Genting's weather v nice

ya loh, lately he has been quite busy studying during his free time. F/m, he says not safe to drive there...he scared his car kenna stolen. If we ever go, will have to take bus.

sunflower,
Fiona for sure cannot take the long journey there.... even 20 mins fr Punggol to my home is too long for her

tinklebell,
recently my wisdom tooth also causing me problem. so painful now

Re: birthday parties
where you gals planning the birthday parties venue? i'm thinking of Aranda Chalets but hubby thought it's too far for guests

Re: Birthday Bash
725938.gif

will prob celebrate on 3 Jun (sunday) cos bb bday on 4 June. actually 3 Jun also my rom date..kekee. Venue will be home sweet home..the rest haven't decide yet. have to go back to work now, tomoro on leave..

Lyn, secret recipe cakes are yummy, but 6kg for cartoon cake is too big! Unless you are throwing a big party. I will settle for an elmo cake from ecreative, $63 for 2kg. Maybe also order some cute mini cupcakes.

Thanks kite! I do have some web sites on 3D cakes. Later post here once I have time.

I am celebrating my girl's bday on 3rd Jun. Have asked my cousin to book her condo function room for me, she stays in Parc Oasis.

lyn,
Think i can't join u cos just came back from genting. maybe i will go during june when my bro came back for vacation. actually the villa wasn't so well kept compared to hotel rooms. the last time, we went to the biggest villa, angsoka, aircon down, got some smell...the person told me they didn't renovate or do up the villa but they did renovate the hotel rooms. but it's not at all so bad so dun worry.

kite,
going to kl & genting ah? good hor.
enjoy.
i'll be celebrating my boy's bday on 2 june too cos that's his actual day!
i'm also looking out for any nice bday cake.

tinklebell,
i can't say driving up to malaysia is safe. but anything is not safe if u think about it right? maybe he has never try thus he think that way. i feel if u had prepare well, it should be quite fine. it's fun driving on yr own provided the driver also loves to drive long distance. for my case, my hub dun mind driving, in fact he loves to drive.

sunflower,
u mean in s'pore, for 1/2 hr ride, yr boy will want to come out of the car seat ah? so far, my boy is ok, only sometimes, he wants to carry but we try distract him with his pacifier and toys and he be ok. try not carry him too often...

mspiggy, i_panda77,
i prob held the bday party at my house too. i'm not afraid of space, i'm more afraid that the place will become a mess! :p though i have helper to help cleaning up but imagine food dropped everywhere, my sofa kena oil/food/drinks etc! err..i'm cannot stand it! :p

Sunflower, my girl also cannot sit in the car for long...she will make a lot of noise...however she is not like that when we take bus or mrt though.

Kite, I will be bringing my girl to bkk end May..

Spicegal,
I ordered from The Pattissier ... I have seen the cakes from ecreative but some of my frends commented that the coloring that they used are too strong and hence, doesnt taste nice.

serene, spicegal,

ya lor. so don't think I can tahan the ride up GH! haha

I took him on bus/mrt before, he's ok, think he's happy cos not strap into his car-seat!

Hi lynn,
Thanks for recommending the books that u mentioned..Will keep a lookout on those books...btw did u add formulae milk or condense milk to the oats that u prepare?
I haved try preparing it with formulae milk but he doesnt like it...

sunflower, poohy, vivi, mtdt - AD rang - they need to change time to 9.30 this Sat. and coach Ann cannot make it. Kim again. so sian... how often will this happen? i complained to ML re this. i dun like to always change timing and coach.

amy,
oh really?? Hmm, i also prefer 9am cos my boy wanna sleep soon after the class..

My boy juz warm up with the coach. DUn know if he is ok with kim anot.

Ya ah.. WIll this happen often?

serene:
hehe so sweet....btw, my ger bday on 6 june, but wil celebrate on 2 jun, prefer sat

Spicegal:
thanks for e links
will take a look at it. personally wat is ur best choice? i hv a relatives living at parc oasis too. hehe. gd hor, near ur house

vivi - think they will call you later. ML said i was the first she called. i also dun like - think jake prefers coach ann.

jake normally sleeps at 9.00 - 9.30. swim at 9.30 till 10.00 plus showering is a bit of a stretch.

vivi,poohy

not sure if they will call you. cos just now I spoke to coach ann, she asked for your numbers, then I don't have it onhand so told her will inform you ladies.

vivi,
will you get your thermal this week? if yes, good can collect and wear immediate for swim class. cos they don't set up so early at 9am

so sian... i've got 2 good tickets for phantom, hb has wedding dinner and is also mc, so cannot attend.... gotta sell... unless i can find someone who is interested in attending with me. anyone?
sunday 1st April 8 pm?

vivi - dun think so. i asked her the same - do i have a choice? if i take 9.30, how come still Kim? why not Ann? so it's lose lose situation huh?

Poohy,
thanks alot, u did pass me another link for the GD dots

Flashcards,
I'm fine with anything
. But I haven't a clue how to collect?

Lyn,
I haven't read any GD books so I don't know abt balancing activity at all. Can briefly share?

Hi Kite, actually I wanted to order from ecreative, but Paula is saying that the cake is not nice, so maybe I will settle for Polar cakes bah..I intend to get elmo design cakes as my girl likes elmo...wanted to get 3D cakes initially but my friends all tell me baby is too young to appreciate, so will order 3D cakes when she is older...

tinklebell,
My hubby and me used to travel a few times a year to Europe one. And I have 2 sisters who are always travelling every few months. He's kinda influenced and wanna travel for quite some time already. I dun have time and mood to travel, so he initiated
Good for me also la... At least I can relax my mind by travelling.

sunflower,
I can get free entrance to zoo and bird park for 8 people
. Actually this weekend wanna get the zoo pass, but it's school holiday, so dun have. Maybe if can get next week, we can go togather
Bird park is too far, quite lazy to go to bird park...

spicegal, kite,
I put off the idea of 3D cake already, especially those figures. Cos I was pretty disturbed at a birthday party where they have a 3D Barney cake. I find it disturbing having to chop off the head, and asking the kids which part of Barney they wanna eat. The head, when chopped off, and put on a plate, looks like pig's head. Furthermore, lots of coloring...

Serene,
I am also afraid of mess at home! Gotta do lots of housework before and after the party. Worse is spills on the floor. If acidic drink, will leave patches on the floor. And that gonna be permanent unless re-polish the floor.

Jasmine,
I do not add any formula milk nor condensed milk to the oats. I prefer natural flavour from fruits or pumpkin. Condensed milk has lots of sugar which is no good for babies.

pawprint,
Briefly, got swinging, pitching, rotating. It's better to read the book, or even browse the book to see the pictures on how to do the balance activities. Not easy to describe, and you might not understand what I wanna say. Pictures speaks louder than words in this case

Lyn,
I did a google search, wld the exercises be somewhat like these? H/e, thought I read mentioned in some GD discussion that we shouldn't be holding bb's arms in standing as it hinders bb getting own balance.

(6-12 MONTHS): MOTOR DEVELOPMENT ACTIVITIES
Side-to-Side
Adult and child sit astride a large roll (see appendix). Support child on the hips. Lean the roll to the right and then to the left, so that the child transfers the weight to one foot for support as s/he learns to stand. Stop between each movement.

Rolling
Place child on all fours over the roll or on an adult's thighs. Roll child slightly, transferring the weight from hands to feet, feet to hands. Continue rolling until the arms have been released and the child's weight is on the feet. Gradually the child will push off the roll to a standing position. Support child's hips.

Crawl with Me
As your child learns to crawl, lead the way around different objects such as a chair, a stool, a box. Crawl through a hoop, cardboard box tunnel, tire structures. Arrange favourite objects to encourage child to crawl under tables, benches, or a person's body forming a bridge. Challenge the child to crawl zigzag, straight, in circles, slowly, quickly, forward, backward.

Sit and Reach
Encourage your child to sit on a low stool or wide-based wooden box with feet flat on the floor. Sit behind the infant, holding one thigh. Do not support his/her back. Hold a toy on one side, then the other. As the child reaches, s/he may lose balance. Teach your child how to support him/herself with the feet. This exercise will help your child learn to balance and sit.

Swing and Sway
Sit on carpeted or padded surface facing the child, feet crossed in front of you. Grasp the child's hands and gently push and pull, swing and sway. Repeat the same action as both of you tug on opposite ends of a hand towel, rope, or hoop.

Stand Up
Standing directly behind your child, support him/her under his/her arms. As the child gains balance and confidence, reduce your support progressively by holding both hands which will be raised slightly above shoulder level, and then by holding one hand that is slightly raised above shoulder level. The child will use his/her other hand for balance as s/he learns to stand alone.

Pull Up
Place child close to safe, stable surfaces which provide adequate support. Encourage the child to pull him/herself to standing position. Praise the child's attempts to stand alone.

If a child's body is not ready to support his/her weight in standing or walking, do not encourage such exercises.

Walk to Me
To encourage the child to walk, stand one foot in front of the child and encourage him/her to step towards you. Gradually increase the distance between you and the child as his/her balance improves and confidence heightens. Two adults may be involved encouraging the child to walk back and forth between them.

Walk with Me
Practice walking by supporting the child from behind, holding him/her under the shoulders, so the child's hands are free for balance.

hmm,tink alot of 1st yr celebration will fall on the same date...2nd or 3rd june...me too..considering...haven cfm yet..

sunflower

tks for the call back.hehe...i left my name behind liao..hopefully will have stock soon..i saw many children's books etc there..so tempted to buy..but kino mark up their prices alot..must wait till sale... :p

pawprint,
Yes. We should not be holding baby's hands. Baby gotta learn balancing on his own.
I just read that in "How to teach your baby to be physically superb".
It is recommended to let baby creep more and he will walk soon. Creeping develop a part of the brain system. Walking develops another part of the brain system. Creeping is very important for language development. From Shichida's book, if a child is weak in speech and language, ask the child to creep often. Children weak in language and speech or has slow development in these areas, usually have skipped creeping stage. That's from Shichida's research

hmm... the above activities are not balance activities according to GD. One of balance activities is to throw baby in the air and catch him. Another one is put baby's tummy on your shoulder, hold his legs, and rotate clockwise and anti-clockwise.

hi paula/ maysatch/ Fi,
my boy is better now.. no more fever but coughing now.. so brought him to PD again this evening for his cough.. hmm. hopefully he'll be well soon. cos' bringing him for his studio shoot this sun.

spicegal,
thanks for the cakes links.. i'm oso looking for cake for my boy bday on 1st Jun.. booked aloha loyang bungalow liao.. but nothing else is done yet.heeehee.. gotta start to source for caterer too.

hey any mummies, still hv the list of items to buy for newborn? my friend asked fm me the list but i thk i've deleted it.

i think my bb is probably the first baby to celebrate his bday cos he's on 1st June.. but it's a friday.. so we are holding a party for him in the evening instead. Well, the next day, ie a Sat, all of you are welcome to join us at aloha loyang.. and u can use the pool facilities too...
how's that? ay, but i rememeber another bb is having bday party on Sat too...

Spicegal,
Re. comments on ecreative cake was relayed to me by a friend of mine who had recently celebrated her gals first year old bday. I checked some of the threads there were mixed comments some mummies said it tasted nice and the other mummies who said not nice also said that the reason was because the coloring used was too thick and strong.

Try Pinecake (no websites) heard its good too.

Polar cake is nice One of my friends ordered the Strawberry Shortcake one yummy! Its light and tasty.

Re. cupcakes: I ordered 10 from The Patissier then realized not enough. So ordered another 40 more from Cupcakemoma

Angeline,
Yea, think a lot of celebration will be held on either the 2nd or the 3rd of June .. So cool!

Lyn, Pawprints,
Ur bbs can walk now?

Dal,
Yep, you got it! Those are the wallables! I got a sun, three stars, flowers, bees and a dragonfly! Kelly loves them! The glow in the dark too!

Duffybuff,
So cool could we drop by? On the 2nd of June right?

Snapshot of 3kg Kelly's Cake:
726654.jpg

The Strawberry House is made or brownie ... so sweet .. got this because kelly loves strawberry shortcake princess ... Marbled white chocolate and raspberry mousse with Oreo cookie base. Yummy!

Thanks Paula for the valuable feedback. I think i will just settle for polar cakes.

Wah, you also ordered cup cakes. Very tempted to order also cos they are very colourful. Thanks for the contacts.

Your invitation card very nice, so professional!

Lyn,

haha the way you describe chopping off heads & limbs - yucky!
Zoo - I'll be interested
keep me informed. I can go on tues/wed/weekends

angeline,
no prob. I'll go check at popular if they have

dal,
yes. think will be fun to have in his playroom.

Paula, yah..surfing forum now. You also ah..

Nice bday cake and cup cakes..you must have spent a bomb for Kelly's bday party..

So happy Fairarina starting birthday direct spree 3.

spicegal,
yep! saw the spree 3 thread just now! hehe ... our budget is 5K for her 1 year old party ... hehe, so excited. Are you ordering those agar agar too? I think got elmo design!