(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi Poohy and Wen, sayang your bb for me!

Fj, you are right no I wasnt demoted. I spoke to my mgt and asked for their understanding that I may not be able to work like a machine anymore, so I opted to give up some responsibilities and incentives. This is also to make my colleagues feel better, in case they may feel uncomfortable or shortchanged, if I began to turn up late or leave early in comparison to my old self.

Paula, your girl very sweet looking
YES YES keen keen to join at Woodlands Civic Plaza session will email you!!!

kite
Hi Hi Im great, no, I didnt go back to Dr YC. No plans for 2nd bb yet hee Wow still TBFing salute salute can post up your bb photo too Ive missed out too many of the threads

Left-handed babies
Hi, Paula, Michele, Maysatch

We suspected as daddy is also lefty and my boy tends to reach out to hold with his left hand first. Even when he holds something in his right hand, his left hand will reach over to take it over from his right

Lefties being smarter its believed to be a myth, viewed by many that way is because, out of 10 only less than 1 is a leftie and over the centuries it seems that several geniuses or talented beings are lefties

http://www.babycenter.com/expert/baby/babydevelopment/6716.html

Hi poohy, your girl joelle ... looks so captivated ... hee ...

Mathius likes to crawl very near to the TV, I've to carry him back to more than 2m everyday for more than 10 - 20x ... so tiring ... but believed persistence pays ... he eventually gives up crawling forward to the TV at sometimes my 29th try ... but it lasted only one day ... the next day ... the whole crawling forward & carrying him backward saga continues ...
kao_dizzy.gif

Fever
Do I still need to give panadol if bb has no more fever now? Can I skip and just give another dose at night before she sleeps?

amy, poohy,
Thank you for sharing about SM. Learn a lot from you gals in June thread. THis is the place to be. I really need to buck up with my cards preparation, or powerpoints for that matter....has been quite lax lately. =b

poohy,
joelle looks like she is watching the screen very attentively. Very good.

Fi, amy,
the milk sign....think very hard to reteach liao. Btw, that is the only sign she knows. I didn't buy the signing dvd so just make up myself.

Paula
You got a very cheerful baby there!

Thanks all mama for well wishes. Gabby's fever is down now. Still monitor carefully. As soon as she is well, I am going to get her pneumococcal jab... so worrying when she was having the fever. Hot until her face all red and looked so zonk out.

Wen, you might want to get a water-filled mattress for your bb ... it helps to bring down the temperatur too. The water-filled mattress can be brought from Tom & Stefaie.

Poohy,

You are an amazing mummy! I find it hard to get Kelly to concentrate when Im reading her a book whenever I flashed her a flash card; she will stare at it for a few seconds before reaching for the flash cards and placed it in her mouth!

Carebear,Wen,

Thanks for your compliments on Kelly she is extremely playful and possessive baby dont be fooled by her looks!

Carebear
I will see you on 7 April 2007.

Re. right or left handed hmm, I read in a magazine somewhere that we will only know whether a child is left or right handed when she is two or three years old. In the meanwhile, we have to encourage them to make full use of both hands.

mummies: may i know what wet wipes u use for bb? Paraben is causing cancer for use in long term and many wipes has it in contents. quite scary when i hear that.

Hi wen ... good to hear that gabby's better. My boy oso din take his pneumoccocal jab yet ... if he takes now at 10mths he will need 3 jabs ... so I decided to wait till he's 1 year old, he only needs 2 jabs ...

<font color="0000ff">Baby's Passport</font>: Anyone of you have done the passport for bb? What's the procedure huh? Take how long?

k ong: if u dun pump, supply will stop!!

carebear: better dun wait lah... i was also like tat BUT .......

paula: she's a beautiful girl!!

bought mangoes for Brendan, tw mangoes really yummy & sweet!!
coming back in july, will bring some for u ladies.

my hub fed my son mango ice cream yesterday!!! ^&%$!!! MEN!!

michele,
u got the baby einstein DVDs, rite? Can recommend which one is good? cos I don't want to buy the whole set, very ex here. Thks.

carebear,

talk abt the saga.... this is how close Joelle goes if she can... and worst, she bite/gnaw/suck/lick at the the console at the same time!

722379.jpg
722380.jpg
722381.jpg

Paula,

me not amazing lah... its Joelle who have a good attention span. I cant do much if she dun wanna see also...

i_panda: hmmm.. havent seen all yet woh... all diff n all good.
come to think of it, havent watch them for a long time, forgot all about them liao!! haha! thanks for reminding...

pm me...

Mothers: wanna get a 2nd stroller, one that reclines and light wt. any recommendations? now using the quinny zapp. bought it cos of the color!! ORANGE!!

Amy: i like ur car seat, like the color!! new color rite... cloth?

michele: i haven try pampers sensitive wipes yet, shall try it. good ha? *sigh* regarding the cancer tingy, we cant stop using them also. nowadays many toileties contain all kind of chemicals!

Paula,
Thanks for the PD contact
btw i stay at jurong west so CCK is quite convenient

Fi,
sorry i oso cant rem wats the reason... tried asking my fren y her bb's PD advise dun rub but she hvnt replied.

Poohy,
baby joelle so cute!! hehe like her hairstyle!

Michele,
we oso got the quinny zapp for my bb.. bought it cos tot its quite stylish looking.. but turns out to be a white elephant. cos the pram/car seat the position like quite awkward so my bb dun really like it. initially tot of getting a more user-friendly stroller but after changing the zapp fr pram to stroller mode now think better

Carebear,
maybe can check out the following rgdg passport appln:
http://app.ica.gov.sg/index.asp

Carebear29,
I applied for my boy's passport online recently. Takes abt 3 workings day to be processed. Then collect in person. The digital photo can be taken at any photo shop.:)

Mummies, do you think I should get Kelly a thermal swimwear or just those normal swimwear? I'll be exposing her to the public pool only when she turns one ...

Latest updates on the private trial class with MyGym:

Date: 7 April 2007, Saturday
Time: 2.00 to 2.50pm
Trial Fee: S$30.00 (this S$30.00 will be used to offset againt the program fees if you decide to enrol)
Address: Woodlands Civic Plaza

Attendees:
1. ViVi
2. Dal
3. MTDT
4. Carebear 29
5. Paula

mum2be, paula and kong:
the shoes here CHEAP!! thot of trying, wanna buy? or still wanna buy Jac n Lily?

http://justforbabies.blogspot.com/

maysatch: wat color ur stroller? my lazy hub has only just convertered the stroller!!
BUT when he fell asleep in the restaurant, cant put him down cos it doesnt recline, feel like getting Maclaren, any sugg.?

dal: u MIA again ah... REMEMBER!! apply online BUT bb has to be present upon collection k...

Fi,
ya, cannot rub bah lu-ku and bruises cos it will make it bigger. Last time i also didnt know that. I found out that the fact that it is blue black is due to broken blood capillaries. If u rub, u will be breaking more capillaries.

kiki,
aiyo...wet wipes also got prob
I'm using Pigeon... not sure if it has cancer causing substance. Hiaz...Think must go back to the conventional cotton balls and water technique.

Paula,
heheh... i also recommend those water filled cushions... somehow it works in cooling the body when u lie on it.

KOng,
u going for holiday or working trip? Envious of those who get to travel... my last trip out was exactly a year ago... how time flies.... last nite, i received a coupon fr hsbc for a 1-1 ticket to BKK/Bali/HCM and makes me wonder when will be the next... so far no plans... but the ticket looks v v tempting

carebear, poohy,

my boy also does that. He will slowly creep up to the TV, there was once he even paste his face onto the TV! and licked it! ***faintz***

dal
you mean it only takes 3 days for online! aiya means I read wrongly la, I thought needs 3 weeks!

tinklebell,
when i was younger i used to have this thrill of rubbing my baluku and see it turn bigger red hot purple the next day. cotton balls and water is still the best and it cleans cleaner and gentler than baby wipe isnt it....

michele,
wow..u stay up till so late? 2+am still haven't sleep? I cannot tahan..yesterday sleep at 12+...wake up at 5am feed bb, then fall back to sleep, sleep until 7am. Late for work again..always heehee
722970.gif

sunflower,

I will faint if J does that to the TV ... licking the screen....
My mum and my tv are both LCDTV... if she does that, my screen will be spoiled with a mark!
One of the main reasons we spent to change all our tv to LCDTV at home and mum's place is because they watch tv quite a fair bit.... better for their eyes... I dun normally let them sit on a stationary seat to watch tv... I want them to move about.... its gentler for their eyes also.

Paula,

ya my girl and my boy watch DVD selected by me.

re: quinny zapp

I bought the zapp before my boy's birth... unfortunately its the biggest white elephant strollers among all I have. Somehow I find it too heavy leh... if i just use it only... then it wont be comfortable if J wanna sleep... cos it only got one position.

poohy,

ya lor **fainted** liao, good thing he only did that once! I just changed my TV set as well. But letting him be mobile means he will go right up to the TV and watch it.

mich,
thanks for the link. how do u find the link, is it own by one of the mums u know? last month i saw BP for similar design, even cheaper, only $13! but design v limited. btw i just found i have 3 pairs of new shoes, were gfts whenmy bb was born, were too big back then but now just fit nicely

last time i was crazy over bb socks coz they r so pretty n cute, now crazy over shoes

me bored at work. think i'll go pump milk then.. if i'm at home i would have more challenging task at hand. usually i'm more busy at home then at work. strange huh...

mum2b,
for girls, there's so many pattern to choose for clothes, shoes etc compare to boys...

Fi,
yes yes, girls got more choices of clothes, shoes, etc. Can wear dress, shorts, jeans, skirts, halter neck, etc. Boys only got shirt & pants. A bit boring. That day was telling my hubby, if my 2nd child is a girl, i will buy even more...hahaa
723174.gif

paula,
public pool not good? not hygienic enough is it? we almost brought JZ to public pool last sunday as the weather was real hot but mommy and daddy got lazy instead so didnt go. JZ likes to pom pom when out of tub to clean teeth, wipe face before going into tub, he'll be impatient and keep shouting want to go into water already. so can't wait to see how he'll like the pool.yesterday evening, mil kept talking if want to pom pom him or not etc and when put him down on floor, he quickly crawl towards the bathroom cause he want to pom pom, so funny

Hello gals...
Long time no "see"

I am having very bad backache since last Sunday
. I could not even walk properly on Sunday. I carried Aloysius in the morning and realised I could not walk at all
. I think I had hurt myself when shifting Aloysius from the baby cot to my bed to latch on

Amy,
Is Jake better now?

poohy, wen, amy,
I am so envy you all can do so many flashcards a day. Nowadays I am not very consistent already. Mostly is my fault. Only doing the SM 65 days program already no time to prepare, and Aloysius is not interested in the cards. I guess maybe I haven't been changing the cards fast enough. When I do photographic memory, he will start to bite all my cards.

Fi,
I will use my Kinertec V6 water to rub many times immediately after the fall.. Then wun get baluku. So far so good. My friend told me zambak is good too. Maybe you wanna try. Hope JZ baluku will go away soon.

Paula,
Your personalised cashcard is very cute... Kelly looks so happy in that picture

KOng,
Pump and dump very wasteful. But if you never pump, will get engorgement, plus when you are back, milk supply will drop.

pawprint,
Each flashcard not more than 1 second.
For photo and linking memory cards, you need to know the know how, and you can buy any relevant cards. Once you know how, you will know what to buy or DIY

sunflower,
I dun have a place at home without distractions
Let him sit on high chair, he will look around. In the living room, also got his toys, CDs, etc to play with. Dining chairs and table also can play. Room also got bedsheets to touch, bed to climb, fan to explore, curtains to pull, etc.. How ah? ***headache***

poohy,
Both J & S are so interested in the flashcards. J very good gal, can sit on her own in her high chair.
J looks very cute with her bunny hair. hahaha... Aloysius also suck, bite, lick the TV console. I put all my flashcards and CDs there. He will bring them all down on the floor. Sometimes, select a few to taste. ***faintz***

kiki,
I use water to wash when at home
When outside, it's wet wipes. Sometimes, if there's a tap and tissue at the nursery room, I will use wet some tissue to wipe again.

carebear,
Just take photo of baby with white background. Then apply passport online at www.ica.gov.sg. Then wait for the letter to collect. About 3 days.

sunflower,
hahaha... The way you describe paste the face on the TV and lick... so funny... That is very familiar, but on the windows. hahaha...

Fi,
I think looking after a baby is more work than working.. hahaha... cos at work, still got lunch time and maybe tea break. At home with baby alone, no more lunch time nor tea break. But at least for me la...

lyn, backache? me too leh. jake is getting heavier and i hate putting him in his cot or picking him up. now waiting for hb to get the right tools to convert his cot door to swing type. jake is better now, though he has no appetite the whole of yesterday. got him some more books from kino, and the novum flash cards - he enjoyed the new flash cards - more colorful ma...
now putting in more effort to teach him chinese... do you know of any good chinese story books, board books with good quality pictures?

mic - my car seat material is fabric, smooth type, unlike the current models - very rough. in fact, this color is 2006 collection. i dun like the texture in the 2007 collection.

amy,
Is Jake still vomitting?
Yalor... very bad backache. I scared I get slip disc again
So yesterday went for accupuncture. Tomorrow going again cos today quite painful also. I think I might have aggravated my back after carrying Aloysius when I reached home yesterday. Later going to lie down and rest. Better becareful oo... I think the baby cot is safer for babies, but a hazard for the parents.
For Chinese books, I buy a "san zi jing" book to read to Aloysius. I read the verse plus the explanation and sometimes the stories. There are many pages to read. I haven't finish though I have been reading since birth. kekeke... I am looking for "chen yu" books with stories to read, but haven't found one that I like. You can go to Mahayuyi to buy chinese books and materials. They only have chinese materials there. Quite a wide selection. I think chinese books are not as high quality as those ang mo books.. kekeke.. but the pictures are fine.

Lyn, where is mahayuyi? i saw a sanzijing book at kino yesterday, but the words are v small, cannot read with jake... more like read to jake... ha ha... maybe will get that. next time you go shopping for chinese books, let me know. it tag along?

accupuncture? where ah? i go to wan yang for foot and back massage. ha ha... like no effect leh... after the weekend, backache again. i had arms ache from whishing jake up in the air in the AD session... aiyo...

lyn, amy
My back hurts too...and now, one of my foot hurts (somehow hurt myself when playing with bb). Gabby has been sleeping on the floor for a while now. Coz she didn't want to sleep in crib + I think it is not doing my back good to carry her in/out of crib. But have to baby proof the room. She is 10 kgs now at 10 months old!

lyn,
Re flash cards
Me also not very consistent. Coz like your Aloysius, she can play everywhere, yes, even the bedsheets can distract her... She also can turn away on high chair. And I am running out of materials but no time to make new ones..sigh.. Don't dare to imagine how it is going to be like when I go back to work...

FI/LYN: yah, i know, must pump and dump to keep up supply. also, she has not had FM so will need to give her FM for one day (i only have enuff frozen supply for 6 days).

Also worried that she may forget how to latch on when i get back ?? is that possible ??

Tink: going for holiday !!

Poohy : J is sooo cute !! love her hair !!!

lyn,
ya do take care of back. sometimes the barrier is up and i've to put him sleeping down after he sleep, so risky to back.

k_ong,
if havent try FM yet, better try before yr trip to see if she accept it. after sniffing around u, she'll be glad to latch on again, no worries... when are you leaving for yr trip?

Fi, Lyn,

Yes, i agree stay at home is more busy than work for me. Sometimes, i want to foruming but the thread is going fast, before i can post my msg, bb wants my attention liao....

Hi poohy ... your girl really adorable leh ... my boy is also gnawing on my chairs ... itchy gums I guess.

Hi Paula, thanks for coordination!!! What will happen after the trial? Every Sat session?

Thanks, maysatch for the ICA link ...

Thanks, lyn ... ok, will try to take a photo with white background ... that's going to be tough though! He is always wrigling around.

amy,
The book that I have also cannot be read by babies, cos the words are very small. So I will read. I am planning and still procrastinating of buying blank cards to write on my own. Copy from that book. kekeke... I wanna buy A5 cards, but havent got time to source out where is cheaper. I might buy from JB. It's at Bras Basah level 3, near the lift.
I went to AMK hospital for accupuncture yesterday. My mum goes to "Chen jiao shou" at Zhong Hua. He's very good. I went to AMKH cos I cannot wait liao, and the "jiao shou" was there yesterday. I wanna carry and play with Aloysius
I am paying more for a "jiao shou" to accupuncture for me. He told me 2 times should be fine. Now I cannot even sit on the floor to play with him. Yesterday after the accupuncture and twisting, I felt better, no more pain. Then carried Aloysius, and brought him for stroll. Today, pain again

Wen,
Better becareful leh.. cos if mommy get hurt, not easy for baby also. Aloysius keep crying for me to carry him
I think I gonna carry him whole day once I recovered to make up. kekeke...

Yalor... bedsheets also can play... hahaha... curtains, windows, doors, door stopper, or maybe wall also can play. hahaha... Oh yes, lights in the room also very amazing to stare at. hahaha... Not easy leh... very peifu those mommies who can be consistent with the flashcards.

KOng,
Maybe give one feed of FM per day or half frozen BM and half FM in one feed, then the frozen ones can last for 7 days till you are back. Cos sudden change to FM can be quite a big change to baby. I dun think babies will forget how to latch on. It's so comfortable to latch on...

Fi,
I hope my pain will go away soon.

stella,
Sometimes I dun even have the time to switch on the laptop!

carebear,
Must take many to select and edit...

amy,
mahayuyi is having 10%+ 10%(membership at S$8 for first year) promotion till 18th march.

lyn
1800 A5 card from Hiap Moh cost S$45.15. Very cheap leh.

wen,
All along it's 10% + 10% when I go there to buy books leh... If birthday month, it's 25% off for members!
Wah... So cheap ah. How to buy from HaipMoh? Do I have to go there personally? I dun mind 1800 cards, cos I think sure finish one.. How many GSM?

lyn, wen, where is mahayuyi? wanna go book shopping together?

HiapMoh - can order and pick up rite? wanna buy together? I also dun mind 1800 cards... then can intro new words.

amy,
mahayuyi at Bras Basah no. 3-11. Just been shopping leh. Probably going again next month when their new arrival comes. Go together?

lyn
really? Next time must go with you so that they put me on 10%+ 10% also..keke..

Hiap moh,
Collection at Boon Lay somewhere. Min purchase is 100 sheets, cut into your desire size. 100 sheets=> 1800 pcs A5. Think good for ppe staying at west- can go self collect. If not have to purchase above S$200 for free delivery to one location. I just got some cards 1-2 months ago...haven't start using yet...too lax now..hehe.

Pan Asia books/Pelangi books
Anyone buy these before? Is popular THE place for it or there are other cheaper source out there. anyone has lobang? Me trying not to spend too much on story books coz bb out grow them very fast and lack of vitamin M. But want to buy new coz she mouth her books and don't dare to give her 2nd hand/library books. She just had fungus infection.... Any lobang for cheap and nice books for young readers?

lyn, amy

must be careful with your back. There's this time I hurt my back for no reason at all. Walk like a very old grandmother, back bend can't even straighten. Didn't do anything, just healed the next or following day, can't remember. At that time, I tried not to carry my boy & walk around. Just carry and stand there. if must walk, baby steps!

For chinese tuona, I go to 1 old man at punggol, its at his house. So far I find him good. If you want, can try him.

Lyn,
we have no term break cos we postpone our CNY eve class to term break. Ya lor everything is a distraction. Even my phone wires is attractive to him! Times I just let him chew on whatever he gets his hands on and flash, he'll look. but at times, he won't then I'll just stop. Not so easy now compare to earlier months. For 65-maths, **pantpant** very siong le!

Amy,
I've moved the play-yard back to my room and confine his sleeping place there.

**hiaz** just heard from my MIL, he doesn't fancy Level2 as the sentences too long he can't wait for her to flip! haha :p Previously she told me he loves it, guess its another different stage now! He loves board books with single picture inside, can look through it a few times at 1 go.