(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Tinklebell, Amy, Wen,
Hope ur babies are recovering well
Think during this period really gotta be careful.. and if possible bring bb for jabs like pneumococcal. My bb can be considered unlucky cos jus 1 week before his second pneumococcal he kena pneumonia... else maybe can be prevented.

Carebear, Michele,
hee we oso suspect our bb might be left-handed cos daddy oso leftie... and daddy seems so proud cos he always say leftie more creative, smart etc *roll eyes*

Hello Mummies.
Monday blues...sianz....

Tinklebell:
Oh dear. Hope fiona is fine n gets better. Take care. Probably weather not good bah.

Carebear29:
Hey how r u? long time never see since u delivered! Must be bz. Ur boy so cute....So u go back to Dr. YC for checkup n jabs?? jiat liat i still hvnt go for HepB and rubella jabs as arranged by her since i m stil on TBF.

Fi:
Eh i read somewhere, walker not so good for back development.

paula,
hhmm..i also dont know. we have one as a present. if not, he like to push chair around, also count i think...

Paula,
i actually asked the PD the exact qn u asked rgdg the causes of pneumonia and was slapped with a "I can't believe u actually ask me this qn! Ridiculous! and u expect me to ans u?!" reply fr the PD

Overseas web purchase
Need help. Is there a cap at USD100 on GST on purchase overseas? Does it mean that I can only order max to USD100 if I want to avoid that? Thanks.

Wen: in regards to the above... above $200... check on the bp thread more acurate
me same thots as u on the pnemonococal jab then i read bout maysatch's baby.. KS quickly go for jab. the side effects same as 5 in 1.

maysatch: can it be prevented after the vaccine? when will we know if baby's a leftie? neither me nor my hub are lefties.

fi: walker... he loves it!!! jus put him in less than 30 mins can lah...

wen, me too running of cards to show. i show the same 300 odd cards everyday. think for SM, can repeat materials - cos in PEC - speaker mentioned repetition is encouraged. these cards are retired cards from GD pic cards.

for LM - think at our bb's age, very hard to ask her to pick from all 5 cards what is house. i will give bb jake two cards, as him to pick house. the most i repeat the 'picking' process 3 times. cos in class, only pick once.

mic - bb jake's vomitting dunno whether related to this flu incident, cos he has been vomitting once a day for the past 2 months. only this weekend with flu and phlegm, his vomitting increased to 6 times a day on Sat, and Sun am fever and flu, so saw dr on Sunday. now he has phlegm and flu still, but is in recovery mode lo.

on Sun - he went on milk strike, whole day din want milk, at 3 pm - he signed milk, i was so happy, gave him his milk, and he drank all. but i have decreased the feed from 200 ml to 120 - 150 ml.

Hiaz,
I'm thinking of bringing Fiona for flu jab after she has recovered fr this spate of flu.
Hiaz...talking abt pnemococcal jab - havent brought F for it... everytime i schedule her for it, she will fall sick... gotta wait til she is well.

amy,
bb jake so clever. what's the sign for milk? good thing he can communicate, poor boy...my boy bf, how to teach milk sign. when he want he put his head to my chest searching already, no time for sign. i create and teach my own sign for dog, both hands on the head to mimick dog ear, end up now he bang his head with hand.took a while for us to realise, he's probably trying to do dog sign cause can't control hand to stay at head, so hit head instead

michele and kite,
i also hope my boy not suffering from any damage was in walker from 5.5 months up, but think should be ok lah i told mil that time dont put too long. next time when i'm SAHM for subsequent kids i can do my own way

michele,
how's yr online business, open shop yet? what you selling? how's your maid, remember last time you were left without one.

Fi: standstill
hub not happy bout it!! oh, got new maid liao. cant survive without one, bb + 7 cats!! and a BIG bb, my hub!!! got ur cd?

amy,
We taught Gabby the twinkle, twinkle song and finger play...I didn't realise that it is similar to 'milk' sigh. Ends up nowadays have to guess if she is asking for milk or doing the song sign...oh..she uses it when she sees blinking or bright lights too...very confusing for mommy..lol.

Michele,
The PD it cld be prevented if bb is vaccinated with Prevnar (can refer to the link provided by i_panda77). rgdg leftie... hehe we're oso not sure.. we jus think there might be a possibility cos he tends to use his left hand to grab things etc.

i_panda77,
Thanks for the link
after my bb discharged we oso went home and researched on pneumonia

Fi,
i also put Fiona on walker once in a while.... it's her favourite sports chasing after Aaron in her walker.... v cute to see them at play
maybe should video tape that down one day

Heard it can slow down walking but i know of several pp who dont use walker their kids still cannot walk at 15mths... so quite puzzling too.

u can apply for 3 day week since it's common in civil service
actually some pp in my co work 3 day week but they r v high level pp... so far none my level does that

kite,
did u bring Chloe for flu jab the other time?

Tinklebell, Michele, Fi,
my bb oso loves to be in his walker! its like sudden freedom for him! cos most of the time we'll put him in his exersaucer

RE: swimming in public swimming pool
722039.gif

any mummies bring their bb to public swimming pool before? The shower water is cold rite? Hmm...wondering how to bathe bb after swimming? Will the water be too cold for him? Or pat dry 1st then go home & bath? I will be bring bb for a swim this fri with my sis & niece. 1st time go public pool, so a bit blur...

kiki,

its different. but for young babies, their motor skills not very good yet. end up they may do the same or similar action for both twinkle star and milk. As both also involve opening and closing of fingers.

Tinklebell:
I didnt bring chloe for flu jab b4 gg langkawi. Tis round end mar gg genting n KL, not gg for flu jab either. Just make sure they are full clothed at nite. Cos at nite is e best time they catch cold easily. Tat time chloe genna once when i forgot to close the windows.

tinklebell,
i read up on the civil sector intranet liao, part time work is paid prorated, bonus also prorated. mothers who give birth can also take up no pay leave up to 1 yr at a time or accumulate till 4 years, but must redeem this offer before baby 4 yrs old.

wen,
i think milk sign is the twinkle sign but do near chest like milking cow.ha..i find sometimes baby just shout for what he want, this mommy have to decipher

michele,
havent collect cd... :p

wen - yes, gotta be careful when intro twinkle star sign. i only intro twinkle star recently, after he has established milk sign. hee hee... these few days, caught him doing ET phone home sign... pointing.... realised my helper taught him something like ET phone home in her own language... ha ha...

sunflower: icic, thanks for explaining. my bboi dun really can sign yet but he love watching bb signing times and the songs r very nice too.even i also enjoy singing wor.hehe

carebear,

same here... joelle also supposed to be a mid june baby though she was borned on 22 May. Same as Mathius, she was borned on the 37th week. Both my children are borned on 37w1d.

wen,

hope bb is doing fine now... and fever under control. Its so distressing to see them suffer

amy,

Queue at A&E will auto jump and place u on first priority if your bb go in with vv high temperature like 39.8 kind. There is a red room and they will attend to you first.

wen,

for SM, I dun do much also. I got 2 children of diverse needs so my aim is always to stabilise and regularise the home practise rather than try to cover a lot of thing ... too ambitious... normally cant maintain
J do 200-300 pic flashcards a day, 10 regular english words, 10 regular chinese words... but i will add in 30 english words at times that coincide with the pictures that I show for variety. She also sees 12 new san zi jing characters plus 4 3-word couplets of the previous szj phrase. At times she sees more than that cos she sits beside me when I give Samuel his share also. I used to do speed reading but these days not much time left... always get to office late... so I am waiting till my office shift nearer to home in may before launching more things in daily practise. Oh btw, she is on 65 days maths programme... multiplication now. I do photo memory with her.. 1 pair of pic a day.

Samuel does more things other than flashcards. At J's age, I think flashcards (especially when she sees quite a fair bit a day) is pretty good. Samuel does more matching game, sorting, finger training, puzzles. Not so much as a formalised home practise session... but we do it regularly a few time each week.... other days, we will do drawing and colouring, letting him practise drawing and holding the pen/pencil/marker properly.

start with matching for linking memory. Show her 3-6 cards... then get her to choose the matching card u show.
I use those Lotto cards for this purpose.... Samuel can recognise almost all the images i show just once.

J is watching the GD pic dictionary too... i show her 3 topics in japanese daily, then we will go to the english section and see all the topics in english. I change CD every 3-5 days.

I dun do ESP ... but if u want, get 2 cards... 1 with image, the other blank. Eg. its a pic of a swimming pool... just get bb to feel the coolness of the card and sense which one contains the image of the swimming pool... something like dat. Another way is to send a telepathic message to bb of which card u r thinking... then get her to choose from 2 cards. Sounds like guessing game kind ;)

btw, if u show cards using powerpoint like me hor... u can create custom slide show. Its vv easy for showing equations. I do my 65 days maths programme on it.

yup, no cards when she is sick..
Me too... and when I am sick too haha...

wen,

i think someone is selling their memory genius and my favourite genius SM pic cards in sgparenting forum... u can take a look. But the memory genius is known to be not as clear in meaning ...

panda,

I brought my children to public swimming pool before... ya cold shower... just bath and dry fast lor
If not, bring a hot flask and then mix with some cold water and rinse on bb... then go home and bath

amy,
et phone home sign with both fingers together is pain pain
cause saw it in a book before.

there's a baluku purple black on JZ head for a few days liao cause he knock on his head.do i rub it dissolve it?

poohy,
noted & thanks. Guess have to do with cold shower. Not good for the chlorine to be left on bb skin for long..

Fi,
have u tried apply 'zambak' on the baluku? Apply & rub gently..It helps

Paula,
hehe yah i was so shocked when he said that! so i scolded him and after tat he did apologise but v relunctantly. anyway throughout my boy's 5 days stay at the hospital i din talk to the PD at all... left all the talking to my hubby. can't stand the sight of tat old man!

sunflower,

did u asked me abt leapfrog dvd? I got the 4 dvd... I only show Samuel and Joelle the Letter factory. So far, samuel knows all the 26 letters phonetic sounds. J is still too young to tell me she knows all the sounds yet haha
I had not show them the word factory cos I want them to be v good in their letters sounds first before moving on. Once they are good versed in the phonics , I will start them on chinese han yu pin ying few months down the road. Good to start young too.

the DVD are cartoon based, there is no real life characters at all. Not like brainybb.

maysatch, ha, understand! I would have been pissed off by him too! Where are you staying? There is a good PD in CCK by the name of Dr. Winston from Kidslink ... very assuring PD and will bother to explain every little things ...

paula : where did u get the cashcard from ?very cute !!!

mummies: need some advise. i may be going on holiday next week for 1 week. My frozen supply is only enuff for 6 days, shld i supplement for one day ? FM ? Also, how sld i be pumping while i am away ? 4 times ?? but going to visit New York - so troublesome to bring pump around right ?
Also, sld i pump and dump ??

thanks !~!

Poohy and other mummies

Thanks for taking the time to explain and share, much appreciated!
Can anyone tell me
- what's duration of each normal flashcard, where u normally buy them,
- what are LOTTO cards (I've never heard),
- where you buy the Linking Memory and Photo Memory cards (DIY?),
- what kind of setting your bb is in when you flash (I've been trying to ambush Irv while he's at playarea with limited success),
- how long you spend in these exercises daily? Are these exercises on top of the 30min homework from Shichida class?

Poohy
glad u shared how you balanced different needs of your kids, very relevant to me. And u use ppt, hehe, my girl seems to favour ppt than printed card- I should try to put the GD 65-day math in ppt.

Fi
youtube doesn't need membership to view, maybe it was an error.

Amy
thanks for compliment on my daughter... I miss her baby days *sigh*. 1st-born has special place in my heart, though I love my Irv just as much!
Here's hoping to speedy recovery for Jake!

Tinklebell
Kudos to u for tbf
. Ur gal might be exposed to ur elder's bugs (even if he's fine, he may have stronger immunity due to age/ prior exposure)- she's probably recovering faster due to ur BM ;) .

Of course, speediest recoveries for all ill bbs and their mums!

fi - et phone home, bb jake point, then i match his point....

sunflower - sure. you point and go near him, see if he points back...

k ong - hmm... think it's just one off?

k_ong,
you gotta pump and dump at the rate and interval like you're feeding to keep up ms, even in the airplane. a lot of effort to find a suitable place, plan the timing into your itinerary but its possible cause i have done it

you can supplement a feed a day with fm so can stretch your EBM stock to last 7 days... yr baby tried FM yet? who you're leaving your baby with? at last hour when i have to leave baby for airport i always heartache cause leave him behind.

amy,

so cute! oki oki, I'll go and point at him this sat haha

poohy,

Thanks for the info on leapfrog.
you mean they have chinese han yu pin ying in DVDs too?

pawprint,
At playarea, my boy is too distracted by his toys to want to do any flashcards. So I realised must be somewhere without distraction or toys.

amy,

forgot to reply u... the I can read series is good! I have the series.. its actually a reader series. Samuel loves it ... but I just shown him Level 1 only.... he is so destructive.. already torn one of the book's title page liao...

pawprint,

try to dedicate a place where u do home practise... not in the play area hopefully... unless of course if the play area is pretty cluter free and no toys lying around to distract
Joelle does her session with me every morning at the study room. She will sit in front of the desk with me on her high chair. Samuel sits on my lap. If its powerpoint, we turn to the computer, if its physical flashcards, I just grab a stack and flash
There is no toys around... cos its my study room mah. She also cant crawl anywhere else cos in high chair... anyway I dun really have problem with her attention cos she does focus and enjoys the flashcards so much.

Samuel is a greater challenge

I buy my cards from a variety of different places... 2nd hand GD sets, bulk purchases, self DIY.
Linking memory, DIY. But I normally use those lotto cards where they have 2 identical cards of each picture. Play matching game also.

Photo memory, u can either get images of clipart and use photoshop to change here and there to create a pair OR buy the Chao Bu Tong set of books (but that is just limited to those set)... best is DIY. For A, u can do more of those arranging the order of the 3 object kind

For morning flashcard session, I spend abt 15-30 min for both children. Cant have any more time cos rushing to work... next time prob will spend longer when my office move. At night, I play matching, sorting , puzzle games with Samuel till he wanna sleep.

ppt is great too... I use a lot of those.... whatever that is conducive to your child. Some prefer physical, some ppt... most important is to get the bonding and the input and enjoy what we do together.

fully agreed with u that first child has that special place... dunno how to put it... I miss Samuel's baby days too... I always look back at his photos and wish I had took another photo, another shot of video more...

here's a photo of J & S watching their pic dictionary in the morning. S usually sit on my lap unless I am flashing physical flashcards but I told him to sit on his own and look after J while I wash his milk bottle.. so he said ok

722186.jpg