(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

mich,
see here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arrowroot

somebody told me that arrowroot is easily digestible food for children and babies n has been made into jarred bb food.

panda,
am thinking to get the maxi cosi also... but it stated from 9 mth onwards right? and it's not rear facing... is it ok?

mum2b, drinking milk from the bottle used to be such a challenge for Krist when it was given by Suster 1 (thank God!). Suster 1 had since left. Suster 2 is an experienced nanny who has handled quite a few babies. I am so thankful for her. She managed to get my son to drink from the bottle. Yup, my son finishes 220ml in abt 15 mins. I think he pauses for a short while (about 1-2 mins). Currently, I am using Nuk teats, size L (0-6 mths).

For lunch, I usually give sweet potato/potato + 1 cube of fruit/vege (peach, peas, pumpkin etc). It depends on what I have prepared earlier. Like today, I ran out of sweet potato. Left with no choice, I cooked porridge with ikan bilis stock. Hey, recently I tried mixing porridge with oatmeal . K seems to like it. Do u have any recipes to share?

You asked about which pri school is good yah? Where do you live? Most schools in Sg these days are good. It depends on what you want. What kind of values do you want to inculcate in your child? It's impt that the school values align with your family's.

mspiggy, i didnt know the seat is not rear-facing. Oh no!

mspiggy,
the salesgirl told me its for 6mths to 4yrs. So far i find it ok. I will accompany him sit behind too (for now). Josh will sit in it 'guai guai' cos he can look outside the window. Think its 'su fu' oso cos he will doze off...hee hee
653580.gif

missk, mspiggy,

The diff for rear facing is that the seat will be recline in a lower position, gd for sleeping rite? My britax can do both ways. But i realise that if the seat is fix facing front, the chair will be upright sitting position, so means my baby has to sleep in sitting position next time.

Re: food for baby

Anyone has started giving fish to baby?
How do you prepare it? Mince it and put inside porridge to boil n serve or just put in the fillet together with the porridge to boil, when cook, mince it while feeding?
My boy will be 8mths in 2 weeks' time, thinking to start introduce meat (fish)...Then wonder if i can just serve only fish, don't want the porridge since white rice only provides carbo which i think baby may not require now. I'm thinking to give fish with some mashed carrot, pumpkin and fruit...western style.

serene, I am thinking of giveing fish too. I read this somewhere but can't remember where. Boil the fillet then puree it. I am thinking of cooking the porridge and fish separately. Just in case there's bone. So if I do it separately, I can see better.

Good idea to serve with carrots and pumpkin. Yummy..so healthy. How abt cheese? Some pple say no cheese some books recommend cheese. You can also melt the cheese over the fish. Doesn't it sound delicious now?

michele,
if only i am so lucky in toto

serene, missk,
wow! so fast u start with fish already... my girl doesnt like to eat solid food... cook porridge for her, she takes less than 10 mouths and start to fidget and cry. She only likes cereal.

tinklebell, 10 mouths ...quite an achievement liao leh! I havent started with fish lah. Just read abt it. You are lucky fiona likes cereals. K hates it. What kind of cereals do u use?

missk,
cheese comes from cow rite? It says no cow's milk until 1 yr old...moreover i find cheese very salty, is it ok to give baby?

If you cook the fish separately from porridge, maybe it's better to steam instead of boil, if not, all the nutrients/tastes goes away to the water?

tinklebell,
I haven't start giving my boy other food besides only cereal, puree jar food and mashed sweet potato. Intend to start introduce fish to him next mth when he's 8mths old.

tinklebell,
You gave fiona HT brown rice cereal? I finally got it last sat but hasn't given him yet. But he had tried the HT Oatmeal cereal and Heinz rice cereal and Heinz Multigrain cereal. All he loves it. Used to give him 4-5 tablespoon with 2 spoons of formula milk plus some puree jar food also. It's about 3/4 bowl...he finished it all! Yummy yummy! But i worried whether it be too much cos i saw his tummy so big! :p So this time, i ask my maid to reduce the cereal to 3 tablespoon+2 spoons FM+1/2 jar puree...that will be about 1/2 bowl.

wow! Brayden eats so much!!! So far i have given her HT Barley cereal...havent tried the brown rice one.. i have i pack of brown rice cereal..will be opening that once the Barley one finishes.
I also tried giving her HT vanilla teething biscuits to try... but usually she will throw onto the floor in less than 5 mins

lol ...i have low expectations. When k can eat 10 mouthfuls, I am very happy! haha ... Haiz, really low expectations. Btw, how do u cook the porridge? I am also using HT. He prefers the oatmeal though.

wah ..so much food BRayden can take!!!! EXcellent!!!

Yah, I will use the soup to cook the porridge.

Yah, according to some books, cow's milk when cooked can be given to bb. Try cottage cheese. You can read Ruth Yaron's Super Baby Book for more reference.

tinklebell,
Oh yes! He has started eating Heinz rice cereal since he's 4 mths old and he has been eating 1 tablespoon for a start then slowly to 1/2 bowl in short time cos he loves it, give him too little, not enough, he cried...
Same here, he's eating the HT Oatmeal cereal now, once the Oatmeal finish, i will give the brown rice. Btw, we don't have to boil the brown rice rite? Same as the rests, just pour in warm milk or warm water and stir to serve rite?
Oh, you had given her the teething biscuit ah? How's like? It it meant for eating or just for chewing/biting? I worried he might swallow the biscuit so dare not buy...don't really know how it works.

missk,
good for u to find good suster. hmm.. that means im not v good at handling bb, my bb only drink so little
what do u mean size L? i also use nuk slicone, i tot there's only 3 size i.e. for water, milk n thicker feed. dunno there's S/M/L? btw i use the one for milk 6-18months.

for porridge, do u blend the porridge after it's cooked?

erm no recipe, so far i only steam n puree vegie n fruits. haven't given porridge yet. kept postponing coz scared my girl rejects hehe.. mummy fears rejection :p also lazy to prepare stock. if just plain porridge w/o stock but mix w/ pureed veggie, bb sure reject ah?

re : feeding
my mom started porridge for wesley this week. initially plain porridge.. less than 2 mouth he rejects coz too bland! hehee

after that my mum added dried scalop... he loves it. but then we gave him 5 teaspoon only. then follow by 160ml milk.

I havent started fish yet. Some ppl said fish can cause allergy, hv to be careful. wil start meat from 9mths onwards
Now me stil giving my ger cereals + fruits + vegs. She loves it.

I've given the teething biscuits from HT... he usually just lick them and use them as teething rings... or amyeb u can try those japanese rice crackers.

i've decided to stay away from fish till Brendan is about 9mths. fish can cause allergy reaction, intend to give meat 1st.

Tinklebell: u might never know... now so lucky!! or buy 4D, buy more!! ;)

Kite: baby so chubby!! so cute... seems to be having such a great time!!

Serene: guess we have to use our own discretion as parents to decide. books and opinions are just to give us an idea, ultimately we have to decide? some books also say no porridge till 8-9mths. i've bought Brendan some baby cheese and intend to give him when he's 7 mths. how much can babies consume after all? they need the iron in them!!
go see my blog for recipes...

Michele:
yup true. 1 of my colleagues told me her girl was allergy since when she was a baby so i m gg to refrain fr fish at the moment

yup really enjoy tis trip w my ger

wen,

i went Bugis Seiyu yesterday and saw some cheongsams there..
not not too sure will have the kind u looking for..
wanted to buy for my girl too but looks a bit big for her cos she is on the small side..
maybe u wanna go there and take a look

kite,
You bring the bumbo along!
Hey the hat she's wearing, i bought it from pangbaobao.com too but when try on brayden, realised it's too small, no choice have to return. Nice hat! Which hotel you stay in? The last time i stayed in tanjong rhu and andamen but i find the sea water not clear/clean and i got alot mosquito bite, fedup! Then the mandara spa i've tried at The Datai is great!

michele,
True, sometimes, we can gauge it ourselves. To me, i feel fish is easier to digest than other type of meat so if i start meat, will start with fish.

hi...

Tracy, U can check out at yue hua in china town for bb cheongsam. i just bought 1 suit for bran and the gal suit is so lovely and girly surely fit ur leia pretty in..hehe

serene: can u share ur experience in trial kindermusik? i wld like to know more....

tinklebell,
Tell you, last sat i went to yr hse, thus decided to buy yr unit no. and also realised is also my son's BC no., last 4 digit but my son is 5100. So i bought both, i think nearly come out consolation on sat or sun.

kiki,
Basically we will move or do some actions while sing along. We have to get up, carry bb, high and low, stop and continue walk in circle. Also, sing to bb, touch his face, point his eye etc, carry him bounce and jump, clap our hands. On the last part is, they distribute a satchet of bells let the bb hold and shake and feel. Give us a scraf and play peep kaboo... That's all about the 1 lesson that i've attended. Mummy is very tired! The next day, my both arms ached! :p

serene:

i see... thanks so much for explaining in details. no wonder u seem discourage in kindermusik so thru out is basically we are doing stunts???...hehe..
im trying out tumble tots soon, will feedback later is u interested...

mum2b: no lah..I am not saying you r not good at handling e bb lah. I am using Size L for 0 - 6 mths. I am not sure if it's silicone. I dont think so. The teat is brown. No, I don't blend the porridge. I cook it for abt an hour. It's really quite soft so I think it's not a problem for the bb. I am not sure if the bb will reject plain porridge. I have yet to try. U let me know yah?

mspiggy, dried scallop. That's what my fren told me. I havent tried it though. Gonna buy the dried scallop from Singapore first.

Re: Fish
EXcerpt from www.wholesomebabyfood.com
Fish, specifically shellfish and "boney" fish, are known allergens for an infant. It is often recommended to introduce fish only after a baby has reached 1 year of age. Many sources suggest waiting until after 3 years old. Still, other sources say that introducing fish to a baby at 9-10 months old is perfectly safe. Shellfish should not be introduced to a child who may be allergy prone until around 3 years old or even older. Shellfish such as lobster, oysters etc. can induce deadly allergic reactions.

kiki,
Think for interaction with the rests of babies and mummies, it's good. Also, if you're free n has budget for it, it's nice. But for me, who works mon-sat, went back home on sat afternoon to fetch my boy and rush down to tanglin mall, and participate in those 'stunts', seems too much hard work! Maybe i'm wrong too, as i've not attended the rests of the sessions and cannot just comment based on 1 session. Since it's $25 for the trial, no harm for you to go and experience it yrself.

Tumble tots? I thought for crawlers? Yr baby can crawl already? My son is beginning to learn crawling lately, in fact not really on his knees yet, but he's trying and can move fw to get the object....

missk,
Really ah? Btr to give fish to baby when they're 1 yr old? Hmm...in fact all my relative's kids including my nephew and also us when young, all start to eat porridge with fish, pork etc when we're 6mths old. In fact, my boy considered late already, he's 7 1/2 mths already, i still hasn't introduce meat to him...