(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Aishite,

Thks for your info. My boy enjoys his cereal too! We always have to feed him very fast, 1 spoon in and quickly another spoon follows and he finished very fast! So far, he had tried heinz rice cereal, heinz multigrain cereal, HT Oatmeal cereal and now going to try brown rice cereal. He loves all the puree flavors too! Besides cereals n puree food, he also eat boiled sweet potato.

missk,
I'm using the britax car seat. It was given to us by a cousin. Not sure of the diff between britax and maxi. But maxi seems to be very popular. Britax is okay.

serene, thanks..finally, one mother responded abt the car seat
I am almost going crazy researching for the car seat. So many models and brands!

May I know which model u r using?

ooh.. not sure if i can come for the gathering...

vivi - email me the address n ur contact no.
if i can make it, i sms u.

tinklebell,

need to check with u... cos remembered u mentioned that u r shifting partly becos of your boy's enrolment to P1. I am planning my boy's enrolment to P1 also (ya, KS rite LOL). Hmm I stay in JW, but going to enrol my boy into Pei Hwa Presbyterian in bukit timah. We will be in phase 2b as we are affliated church members. Wanna increase my chance by renting a house there within 1km. Do u have any idea how we can prove we rented the house? cos I was thinking if i got relative or fren staying there... maybe can "rent" the house without monetary transaction etc. My last choice would be shifting but that is really last choice cos my mum and cousins all live in jw.

P1 - if u r in phase 2B, ur chances are already much better than the "within 1km phase"
why still need to move??

if there are no more vacancies under phase 2B, means there will be none available for the next phase rite?

mtdt,

ya in phase2b is also quite competitive. If there is more places than registered, then of course auto get in. But if not, then the priority will be given to those within 1km, follow by those in 1-2km then others will go for ballot on remaining places.

vivi, me not sure now. Coz will be going to zoo this Sat...her daddy booked the tix. To be realistic not sure if I have the energy to take care of her all the way to Boon Lay on Sunday. Let me think again and let you know soon. =b

mtdt, poohy,
Where do you gals see this system which you get to know you're under phase 2B etc? It's too young for my boy yet but am just curious to know now. If you could share with me?

missk,
I'm not too sure of the model that i'm using but i can go back to check and let you know. What i know is this model can be used from infant to a few yrs old i think. It can be fixed with reverse facing (for infant) and fix facing front when baby can sit upright... Will check and let you know. Actually b4 our cousin gave us this gift, i was thinking to buy Maxicosi myself next time cos i think the look is nicer, more choices of colours.
But i based on appearance, didn't compare on the technical thus can't comment that maxi cosi is better car seat than britax. What i could say is britax looks sturdy lor. The model that i've got is a 2 colour combination (sporty red and blue), have you seen this model when you shop?

poohy,

Is there any website for us to source for kindergarten or primary school at different zone/area? Do they give comments of the school?

serene,

i read it on and off from the forum... u can check www.moe.gov.sg for the primary one registration home page to get most of the information. For kindergarten, this one i really not sure. I am more into Primary one preparation because that is the one that can get out of my control. I dun want to leave things to chances. I spent so much time and effort on my children, definitely wont want them to get into a school which MOE just allocate based on location and vacancy. I mean if not we wont have to go for trial to see which enrichment class is good before enrolling liao if just any school will do

For kindergarten, I am still considering between enrolling my son to a good nearby church kindy or to the PAP kindergarten just below my mum's house. I would have wanted him and Joelle to go to JG kindergarten but I think the distance and travelling is not feasible for a daily basis.

sunflower,

so u going to buy the littlebbluv flashcards?

re: flashcard organisation

mummies who do flashcards... how do u all organise and store the flashcards... I keep buying plastic boxes, cabinets and still its piling up.. i think i am really terrible at management...hope to hear how u all do it ... cos my house is in a mess now and I hope to tidy things up in to better management before cny.

poohy,
They will see your IC address first. safest is to change your IC address (and must be 6 mths prior to the registration date) BUT bear in mind that it is an offence to declare an address which u are not residing in.

The alternative route is to make a statutory declaration that your child is fostered out for care by a relative.
The relative MUST be a grandparent of the child, or a sibling of either of the childs parents, if not, u cannot use the address. Even if u go via this route, u will be balloting together with children residing within 2km of the school of choice.

For me, i thought it thru and decided that moving is the best alternative. Renting a place is quite expensive too cos it gotta be half a year before the registration. I am not sure how long u must stay there after your kid gets in... m sure there is some kind of restriction on that.

I must really thank God that my co is also moving to town and the timing is so coincidental to my move!!! Was so happy i dont have to change job due to relocation

tinklebell,

wow that's good that your co also moving ...
thanx for the info.. I guess in that case I just gotta either resigned to phase 2b beyong 2km or move house
I heard that if we are members of the church, priority is actually given even in phase 2b but not sure whether that will still be true in time to come... anyway i just pray lor
I have a good school in jw which is within 2km but i worried we may not have time for volunteer work. Plus pei hwa has the church culture and environment which i want my boy to be in.

poohy,
u'r right... i also dont want to leave it to chance
Spent almost a bomb off our savings for the relocation!!!!
My boy is born in 2002 so it was after sept 11... hopefully not too competitive... but not so certain for Fiona
St Nicholas is within 2km fr my house... if i dont get in, i will keep appealing loh... i think can get in cos the head of the church kind of assured us that the church will help all our kids to get into the schools affilated to the church.... dont think they will be so unkind to fit me somewhere so far away.

Poohy,

I was asking the same question on organising cards....haha..I can foresee how out-of-hand it will be...I keep printing duplicates nowadays coz I forgot what i have shown her..sigh..

tinklebell,
Good for you! Timing so good!

poohy - ooh, i see...
thanks for the info.

i did discuss with my hubby abt our boy's pri 1. but say say only... now still early to do anything. ;p

tinklebell,
Your boy is in nursery or K1 now? U were telling me last time that he's attending a sch @ green ridge yah? Which one? Is 1/2 day school?

tinklebell,

ohh that's great then! For me, if Samuel gets into Pei Hwa Presbyterian, I can "rest" liao cos Joelle will surely get in with the sibling route since its a co-ed school
My mum say I siow to thinkg about such things when my boy not even 2 years old and not even in nursery yet.

I thought abt it and feel only primary school a little hard to control... for nursery and kindergarten I can send them to private ones anytime. Are u putting your boy in PAP kindergarten? I may put my boy into the affliated church kindergarten too to further increase his chance of entering the pri sch... hehe I really very KS... prob will brush up his chinese also...cos pei hwa offers higher chinese at primary 1. I find him fast talking like an ang moh... u know those banana speaking maindarin...

tinklebell,
That time when you r looking for the kindergarten school for yr boy, u also do some seaching/checking around our area huh? Do share with me which is good? Maybe can prepare my boy to a school when he's 3?

hello everyone

tinklebell,
congrats on your relocation! we can meet up often next time... staying quite near

RE: feeding
your babies seems more or less have fixed feeding time. my boy still will shift his timing coz of his night feed timing.

poohy,
I guess most of the parents now plan ahead for our kids. I think it's normal cos we care and somehow more KS.

serene,

i found this ... hope its helpful

http://www.moe.gov.sg/preschooleducation/Kindergarten%20List%20by%20PostCode%2020051022.(1).htm

ya u r rite.. most parents plan ahead for our kids nowadays
But I constantly remind myself that we should always respect them and dun heap them with our over-expectations. Else they will grow up as unhappy kids who live in the shadow of parents only.... that's the last thing I ever want to happen. For that, its really such a delicate balance to maintain that I need to constantly pray for clarity of my mind.

School
I am staying just across a neighbourhood school... Everyday I see students buying and eating junk food down at my block....sometimes see some misbehaving students.. I was asking my hubby maybe we should considering moving... 'meng4mu3san1qian1..haha.. He is laughing at me now but we shall see as his precious darling is older. He is saying that it doesn't matter what school she attends. She has to learn to survive and do well in whatever environment. Sigh..

Anyone knows where to get CNY clothes for bb girl? I am looking for something in cheongsam material. Saw some but think will be too warm for her. Like 'bao-pak-chang'. I am looking for halter-neck design and if can find, a comfortable material...not so warm. Any recommendation?

mspiggy,
ya.... can meet up with u after my move
btw, u r at AMK right?

serene,
yes... aaron is still in the school at Greenridge. K1 now. Will prob put him there til end of the year if i cant find him a school by mid of the year. but my hubby will have to fetch them to BP every morning... but not so bad cos he works in the west too

poohy,
actually, PAP is my other option cos there is a PAP at the void deck of my house. Then, it will save my hub the hassle of transporting the kids and maid here and there.

Put in church kindergarten can increase chance?
Higher chinese .... chim! anyway, now sending my son to Tien Hsia for lessons. hope he will improve.

If u dont move, u have to consider the logistics of getting Samuel to school every morning. If by school bus, it will be very early!

Samuel is 2 plus right? Not too early to think abt your options loh.... if u relocate to a prime location, will also need to consider how u need to go abt to achieve that financially. It's not gonna be cheap. It cant be an overnight decision.

Wen,
Hee .... anyway just crossing my fingers everything goes on smoothly as planned!

poohy,
haha, yes i also got a banana speaking ang mo at home... was quite bad initially until his teacher ask me if my hub is ang mo **FAINT**

tinklebell,

Samuel is 1 year 10 month. Going to be 2 year old in end march. Ya ya, I always prefer to plan early. But I heard the school staff reassure that the glory church members should have no problem securing a place in pei hwa, that's why i hope no need to move also can get in

For transport if I am not moving, if he is in morning class, we will fetch him to school in the morning and my mum will fetch him back home via cab in the inital years. Shd be quite economical since Joelle is just 1 year junior than him... if afternoon session, my mum will fetch him to school on cab and we will drive him home after work. For school bus, since the school is quite a distance from our home, I dunno whether got sch bus or not leh.

Samuel is in JG billigual playclub so I also think it should help him to be in a total chinese speaking environment. I cant imagine my own son being weak in chinese cos I was very good in my languages both english and chinese. Prob too early to judge for him but once again, must make sure I constantly expose him to chinese. I flash maindarin cards to him from young but hmm still got banana accent.. hehee I get my mum to speak chinese to him now...

missk,

I went to the website of Britax, my model looks alike the First Class Si model. Anyway, i will go back to cfm n let u know.

Wen,
I feel your hubby is not at all wrong about his views. Sometimes, i think besides our close guiding or rather most of us would want to lay a good path for our kids, it also depends on the kids to think and behave a right attitude...hmm, i guess it's quite hard to make the situation perfect but i think we always do our best. In a way, i also agreed with yr hubby, 1 person should learns to live well in all kinds of environment. We can't possibly protect them forever.

I saw some chinese traditional cny costume for kids @ White sands (pasir ris) last sunday and my mum bought 2 sets for my boy from those shops at chinatown alley. Alternatively, you can check out www.pangbaobao.com. Not sure whether they have those halter neck type, maybe not. As for material, you have to check out. The 2 sets that my mum bought, 1 set is abit thick, the other quite soft...anyway, i feel most likely will wear 1/2 day for show, then after we will change him into his comfy clothing.

poohy,
my church head also assure us no prob... but there r still pp who cant get in and gotta appeal a few times and they see whether ur kid is baptised or not. ur children r right?

distance v far leh... gotta wake up v early... somemore morning traffic congestion in Bukit Timah is quite bad

tinklebell,

nope, my children are not baptised. They are dedicated to God in the fashion of Jesus and Samuel the prophet though, on their full month day. I am from CHC and we do not believe in infant baptism. Even though I am no longer attending the church actively now (that's why we are on a lookout for another church more conducive for family attending and decide to go back to my hubby's family church Glory which he attended from young). I feel its logical since baptism should be out of a person's conscious own free will and my children are still babies so cant make that decision. When they are slightly older, I hope one day they will come to me to tell me they want to accept Christ into their heart and opt to be baptised out of their own heart and will.

poohy,
I think it doesn't allow us to click direct nor copy n paste. Is okay, i will type in the main address first then slowly explore to the link.

serene,
i can copy n paste the link tha poohy gave.

wah all this talk about school.. i'm clueless as i'm not local. is it that difficult to get into a good primary school here? eh i don't even know which primary school is good.. hehe.. i only know those with "raffless" name r good?

missk,
wow ur son can drink 220ml at one go? how many minutes can he finish that? no stopping in between? what brand of teat do u use? to get my girl drink 120ml is an achievement already..
for 1130 feed, u said carbo+vege. potato, sweet potato and arrow root are carbo too?

serene, thanks for being so helpful.

ipanda, i was eyeing this model too! How much did you pay at Hypermarket? Do they do home delivery?

tinklebell: u very heng heng... go buy toto!!

i_panda: do u know the diff. between the maxi cosi xp n sps? how much did u pay for urs?