(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

vivi

sama sama. all along i thot they will fuss before the tooth pops out. now i know its the other way round. so how did u soothe him? my gal cldnt sleep well last nite, now she's got puffy eyes. tried everything from teething gel to teething ring to milk.

Stephanie,

my boy only wants me to nurse him. So i have been nursing him from 11pm to 6am. He can sleep well in the day time only.

vivi

u're right! my babysitter really had it easy....since she cldnt sleep well at nite, she will spent most of the day sleeping......

HI!! Good Morning ladies!!
have been functioning like a zombie these few days as Fiona keeps waking up in the nite. And over the weekend, she woke up at 6plus ...
Donno how to make her sleep thru
So tired.... just weighed myself recently and quite shocked to see that i have lost beyond my pre-preg wt **REALLY A BIG SURPRISE** must be the stress of looking after the 2 kids!

Aishite,
what happened to your bb? sounds v v bad!
is it she kenna hit by the rota virus?

Fi,
Travelling again? sometimes i really envy u

vivi

how old is your boy? has he just started teething? come to think of it, i am a bit better than some others, my niece actually started teething as early as four mths old.

tinklebell,

good news ah.. i only managed to get back to my pre-preg wt.. has been hoping that it can lost beyond that.

U have also becum a zombie over the weekends huh..

vivi

my gal is 6mth 2 weeks & 7 days.........sigh, wonder when the crankiness will end.....really siong for me cos hubby happens to be outstation these few weeks....

steffi,

im also waiting...

my hb cant do anything cos my boy only wants me to nurse him inorder to soothe him down. But my poor hb cant have a good sleep cos my boy kept fussing.

tinklebell,
no la..some mummies here also keep going bkk and genting.i will need to pump and throw again this trip but i've reduce to pumping twice at office so not as siong already.jsut that it will be hb's first time alone at night same room with bb for 2 nights, mil the other room. wonder if he can manage, wake up few times at night soothe bb, feed if he hungry. mine is easier, just lift up the shirt..let him try 2 nights himself see how..

tinklebell,
still read old postings? the past is the past...ha ha..

vivi,
gathering how? me on leh but i'll only check thread again when i come back fri evening, so do let me know ya. me not swimming by the way..tinkle, u going?

Tinklebell,

yup still onz...

so u coming???

FI,

wat a waste... shld bring the EBM back. i will be going to phuket end of jan and i will pump n bring it back.

Good morning gals.

I was having a really LOUSY day yesterday at work thus didn't log on! Sigh! Gets all the SHITS from men!!! Sometimes, I really envy mummy who's not working... If not for $, not for work, don't have to bear with all these inhuman and pride hurting stuffs!

Tinklebell,
That's good news to lose back and became slimmer but you have to take care of yr health and not become hagged looking. But not to worry, at least you're not, when i saw you that day, you're great!

vivi, steffi: been up most of teh nite... boy super super cranky!! teething... my nipple, (one side)super sore n engorged now, scared i get fever!! want it to heal fully before i feed this sore side... not only cry BUT WAIL!!! poor baby...we also dunno wat to do... the only thing that relieves him was sticking a pacifier in ice water and giving it to him, we kept doing that for about 5 mins... then finally gave him the pacifier WAILED even louder!! sigh... how long will this cont.?

aishite: bren stopped "lau sai" immediately after taking med. now i scared constipation... haha!! all my silly worries!!

missk: was worth spending that $$ at the PD!! now i know why ex, cos of the med.

vivi / michele

my mil just called and suggested feeding gripewater. acording to her, the water can soothe teething discomfort. dun know true or not...

hmm, thot babies are supposed to cut 1-2 teeth each mth? does that mean that it will take mths before our woes are over??!!

re:men vs women at work
generally, i think women are more difficult...

vivi,
is your boy going with you to phuket?
hhmm...if pump in hotel can freeze in hotel fridge. if pump outdoors have to throw else not hygenic right cause i usually do it at public toilet and pump carry outside entire day with milk residue and cant sterilize outdoors. then when fly back ask air stewardes keep in their plane fridge? but the last time i went through some countries immigration, they have special machine to scan liquid, will be funny to scan my milk. later beep beep.........they ask what's this? and have to bring ice gel and ice box...

aishite: u very furny leh... 101 haha!! need my med name? if so, sms me... me gonna zzzzzzzz... need the energy n strength for son later!! pmed u my mobile liao, rem. i';m in tw!!

how to give gripewater? spoon? Fi/Steffi, did it work on urs?

steffi:
boo hoo hoo... MUST get that eye cream for dark circles!! n drink more ckn essence...

Michele

So far i only feed gripewater when she had colic...the bottle has been lying in the fridge for mths already...hmm must take it out again...

me also trying to find out how to administer it. ie whether to feed only when baby is fussing or constantly feed in the night and also by spoon or dilute with water....

So many postings....can't read all. Anyway

tinklebell, I join you today in the Zombie club. My girl woke up at 11pm just when I was about to sleep and played for an hour+. Then she woke up again at 4am till 5.30am...to play as well! This has been on for 2 nights already and I am really quite zonk out!

Michele, Ashite,
Hope your babies are better today!

that photos were taken on 28 dec, a few days after i found her standing in her cot for the first time. since then, she'd be standing whenever she could, n fell a few times also
more tiring for me also.

missk,
yeah, that time b4 got the net in a night she could get 8 bite marks! on legs, hands, even face.. so i decided to buy mosquito net when she was 11 weeks old or so.

aishite,
how's ur bb today? like what tinklebell said, maybe rotavirus? did u vaccinate against rotavirus already?

re: teething
my bb also drools again, maybe teeting again. i found that if she didn't fall asleep after her 10pm feed, then she will be up till past midnight
dunno if it's related to teething. she's been drinking less too. can only finish her feed if she's super sleepy.

fi,

my boy not going with us this time cos am worried abt the tsunami thing. if pump in toilet then better throw.

I brought my EBM to japan. And when i return, i also brought it back. I requested the stewardess for the use of their chiller. They agree. So far, no beep beep during the scanning.

Just got back from PD [he super 'lao jiao', been PD for 30 yrs and Shannon is 3rd generation going to him], and this is what he said:

Diarrhoea shld normally clear within 24/48 hrs. Cos her poo has blood for 2 days oledi, he asked me to go to the nearest hospital to test the next poo for amoeba, which is a bacteria that attaches itself to intestines and cause laceration and bleeding. The way to clear it is flagyl, which is a controlled drug. Amoeba is normally found in the ground and also in shit :)

Soooo, c how lor. Have to observe her next round of poo. Amazing thing is she's still happy and not grouchy at all, much to thank God for that.

Don't get overly alarm reading this post hor, just sharing. PD did say this occurence is rare in Singapore, he's just being careful.

stephanie,
Aloysius is cranky at times too. Last nite keep waking up to suckle again. And worse is bite me. His teething first two teeth...
Your gal very smart to soothe herself in her sleep.

Fi,
hahaha.. of course we cannot tell your MIL la... She in JB wor and we havent even met before... lol...

vivi,
I also have to nurse him at nite. Very often at nite.

tinklebell,
Same here! Last saturday, Aloysius woke up at 6am and started to jump and play in his cot. As long as he's not on the floor, I cannot sleep well...

Serene,
hugs hugs... You are working in a men environment?

mum2B,
Aloysius fell many times from standing already and knocked his head. But lately, he seems to know how to balance himself better. He will fall into sitting position. It's a passing stage ba... Very soon, she will know how to balance better.

Hi aishite,

Thank God it is diagnosed early! Hope she is well very soon!

I think my Gabby is among the high risk...I have to admit I am not very clean...She quite often get to put remote controls in her mouth...and books..and whatever she get her hands on....

Wen,
hee... Aloysius also high risk group :p I only use boiling water to "sterilise". He loves to bite my mobile phone... and strangers' fingers! Some people let him put their fingers in his mouth! But how to tell them cannot? **headache**

vivi,
did you bring ice gel and ice box to transport your frozen EBM?

aishite,
hope shanon get well soon too.

steffi,
my gripe water is in house brand from a clinic in penang but i just follow the instruction on box.i only feed the few days when he was cranky from teething. my mother asked me to feed everyday from birth till 3 yrs old? but i think that's a bit too much..

Vivi, Wen

Tinklebell, Mum2B
Only brought her for all the required jabs and the latest one is the one at 6 mths. Don't think rotavirus is a compulsory one. Just read up on rotavirus, dunt think she has it cos the symptoms are not the same .. ie, she does not have vomitting, nausea and fever. But hv to observe lor.

Serene
Hope u cheer up soon. Men who are shitty are normally bullies, but good thing is they tell u what's on their mind. Use your womanly charm to counter-attack :)

lyn,
i cringe when i see strangers hold my boy's hand which people like to do. put their finger inside mouth? that'll be worse. you can 'pretend' to scold baby for biting then carry him away. an indirect message which i put to good use for many things. a lot of times i'm telling the person but i tell it in a way like talking to my boy. when outside, waiters etc also like to carry him but i dont like cause you wouldnt know if they jsut came out from toilet and wash their hands or not etc. there's once this foreign waiter in jb keep insisting he want to carry till i irritated, even pil and hb allow him to carry till i told them cannot...

Lyn, Fi
Thanks. Not KKH lah, just Eastshore hospital to do testing if really needed. The way it works is

Eastshore test-->if confirm-->my PD write letter to pharmacist to prescribe medication

It sounds troublesome but is not really cos all these places just 5 min drive from my place only, can zip from 1 place to another v fast one.

michele, i used spoon to give gripewater for wind, then feed water using bottle, but my mum juz mix a spoonful into the bottle & feed.

think either way is fine as long. u can following the feeding instructions, think 1 teaspoon for bb 0-6 mths ba.

stephenie,
I do agree with you that women r more diff to work with...Usually men r easier but i'm unlucky yesterday!

lyn,
yes i work in a men environment, in fact my co., just 2 male bosses, 1 male drive and myself! Supposed to be simple and less politics...actually it is. Then my boss is too ridiculous yesterday, i'm really mad, upset and disappointed. Also encouter one idiot man's rudeness over the phone! Cannot imagine such man exists in this world that bully woman such way!

lyn,
yeah, she's geting better in balancing now. it's cute when she's tired from standing, then she'll look behind to see how far is the floor, then hup! she sits hehe..
but i cringe when she stands on hard floor coz she likes to bend all of her toes to support her body. yest i found a part of her big toes is chipped, not just the tip but the side part also! so pitiful still a baby but toenail is chipped already
carefully i trim the chipped part, but cannot do it completely. now thinking how to prevent this.

lyn, fi,
wah put stangers hand into ur boy's mouth? if it's me i just tell off the person point blank heehe.. but fi's suggestion is better, more subtle

serene,
tell me about it. i used to work in a v small office too, n my male boss is also pretty inconsiderate at times. once a partner was pregnant, and he kept talking about her behind her backs that he's sure she'll be quiting soon after giving birth, that her works are getting worse due to pregnancy, etc. v male chauvinist!
once he called me at 10 pm shouting and screaming at me over the phone because he couldn't fins a certain drawing. i had to take cab to deliver the drawing to him right away.

Lyn..
Stranger putting their fingers into Aloysius mouth??..For my case.. i will also indirectly tell my gal not to bite peoples hand.

You know what... my MIL like to wear alot of jade / gold bracelet / pearls arounf her wrist.. and she liketo swing it in front of my Gal and let her touch and play.. told her so many times dun do that cos.. it will become a bad habit for my gal.. next time go out anyhow pull others bracelet how?? and also told her there're lotsa germs hiding in between those bracelet.. so I ban her from giving my gal those things to play.. she seems unhappy.. but no choice... and she abit stubborn too... will keep doing it on and off.. till last weekend i piss off... lock myself and gal inside the room..... haha...

whenever come to weekend is my nightmare.. cos MIL will come over and stay... Thanks goodness she only come once a week.... but she chop a room in the house... so my poor gal no rooms.. no cubboards.. etc...

mum2b,
yr boss sounds like a monster.were you preggie there? when preggie i still kept going to work site and i kept having giddy spells then till i told boss i cannot keep going site already and the next day he took me out of the project! but got pros and cons la, good person doesnt mean good boss, vice versa.

celeste,
yr mil comes once a wk to see bb?

fi,
wah does it happen in ur current office? i thought civil sector is v family oriented..
i wasn't pregnant when that happen, but the work is so draining i got misscarriage once when working there.

mum2b,
no la. actually my boss and colleagues very good to me when i was preggie that's why i could immediately get out of the project when i tell boss cannot take it liao.
oh no..miscarriage?i also have a friend who got miscarriage due to work stress. at which month preggie did u stop work?