(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Celeste
Ur gal soooo sweet ... and slim too. I picked up a food guide from Nestle NAN HA2 and these are the fruits recommended according to months and likeliness to cause allergic reaction:

After 6 mths and least likely to cause allergy:
pear, apple, prune

After 6 months and occasionally may cause allergy:
apricot, plum,banana,peach,cherry

From the 9th month and most likely to cause allergy:
Berries

Extracted all fruits off the list oledi. My PD also say it's better to let baby try all permissible food before 9 months cos after that they get v picky. I am trying to do that now, cos I regret i didnt practice this approach with water earlier ... now getting the little gal to drink water is such a chore, it's like fighting world war 3. She's now 6.5 mths.

celeste, i am not sure if banana helps to ease constipation leh. I read somewhere it doesn't. And I was also told to take banana when having diarrhoea. *confused* How about trying papaya?

celeste, my son cant crawl yet! lol ..he's already 7 mths plus! lol...I do get worried at times..but I guess, they will crawl when they want to lah. My cousins' son went straight to walking! Maybe your son wants to walk now!

ok... i will try papaya tonite... and update you all later tonite or tomorrow..

BTW anyone know is there any BP for healthy times here in motherhood forum?

celeste, what do u need from HT?

Yah, let me know abt the papaya. I usually buy Hawaiian papaya. Of cos the bb cant finish one papaya. MY hubby and I eat the rest. Very sweet. Yummy!

Fi
I personally think it's ok for baby to get exposed to bacteria/germs as it helps to build immunity, just need to balance. After this experience, I will probably pay more attention,but frankly speaking, will not overly restrict. Will observe and see. Otherwise, life not enjoyable leh if everything also scared this scared that.

But i must admit that baby suddenly developing sicknessese throws back work schedule a little, thank God there's no important meeting today.

Celest

Think the organiser of BP for HT said she's thinking of organising one soon, probably at this month end. Go check the bulk purchase forum.
I just brought my HT from the BP and even volunteered to distribute for a location, but my experience for helping to distribute feels like vomit blood, only need to distribute to 8 mummies, but all got different schedules, tough man!! In fact, 4 bags are still sitting in my office awaiting collection, after 2 weeks!!

organics banana? sounds interesting.. do you mind giving me the contacts and how to collect?

Miss K ,
I wan the cereals.. will PM you..

banana - was told to feed the small kind. not those big ones from supermarket.

but last week, boy down with cough, so mum says stop feeding. will worsen

btw, i also read somewhere that banana will cause poo to be hard. so not true tat it will aid in poo leh. but i forgot where i read this liao. anyone can verify?

mtdt,
yeah it happens to my bb too. she loves banana so much, once i let her eat 4 bananas in one go.. hehe.. but it's very small types, the length is shorter than my finger. then poo v hard. so now i limit to 1 only.

celeste,
green circle can order online www.greencircle.com.sg

missk,

not yet decided :p cos have not gotten a look at the book hahaha

heard you mention Ruth Yaron used alot of yeast, so I decided not to get that. Annabel heard from Amy very interesting recipe
Gina Ford has a recipe book for babies & toddlers - you seen it before? hmmm.... may compare & get that instead.

Celeste

my boy also poos once a day, sometimes in 2 days, but his poo is soft sometimes green. some say it's due to too less water, while a bf collick say its too much water or bm not enuf fat, now i also not sure whether to give water anot...

RoyalMnB is organising BP on HT soon, maybe u can check it out

gee... my boy hasn't start crawling, only managed to be up on all fours, is he too slow?

missk

wats hawaiian papaya?where can we get that?i bought those papaya from market n try feed my ger but she dun like..she hate banana n papaya..tinking of reintroducing them again sometime later..so far,she hasnt took any fruits loh.headache man.

mtdt, same here!! I read it a couple of times. So I just stick to papaya. My son pooed 30 mins after consuming his papaya today. Celeste, hope it will happen to your son too.

angeline, I also not sure what exactly is a hawaiian papaya. It's stated on the the price tag. It is small and cute.

sunflower, not that Ruth uses a lot of yeast. She just recommends the use of it. Where to get yeast btw?

missk,
Mine is a daughter lah.. hehe

Angeline,
Hawaiian Papaya is the smaller one.. and it taste and smell nicer.... got a fragrant smell when you eat it.. not like those normal papaya.. Later i go mkt see have or not.. if have i will buy one for you too.. k.. if i never call you means cant find.. hehe

hey, i rem a few mummies looking for jigsaw for bbies rite?

i saw alot of jigsaw for bbies at JL. think the brand is "infino" or something like tat. always put together with leapfrog toys one.

maybe u all can go see see look look.

celeste

tks...hehe..i call u to tell u i just open the HT barley cereal.thot of bringing over n to c your ger as well..anyway,my ger's poo oso these day getting hard..fed her more water just now..not sure is it due to friso powder? coz dun tink me gona change fm again..will let her continue friso...

aishite: PD says its norm for babies after 6 mths to have diarrhea cos they put everything in their mouths, contamination BUT his isnt that bad... very active, still has a very good appetite and all...

9 times!! FAINTZ... didnt the med make her better? take her to another doc!!

air her butt and put liners under her... got desitin?

michele

ya lor ... really can qualify as lau sai princess man ... better oledi, each time lau less and less. Air, desitin ... everything used to the max.

michele

Sometimes wash, sometimes wet wipes. She just hit her 10th poo, wish she will sleep soon so she doesn't hit the 11th session!! I phobic oledi, each time when i take a peep into her diaper and see the dreaded stuff!

haha ... u furnee!! Theoretically I like her to sleep at 9, so put her down by that time, but it's normally 10 when she finish with her 'mumbo jumbo', ie talking to herself, pleading with us why she shldnt sleep so early.

MSN not working now, cos me living in my mum's place and MSN screw up. Let me set it up properly when I am settled into my new place and we can MSN ... nite nite.

mum2b,wah..feli look very happy.

re:banana
cannot give the longish big banana? thought its all the same. how come small better?my mil told me she read somewhere banana could make poo more solid, so its opposite from constipation.but i gave small 2cm slice of it, he poo later that afternoon.so dont know leh..just give in moderation to be safe i suppose.

cough cannot eat banana? is it true? aiyo and i forgot who in this tread said that, very sleepy eyes closing, i scroll up and down but cannot find.

re:papaya
give normal papaya, not hawaiian can?

wah..i've to sleep now. nite nite

mum2b

wah...feli v happy leh..can stand liao..must be more work for u..
my ger still reverse gear n 'pumping' position..tink she learning to sit from lying down position.still cant coordinate her hands n legs to crawl.. :p

Good morning gals!

mum2B,
Felicia is very cute with her smiles... Looks like a very happy and smiley standing baby
Lots of hugs for her

I also have lowered the cot
I put lots of soft toys in the cot also.

mtdt, fi,
Gotta feed the small kind of bananas. It's called "bi jio" in hokkien. Not easy to find. The very very small kind.
If baby coughs, better not give banana cos will worsen cough.

Good morning mummies

Record: Shannon poo-ed 10x yesterday and 3x today [before 830 am]. Major butt washing, gotto bring her see PD again. Gotto take another day off, wah, FTWM need to juggle kiddie and work expectation, a little tough. But ok lah, tell myself priority is kiddie, and everything will just fall into place in their priority ladder.

mum2B
Felicia look so chirpy and confident in her new found position :)

Yippee, this is my 101th posting. Only got time to post on off days

Michele
Think of Taipei 101 ... hahaha. I saw u post ur 1000th posting, furnee.

Do your babies get cranky during teething. I saw 2 pearlies in my gal's lower gum over the weekend. Before this, she was ok, no sign of discomfort at all. But these few nights, she cldnt sleep well,will wake up halfway and bite on anything that her hands cld lay on....tried applying teething gel, but like no use.

HELP!!

Stephanie

Yah, crying and crankiness set in when they teeth, esp e 1st few, but it will get better. Mine also genna fever, which I had to sponge and give panadol. Maybe u can also let her bite teething toy, those tat u can put in fridge, it may help to soothe some discomfort.... and of course, nothing beats mummy cuddles :)

Aishite

So far no fever (keeping fingers crossed). Funny thing is, her 2 bottom teeth has already popped out and she didnt show any discomfort earlier. Dun tell me the top ones are popping as well? Yap. cuddled her and she calmed down. But the moment i put her down on the bed, it starts again. Very funny, she was actually biting on the teething toy as she sleeps (eyes closed)

lyn,
oh no..my boy just recover from cough and i gave banana, but it was just little bit 2cm. no wonder after that can hear him cough once or twice i was wondering didnt he recover already..hai ya..the mummy have to keep abreast with info.i thought banan is not cooling so will be ok

me going chiangmai tmr with colleagues.so today have to pia finish some work.

aishite,
how many poo by now?

u all don't tell my mil ok, she ask me not to give anything except cereal and milk cause just recover but i kepo on the banana...

re: teething,

my boy was spotted with 2 tiny teeth at the bottom. has been cranky for the past few days. He will fuss with his eyes closed and i have becum a zombie and a panda... Hope this will pass soon.