(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

vivi,
must be the city that you went cause when i went to kyoto didnt find it baby friendly leh. the only nursing room i found was at namba parks shopping mall, most of the city has small buildings, outdoor places..so no nursing room.which city you found baby friendly?

we also had to carry our luggage up and down the stairs at the train st. and our luggage weigh like stone. but the train masters on duty appear very fast when you look distress, they'll help me

poohy,
where do you buy tweedlewink & wink kit?

sunflower,
where do you buy signing times dvd? poohy says united sq but i live at west coast, a bit far leh..wonder if those dvd shop at ginza have or not.

chrysalid,
wow, you have 2 chest freezer like those for ice cream?
yummy can store ice cream...lol you so funny can go next door to get fresh BM. how about mix fresh BM with frozen EBM, you think it helps? there was a period of time mil told me my boy prefers fresh too, drink less if its frozen but now he's appetite is back.

mum2b,
wow.. feli have proper meals already..
my boy only takes a bowl of cereal for lunch and a piece of fruit for tea. mil going to introduce porridge twice a day soon though. but i say have to eat his porridge earlier cause i still want to latch on when come home from work
his appetite increasing that's why.

ok, i keep a look out for vacancy, here very family friendly, my hubby says i've the best deal liao, might as well have 2nd kid while i'm here. you mention you're from architecture background too? thought you're from BEM.but what about feli, who's going to take care of her if you go to work? both your parents not in spore right?

Been busy with my elder girl... hard to keep track of so many threads!

Amy,
my Indo helper been partially ECing Irvin. Also partial cloth diapers. Thing is, quite busy with other things so can't do full ECing. I think it does help to familarise the bb with the sshhh/ nggg command for future pottying

chrysalid,
i read about head banging from babycenter.but hor...i can't remember exactly what it said
i think something like dont worry about it...like i'm helping...

wah..so many educational tools you all talking about, can't keep up and dont know where to start..any advice? didnt know so many babies watching dvd too...mum2b, my boy also like kampung boy leh play and do whatever he want,wear pajamas go market barefooted etc..i saw a retro stroller in msia, those plastic strip and metal olden days kampung kind, going to buy for him hee hee...

Medusa - yes, was searching for ECing and found your posting on EC. I am trying to get hold of the book on Infant Potty Training by Laurie Boucke. Do you know where I can buy that?

BB jake is poo poo trained, have followed his signals and provided cues, but not sure how to start on peeing using the same approach. think must transit to cloth diapers....

Fi - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elimination_communication

chrysalis,
u r so funny
actually i also have many "horror" stories lah, but shy share here hehe.. my hubby is also the same, u know my bb fell again on christmas eve when my hubby is beside her.. so instead of going to christmas eve mass, we spent the night in kk emergency clinic

fi,
thanks, do let me know. well if the time comes, then maybe use maid or child care. no other option right? wow, u r thinking to have 2nd kid already

i dunno when to intro porridge. when is the best time? do i wait until her appetite getting bigger? jae zen eat quite a bit ya, u mean 1 normal chinese bowl of cereal? how many spoon of dry cereal is that?

poohy,
thanks, will try new set of cards to show. been very lazy to prepare due to the flu

amy,
wow bb jake is potty trained already! i bought small potty chair for my bb before christmas, but she cries everytime i put her on it. hubby said maybe it's a lousy potty chair. do u use potty chair or use normal toilet bowl?
how many times a day does ur bb poo poo? is it at the same time every day?

Mum2B, bb jake sits on a little potty, which fits comfortably. he enjoys sitting there, swinging his legs... looking out of the window as he poos poos. he poos once a day, mostly in the mornings, but sometimes in the afternoons. i just have to observe his body language, and give him a cue when i place him on the potty. so far, no misses for one week.
next week, i will also train him to pee in his potty - he has done this on few occasions though. but will need mum's help, as we will have to cloth diaper him in order to observe his body language better.

chrysalid,

haha.. yea i totally understand what u are going thru..
my girl was sick for almost 2 weeks and with me also sick, made things worse!!!
cannot rest properly cos have to take care of her as she very clingy to me..
dun even have to diet!!!! lost 2kgs almost instantly :p

amy,

wat kind/brand of potty u bought?me tinking of buying from the coming JL sale on 9th..any advice from other mummies?

anybody using nuk teats?coz i bought 1 bottle wif latex teats for my ger to try(coz she been refusing her bottles)..realise tt aft i sterilise in the pigeon thing,the teat color change to whitish now..is it normal? quite worried when saw tt.dun dare to let my ger use tt anymore.

angeline,
i bought potty chair from JL too. but my bb can't really sit there without me holding her body.

amy,
bb jake can sit on her potty by himself w/o u holding him?

mum2b,
no la..for 2nd kid just wishful thinking first cause will have logistic problem with 2 kids,i'll want to stay home when that happens. so sorry to hear feli fell. there was once i put jae zen on the bed while i step away to get something from the drawer, thought if i'm watching him its still ok i can react fast and drawer is just 2 steps from bed. i couldnt see what i'm looking for so just turn head to look inside drawer for a second, turn head back and couldnt see jae zen! wah..i rush over like lighting speed to catch hold of him in time before his next flip over the bed liao, my heart felt like it jumped out and learnt my lesson never to leave him like that anymore even though thought its safe cause bb can flip very fast.

i think the most basic plastic olden days small potty is the best cause i find it easiest to manouver to put between my thighs but the one i have is a bit too small, if he pee will shoot out.slightly larger will pee inside.

amy,
but when my boy gives body language want to poo, once we touch him put him over the potty he seem to lose the reflex to poo. so we end up let him poo in diaper woh..rather than skip a poo...sometimes he poo once in diaper then only we put over potty but he also dont want to poo already even though can see he's not done yet. any suggestion?

hhmm..early morning all the poo talk and i'm having breakfast.

amy,
thanks for the link. i find EC quite an interesting read. right that in less developed countries babies go bottomless and they're fine.no wonder my mil say not to store away the cloth diaper cause have to use that for training.but my boy's bowel moevement quite irregular from 1-3 days once.i suspect he's not used to the reflex so do not use strength for it to come out till its at its tip, that's why a lot of times haven finish but he didnt 'kek' for it to come out.

mum2b,
for the olden days potty.hold baby in front like sitting position with potty in between your thighs.to wipe buttock, flip bb over my thigh with bottoms up to wipe. he dont like that position though so have to quickly wipe.amy what's your potty like?

fi,

i dun have the time to explore kyoto so not too sure. But Osaka & tokyo are baby friendly. I like their toilets ah. they have a baby seat so that the mummy can place the baby there while doing their biz.

amy,

my boy is pee pee trained..

Am trying hard for the poo poo..

ALways no luck cos his bowel quite irregular. I let me boy stand while pee and let him sit on those red traditional type potty for poo poo. But i find it not good cos it will topple.

fi,

huh... will try to make it bigger. Theres 1 photo he was crying so badly cos v cold. No time to dl yesterday. WIll post tmr.

serene,

i got it from winter time.

The size that i bought was for 18 mths.

But its too small for him after wearing several layers. Shld have bought for 24mths 1.

Medusa,
havent seen u online for so long.... how's little Irvin doing?

vivi,
wow so nice!!! lucky boy so small can go for holiday to jpn liao! i have not been there before... must be v nice! actually i really admire u got the courage to bring your boy for tour. until now, i dont have the courage to bring mine for holiday!

anyway, think no holiday for me this year cos we gotta save money to do up our new place

tinklebell,

well, at least u have been to europe isnt it?
i dun think i will be going in near future cos my hubby has been to europe many x liao. Hope to go austria with him n baby. lucky he hasnt been there b4. Also our new home might be ready this year liao. So gotta save $. - same as u.

vivi, I think you are such a brave mum to bring your son to Japan in winter. Your son looks so cooperative!! Well done!

missk,

thanks for the compliments.

I do agree that my boy behaves very well and very cooperative.

I hope he can do the same for his next trips.

vivi,
wah your boy with snow. sure he'll cherish this photo next time.i must bring my boy on holiday with me next time.it was very difficult to leave him behind.

its friday!!

vivi,
OIC, at least i know where to get these winter wear for my boy if we are bringing him for a tour.

I agreed with tinklebell, admire your courage to bring him for tour esp cold country. Frankly, my dad had asked us to join him to china to visit my grandma but i've rejected though i miss my grandma but i'm afraid my boy cannot withstand the cold weather there! I just brought him to genting on new year weekend. So far, along the long driving journey, he's ok, occasionally make some noise sure have, but it's normal and fine...
Will show u some pics of him taken in genting soon.

tinklebell,
Have you found the new house? U went for hse searching already?

Fi,

i hope so. Ya very difficult to leave him behind. But i will be leaving him behind for 3 days next month as i will be going to Phuket.

Serene,

Well, we wouldn know unless we try it out. B4 we set of to Japan, we actually brought him to Bt tinggi & genting for testing. Didnt take much pictures of my boy during the msia trip. Looking 4ward for brayden shots.

Serene,
yes... found a place during the new yr holidays... should have sold off my flat first cos now facing a bit of admin prob here and there.

Now waiting for my neighbour to confirm their purchase.
But i will only move in 6-8 mths time.

vivi,
so envy u.. my girl cannot even keep still for a 20mins car ride. v tiring to co-ride in the car with her cos she wants to stand and wont sit on the car seat!

tinklebell,
You found a flat in Bishan? 5 room? How much are they selling? U only shifting in 6-8mths'time so means for the time being, you will rent a house?

vivi,
Your boy very 'guai' hor.

Serene, i found an EM there... quite like the location and facing but inside a bit old (maybe bec we used to staying in BN flat)... need to redo. cost 458k. no lah wont move so soon cos they hand over is abt 6 mths time. need to reno also. my neighbour wants to buy my place...though havent finalise the price. we will tell them to wait til we finish reno loh.

tinklebell,
Wow the EM flat there costs so much! My mum's EM in Jurong West, the most can sell at 290-300k, poor thing!
Not to worry, once you have done the reno, everything will be like brand new.

ya loh... bec of the schools... the 5 rm there even more ex! $500k! that's why hub and i think we should retire in the west...kekeke ... maybe we will move back to BP when we retire...LOL!

hiaz...spending money to be near school... donno worth it or not... only time can tell

Seems like i got the oldest first child in this forum... kekeke...all your turns will come... better save up for that day! kekeke :p

poohy,
maybe getting the wink kit since it follows SM method. I don't have much SM materials. Check with you, what type of materials we need to prepare for SM ? or the training seminar will teach us what to do?

vivi,
wow your boy's 1st encounter with snow!

wish I can go overseas holiday with my boy too.

anyone been to Turkey? is it nice?

tinklebell:
where's your new place, near J8 or Bishan Park?

tinklebell,

oic, I like Bishan, nice place. wow... you need to start planning type of renovation/design liao. busy for you

hmmm.. my hb maybe going there for conference, thinking whether to tag along
haha.. but maybe boring for me as I'll be alone most of the time.