(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hello Ladies,

A very happy 2007 to all!

I was down with flu the last whole week

My boi rashes has subsided. but he started coughing
the last 2 days he coughed lesser but think there's phlegm. If today still not ok, will bring him to PD tomorrow.

Tinklebell,
congrats, you found your new home. Bishan is a nice place.

Amy,
thanks. will check it out.

Serene,
There's an organic shop at B2, Great World City.
They selling HT jar food $2.30

Vivi,
welcome back from your holidays

poohy,

nearly enrolled in the same timing as you but that time my boi may take his nap so I took the 6pm slot instead.
How much is JG charging and how long each term?

sunflower,

JG billigual playclub is 2 hours each class and 10 lesson per term. I paid $537 this term. I am looking forward to it so much... should be fun and first time me and my boy attending a chinese class. All the other classes we ever attended together were english ones. I think Samuel will love the class... he is fast learning all his ABCs cos I used to let him watch the brainy baby dvd... etc...The JG class will teach him each alphabet a lesson and other words associations i think so since he is quite familiar with the alphabets, he will be able to enjoy himself better
I showed him and Joelle the leapfrog letter factory and now he knows how to sing some of the phonics sounds of the alphabet liao.. I was quite surprised myself.

Re: Oatmeal Cereal

any mummies know whether it is ok to start babies with oatmeal cereal? I started josh with HT oatmeal cereal yesterday. But just realised (read from a website) that until the age of 6mths, better avoid gluten-containing foods, eg. oatmeal

hallo mummies,
i'm back at work too but can't really get into the swing of things after the long weekend.had a hard time getting up from bed to go work..

vivi,
welcome back.

sorry to hear so many babies sick. hope recover soon...

missk,

kindermusik is music and movement class. Great too! My boy loves the class... but I am glad that I finally brought him for class when he can walk and run himself... he learnt to return the toys to the teacher in the last holiday programme he attended. Guess he picks up sharing, taking turns and returning toys this term.. I discontinued since JG finally have a slot for him after a long wait on the waiting list. Looking forward to JG now ..

JG is one of the best playgroup I ever attended with my boy... I really enjoys myself the 2 times we were there for trials. Its a pity that their 6m-18m playnest only have 3 times a week and weekdays some more.... Dun think they have weekend weekly class... else I will put Joelle in it also.

i panda, the HT oatmeal cereal is wheat free. i started baby jake on this when he was 5.5 mths old. now, he prefers this to brown rice cereals.

poohy, which JG are you at? do keep us posted on samuel's lesson. do you have any recommendation on what leap frog toys are good for joelle's age?

amy,

I am at JG forums. I did wanted to bring S to JG Evans Road but my hb dun want cos worried about hygiene... heard the last hfmd all occur in that branch.

For leapfrog... hmm I have the leapfrog leapstart table, learnaround playground, leap-pad fridge phonics. Both J & S love the fridge phonics.... Joelle simply loves the leapfrog letter factory dvd... I got quite a lot of educational dvd collected in the last 1 year plus but her all time favourite is the letter factory... I hope it means that she will be very familiary with the phonetic sounds of the alphabet in time to come. Everytime I play the dvd, her eyes just glued to the tv... its my mum's saviour cos she can be freed up to do other stuff...

At their young age of 4-7 months old... my 2 children have different likings... Samuel used to love the bb einsteins and brainy bb, while at the same age, Joelle loves letter factory.

Right now, those leapfrog items I like are those that teaches phonics... cos both S & J are very interested in phonics right now... so I wil just provide them with opportunities to learn more

poohy, jake din really like leapfrog factory le. did you show joelle the rest of the leapfrog series? think he likes barney, used to like bb einstein, but no longer. i suspect he does not like to watch the same dvd again for the 2nd time round.

i am keen on the leapfrog table... but not sure how long this will last jake. i like the fridge phonics too, but cannot stick on my fridge le... can it be played stand alone?

is brainy bb fun? is it like einstein, or cartoon type?

amy, oic...ermm, u know if HT also have rice cereal? cos the previous time i went NTUC, oni saw oatmeal..

last sat, i went to west coast/ginaz area, trying to locate the orgainc shop u were saying, but cannot find parking lot, hubby say i also dun know the shop exact location, so in the end we went back home. Now i know its opposite the cc, will go some other time

hee...i oso got josh the fisher price walker cum rider, that time robinsons got sale so faster grab...haha

i panda, HT does not have plain rice cereals. you can try other brands - saw few brands at BR Paradise. think the brown rice cereals does not dissolve as easily as oatmeal. very lumpy... celeste, you find this prob with brown rice?

i panda.. ha ha... should sms me ma... yes, the shop is opp the cc. you can park at SS carpark.

ya... robinson sale... i saw a thomas and friend rider at isetan yesterday, very lovely... too bad i got this FP one liao.

amy,

how come your fridge phonics cant stick?? Mine can but I dun stick it. Samuel carries it every day to and fro my mum's house and ours. I will give him 1-2 alphabet each week.... he can sing the ABC songs together while J will listen to it beside him...

for the leapfrog table.. I got 3 such tables... 2 fisher price ones ... Samuel loves the fisher price one better... maybe becos I got the leapfrog table when he was almost 14month old and too mobile liao.... I hope J will likes it better... I will hold her and let her plays with the toys on the leapfrog table at times... think I should remove the legs and let her play on her own hehe

Joelle used to watch Samuel's favourite signing times and brainy bb dvd with him but these days she got her own preferences... and she really really love the letter factory... she laughs together with the show. Normally each dvd will capture their attention for a period of time before they finally got sick of it and i will switch to others... I had never exposed S & J to barney, hi-5 etc... Actually not sure what they teach in there....

I really love the brainy bb dvd series... its really vv good. To me, I feel its better than the bb einstein ones... Its something like bb einstein style... no cartoon, with little bb or toddlers running around etc. They just love to imitate at this age.. so its great. Samuel prob learns to sing his ABC from there... there was a time 2 months ago, he used to love to watch the ABC dvd.

btw, the thomas the train rider is selling at $60 BP price with tokomama
I did reserved one... but still considering cos I got too many ride ons liao... S & J have 2 push car/coupe, 1 rocking horse, 2 ride ons cum walker and 1 push/ride/rock tricycle. But I really like the thomas one leh...

Back to work after super long holidays!

Vivi,
Welcome back. how was ur japan trip? fun? when u latched ur boy in japan, did u use a shawl or anything to cover urself? I will be flying for my holiday next week, hv never tried BF in public b4 cos always BF in nursing rooms or inside e car.
Care to share your experience?

poohy,

wow, S&J very blessed, have so many toys!
have you heard of Your bb can read ? is it good?
up to now, only let my boi watched baby signing time once in a while, not exposed him to many dvds as worried too early intro TV not good for his eyesight.

Kite,

The japan trip was ok juz that its too cold.
i used the MIM sling to cover while latching and asked my hubby to block too. So far still ok. I latch on the bus and flight.

poohy, wow.. so many ride ons... hmm... maybe will get bb jake another one... but possibly one where i can hold the handle and push him from behind. having a back ache from weeeeee-ing him to and fro on his ride on. but the thomas and friends rider priced at $60 is indeed attractive. the fp activity table - is it the brilliant basics table?

aiyo... my fridge is the mirror type... cannot stick anything. think will get jake the brainy bb dvd series. where did you get yours? for barney... it's singing and dancing and nursery rhymes...

vivi,
how you like kyoto and the other cities? did you those people cross dressing like cartoons, very interesting to watch right..

kite,
ya my pillow was still warm, soft and inviting when i left home...
we dont have a car, so bo pian have been BF all over in public, parks, cafe, restaurants.once i can find a seat not facing direct view of public, i'll do it. many times the waiter will hover at the table taking order or doing other thing cause they didnt notice what i was doing. even tried at fast food once but the seat and table was screwed onto floor.my poor boy and me couldnt squeeze in between the table edge and seat.. lol

sunflower..

think i buy the toys becos i myself also wanna play ..hehee.. self indulgence. Hmm I also have concerns about early intro of DVDs... but with my mum looking after them alone, its really bo bian... better than staring into the wall and do nothing
I told my mum to put J on the floor... so that she is crawling around, playing and watching at the same time. Problem to the eyes are normally caused by the strain on the eyes.. so i thought if she is crawling, she will also be moving while she watch and play/chew her toys

I am very selective of what they can watch... that's why they dun watch anything I have not thoroughly ascertain whether its good... the only thing they watch till now is baby signing times, signing times, brainy bb series, bb einsteins, leapfrogs, little einsteins etc. I have the baby can read but i dun really like it thus S only watch 2 times before I completely shelved it.

amy,

ya ride-ons are so cute~!!! Oh u gotta do more research though cos most ride ons doubled up as "walker" when they are learning to cruise. U wont want one with wheels that spin tooo freely and easily till they fell too easily on the floor.

hehe... I got 3 rides where I can hold the handle and push from behind... the Step2 push and ride, Little Tikes push around coupe and fisherprice 3-in-1 trike. Very fun.... Samuel loves to sit inside while I push him around the house. I normally have more than 1 toys for each category cos gotta put some in my mum's house... not practical to keep bringing to and fro

hmm fp got a few tables rite? I got the fp learning table where there is a bowl in the middle, and another one is the brilliant basics one.

I got 8 of my brainy bb dvds from yahoo auctions.. quite cheap.. then got the rest like peekaboo etc from a recent bulk purchase.

for barney, does it pronounce accurately? I am concerned if dvd shows do not pronounce words correctly... scared later the children imitate.

Vivi:
I was thinking of bringing a shawl. Btw i have a baysupplies bbsling but e material too thick n got 2 hard rings over e sling, find it messy. So u must hv brought alot of bb stuffs in ur luggage? brought pram as well?

Fi:
lol e way u describe so cute. So u always use shawl to cover too when BF in public? until now i dun hv courage cos i never tried b4. I think next wk trip wil make me to hv courage.

poohy, wow... can you adopt jake as your god son? so he can share your toys? ha ha...

re activity table - if i am to get one, is the leaprfog one better?
maybe will get jake one this weekend... i am running out of things to play with him...

okies... will check out the brainy dvds via yahoo.
for barney, the kids do speak quite well... barney as well...

amy,

no need to be my godson also can share!! Welcome jake anytime to come and play

Actually I like leapfrog one better cos the legs are taller, so it last longer especially when my boy was quite tall... he dun have to lean down too much compared to fp. Another major plus is the leapfrog table's legs are more firm and somehow stick to the ground more... it wont topple or shift easily compared to fp one when the bb lean against it. There seems to be more songs in the leapfrog one also...

ohh looks like I should look into barney liao... hehee...

kite,
i tried shawl and even wearing a sweater but finds it too cumbersome and end up clumsy and attracts more attention. but its up to you whichever you can manouvre smoothly so wont attract attention. also latch on before baby crying out to eat to avoid public attention. best tool to have is a baby cap! its really handy and provides good coverage. you're going genting?

anyone into baby sign language? i've taught him action to carry. now starting on action for drink water. sleeping action will be soon...but sometime difficult to think of an action that has meaning and mimic the real meaning

poohy, ha ha... maybe one weekend i bring baby jake to your place to play with J and S?

yes, i think the leapfrog one seems quite interesting. too bad isetan does not stock that, as there was 20% off yesterday. where did you get yours from? think i saw this at Robinsons Raffles City.

kite,

i didnt bring shawl hence i used the sling. I didnt bring alot of things for him. Just 2 toys which he did not play at all and of cos a pram. But i spoilt it while at disneyland. Haha.

Most impt is to be natural & u mus be comfy.

amy,

i bought mine from a bulk purchase organised previously on this forum... the price was quite good...
i saw it in metro also.. maybe u can check out during metro sale
would love to have jake to play with J & S... will be so fun

Fi,

u mean you invent your own signs to communicate with your bb ah? I uses the standard american sign language taught in the bb signing times and signing times dvds. My boy learn to sign by watching those dvds and we communicate with him via signs plus verbal. When he wanna drink milk, he will say mummy milk milk and his hands will make the milk sign. From the dvds, he learnt quite a lot of signs leh... i din really need to teach him myself... we just learn together

Fi:
I wil be going to Langkawi. Wow u mean u didnt use anything while BFing? But e part where u need to pull up the top n nurse...get wat i mean, sure expose abit initially.. u always wear nursing tops? nowadays me start to wear back my old clothings.

vivi:
Ya i dun intend to bring alot of stuffs. For food wise, u bot e oatmeal rite? how abt water, basically japan's water considered clean, just boil wil do? i dun trust MY's water so maybe planning to bring my own water there to boil for my bb girl

kite,

no i didnt bring the oatmeal. I bought the Hipp rice cereals instead. And also earth best jar food. I bought the carrots & peas 1. My boy loves the peas most.

Japan shld be ok. Didnt give him much of the japan water to drink. Cos the boiler like not clean leh. Next time i will bring my own boiler.

Vivi:
May i know where u get the Hipp rice cereals? cos i grind my own cereal at home thus planning to buy those travel pack cereals, more convenient. Any idea wat is e difference between hipp & earthbest rice cereal, in terms of the ingredients?

Oh u didnt let ur boy drink much water there. cos everyday i must let my ger drink some water. Also to make cereal, also must use water mah...ya me intend bring travel small kettle. not sure where got sell, hv to scout.....

amy,
ya, the brown rice a bit lumpy but so far still okies. I never tried the HT oatmeal cereal b4 for my ger. I bought the Dumex Nutrakids rice cereal liowz. Will let my ger try that once the HT brown rice cereal is finished

kite,

i got it from the Brown rice paradise. Hipp has got the rice cereals & vit b as declared.

Think earthbest has most ingredients. i only used less than 50 mls of water a day.

My boy main water source is BM.

poohy,
how old is samuel? there's 2 school of taught, one group uses the standard sign language, the other group uses their own invented ones.i use my own cause i find the standard ones can be totally unrelated to the real meaning of the sign thus more difficult for young babies. good that samuel can sign though, how about joelle?

kite,
hee hee..i know what you mean.so must position an aim baby's mouth first, tilt baby's head higher to cover B, then lift up shirt and unhook bra and latch all in half second! cannot see one...but must practice..i dont wear nursing tops but if i wear tighter shirts, the back part of the shirt will slip up and it will be obvious i'm doing something so the shirt will need to be loose enough to allow lifting up.but a lot of times cause my boy distracted, he would suddenly let go and grin and struggle etc. i've to quickly lift his head higher and hug him close to shield. helps that his head is big enough. wah ha ha...

anyone tried giving teething biscuits, without melting it. i bought but havent tried dont know if he's ready and will choke or not

poohy,
how old is samuel? there's 2 school of taught, one group uses the standard sign language, the other group uses their own invented ones.i use my own cause i find the standard ones can be totally unrelated to the real meaning of the sign thus more difficult for young babies. good that samuel can sign though, how about joelle?

kite,
hee hee..i know what you mean.so must position an aim baby's mouth first, tilt baby's head higher to cover B, then lift up shirt and unhook bra and latch all in half second! cannot see one...but must practice..i dont wear nursing tops but if i wear tighter shirts, the back part of the shirt will slip up and it will be obvious i'm doing something so the shirt will need to be loose enough to allow lifting up.but a lot of times cause my boy distracted, he would suddenly let go and grin and struggle etc. i've to quickly lift his head higher and hug him close to shield. helps that his head is big enough. wah ha ha...

anyone tried giving teething biscuits, without melting it. i bought but havent tried dont know if he's ready and will choke or not

Fi,

Samuel just turn 21month last week. He started learning signing at 6 month i think... by the time he is 1 year old, he picks up most of the signs in the bb signing time dvd ...most of the signs are quite related leh... we do invent some signs too... hehee I had not really teach Joelle yet hehee... too busy and tired these days... besides her current favourite is phonics... so I just let her learn what she likes

poohy,
where can i find bb signing times dvd? how you expose joelle to phonics, using the leapfrog books? the one that comes with a tablet, then have to buy 'infill' books? i only see these type at kiddy palace and its quite expensive over $100?

fi,

i buy bb signing times dvd in one of the bulk purchase.... can buy from a few sources in singapore.. I saw the supplier at United Squares one of the carts

Joelle watches the leapfrog letter factory phonics dvd together with Samuel... she loves it much more than Samuel. Hmm I have the leap-pad where u need to put in those booklets ... but Samuel only interested in crumpling the books and I din introduce it to J cos feels not ready yet. I sing the phonics sound to her lor like what is sung in the letter factory and she also listens to the fridge phonics from leapfrog

mommies,
can i check w/ u on solid feeding. if bb poo 4 times does it mean i feed too much solid? if i feed less solid, she'd poo 1 time only. does it mean i need to reduce her solid? i'm not sure how much is enough or too much

poohy,
i've been down w/ flu n now my bb also cought it from me
so haven't been flashing cards since christmas due to hectic days n also now the sickness.. now i found it;s so difficult to ge my bb to see the cards when i'm flashing. so dissapointed
any advise?

sahm mommies,
i start to feel so down, maybe it's worsen byt he flu, but i just feel that maybe i'm not cut to be sahm anymore
sigh..

fi,
i gave teething biscuit to feli already. but feel so wasteful, coz i give heinz which is quite big. she only bite bite then fall.

poohy,
do u let joelle crawl on the bare floor? or use play mat? i use ABC mat, but sometimes my bb crawl beyod the mat and to the bare floor. one problem is hygiene. but the bigger problem is sometimes she likes to sit then fall behind, very dangerous for her head! i dont know what i should do to prevent that. my hubby said buy play pen so it's safer, but i think it will limit her movement. any advise?

poohy, thanks for the info. What kind of roles do parents or caregiver play during the class. I am wondering for those infant classes, who will look after the bb when the parents are at work?

mum2b, there's always ups and downs lah, just like working. If we work, we also face problems rite? Why do you feel tat you are not cut out to be a sahm?

Re:crawling
Yah, I am also curious where the babies crawl too. I also use the ABC mat. Any mummies let their baby crawl on the bare ground? Playpen definitely will restrict their movement. There is absolutely no place to roam around at all.