(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Good Morning Mummies

Sian, its such a nice weather to sleep ....got to 'force' myself to sleep...

Wld like to check, what's ur boi/gal feeding frequencies like now,with the introduction of cereals etc...it is still the same, ie like every 3 hours? Does the cereals replace one of the feed? For my gal, she will still want the feed even though she just had her bowl of cereals....

i_panda,
thanks. whole of last night his fever still going up & down. woke up few times to check his temp in the night. this morning before I leave for work, his fever come down slightly. ..hiaz...no mood to work.

my headache pain since yesterday

maybe lack of sleep last nite contributed to it as well.

amy,
i notice my boy also prefer my left B than the right. but i try to give him the right first when he's hungry.sometimes work sometimes not. so both B not equally emptied.what do you do when bb jake only drink from 1 B? pump the other one out? very mah fan right...

sunflower and i_panda,
wow..u all have it tougher to pump in toilet, have to be real careful not to touch anything right cause want to store milk so have to be hygienic? toilet have to stand..at least i get a store room i should be grateful huh..

sunflower,
where is your plug point located? you have to run a wire from inside toilet cubicle to outside of toilet? then there'll be the pumping noise some more...dont care others? hhmm...i'll look for my extension wire and do the same. thanks for the inspiration...
hope you and your boy feeling better..

tinklebell,
think got a lot of various reasons for low ms, but all my speculation..i have to be more religious with the fish..

steffi,
feeding frequency still the same every 3 hours. except with cereal is...drink milk, 2 hours later feed cereal, 2 hours later drink milk. so that interval is about 4 hours.but total intake in a day still like before introduction of solid, did not replace a feeding. initially it did but after he got to the routine, it didnt.

Fi

For my gal, feeding of cereals did not increase her interval. For eg she drank milk at 6 pm last evening, so her next feed shd be 9 pm..we fed her cereals at around 8 pm and thot that she will drag to abt 10 plus for her next feed. However, at 9 pm, she cried for milk again and even manage to finish the whole bottle...

steffi,
i think its ok to follow baby's need. they know when hungry. did your gal eat a lot of cereal? mine eats about 3/4 full of a soup bowl.

fi

mine just started on cereals,thus didnt give her a lot. I fed her abt 2 - 3 spoons of heinz cereal with 40 ml of milk and some steamed fruits.

FI: yah, i think u sld jun run the cord, be thickskinned a bit heeheee

Fi/Tinkerbell: how much do your babies drink (ml) a day ?? Try taking a hot drink before you pump ? Yah, i also feel that fish helps in increasing ss.

stephanie: Mine drinks EBM once every 4 hrs or so. abt 200ml. She has been doing 4 hourly since 3rd mth.

Sunflower: oh dear ... where did he catch the virus from ? Can u take leave and be at home wtih him ? Is he on panadol ?

K Ong,

I dont know exactly how much she drinks. Day time (fr 7am til 6pm)only 400ml. I will nurse her when i go back. At night she will wake up at least 1x to drink. I suspect ard 800ml in all?

On top of that, she takes one quarter bowl of cereals once a day... will be increasing it to 2x a day... think can increase the amt too.

i try taking hot drink but donno why i just cannot pump at home leh... sometimes after 10mins still no let down... at work, it seems better.

tinklebell: ic ic ... mine takes 3 feeds of 200ml when i'm at work, so i cant really match up to her demand at the moment, using my frozen stash to top up.

so strange, that u have no let down when u are home. when i am home wif the baby, my b feels very full and after a shower, i will leak like no one's business !

2 days ago, i was very notti, went for drinks at Mortons with my friends. Drank until my whole body was red !! (think not used to the alcohol level - since i've not drank so much in a year !) then had to pump and dump ... so sim tiah !!
now, no more drinking for me ! ahahaa,
well, maybe a little glass ...

Fi/Sunflower: i just went to check, there is a power point outside my boss's toilet, so i shall bring my extention cord to use with the electric pump !!
sigh ... blur is me ... if only i had realised there was a plug 3 mths ago, i wld have used it !!

wow KOng! your girl drinks so much! my girl doesnt like the bottle so she will wait and wait til i come back around 6pm. I'll try my best to come home early everyday for that purpose loh. So stylo ah! i havent gone pubbing for ages
so sim tia to dump the milk away

tinklebell: hahaa, i wont do it anymore !! yah, so wasted to have to throw all my milk away ...
anyhows, have u tasted your own milk ? i did ... like not very nice lei ... heehee a bit watery and bland ...
i know ! even the PD exclaimed that she takes 1 l of milk a day !! scary ... oh well, as long as she is healthy and growing.
that's nice ... to be able to get back by 6. i end work at 630, so back at abt 7 plus only ... and nurse once at 10plus and then again to put her to bed at 12 md !!

tinklebell: i sms her yesterday - she is fine, in fact, she said there was no earthquake there !
i think it's an undersea quake right ?

KOng... that's bec i start work v early everyday... 745am leh... gotta leave home at 6plus...anyway, think we r shifting office to town soon... can say goodbye too ulu Tuas soon ...yeah! But wont be able to be back by 6pm then.
good to hear that she is ok.

Morning! Back to work today after 2 days MC

Me gg to Langkawi w bb next Jan in 2 weeks time. Looking forward. Have make decision on tis trip for so long just for chloe

Serene:
U gg genting again ah. self drive? Since u travelled w bb before, may i know roughly wat to pack n not to be missed? afraid i forget to bring important stuffs

Sunflower:
i went to two different Organic shops at bukit timah road before. the one u patronised SUCKS!wont ever go back again. Their staff & product i find got problem n not conform to safety standards. I prefer NTUC organic now. at least safer

k ong:
me too. Recently i duno y i feeling so hungry easily. If i dun eat well, my head wil feel giddy!

Baby slping:
Btw anyone of ur bb wake up every 3-4 hrs at night, drink milk? Issit 6mth growth spurt??

Chloe is behaving cranky past 2 days, dun want slp at nite! I dunno issit bcos i brought her out during long wkends, xmas season cos we always reached home at abt 12am! I think her slping schedule LUAN liao. also i think over stimulating, she was very engrossed on xmas lightings!

kite,

i went to Langkawi in Oct during the deepavali/Hari Raya period. Didn't bring Joshua along. Personally, I find it not very exciting (but we didn't try any of the water sports/activities) and not very breastfeeding-friendly either. Find a nice hotel to stay as u probably will spend quite a bit of time there.

Lok:
lol For us, basically we want a place which is quiet n relaxing. Dun want too exciting cos bringing bb mah. haha. So tis time no diving or snorkelling for us

I hv booked a 5star hotel but fully booked.
End up booked w berjaya premier chalet, the one is which is e latest premier chalet on water. but i m staying at the premier chalet on land....
We wil just NUAN there, wil go cable station n rent a car to drive around

Actually wanted to go back redang, tioman or bintan but monsoon period. heehee

May i know which resort u stayed at?

lok,
how much you have to pay for infant care?

k_ong and sunflower,
my boy takes about 360ml when i'm at work come back i latch twice.i manage to pump only 300ml, or less at work and that's pumping 3 times at work! i've check out the nearest plug point position and will try tomorrow

k_ong,
i also havent went pubbing for ages, will feel out of place and no pubbing clothes also. i like raffles place area during lunch time can see a lot of corporate people rushing about. my old office (before i changed job) was there and i used to frequent yakan kaya toast at far east after lunch to wind down and relax. now my current colleagues don't have that kind of culture to wind down with a good drink after lunch. always hurry back to office after the last spoon of lunch.

having lunch now infront of computer...anyone wants to join me? back of menu of fish and toufu. no papaya today
must be OOS bec of the rain

tinklebell, kite & steffi,
haha...me also in fron to PC eating Amoy nasi lemak..yummy! I got papaya, 2 slices.

tinklebell,
i bot fenugreek tablets from unity..been eating since last week. but like no effect leh. I oni manage to pump 2oz just now...so sad. sob sob
629132.gif
what i pump in a day only enough for 1 feed..actually even not enough for 1 feed.

kite,
my boy also cranky these few days. doesn't sleep well at night..keep waking up. Dun know is it becos his upper teeth coming out..i can see his whitish tooth liao. so cute

haha! so we got lots of lunch partners loh :p

ipanda, i took 6 in 1 day also not much effect
used to have effect on me previously. just now i only managed to pump 150ml at first but then persisted and keep on pumping ...luckily got 2nd let down ..managed 210ml eventually... was so happy!

hallo,
i'm back from my lunch of grilled fish with mushroom sauce with coleslaw, fries and spaghetti and tea. yummy...so funny to hear most of you having lunch 'together'.

tinklebell,
you persisted how long to get 2nd let down?sometimes i dont persist long enough so couldn't really empty B, baby suck more effective right.

i_panda,
don't be sad, sometimes ms up sometimes down have to keep pumping. how many times you pump at work?...so fast upper teeth coming out?lower 2 came out already? so baby will be cranky like when the lower 2 came out is it?

tinklebell,
you start work very early leh..i start at 8 but sometimes miss bus cause boy wake up later to drink like today.

Fi,
at home will try to latch on. Pump once at 11am, then once in the afternoon. Depending on workload lor. Maybe i pump not enough times..should pump more often???

his lower 2 teeth made their grand appearance when he is 4mth plus. I think not all baby will be cranky when teething. I rem my bb not very cranky when he got his lower teeth leh..but now...maybe itchy. He keep biting things that he can get hold on. Bite & pull out his hanky, etc
He also bite me when latching on..."ouch" so pain
629152.gif

i feel very comforted today cause you all are here. and just now my colleague make vietnamese pohpiah for me

do you all have difficulty putting baby to nap in afternoon? mil having difficulty, he want the sarong so have to manually sling him to sleep wor cause he refuse to be pat to sleep on the bed. so mil suggested having a sarong in our house.. but i think its bulky and at first we dont want cause it may become a sleeping habit but mil's back and arms aching and straining liao...any suggestions?

i_panda,
i also dont know if should pump more often. my total yield of 3 times pump is quite little considered the time i spend on pumping but i dont dare pump less time cause boy not eating less.

Fi, wow! u like western food hor :p it's a pity the western food in my office is v expensive compared to the normal chinese dishes... else i would eat it everyday!!
2nd let down took me another 10 mins fr the first! squeeze until my hand ache! ya loh, more effective when bb sucks... but now i think my girl is over dependent on the Bs. She needs to suck til she sleeps and when she realises it is not there, she will scream and i have to stop whatever i am doing and be her pacifier again

K_Ong,
u r not the only one eating a lot. For dinner i also eat those mixed vege rice with 4 dishes, usually 2 meat 2 vege! *lol*
then I am still trying hard to stop BF, have been on cabbage leaves and dragging the pumping interval as long as i can...

Our IT dept has confirmed that an earthquake which occurred in Taiwan has resulted in widespread disruptions to international cable systems in Asia since 27 Dec 06. The info we share here quite effective huh....

Fi,
yah. The piping in the seabed is affected. Fastest will take a few days to repair the piping. I read the news might take up to 3 weeks!

tinklebell,
lol..lucky i could still give pacifier to my boy, he thinks its the B...but he'll wake up often at night looking for his pacifier.. recently i keep eating the western food cause realise it gives a generous helping of 3 side dishes

i try to cut down on rice ... donno whether it has affect my MS... my appetite is also v good! But i crave for junk food! finished up 1 whole pack of Marks and Spencer biscuit in 1 day... now on my second pack! eating and typing at the same time. jialat!

ahblur

did u slowly reduce the frequency? me managed to do it and today will be my first official day without any pump, i hope...... so far hasnt use the cabbage leaves yet

Stephanie,
Yah. I used to pump 4x a day, then become 3x. Now I cut down to 2x a day. But quite surprisingly I still can yield total of bout 800-900ml a day *lol* That time I used cabbage leaves for like 2 weeks. Then manage to cut down supply a little

tinklebell,
I realise my MS has to do with my fluid intake. If i drink more water that day my MS will increase. But mine not enuff for my ger now also liowz. Imagine at my nanny place from 7am - 7pm my nanny can use up about 800ml of EBM even though she gives my ger 1 cereal meal a day. But I realise she WASTE my ebm. Cos there were times that she heated up my ebm ask me to feed my ger when i reach home but my ger refused to drink. Ended up I pour away whole bottle of EBM. *sigh*. When I am at home taking care of my ger, I estimated she only drinks bout 600+ml from 7am - 7pm. But becos my nanny wastes my EBM, I have to give my ger 1 feed of FM now (partly also becos I wanna wean her off soon and start her on FM as soon as my MS dries up).

ahblur

u mean ur gal does not feed at equal interval during the day? for me, she feeds every 3 hours, so i just leave four BM feeds with my nanny everyday..this way she cannot waste....also got to always stress how precious every drop is...

hello ladies,
how's everyone?

celeste,
i'm also increasing my pump interval now... can only get abt 120ml max each time... drastically reduced! your ss is still very good!

Stephanie,
my nanny does not follow my instructions one. For me I feed on demand but my nanny believes that every 2-2.5hrs she needs to feed once cos she keep saying breast milk very fast to digest. So every 2-2.5hrs she heats up a 150ml bottle for her to drink. And I stress to her EBM is very precious liowz she doesnt seem to bother *sigh*

mspiggy,
I dont have a choice. cos since she so far still take quite gd care of my ger so i juz give n take and close one eye lor
Becos even if i change a nanny i won't noe if the new nanny will be gd anot *sigh*

hi celeste blur,
wanted to stop at 6 mth... but since still got ss i will still give. but now ss can only last for 3 feeds each day hence supplement with FM. my boy drinks 5 - 6 times... at 4 hr interval. at night will drag longer.

ahblur

ya lor, i also very frustrated with some old folks including my first confinement lady...always make the same comment that BM is not filling, baby will need to be fed frequently etc etc..in the end my gal proved them wrong, she asks for milk every 3 hours regardless of whether BM or FM....