(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

missk : heehee, ya, i also dunno where to get, nevermind, i'll use lemon !
i think we share the same name !
:p heheeee

ipanda : my dd is 8.7kg, she uses M for nepia.
i think you can take 3 packs m and 1 L, just in case ... and dependant on how fast your bb uses the diapers ... for me, i change every 3 hrs, so it's abt 6 days to finish one pack

k ong,

i dun change every 3hrs, i oni change when the diaper become very 'da pao' (meaning full/heavy) or if he poo. My mum is using cloth nappy for weekday & i use diapers for weekends (hahaa..me lazy mum)

nowadays i also dun change every 3hrs like beginning. wil change when diaper full or heavy. unless talking abt poo, then hv to change immediately.

duffybuff,
yes, my son can sit in the IKEA highchair liao...in fact, he can sit unsupported now, and can stand on his own with his hand holding on to a support for a short while....

now, when we go out to eat, we will put him in highchair instead of his pram...he loves to join us at the dinning table...and his eyes always shine with excitment when he sees our food...think he's gonna be a greedy kid next time

k ong,
wow, you used up diapers so fast! I bought a jumbo pack of Drypers (84 pc) and have been using it for 1mth liao, still haven't finish....I dun change every 3 hour, even when he was a newborn...only change when diaper is full or when he poo....

I'm using pigeon steriliser....to clean the brown stain, I use 50% vingear and 50% water, total to 120ml, add in and on the steriliser...let it cool down, then wash clean, add tap water and on the button to steriliser again...after that, can use for sterilising bottles liao....

serene/fi,
thanks for the info on the water...I'm not worry abt not clean water overseas....coz I think malaysia water is clean loh...just that I know some people will "shui tu bu fu" when drink/eat overseas water/food....so dun know if baby will also have such problem loh...

anyway, we will bring a bottle of local water, then when finish, just boil water there for baby....

steffi,
err.. not sure, but i just continue eat oats every monring. i think what works for me is enough rest and not too stress, then supply ok (not that much though). i'm quite relaxed, if that day not enough milk then supplement w/ FM hehe..

okasan,
thanks on ur tips to clean pigeon sterilizer. i've been thinking to use vinegar but scared it will smell and affect the bottles. shall try tomorrow. so u r using that 120ml blue container as the measurement?

wen,
same.. my baby also likes to suddenly rest her head on the floor while trying to crawl. got banged several times coz i was not quickly enough or busy do something else. maybe because her head is too heavy hehe..

mm.. i'm also interested to know how to feed lecithin for bb. which one should i get n how do i prepare it?

amy,
thanks for explaining how to puree. did u add water before blending?

mum2b.... i din add water for pears, cos the pear is soft enough. in fact, i gave bb jake the leftover pear juice in his sippy cup, mixed with water. he loves it.

re blender - i use those food blender, short and fat one. philips as well...

mum2be,

All thanks to the advice here in cleaning my pigeon steriliser. It works! Hmmm, must keep steaming the steriliser with water till no vinegar smell.

K ong: cleaning for steriliser

Lemon juice cleaning - weekly maintenance
Half fresh lemon
clean soft cloth
mug

- extract lemon juice to mug
- pour into steriliser without boiling
- leave it to stay for 30 mins
- use a soft cloth to remove remaining limescale
- drain & rinse steriliser with clean water

Vinegar & water cleaning - occasional maintenance to help remove stubborn stains
clean soft cloth
40ml vinegar + 80 ml water (ratio 1:2)
- mix 1 part vinegar to 2 parts water
- pour combined mixture into empty steriliser
- switch on for about 1 minute
- Then switch off the main power and leave to stand for 15-30 minutes
- with a clean soft cloth, wipe off any remaining stain or limescale
- drain & rinse steriliser to wash away vinegar
- pour 120ml of clean water, switch on to run a full cycle with just clean water
- switch off the main power, rinse and wipe clean the sterilser.

My fren who use the vinegar method say must boil & rinse with clean water a few cycles to get rid of the vinegar smell.

I did a major clean with mine few weeks back using citric acid. After each steam, I just pour tap water into steriliser and pour away. felt that this is better cos now not much of the black/brown substance after each steam compared to previous time.

vinegar : can get from ntuc.
white vinegar got 2 types. one in plastic bottle & another in glass bottle.
I usually buy the one that is in glass bottle cos naturally i think better. the plastic bottle usu write commercial made.
(or something like that la.. cannot remember exact liao)

poohy,
so can use GD maths cards for SM
goodgood, save $$ hahaha

you were mentioning there is a maths CD for SM?
what is it for? as in the 65-day programme. read in sgforum that must do 3 cycles of the 65-day programme. then must stop GD maths when doing SM maths. **scratch head** would it confuse the child by teaching the 2 maths method. also stopping GD maths programme halfway, is it ok?

sunflower,
does the method to clean for sterilizer work to descale those heating coil inside new kettle?

kite,
did you read yr e mail? want to try yr uno leh..

weaning:
my fren gave me a simple brochure on prudent weaning. it just highlight what to avoid at which months & from which month can start which food. just a simple guideline. can print & paste onto fridge.
any mummies want, PM me & I'll send the attachment to you.

morning gals!

TGIF.. so happy.. finally end of the wk.. tmr can sleep..

very excited, going to start my bb on cereals this wkend.. hope will have fun.. also thinking of bringing bb to JB.. hmm.. do u think it's possible to bring bb to watch movies? Would the noise be too loud for him? was thinking since the tix is so cheap, feel like taking a risk after all haven't watched movie for a long long time..

Good Morning!
Back at work again today... on leave yesterday
Yeah! Thankfully Fri n so sleepy...last nite, Fiona woke up at 12am to play!!! played for abt an hr before she finally decided to drink milk and fall asleep...zzzzz

Good Morning all mummies!
I haven't recover from my fever yet. I also have a little bit of cough & sneeze...think the weather not good.
589717.jpg

Sunflower,
ya loh... me v tired after that too ...but good exercise to help lose wt!
I went shopping yesterday afternoon...so sad, still cant fit nicely into those nice clothes
**SOB**
One part of me tells me to stop BF and go on diet to lose wt. The other part of me keeps telling me to cont for the good of bb... hiaz really donno what to do.

okasan: yah, i very ks, change her diaper so often horr ... heeheee
thanks for the info on cleaning !

sunflower: thanks for the detailed write up ! haahaa, i brought lemon to work today to clean it ... my sterilizer is the thin one - for sterilizing 2 pigeon bottles - i use that at work. at home, i use the avent sterilizer - which they provided cleaning citric acid for.
the lemon juice is sitting in there as i type ! haaha, will wait for half hour then pour it out and clean it up.
gosh, it;s fri already !!

tinklebell,

me too.. I also cannot fit into most of my clothes yet. **WAHHHWAHHH**
so now dreaming+hoping+wishing the fats will melt away!!! kekeke

exercise.. hmmm maybe I should go BT Hill and carry my boy up and down up and down, lose weight faster ar?? hahahha

K ong,
no problem

I also using the pigeon 2-bottles and avent.
check with you for avent, how long does yours take to complete each steam cycle? mine seems to take 'forever' at least 12-15 minutes instead of the stated 8mins. I pour exactly 90ml of clean water le.

tinklebell

i thot we can actually lose weight thru BF? for me, no need to go on diet lor....me regain pre-preggie weight right after confinement....

stephanie,
so good. I'm also BFing. have not regain back le.

avent - I usually put 6 bottles inside. does it matters how many bottles we put inside? cos thought is water evaporated via steam, the cycle done?

sunflower: mine takes about 6 mins ... it's the IQ24. about the time i take to brush my teeth and wash face - heehee, cuz i load it before i wash up, and after i wash up, the items are ready.

in fact, i find that my pigeon takes forever to run a cycle !! it's supposed to be 8 mins right ? but it's like 10 - 12 mins !!

sunflower

cos smetimes when i put too much things inside, ie without the upper rack, just dump all in, the lid cannot be close properly. Hence the steam will escape and take a longer time to sterilise

K Ong,
ya pigeon 2-bottles takes very long. but thought is supposed to be about that time.
but if get the pigeon rapid steam (big one) it takes about 6/7 minutes.

oh IQ24 - yours is fast.
hmmm maybe I should bring mine to avent for a check. Its about that long ever since I first started using.

stephanie,

sometimes I put many things inside as well. but I always make sure the lid close down properly.
so even though put more or less things, still long time le..

sunflower,
haha! I did that last time leh! I climbed up BT hill carrying my boy! V V V siong! Dont think i have the stamina to do it these days.

Stephanie
So good, how i wished i have lost my wt in first mth. still got a bit of stubborn fats hanging loosely

BF'g doesnt seem to have much effect on my wt loss leh.... hiaz.... nowadays i dont eat rice for lunch anymore! And for dinner, i try to have a bit of brown rice whenever possible. have lost a bit since i started this diet... but still fat

ipanda,
my girl also having a bit of cough... a lot of phelgm...dont really want her to take medicine... but i think it's bec she didnt take her med last nite that's why could sleep and woke up... hiaz.... maybe tonight will let her take her phelgm medicine.

BF'g Mummies
Can we take chin chow? i noted that my girl's phelgm started when i took chin chow and chrysanthemum daily cos i had many ulcers in my mouth and my wisdom tooth hurt! maybe it's too liang for her!

sunflower, yah ..mine too. I thought it's supposed to be quite fast but I realise that it's taking longer than it's supposed to. I am also using Pigeon. It's a lot faster though.

K ong, we have the same name? Really?

Re: weight loss
Haiz ..when I had my mini baby shower, everybody commented that I still looked fat. So depressing!
Does anyone know how to get rid of flabby tummy?

Tinklebell, any photos of the zoo to share?

tinklebell, Krist was having a cough and then a lot of phelgm when we were in Sg. It was so difficult to get rid of the phelgm. The medicine that a PD gave was not exactly useful. The problem was solved eventually when we used a nebuliser.

help, my boy is dependent on his pacifier.will wake up often middle of night, cries with eyes close for pacifier.any advise? i'm so sleepy and tired because of that...what more have to wake up for real to pump, latch and go work at 5am...

K_ong,
i took birds nest in bottle form during confinement. didnt know that we cannot take when BF?

sunflower,
i start work at 8...

peng,
read before a mummy take his baby see movie.just bring sarong and baby slepth throughout...but dont at this age our baby's more active no longer sleep like new born so dont know if it can work.let us know after u try...

i also change diaper every 3 hours.scared will get diaper rash if last longer, but its ok for most of you?

tinklebell

huh? u dun eat rice anymore? Wont u feel hungry with all the BF? For me, my appetite has increase tremendously...found that i need to snack every now and then. the appetite is much bigger than during preggie...luckily no weight gain....hubby warned me that i cant continue to eat so much, if i stop bf :p

tinklebell

huh? u dun eat rice anymore? Wont u feel hungry with all the BF? For me, my appetite has increase tremendously...found that i need to snack every now and then. the appetite is much bigger than during preggie...luckily no weight gain....hubby warned me that i cant continue to eat so much, if i stop bf :p

hi sunflower,
thanks.. got the mail

tinklebell,
i think we shd avoid chin chow. i put weight now compared to the 1st 4 mths after preg. guess very hungry after bf-ing hence eat too much :p

Hello gals...
Yesterday and today... I "orr bak kak"... lol... Aloysius woke up at 5.45am this morning and refused to sleep again. I can see his eyes very big staring at me, and touching my face while still in the dark... Very cute.. but very tiring for me oo...

sunflower,
If I were you, I will finish the GD maths program first then start the Shichida maths program. I have the 65 day program. I think it's similar to GD maths program. Difference is the number of days and number of cards to flash and only flash once a day. For example, in the 65 days program, flash 10 dots in one session instead of 5. For equations, it's not 2 weeks for each plus/minus/multiply/divide. I think there's not many very complicated equations. I, myself, like challenges and very simple equations will bored me also. kekeke... I am KS. I mixed the two program, with more of GD's program... cos when I follow GD strictly, Aloysius was bored. GD program is more extensive, I feel. And from the book, I get more ideas on what to do next...
Whatever method you choose, just remember that it's the input stage now. And watch out for signs of boredom and plan the program according to Xander's preference
You are the one who knows him best
GD always states in his book "Only mothers know best".

For me, I think Aloysius is fast. I am targetting to finish all GD cards before the start of Shichida class. But haven't got time to plan yet. Yesterday did not do flashcards cos I was so tired and low in energy... :p

poohy,
Do you think the variety cards are useful?? How are the cards flashed?? I haven't got the time to ask my friends on that...

Kite,
Yes, I will use brown rice and blend myself. Long grains.

Wen,
The first time I put Aloysius on the hard floor, he suddenly went down to lick and hit his gums... and cried.. Now, he knows the floor is hard... lol... When he's on the bed, he used to bury his head and kick. Surprisingly, he dun do that when on the floor or tatami mat.

poohy,
You bought the organic lecithin from Superachievers?? How does it taste like?? Shichida recommended Lecithin even during pregnancy, instead of the fish oil...

Wen,
The tatami mat I got is from Japan... You dun really need tatami mat. I used it since I have it in the storeroom. I think a mattress protector with cover should be good. I did not bother to get a cover for the mattress protector, so I used a tatami mat :p

K Ong,
hahaha.. it's so convenient to breastfeed with baby hor?? For me, I might be travelling without baby, and wanna plan second one soon and detox first, so gotta start weaning already. But I haven't got to start the process... lol... a bit "bu she de"..

Fi,
I dun change diaper every 3 hours...
So far still ok

stephanie,
I am also eating lots more than before preggie...

Stephanie,
ya loh, dont eat rice... i cut down on carbo... but i eat other lots of fish and some papaya. papaya helps me to boost my MS so everytime i feel it is low, i just eat some papaya and MS immediately goes up the next day.