(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

stephanie,
I dunno is it the black sesame increase my BM. I ate black sesame with rolled oatmeal.
I think your supply will come back if you continue your pumping schedule again.

Fi,
hmm... I dun pump often oo... Now twice a day. Last time pump 5-6 times, but not now...
I also like kaya toast.. kekeke... There's one very nice one at Sin Ming
When I am around that area, I will sure go and eat. When preggie, I can make trips there just to eat kaya toast... lol...

kite,
I am thinking of the normal brown rice that I eat. Brown rice got two types. The one that looks more red is more nutritious, so I usually eat that.
It's good that your mum can prepare fresh food for Chloe everyday

amy,
Yalor... very troublesome to make a little bit everyday... I think I gonna eat baby food already... kekeke...
How do you puree the pear?? What do you use??

missk,
I think it's the "ang mo" type of pear that is soft...

lyn: did u receive my PM? Aiyoh ..die ..dunno where to get ang mo pear. The supermart here sells a green one...not xiangli. Are u talking abt that?

oh ya missk... no.. I did not get your PM. I checked yesterday.. forgot to tell you... paiseh... Can you PM me again please?
ya green one should be "ang mo" pear... lol...

sunflower,
oh really medela got the soft funnel one.. hehe i didn't know. ya, that time i used medela when i was still clueless abt bf and having lots of problem w/ my supply. low power yields little milk, high power so painful :p

fi, maybe if u want to use medela mini can consider that soft funnel one mentioned by sunflower.

amy,
may i know how do u puree ur pear? if using blender must add water rite? or r u using the handheld blender? that one no need to add water rite.
do u also add BM or FM to the pear for feeding?

kite,
wow u r so slim
i was 44 kg when in high school. never been below 50 kg since 5 years ago. so this current 46.5kg is really a welcoming sight for me :p but dunno if i can maintain it once i stop BF..

wen,
my girl likes to break the edge of my numeric mats, and licks the mat too. i clean it using wet tissue coz dunno what else is better. how do u clean ur alphabet mats?

lyn, fi,
i used to dislike oats a lot, i even teased my hubby when he ate it coz it's gooey and looks like baby food. but since i read in this forum a few months ago, dunno who i forget, that oats can increase BM, i've been drinking oats every morning now

Fi,

My ger started on barley, i think, from 4 mths onwards? Barley is the only thing old pple believe can give to babies without too liang

Yup, without sugar. If bb find it too bland, dun wanna drink (because bland yet got that barley taste.. won't get used to it), u can add to the milk. For my ger, 60 ml barley + 60 ml hot water to make up 120 ml of milk

fi,
if you really want to get medela mini, try it first before getting the soft-shield funnel. maybe you may find the suction ok, then dun need to waste money buy. When i first use avent manual, I thought it was painful. after few times, got used to it.

posted in BP thread
-- anyone going?

===================
Shichid Public Sales will take place on:

7 December to 10 December 2006
Springleaf
Toa Payoh Hub

SM Sales

Who's going?
Wonder what is good to buy?

poohy: can advise SL or HDB hub - which bookshop is bigger/more stuff?

gian to go down... but but... really dunno wat's good there..

maybe poohy can advise us since Samuel is a student there for sometime liao.

my parents arrived from penang last night.my mom took care of my boy during the month of September and havent seen him since. and now my boy can recognise my mom! kept looking at her with very wide eyes and talking baby talk with my mom! we were all very amazed cause he outgrew the baby talk phase and now suddenly found his voice.

mum2b,
then i must eat more oatmeal then...

lyn,
yeah for kaya toast...yum yum...

re pureed pear

it's the western pear - green ones. there are red, yellow, and green ones at vivocity.
all 'ang mo' types.

i steam the pears, then blend in electric blender.
then place in freezer cubes, freeze.
bb jake is taking one cube per day for breakie, with 1 tsp oatmeal cereal + ebm. he's a happy camper.

was out whole day so din reply some of u posting.

Fi,
not sure anyone answer yr query yet.. anyway nepia can be found in NTUC.. but selling at 16.70/pkt. my orders for 4 pkts just arrived yesterday.

re: highchair
actually thot of getting the jane high chair but find it abit ex and as mentioned by okasan it's bulky. anyway, my boy can really sit without support yet so may get the high chair only later.

okasan, ur bb can sit on his own on the high chair already?

serene,
wat a coincidence.. i hv the same bb float.. brought my bb to desaru end of oct.. he swum at the pool as well. he loved it!

re: overseas water
the last trip to desaru, we brought a few bottles of our own boiled water since we drove there. when all used up, we opened up mineral waiter/ distilled water and boiled it. no choice but i think it's better than tap water. anyway my bb was ok after drinking that.

lyn, mtdt,
you gals going? but hor dunno what to buy le..
poohy, what's your advise?

float : think I got 1 too from Mums&Babes.
not opened yet though hahaha

Fi,

I'm suffering from tendonitis (inflammation of the tendons around the wrist due to rubbing against the bone). Painful to flex wrist, carry baby etc. I think you may be suffering from intial stage of it. Early treatment is always better (can try acupuncture, physio etc)

lok,
ok, that's it.i'm buying an electric pump liao...sure all these treatment cost a lot of money too isnt it.

sunflower, mtdt,

hehee... it really depends on what's on sale that day mah..
I also dunno. U must roughly know what u wanna buy then u know wat to target... else v loss... cos they dun provide product catalogue leh... at least their catalogue there at their shop not v comprehensive leh. Btw, some of the items like IQ genius can be bought outside slightly cheaper than their sale price
Besides its not yet age appropriate for our babies cos required fine motor skills of at least 1 year and above i think. The tensai shop is expensive even at sale price i feel
Alot of their products come from taiwan ... so if u roughly know wat u want... maybe can get some of their items from other cheaper sources...

Imagine S was attending the SM class there for 1 whole term and I dunno wat to buy... cos most of the required things like maths cd I already have through some other means liao. And their A5 size memory genius, language genius are not that cheap... plus its mainly clipart style (not suitable for GD BITS)... also the quantity is not a lot (will run out vvv fast). u all can easily print it at home or buy ....

And i think most of u already have the GD maths dots cards liao... unless u all wanna buy the variety and random cards...

I heard their grains like lecithin and wheatgerm brain food stuff is quite good selection though

amy,

must steam how long har? tt means we cut up the pear n remove the seed inside b4 steam?sori..nv try b4..not sure how to go abt it..so far i only koe how to prepare pumpkin only...

steffi,

i nv add breastmilk leh..i follow the instructions only..

stephanie: yah, just continue pumping, the ss will return !

lyn: i'm also not starting my dd on semi solids, cuz i believe if can continue on b milk, it wld be best for her.
also, cuz i'm travelling in Dec, so i dont wanna have to bring more items for semi solid feeding - lazy ! haahaa

mummies: Mothersenvogue is having a sale !
30% off on nursing wear, all very nice ! i have the discount card if you are buying anything, can get additional 10% off !!

sterilizer: anyone using the pigeon sterilizer ? how do you clean it ? mine has brown bits on the metal plate and makes the items smell a little "burnt" ...

keep going, it will take a few days to build up !
drink oats and dont streess !
(hehee, i sld gfollow my own advice, my ss also dropping ... now using frozen stock to top up my daily yields ...)

K Ong

ok, shall drink more oat....how much do you take each time?

actually hor, me intend to stop when gal is 6 mths, which is abt 1 mth later...now like a bit too soon lor...

Hi Lyn, Fi, Kite~, Mom2B

I just tried putting some quilt over the alphabets and think she is playing alright for the momment. I used to put her on the mattress and one day she crawled out of mattress and decided to flip over and bang her head on the ground. She thought the floor is as soft as the matress I think.. poor thing. And another day, she was sitting on the floor but then decided to lay down. And pong, her head hit the floor again....

I normally just wipe the mats with some soapy water then wipe again with water. Don't think it is hygenic enough that is why still thinking for a solution.

Lyn, where did you get the tatami? What is the price range?

Poohy,

Can I ask how to feed bb lecithin? I got a pack from NTUC (origin brand, I think) but think it is for adult. Or is it safe for bb consumption too?

stephanie: i take the quaker oats - it's in a single serving - one cupful.

i intend to continue to 1 yr ... but of course, depending on the ss ...

Wen: why dont u use the pigeon hand wipes ?
i use that for any surface that my dd has contact with .

can your baby sit up already ??
so cute ...
mine still cannot sit w/o my support. if i leave her in a sitting position, she will tumble over, ... quite funny to see that heehee

wen,

I also dunno ! hehee
I had not even started feeding Joelle rice cereal... I normally start late for semi solid... anyway for Samuel, I asked my mum to add it into his cereal... supposed to be no need to cook according to the booklet Shichida sch passed to us...

K Ong

Thanks for the tip. My bb is a May girl so she is sitting very well now. We even put her on the bb swing and she likes it. The only problem is she has been too comfortable playing on a matress so she doesn't know that the floor is not soft. She would just decides to lay down suddenly if she is tired of playing sitting up....and if I dont catch her fast enough...he he

Poohy,

Thanks for the tip. I had just starting to feed Gabrielle cereal. She is taking it ok so far. When did you start adding lecithin to Samual's cereal? Does it has to be above 1 year, do you know? At the moment, I am the one taking it...thought maybe can pass some through BM...hehe..but only occasionally coz I find it tasting awful...hehe.

lyn:
u wil be using brown rice grains n grind urself? long or short grains?

Amy:
wat kind of electric blender u use? i hv a philips fruit blender (longish kind), can use that to blend bb's food? no need separate blender for bb's food?

k ong:
how old is ur ger now? so when u gg to start solid? My ger turning 6mths in 2 weeks time.

Stephanie:
Continue pumping at same time interval. Ss wil definitely increase.

sunflower,

GD maths dots should be same as the random cards. It means the dots are scattered randomly. However, I think there is no formula at the back like the GD ones. Also i tink its A4 in size. Variety cards should be those with different images... not just dots.. I am not so sure too ... but for maths dots, the GD maths dots cards are better
Can be used for shichida 65 days program too.

kite : i'll start her mid Dec - that's when she turns 6 mths

but PD says no need to rush, cuz she is a good size for her age, so not worried that she's not getting enuff nutrients from my BM. i think she's ready though ... cuz she smacks her lips when she sees us eating ...
sunflower: thanks ! cuz i have a pigeon sterilizer at work and chucked the boxes already ... :p now the metal plate is a bit brownish ... not sure how to clean !!

k ong:
r u stil taking lecithin? me stil taking 1 tablespoon twice per day w plain water, morning nite time. If overdose, is there any side effect, any idea?

as for solid food, wat r u starting w?

every wkend, i wil use vinegar mixed w water to descale the pigeon steriliser, very effective.

kite : how's the leicithin ? is it helping wif your engorgement ??
me not taking it anymore - i forgot !! hehee, i put it in the fridge ... and by the time i get back for dinner at 8 plus, so tired, cant be bothered to take it out and put on my food :p
\dont think it's got any adverse effect cuz it's a natural product.

what sort of vinegar ? does it smell ?

i'll start her on those cereal which u have to mix wif BM first ... then slowly will intro to simple food, ie, fruits, soft vege.
actually, when i attended a talk by Doris Fok - Lactation specialist - she said baby can take whatever food we are eating, just need to blend it. so, take a bit of rice, vege and just blend.

Re: NEPIA DIAPERS

Need some advice here. My bb is now ard 7.5kg, currently wearing 'M' size Drypers. I want to order Nepia since got offer now. Don't know whether to get 2pack 'M' & 2pack 'L' OR 3pack 'M' & 1pack 'L'???
589178.gif
589179.gif

k ong:
touch wood touch wood. hehe yes it helps. thanks for ur advise
i feel insecure when i forget to eat!

Yes e vinegar definitely smell! u can just buy a bottle from NTUC, very common one.
which brand cereal u getting?

missk:
think better sterilise else like rusty n not so good. JKT's supermarket got sell? i wil sterilise 1x a week

i_panda:
my ger at 5mths 7.3kg, now 5mths + also same weight. SHe is currently wearing Nepia Size M. Last mth, i ordered 2 packs Size M n 2 packs Size L.

589186.gif
Kite, thanks.
Think i will order 2 'M' & 2 'L'...cos i am still using Drypers 'M'. Err...how long they take to deliver?