(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

re: jar food
ya, nothing is better than food prepared fresh

but looking at another point of view....even commerical prepared rice cereal are also considered "canned food" loh...

wow.. so many posts, can't catch up

missk,
yes v tired indeed.. in fact i feel i've never work physically so hard before in my life! hehe.. i was quite pampered growing up, never sweep floor, never cook, never do housework, never take care anyone before. but now i do all by myself :p being SAHM is like holding 2 full time job, starts at 6am, ends at 5.59am haha.. but good thing is now I even slimer than before pregnancy

fi,
i can imagine ur jae zen scooting around in walker, must be cute
feli only scooting around using her feet, stomach and head hehe.. that's why i put mattress on the floor n must surround the mattress with lots of pillows and bolster, otherwise she likes to suddenly rest her head on the floor so if it's hard floor it will be painful n dangerous. but even with the pillows sometimes she fall into the floor (even though the mattress is only 3 sm thick) coz not enough space
how i wish i got lots of space for her play ground..

Feli doesn't mind if i take off the pacifier after she sleeps. sometimes she can nap or sleep w/o pacifier too, esp when she's super sleepy.

my girl can only stay awake 2-3 hrs max during the day, n then need a nap. are ur babies the same?

oh, btw i have $20 OSIM voucher n want to exchange to robinsons voucher. anyone interested?

amy,
i was thinking to feed my bb brown rice only, but then i read that BR might be too heaty. i also attend a seminar at KKH, n heard that it's not so good to feed BR only to kids as it's more fiber n thus more filling so we scared the kid won't eat other food like veggie n fruits n meats.

fi,
personally i hate medela mini.. hehe.. i used it for 2 weeks then change to avent uno n not turning back anymore. i might sell my avent uno next month when i finished BF.

tinklebell,
sorry to hear about ur friend. i read in Sunday Times now more cases of healthy young men suddenly dead in the sleep. so scary .. life is indeed so precious and fragile. it reminds me to be more gracious and thankful and cherish what i have.

fi,
i also worried next month when feli is on total FM plus solids.. hope she will take water n not having constipation. i have a friend who tried all kinds of FM for her daughter n find that her girl will have constipation unless taking dumex milk. so i guess it depends which brand of FM is suitable for ur bb.

Mum2B,

I read the same thing in Mind Your Body abt a mth ago. Basically, the PD said EXCESSIVE brown rice will fill up the kid and deprive them of other essential nutrients. Also has some impact on calcium (and zinc or magnesium, can't remember) absorption. The key here is excessive which I hv no idea how much that will be. So best to moderate.

tinklebell,

i also hope to see u soon. U know, every fri nite, i wonder whether u will ring my doorbell! (try to do it b4 930 cos afraid of waking Joshua up)

lyn,

I know Langkawi is for tourists but the mummies were discussing abt buying diapers while overseas, so i chipped in. U stay in YCK right? Actually, can find a whole range of organic stuff in NTUC Junction 8 (Liberty market + baby food section). I also had the same idea to grind the organic rolled oats finely and then cook for baby. How long do we have to cook it? I always buy the instant Quaker type, just add water, so have no idea how long it takes to cook rolled oats..

Lok,
u mean u r at home every fri?
i see your home so quiet so i thought no one home. i remembered u mention u go to your mil's house everyday so i thought u were not back yet! This fri most likely will go there for dinner...catch up with u then (provided fiona isnt cranky. we usually reach around 730 ... u usually back at that time?) I just PM u my hp no... hope to meet u soon

re: jar food
if no sugar and no salt and no preservatives, how come the food can be kept on shelf for so long? something wh i have been pondering for so long... F/M, jar food is not like cereal wh is dried food n can be kept longer.... anyone familiar with food processing? maybe can enlighten me a bit on that.

okasan,
I've forgotten to add, i bring along his bean pillow too.
Btw, i think as long as it's boiled water, should be fine. I think malaysia should be fine, we are not going to places like india, south africa or some other 3rd world country......Of cos we cannot expect 100% clean water, even the water we boil from our home tap is no 100%. That's why there are alot of water filter, diamond water etc in the market....but we can't really see with our eyes. So far, i've brought my boy to bintan twice and we boil the water there, he's okay.

halo mummies
anyone has this vtech nursery rhymes book? i just wanna ask hor..the rhymes only play 1st 2 lines then the rest music har?? not whole rhymes meh???cos i flip each page only ssings 2 lines then music liao....can someone enlighten this suaku mum??? hehehe

fi, haha..but he naps many times. As long as he's not cranky at nite, I guess it's ok lah.

lyn, you have mail.

re: diapers overseas
I bot some diapers from phuket and they are slightly more ex than Singapore. My son managed to use up the diapers (can't rem how many pieces though, it's a small pack) within 3 days.

Hi tinklebell
I m not in the food industry but i think :p those food jar food are actually vacuum - meanings that they "pump" all the air out the from food jar before they seal it..hence wihout any gasses- oxygen, bacteria cannot grow. That's why when we buy any seal food, they always a warning that if we find the seal is broken...do not consume ---because bacteria might grow inside de..

okasan,
my boy living in spore and jb sometimes so the water there is ok.unless like serene said other underdevelop place that need to take care. eg. at cambodia, i put in strerlizer tablet in tap water, it turned yellow and the water smells rusty so that one really cannot...

kk,
which age baby can drink barley water?

mum2b,
wah can slim down this way? very good...i also put mattress on floor for him to play but its cot size, he flip 2 times end up at the edge.maybe u can put those jigsaw rubber mat around the edges to create bigger play area so wont hit the head on the floor.i didnt do that cause now he like to scoot around in his walker rather than lie down.the best moment is when i call him and clap etc..he half walk and stagger towards me with his arms up for balance, very cute..

why didnt u like medela mini? have to tell me cause its selling for a quarter of the price of uno so i thought of getting it but suspicious on why its so cheap.i'm very tempted to buy the uno cause it will complete my avent manual set. console myself so expensive but i can use it again for 2nd child
read that uno is 'smart' can detect yr manual pumping rhythm,its user friendly? think i must be mad to rely on a manual pump for so long....think all of u who pump so frequent must have own an electric one.

kite,i'm still deciding....

Fi,

My son has started drinking barley water when he's 1mth old. We don't give him everyday, usually give him 1-2 days b4 his jab, main motive is to cool the body down.

okasan,

I've forgotten to take alook at the brand of mosquito patch that i've bought and tell you. Generally it's quite good. Actually bintan is very clean, no mosquito but just bring for prevention.

Hello, good morning all aunties, I'm 5mths 3wks old!

586696.jpg

I just came back from Bintan Island. Mummy bought me a new float.

586697.jpg

I went to the beach too!

586698.jpg

I love to stay in the hotel, I roll around happily on mummy's bed.

serene and kk,
this barley is without sugar? just boil and give water? how much to give?

serene,
the float in the pic good? your baby can self support inside?

serene,
i like ur float too, seems ur bb is secured inside

fi,
yeah now i'm only 46.5kg. before pregnancy i'm 51 kg. hehe..
but then i only gain 6 kg during pregnancy coz i had GD (gestational diabetes), so they asked me to monitor my diet, limit carbo/rice (n it's brown rice only) n cannot eat/drink anything sweet at all during my last trisemester. even at the 9th month, i lost ard 0.5-1kg, but feli steadily increased her weight. think when she was born at 3.3 kg, i lost all my pregnancy weight gain straight away.
how about u? u seem v slim when i met u.

yeah, avent is smart, just need to set the speed once n it will remember. but the bad thing is i often press the handle accidently so the speed will change because the machine thinks i'm altering the speed. so it's not perfect either. but what i like is it's gentle and it has a soft petal massaging cushion. medela's one is hard plastic.

okasan, your bb prefer BR or oatmeal cereal ah? today I intro puree pears. bb jake closed his eyes tighly after he tasted the pear. funny... maybe he din like sweet stuff...ha ha...

fi, eeh... think if you are gonna BF for another few months, should get electric pump. take good care of your hand, need to carry bb one le...

serene, brayden looks happy... must have enjoyed his swim heaps. this sat intend to bring jake swimming in his float... ha ha...

Fi, mum2b,
I bought this float from kiddypalace, it's specially meant for infant/baby. The sit is just like those walker or exersaucer, deep enough and size fit just nice for his butt, so when we put him in, it's secure and stable, we can leave him alone, dun have to hold on to him...very good!

Amy,
Earlier when brayden is 2 or 3 mths old, i never buy him a float, just hold on to him and let him swim front and back, like what you, lyn, poohy and other mummies do...he's quite insecure that time....Then this time, i thought maybe more fun to get him a float and i can enjoy myself, snapping pics for him too. But when i carry him out of the float and hold him freely to swim like b4, he's able to kick water, no more afraid like last time...also this time the weather is good, water is warm...

Serene, good to know the swim session was successful. this sat, i intend to let jake swim freely first, then intro the float later.
hope the weather will be good...

Fi,

I put those alphabet mats on the floor for my girl but she started crawling and pulled out the alphabets and put straight in ther mouth! Have to find new 'playground' for her liao! sigh!

Any mommies have any ideas on cheap crawling grounds for bb? I don't really want to spend on the expensive gates and mats which she probably outgrow in a few months time....

halo mummies
anyone has this vtech nursery rhymes book? i just wanna ask hor..the rhymes only play 1st 2 lines then the rest music har?? not whole rhymes meh???cos i flip each page only ssings 2 lines then music liao....can someone enlighten this suaku mum??? hehehe

Lok,
oops..maybe got some misunderstanding. Langkawi is a place for tourist, so the diapers will be more expensive than other parts of Malaysia.

Oh okie.. next time I will go and shop around for the organic section in NTUC at Junction 8. Usually, I go there to buy fruits and vegetables, then zoom off...
I dunno how long to cook. I think we cook till we think it's cooked... kekeke... When in powder form, it will cook very fast. Must stir, else later bottom "chao ta" hor... I also eat the instant Quacker oats for myself. I read that the instant ones has lost nutrients.

tinklebell,
I also have been wondering how come no salt no sugar no preservatives, no need fridge some more, the food can be on the shelf for months...
I know for crackers and chips, to maintain the crispiness, add nitrogen air. For fruits to ripen fasten, also add nitrogen air... Dunno about the jar food though... Dunno is it using nitrogen air again. Or I thought they are vacuumed...

Serene,
Wah... very nice photos of Brayden in Bintan... He looks so cool in the float.

Kite,
I just found out from my friends that infant soy milk in the long term will cause weak teeth in babies. I will add supplements high in calcium in the soy milk, then it's ok... Dun follow me hor... :p Cow's milk is good. But my concern is the cows are being exposed to too much hormones, antibiotics, etc... plus possible allergy and lactose intolerance...

Amy,
Wanna swim this Sat morning at my place??

Anyone else interested to come to YCK for a swim?? Saturday morning, about 9am.

Wen,
I use a mattress protector from Ikea and top it with a tatami mat for Aloysius to explore on the floor...

Morning Mummies!

Fi:
No problem. U take ur time to consider on the Uno pump
No hurry at all. Hmm i heard medela mini not very powerful leh. Hmm if u want to try the Uno pump, we can arrange
Its best u try out the pump 1st b4 buying on which one u feel comfortable.

missk:
i paid $500 for e low rise bed frame + mattress

lyn:
actually some books are very contradicting. Some said BM after 6mths lack of iron but others say iron is very sufficent in BM even after 6mths. Wat do u think? Confusing. thanks for e article, i read b4 tats y i m stil thinking when to start solid food but when i read abt e iron thingy make me want to start soon. u leh?

Now i thinking of home made n grind my own cereal. e plain rice must buy special one or can just use our home kind? Issit easy to grind our own? For me, i dun think i wil buy those commercial jars. Btw are u gg to puree stuffs n store in freezer?

amy,
Nowadays it usually rain in the late afternoon. So i think morning should be nice weather for swim.

lyn,
Thanks, yes when put him in the float, he looked so proud and cool, called him he also dun bother...haa.

Any of u feeding babies with EYS Brown Rice with Si Shen Powder? Do we need to cook them first or can mixed direct with BM?

lyn:
dun tink i wil feed chloe w soy when i stop BF. i wil see how. I hv let her tried on enfalac samples, so far so good, keep my fingers crossed. If ok, i wil introduce tat to her but somehow afraid FM is too heaty to you, hv to introduce slowly.

steffi

need to cook.according to the instructions.v fast 1..
i put 2 teaspoon into a bowl.then add normal cool boiled water..stir until no lumps.then add hot water.total amout of water i used will be abt 150ml. then u put over low fire n cook
mus stir..when it thickens means its ready

serene,
how much the float cost?got size? it sound wonderful...

mum2b,
yikes..medela mini hard plastic, cause pain and distorted nipples? sound like from horror movie..my imagination starting to run wild.. i have a lot of pple offering to sell me their medela mini. maybe that's why.

slim? i think cause preggie with boy put on less weight but ha..u haven't seen my tyre round the belly yet. that's the most depressing one..dont know when it'll go down..

amy,
ya must take care of hand.was thinking if later see doc and therapy sure cost more than the pump leh..now hand still not that bad better save my hand first..but wonder what hubby will say spend that kind of money now. the most expensive thing we've bought is the stroller and baby cot, and now the pump...

kite,
hee hee...very tempted to try.where do you stay? so i go yr hse toilet and try squish squish first?
but why u choose PIS over uno? i saw PIS on website, its more expensive and more gadgets ah?

i feel fortunate cause mil say she can cook home cook for my boy, so no need those puree and jar food.think that's more for those dont have time to prepare.

lyn,
i also like quaker oat with milo during weekdays at office.if eat those at home, dont taste nice. but i know a lot pple dont like it cause its slimy and gooey...

wen,
really..eat the alpahbet mats? hhmm..lyn's idea of putting mattress protector is a good idea.or thick blanket. but can imagine our baby will kick it up into a ball...have to tape down? wait till they can sit up unsupported. sometimes cannot balance, they may topple and hit head so have to be more careful. now roll onto hard floor still not as bad.

fi:
i choose PIS cos its dual.

wen:
i heard those ABC mats can trap bacteria leh, try to keep it clean or dun let ur bb eat it.

mum2b:
i m now 44kg. i lost weight since i started work. b4 preg was 43kg. during preg 56kg.

kite,
how many times u tried enfalac? does the texture and smell of poo change? i find after drinking similac the poo smells! even after 1 feeding..maybe all other brand also make poo smell?

cannot imagine when they're entirely on solid and FM, once open diaper think will faint from the smell...

kite,
I still believe breastmilk is the best for babies. Even after 6 months, it's still good for babies. Cos breastfeeding is nature, and our brains are smart to produce milk at different stages and will be good for our babies...
Looking at the number of people having problems in the digestive system, I am not rushing to start semi-solids.

I am testing the home made cereals for my meals now
kekeke... yesterday, I tried blending black sesame seeds plus rolled oatmeal, then cook. Not fine enough. Will have to try cooking first, then blend. I have tried blending brown rice, and it's quite easy to blend to fine powder and cook. I have also tried blending the instant oatmeal and just add boiling water. It's not bad... I will use the instant ones when I go out.

I will not be using plain rice. I will prefer brown rice. Cos got more nutrients as compared to the former.

I havent tried puree stuffs to eat yet. I do not really like to freeze food now. If I have no time to make fresh ones, might have no choice but to freeze. I will pack in air-tight containers instead of open ice cubes holders.

You know what... my breast milk increased a lot today after eating the blended black sesame and oatmeal porridge yesterday... lol...

Fi,
I am using the medela mini electric. I find that it's good and still serve me well...

How come eating oats at office and at home are different?? I eat oatmeal daily
But will also add other stuffs such as black sesame seeds, walnuts, almonds, etc

I did not tape down the mattress protector. The ones from Ikea is rather thick.

lyn

really? black sesame seed will increase Bm? me went for course last 2 days and didnt have the chance to express. Now my supply miserably low

kite

nope..didnt get to pump during course....breasts were very engorged and painful....quickly went home after that to express, but now supply is low...any way to increase supply?

lyn,
how many times a day u use the medela mini? breakfast at home and office are different cause different setting and mood. i siaow right...now and then i would come to office earlier to have kaya toast breakfast at a coffee shop by roadside. simply enjoy those early morning quiet moments myself....i think i'm addicted to kaya toast. go everywhere also on a look out for kaya toast.at least this coffee shop dont put the thick slab of butter so i dont feel as guilty

Fi:
its e 90ml per bottle of enfaclac samples fr TMC. So far cant comment on her poo. Cos only monday, i just let her drink 1 bottle of 90ml sample n tats it. So far i hv tried abt 3 to 4 mondays liao.

Lyn:
so i guess u wont be starting solid tat soon?
where r u getting ur brown rice for aloysius? brand? . My mum is taking care of my ger while i m at work n she can help me to cook n prepare fresh food for my ger daily. Wkends my mum Off days, n i hv to make my own.

lyn, thanks for our invite. this sat, we will be swimming at a condo near our place. just 5 mins drive away. easier for bb jake too.

Fi, ya... better take good care of your hand ah. these few days, my ankle hurts. maybe from carrying bb jake up and down the stairs. poor me... get off my bed, also pain.

home cook vs puree - i also think if we can, home cook better. but sometimes very diff when bb eats only one cube. last nite, i pureed 2 pears to make 10 cubes for bb jake. imagine, one day he only eat one cube, so what i prepared can last 10 days.... next time when he can eat more, then i will cook fresh every meal. else, v diff to just cook one cube of food for him...

Fi - have you interviewed the organic shop?

stephanie:
dun worry, after ur course, stick back to your old schedule n pump at work. i think u shld pump even at course. u shld tell ur trainer that u wil be excuse for at least 30mins to pump.

tinklebell,

we're usually back abt 8+ to 9pm to get Joshua ready for bed. This arrangement will last till end of this month. Then I will bring him back to stay. I took the steriod jab, so my wrists are much better now. I got your hp.

Fi.. ah? i wasn't leh....

have you gone down to the shop? will drop by next weekend... will interview the lady... need to confirm the certification of their organic food leh. cos we cannot tell just by looking at it rite?

wow... all these talks about starting semi-solids.. seems like going to be more work than expressing BM.
but hor very exciting to plan meals for our precious bb. LOL
I've not started yet. so will absorb all the info now hahaha...

mum2b:
medela has soft-shield funnel. but need to buy as an extra part. cost about $30 if not wrong. but its softer & gentler. I got 1 cos earlier days got sore nipples so hubby got it for me. Only used a few times.

Heard from fren Medela mini may hurt if you not used to the power, also very noisy.

The new model of Medela harmony (manual) and Medela Swing comes with Soft-fit funnel. Its soft rubber i think, not the hard plastic type. When I was deciding which pump to buy before delivery, was eyeing Medela swing but only available in USA & Europe. They only brought in to Spore in Sep!!!

kite

i stuck to my usual schedule today, which is after the course but my supply still low leh...wonder how long it will take to come back?