(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Fi,

not sure. but its white and soft. can bend the spout. think meant for 3 months and above.
If you have the cup already, think can just buy the top spout to interchange. got spare parts sell.

must express til empty so that MS will be good.

amy:
me too i thinking of feeding organic. Vivocity got organic store, which shop? i thinking of gg lim chu kang since near my place but not sure that side sells anot. ulu place hehe.
how abt white cereal n barley cereal? any difference?

Sippy cup:
Are u all referring the Avent naturally magic cup? really good n no leakage ah then i wil try to get a one

Fi:
When using spoon, u add 1 teaspoon w how much bm?
Ya its better to empty n drained fully unless u want to wean off.

peng,
I let him try to crawl on tatami mat laid on top a mattress protector from Ikea...
He dun crawl like he does when on my bed.
Wah... your baby is so nice to sleep through the nite, and long afternoon nap..

Wen, sunflower,
Hope this stage will pass soon..

kite,
My mum is eagerly waiting to start feeding Aloysius... I might start with oatmeal

Brown rice and oatmeal have different types of nutrients

mtdt: thanks

lyn: Wah ... your Aloy so clever! Can crawl liao!

kk, me interested in the bumper mat. U didn't see the msg meh?

peng, wow so good. My son still wakes up quite a bit in the night leh. Wat did you do huh? Can share? My son always catnaps only leh. It's quite irritating. After abt 45 mins, he would wake up. Anyone faces the same situation?

Fi and sunflower,
i'm using nepia too.. my bb is 7.5kg wearing M size. the size is bigger than pampers/ huggies, etc. it's 14 per pkt of 48pcs. i just ordered a carton since hvg promo though i still hv 1 pkt left.

hi amy,
the high chair is without table top so how do u hold bb onto the chair with safety belt?

missk, amy,
my girl also nap 1 hr between every feeding during the day, so it's 4 times! n she sleeps v v late.. 11pm or sometimes even 1 or 2 am if she is fussy

any advise? my PD said try to reduce excitement during ye day. but how to do it sice shes more n more active now

duffybuff,
kk got good memory!

my son using walker at my mum's place...my mum bought one at kiddy palace, same as the one kk had for her girl....my mum will feed my son cereal at his walker or place him on his stroller....

at my own house, I recently bought IKEA high chair for him....quite love the simple design...serve the purpose well...and most importanly is I can keep it in a compact size when my baby outgrow it one day....

initially wanna get the Jane highchair, which can convert to table and chair next time, but in the end, didn't buy coz find it too bulky and I prefer to buy proper table and chair for him next time instead....

missk,
my son still sleep in his playpen or on our bed....we are in the process of redo one of our empty room to convert to his own room...in this room, will have mattress on the floor for him to sleep...I have no intention of getting any bed for him yet....

btw, you can try pouring boiling water at the sewage hole every few days to minimise centipede from crawling up...my relative also have this prob and she also pour boiling water over....

kite,
ya, am talking abt the commercial baby food...my mum will prepare fresh food for my baby...but during weekend, when we go out, I'm thinking of giving him those commercial food....I bought the HT series, think not bad and it's organic loh....

I'm going to stop bf in a few days time liao coz my baby gonna be 6mth liao...can't wait to have bf-less days

initially, I wanna get this Jane highchair...if anyone of you interested, can get it from Carrefour, think abt $160 (or $169, cannot remeber clearly)...got free delivery since it's above $150...I compared prices, get it there with POSB everyday card, very worthwhile...got people organise BP here before, also cannot give this price + free delivery

585237.jpg

mum2B, mine catnaps but sleeps at abt 730 pm. However, he can wake up a few times per night. Sometimes, he cries, sometimes just ay ay ay. Then I need to change his sleeping position. I only feed him once a night. How abt you?

It's true that we should reduce excitement in the day. That's what my PD said to me too. Do you think vtech toys can be overstimulating? Any opinion?

I think Amy's son sleeps from 6 to 6 yah? How do u do that, Amy?

Which is better Baby Jumper Gym or GUG?

okasan,

Hmmm i think the hands-me-down high chair at my mil place may be from ikea. The height of table and distance from table to baby cannot be adjusted, is that right? That's the bad point about it. It is a very very simple high chair. The hands-me-down at my place has all these adjustable features. So perhaps my ger can sit in it for longer period of time

i notice if my boy drink similac for one feed plus cereal for another feed (on top of his other BM feed),he'll strain to poo.any advice, should i change to a less heaty FM, but which brand is less heaty? cannot imagine when he's on total FM next time how is he going to poo...

missk,
my boy takes power nap half hour only and plays a lot during his waking hours.

sunflower,
aiya..i should have bought the sippy cup 3 months onwards then cause its more expensive to buy separate parts.and i notice spout parts very difficult to find.

kite,
avent magic cup no leak till water can't even come out if baby dont know how to suck..ha ha..not sure how much milk my mil mix with 1 teaspoon with cereal. thinks it agak agak, like thick soup consistency.even though he can take thicker texture like porridge we scared too high concentration of cereal later cannot poo...

duffbuff,
so its $0.29 for a piece of Nepia? so far i've been using huggies from JB cost $0.17 a piece.Nepia have to special order, not selling in market?

okasan,
wah the Jane highchair look like it came from transformer cartoon...

missk,
my girl's last feed is 10 pm. if at night wake up i'd put pacifier into her mouth n usually she will fall asleep again quite easily. the problem is now she's diffult to fall asleep after the 10pm feed. luckily last night she's good, ask for milk at 9.30pm then fell asleep at 10pm to 7 am, but woke up 3-4 times lah, but everytime i stuffed pacifier to her mouth hehe.. that darn thing is really a sanity saver for me! haha..

i dun give any sophisticated toy leh.. but she likes physical activities like creeping and scooting around using her stomach and head. so probably she's overtired. but then i dun want to stop her coz i think it's good for her physical development..

mum2b,
yr pacifier situation is same like mine.wake2-3 times at night, eyes closer but will cry or whine with mouth open for pacifier.once pop it inside he'll continue sleeping.so most of the time difficult to take pacifier out of his mouth when he's asleep.do u let feli sleep with pacifier in her mouth. i'm afraid if i do that it'll become a habit.but even know think its too late cause he wakes easily after pull pacifier out. am thinking how to encourage sleeping through the night withought waking up for pacifier. any ideas?

jaezen also likes physical activities,not particular toys.he likes to scoot around on his walker, towards the sound of dvd playing his children songs, then towards the door check out if anyones coming, follow pple into rooms,scoot over to touch his toys,touch then throw but find it doesnt hit the floor cause its tied to something! i didnt encourage him on the walker till last weekend when he was squirming dont want to lie down or carry etc till i put him on the walker then he was happy scooting around himself. till 15min later he call out for pple...

morning kk,

Yes I bring my bb along with us. This is the 2nd time he go to bintan. It's very enjoying, no hassle...except of cos you have to pack 1 big bag of yr bb's stuffs. The weather is fine in bintan, we have lots of sunshine...we all looked tan now!

serene,

Glad that u enjoyed ur trip so much!! Heehee, never been to bintan yet.

Now looking forward to our trip to nz, without bb though.

Amy

when u pureed pear, carrot, apple etc,what do u actually do? Me a bit blur leh. Do u boil these first and then 'smash' them using the grinder etc?

kk,

I'm sure your NZ trip will be a very enjoyable one! Do share with me when you're back as i've actually plan to go to NZ last year but later got pregnant and can't go. Will you miss your bb? If i go away w/o my bb, i will definitely miss him alot...So that's why i don't know if i can make up my mind to go for my 2nd honeymoon next year w/o him???

serene,

that's why lor.. wanted to go last year dec but pregnant, so went on cruise instead

So i tell hubby this year MUST go haha..

Definitely will miss my ger!!! But my hubby say better go before she know more things. Think next year she won't let us go liao haha..

kk,

Yes, what your hubby says was right. When she starts to recognize you and become very close to you, she won't let you go, will sure cry! So i guess, you just have to adjust your feeling/thoughts since you have already booked the trip. So must enjoy yrself and don't think too much about yr gal, if not, the trip will be wasted.
Also if you going to have no 2 next time, all the more, diff to go holiday alone.

serene,

My hubby say if strike 4D or toto, he will bring ger to HK next year haha! So i tell my ger to think longggg longggg :p

Ya, i am worried if suddenly got #2, pregnant again, cannot go anywhere liao. After that 2 naughty ones around, how to go?? The older one sure want to follow.

Good Morning!

Serene, oic u were at bintan...no wonder never hear fr u.

Sunflower/ vivi,
will meet u girls outside the zoo entrance at 10am tomorrow. So far only 3 of us going.
I have PM u my no... just in case u need to contact me.

Hiaz.... me feeling sad today
after attending our fren's funeral yesterday. somehow it just strikes me that life is v unpredictable and we must cherish it while still alive

tinklebell,

My HOD got so emotional during last science dept meeting and he mentioned that one of his neighbours got stroke and now in wheelchair. Another one got his leg amputated because of diabetes. Sigh, all these stories really disheartening. So stay healthy and happy and treasure every moment with our loved ones!

Oh by the way, the weather nowadays very hot!!! U mummies can tahan at the zoo? hehehe..

tinklebell,

How old is ur fren??

I first experienced a friend passed away at the age of 19! That was really something i will always remember.

32 this year... just slept and died!! aiyo

kk, actually i feel zoo is not as hot c0s got a lot of trees. i'm more afraid that it will rain cos it kept raining the past few days.

re: Visit to the zoo (update)
Time : 10am outside the entrance
1) Tinklebell
2) Tinklebell
3) Sunflower
4) Sunflower
5) vivi
6) tinklebell(KIV)
7)
8)

tinklebell,

No worry of rain in the morning, as i noticed it rain more often in the afternoon. After heated up the whole day, no wonder will rain then.

tinklebell, kk,

I 1st experienced a classmate of mine passed away when i was 19 also. He died in a road accident, heard his motorcycle banged and flipped. How i know that, i saw his face on the obitauries...i was shocked then! Sigh! Life is so short, so unpredictable, the person who was around then, could disappear the next day! Last Dec, my father in law was around with us on xmas, this year, he's not anymore and it only take less than 3 mths from the day he discovered his illness. Till now, we cannot believe that he was actually dead. He always looked so strong and healthy to us. Most regrettable thing is, he never get a chance to see his 1st grandchild, my son.

kk,
ya, IKEA highchair cannot be adjust, it's only a very simple highchair loh...but coz the highchair height is just nice for my dinner table, so no need to adjust....am thinking once he crawl, he won't want to sit inside highchair liao, so no point spending so much money on highchair...

serene,
can share with me what you bought along for the bintan trip for your baby?? I'm bringing my baby to malaysia next week for the first time, so gonna pack his bag liao....

btw, did you bring drinking water for your son or you let him drink the local water??

kk/ serene
oh dear... 19 years old is very young! what a waste!
The first time i encountered fren/ colleague passing away was when i was in kpmg and 2 of my colleagues in my dept suddenly died in the MI crash
they were rushing back to join us in the department christmas dinner. the news really took us by surprise.

serene,
hiaz... so unpredictable hor ... guess we better cherish those around us.
Even if we had expected someone to die, the death is still hard to come to terms with.

okasan,
I like the IKEA highchair too, thought is cheap and good. Agreed with you that no need to spend too much on a high chair as long as it's safe, it's good. Moreover it doesn't take up much space and no fabic, easy to clean and maintain.

Oh sure, i bring :-
1) Diapers
2) Changing mat
3) Clothes
4) Pyjames
5) Milk powder/cereal/puree bottle
6) 3 milk bottles/spoon
7) Toiletries (shampoo/bathfoam)
8) Cotton wool/cottom bud
9) Ru yi oil/Diaper rash cream/baby lotion
10) Teether/pacifier
11) 2 small toys
12) Blanket
13) 2 diaper cloth (used for putting on the bed for his head to lie on, my habit since he's born)
14) handkerchief/face towel
15) bathrobe/swim suit
16) socks/mittens/hat
17) hot vacuum flask/milk powder dispenser
18) mosquito patch

No, i didn't bring drinking water for the rests of the days except packed for the 1st day where we need to make milk on the boat. There is flask at hotel where we boil the water for drinking and making milk. If the hotel you're going has no boiling flask, it's better you buy a small one and bring along. I use the boiling water to steralise the milk bottles also.

duffybuff, the ikea high chair has an add on table top. but note that my current chair is not from ikea. it is cosco brand from kiddy palace. has back support, seat belt, table top and table top extender. jake loves it.

i also have another highchair, like the Jane highchair, which can be converted to a mini table and chair next time. din use that, still in my store room.

kite, vivo city B1 naturally marketplace by cold storage sells organic stuff, but not alot. got pears and carrots there. they also sell apples and some other basic veg, but no pumpkin and sweet potato. I found an organic shop near my place, they sell all sorts of fruits and vegs. plus cereals, food jars, limited selection in terms of flavors and variety, but lots of diff brands to choose from.

white cereal should be rice cereal. can intro as 1st food, but not barley. barley should only be intro after rice, oat, then barley, in this order, keeping a 4 day rule of single food. jake has been on oatmeal cereal for 1 week lo.

missk, jake sleeps from 6 to 6. but think this is his sleeping habit, i din do anything. by 6... he will cry for bed bed... ha ha... other than that, during 6am - 6pm, he does 4 short naps, 30 - 45 mins.

Step, for vegs/fruits you might like to steam then blend. steam is better, as retain nutrients. of you can also boil with little water, then blend with the water to the right consistency.

yes, life is so unpredictable. must cherish the people around us. me too, a colleague just died halfway through his teaching term. very sad... cos i used to co-author with him.
i knew him back from Oz to Sing...

tinklebell,

Yes, it's very hard for us to accept the truth though we know clearly my FIL is gone. Do you know at his death bed just 4 days b4 he died, i visited him in hospital, all of them don't want me to go as i was close to 7mths pregnant, they are afraid that there is virus in hospital and not good for me esp the ward is for the older patients with cancer sickness but i feel very bad that i've not visited him except i communicate with him on sms all the time. That day, I insisted that i want to go, kind of have a feeling that this time he won't return home as it's 3rd time he admitted. When he saw me, he felt so bad and cried saying that i shouldn't have come...i controlled my tears! I've never seen him cry b4....it's such a sad scene. He told me it's hard, not possible to recover, ask me to take gd care...sigh! He's really a nice man, and a fun loving one who always joke and make us laugh....when i go for my scan during my 5th mth pregnancy, the result showed is a boy, my hubby told him the news when that time he just admitted the hospital for the 1st time, he say thank you to me on sms...

Sorry to write all these, i hope i don't affect your mood for the day and other mummies' too.

serene, did bb enjoy himself at bintan? did alot of swimming? think with bb, lots to bring when we travel. even when i bring bb jake swimming, gotta pack so many stuff...

amy,

Yes I guess he enjoyed himself alot and he loves staying in hotel, he rolled around happily on the bed and starred at the ceiling fan, smiling.

actually i din do anything to make my bb sleep, but it really depends on his mood.. most of the time he is quite kuai. Only ocasionally he wakes up in the middle of the nite and cry though he is sleeping.. in the day he plays n sleeps alot.

Serene, my bb also enjoyed his hotel stay when we brought him to stay in hyatt for our anniversary.. like ur bb, he enjoys rolling around in the hotel bed and smiling..

tinkle, is ur friend dr? the one that it's reported in today's newspapers? Yes, it's a sad case.. poor wife..

lyn:
when u starting exactly?
me planning to start end of tis mth or early next week b4 6 dec
Which brand of oatmeal brown rice u bought? u gg to use spoon feeding rite?
even 1 sip of e solid food consider a good start? cos i m afraid if start 6mths onwards n iron insufficient n just 1 sip of e spoon not enuff nutrients, any idea?

missk:
e bed i bot for my ger b4 i delivered is those very very low rise bed as we custom made for my ger to prevent falling. Very Zen look too
Right now the bed is used by my mum, later when my ger grows older, i wil convert e bed for her n put bedguard