(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

okasan:
r u referring to commercial jars?
i think its better to prepare fresh food if possible cos i read commercial jars contains too much sugars n they dun provide right calories for babies.
I wil be asking my mum to prepare fresh food if possible.
Like fish, veg n etc. but not now. wil introduce one by one fr 7mths onwards
since i hvnt started my ger on any solid food yet, she is stil on TBF.
Wil start her next mth (6mth) on brown rice 1st n maybe apple/pear puree.

Missk:
oh dear ur house got centipedes n millipedes. so scary!!! Well i think best solution is to let your baby slp together w u, safest! Or u can buy a childrenbed w bed guards? just a suggestion. So that when he grows older, the bed can be reused

btw, those of u adding HT brown rice into BM or FM? just 1 teaspoon for a start rite?
also how many times per day for a start at 6mth?

kite: hahha ...also got rats! hahah...

Yah .. thinking of buying a junior bed too. Hey, u are using a playpen rite? For how long do u intend to use it? Btw, how was ur PD visit?

How do u intend to start the solids? R u going to put hte cereals into the bottle or r u going to spoon feed? I am still undecided yet so looking around for ideas.

kite,
if u haven't tried any solid at all yet, do go slow and always check the poo (after 3-4 days). in my case, even 1 teaspoon of cereal only the poo changed! sometimes he strain and cry when poo,texture is mushy snake like but mil and my mom say its not constipation, he strain and cry cause he's not used to poo this texture after BF's poo (which so soft, efortlessly can come out).i see till heartpain but i'm told the texture is good leh and should not try to cut down on his cereal. anyone has any comments on this? did your baby strain when change poo texture from TBF to little bit of solid?

pigeon can try if cold storage have..

nepia is good? $14 for how many pieces? i'm using huggies L size cause the band around the thighs just right and comfortable but i find the bottom can be quite big and get squashed when wearing pants... but if used M size, bottom size is right but thigh rubberband too tight..

wen,
u are scaring me...but hor..i pump without squeezing like u said! oh no...but i dont want to stop BF leh..

peng and sunflower,
my wrist was rested during the weekend cause i latch on, didnt pump...will see how it goes this week.

no one wants to sell their avent electric pump?

hhmm...anyone wants to sell their electric pump, any brand? prefer with battery though cause sometimes cannot find power point

fi,
i got an Avent Uno electric pump leh. never use since i bot PIS. If u want, i can sell to you.
u can PM me if u r interested! Uno is operated using batteries n powerpoint.

Hi Good morning mummies

Sunflower/ vivi,
so Wed confirmed.

Wen, how abt u?

re: Visit to the zoo
Time : 10am
1) Tinklebell
2) Tinklebell
3) Sunflower
4) vivi
5)
6)
7)
8)

Anyone else? All r welcome

tinklebell, too bad Wed cannot take leave, cannot join you. Enjoy the zoo!

lyn, hope aloy is feeling better emotionally. before you know it, he would have forgotten the incident!

kite, re HT cereals, I feed one tsp in the am, mixed with ebm. jake had to mmmmmm bit harder for his poo poo to come out.

For book lovers (for kids):

EdVenture Books Year End SALE!

Date: 24 Nov to 8 Dec 2006 (Closed on Sun.)
Time: 10am to 6pm daily

Where: EdVenture Books Showroom
155 Kaki Bukit Ave 1 #02-00, Shun Li Industrial Park (S) 416021 (behind Baby's Hyperstore)
Tel: 6345 2324 / 97847624

Amy/ MTDT,
next time i hope we can go again on weekends
Hiaz... all weekend slots r taken up until end of the year even though my co has 4 passes

tinklebell - now sch hols mah.
so sure alot of parents bring their kids to zoo.

so 1 pass can admit how many? 2 pax huh?

missk - actually i also dunno wat books they sell. :p

tat time BP Thread - some mummies wanted to buy the "sunshine" series. but think for older kids one.

MTDT, ya loh school holidays now... 1 pass can admit 4 pax. i booked 2 passes... can have up to 4 passes if i want... see the response first.

missk,
Remember to get one that guard all around... Aloysius fell from a "hole" at a corner which I did not guard
Very unexpected that he will crawl to the very corner and fell... Now, I put him in baby cot. Just bought him a good mattress for his cot. Wanna get a super single mattress to put on the floor for him, but mostly are minimum 10 inches high, which is still quite a high fall...

kite,
Where did you buy the organic brown rice? Is it already in powder form kind?
Aloysius is already drinking water from spoon, but still latching on well.
I think steaming will be better than boiling in terms of nutrients lost...

tinklebell,
I gotta give this zoo trip a miss this time.. gotta do my work cos today have to look after Aloysius myself...
Hope you mommies and babies enjoy the trip to the zoo

amy,
I am still figuring out how to change the crying patterns
. Last Sat, he cried when my cousins carried him. It's the first time he's afraid of strangers. Yesterday, brought him for a swim, another baby just got close to him and he cried so loud. A little bit, he will cry also...

tried feeding my bb with cereals using spoon just now.. haha.. he rejected.. kept turning away. put the spoon to his mouth but he still refused to eat. so now just mix with more milk and water into bottle for him.. But think i'll try every day so to make him get used to it.

missk,
oh my hse os hv centipede but usually in toilet. what i did was whenever i shower, i'll use very very hot water to spray the entire toilet floor and the sewage. apparently so far no much sight of centipede now.

kk,
u ard? know that u bought a walker for yr gal. waht brand did u get?

btw anyone bought high chair for your bb yet? any brand to recommend?

amy,
what's the texture of bb Jake's poo? u think its ok for him to strain? cause my boy also strain with 1 teaspoon of cereal mix with EBM.

Fi, the texture still looked soft, though he mmmmmmm abit harder than usual.

duffybuff... hee hee.. maybe the cereals not tasty? bb jake loved his oatmeal cereals. today is day 6 of one tsp per day. after work, i will be buying him some organic pears to feed him tmr am.

lyn, poor aloy. is his cry associated with his fall, you think? previously, he also cries like that?

duffyduff,

Yes i am around! Haha.. i have been checking this forum everyday since it is school holiday and i am more free.

Oh, walker... i got from kiddy palace.. one around $50 and one around $80 i guess.. cannot remember liao *poor memory*

Maybe okasan can advise too, because she has the walkers too rite? *can't remember exactly which mummy*

Brand ah.. i think is mamalove.

duffybuff,

I didn't get high chair for my ger. Both are hands me down.. wanted to get new ones, but very heartpain, cos high chairs also can cost around $50. Although my hands-me-down quite terok, but no choice lor, just use for time being

Lyn,

Why dun u get those foldable mattress from carrefour or neighbourhood shops which are thinner? Mine not foldable, bought from neighbourhood shops. We slept on them before our wedding heehee.. now pass down to my ger. We have two and stacked them one on top the other and placed on floor. So very safe.

Siannnzzz, post one msg in the BP for ssw playmat thread, but dun seem got any other mummy respond since this morning. Maybe all buy already, then nobody interested now.

hi kk,
ah! u bought 2 walkers ah? haha..

amy,
i fed him the heinz rice cereals lor.. hmm.. thinking of feeding him apple as well.
but think will try a few days with cereals first.. cos he's still not used to feeding fm spoon probably.

kk,
probably u try putting the BP in the BP thread.. it'll attract more pple there, then u can refer them to the thread at the smallsmallworld.
probably better response. can try.

hello mummies

Dor, i've just placed orders for nepia this morning.

Okasan, i also feel that nepia sizes are slightly bigger than the rest of the diapers. My son shd be 8kg + now, he still using M size.

lyn/ Amy
Fiona will miss his Aloysius and Jake kor kor

hopefully u can join us in next outing

kk,
wow! now so shiok hor..holiday liao!

amy,
My intuition tells me it's cos he has lost his feeling of security... Dunno correct or not... Gotta find some time to read the books I have to see how to reassure him again... Previously, he never cry at nite, which he does now. He will not cry when he woke up unless he's hungry.

kk,
I have two of those foldable foam mattress for guests... My mum said foam mattress is not good for baby's back. So I wanna get those pocketed spring mattress. In the end, I bought the latex mattress for cot.

tinklebell,
kekeke... Sure... next time will join you all

My mum keep saying Aaron and Fiona have very bright eyes, and they look very smart...

duffybuff,
i juz bought a high chair from ikea.. cost only $34 including the table top.. my bb can sit quite well there..

Going to start on cereals this wkend.. looking foward to it..

Lyn,
I bought bb mattress for my bb to sleep on the floor.. quite ok leh.. in the day he sleeps on those normal mattress as what KK said.. for activity, i let him play on those ABC floormats or chair.

So happy over this wkend.. my bb seems to be more settled after last wk of cracky nites.. he is now able to sleep from 10am to 8-9am.. haha.. then in the afternoon he sleeps abt 3hr straight afternoon nap, giving me a relaxing wkend.. I really hope he can continues to do this..

hi peng,
so the high chair is wooden or plastic? will go chk it out. tks!

oh ya my bb can crawl already.. he started to crawl last week.

peng, wow... your bb can sleep for 3 hrs st? mine cannot leh... 4 short naps during the day, 30 - 45 mins each. 1 hr if I am lucky....

duffybuff, the ikea high chair is white plastic. however, bb neck and back has to be firm, cos there is no back support. i have a cosmo high chair, white plastic, with back support. looks very safe for bb jake...

lyn, so sorry to hear of aloy's bouts of insecurity. just continue to assure him lo...

tinklebell, jake will miss fiona as well. cute mei mei...

yeah... so lucky for me.. but i dun think he does that often.haha.. maybe this week he plays until he is tired..

ur bb crawl forward or backward? hmm... my bb tends to crawl backward though he also can crawl forward. haha.. think he got no sense of directions.

duffybuff, i put a small cushion behind his back cos he will bang himself against the back support when he is tired from sitting straight..

Fi,

I am not trying to scare you leh..better take care of your wrist lor. I didn't stopped bf, just stopped pumping for a while and latched on directly. Think like what you are doing, rest as much as possible and also try to use an electric pump will help lor. And at the meantime, maybe try not to carry bb too much. According to doctor, rubbing or urut may aggrevate the situation. The best is to rest it.

tinklebell,

Don't think I can make it on Wednesday. =( Hope to join you gals next time.

duffybuff,

I am also using the Ikea high chair. Like Peng said, just put a cushion behind the back will do. Think it is sturdy and not too big. I find that some models are relatively too big for younger babies.

Lyn,

My bb started having signs of stranger anxiety too. Won't let anyone she is not familiar with carry her. Think it is one of the milestone whereby babies learn that they are not part of mommy but an individual on their own. So, quite normal at this stage. It should wear out as they get more and more confident on socialising.

missk,

I am just going to let her use the normal single bed. But still thinking whether to start by putting a mattress on the floor in our room before moving her to her own room. =b

tinklebelli cant join leh..cant handle 2 boys alone..hehe...thks for asking leh...so how's the trip to science centre?? hmm...maybe next time lah...u damn gd hor...got all these lobang..hehehe...

Missk:
yes i m using graco playpen w built-in Mozart music as every morning i wil on e music to let her listen. i think she gg to outgrown e bassinet soon, maybe wil hv to lower down or either wil let her slp together with me on our bed

Fi:
yes find Nepia even better than pampers, plus nepia is cheaper. Btw u added e cereal into bottle or using spoon?

amy:
wat u mean u mix in am? using spoon rite?

lyn:
hope aloysius gained back his security again. The Healthy times organic brown rice can be bought fr ntuc. Oic. btw u starting solid food soon? which u gg to start 1stly with? w spoon or bottle? i thinking of buy organic veg n fruits. hhmm..

Sippy cups:
Which brand is highly recommended? i m looking for a one with no leakage.

brown rice vs cereal:
any idea what is e main difference between both? brown rice harder to digest?

kite, mix in morning (am). sorry... using spoon. i use the pigeon feeding dish. very handy. tmr i will start jake on pear, then carrot, then apple, then sweet potato. this will be his menu for the month. intend to puree my own, all organic. later gotta check out the organic store at vivo city.

sippy cups: i got avent, no leakage. comes free with steriliser anyway. heard tollyjoy with straw is good for later stage.

brown rice vs cereal: brown rice cereal is finer, as it's processed and grind to fluffy. actual brown rice, you gotta buy, wash, grind to powder, more work lo.

sometimes wonder whether it is better to get food jar. like the pears, 4 for $7. can make for 3-4 days, i think. if get food jar, need to get only 2, which works out to be $4. cheaper, less work. hmm... will give this a try... will make my own, as i think it will be fun... full of mummy's love ma. anyway, will be ordering some food jars to standby. btw - there is a HT BP going on now.

re playpen - bb jake still enjoying his playpen. sleep in it like a ruler.. v straight.

last nite, he was fussing in his room... i din check on him till his fussing got quite loud... guess what. when i went to his room, i saw him flipped over, head stuck at the end of his cot. poor baby... ha ha...

lyn,
oh dear.. hope he'll be better soon. aunty hugzz hugzz good boy aloysius.

ya.. when baby start to recognise & understand what's family, they may not allow strangers /pp they not seen be4 to carry them.

sippy cup :
today let my boy tried Avent magic cup comes with a soft white spout. he seems to like it as he can chew on it
rather than drinking the water
. very good, no leakage.

Nepia good? hmmmm very tempted to try.

compared to pampers/fitti/huggies/drypers, is it bigger or smaller?

kite,
how much is Nepia a piece? i add cereal into bottle but mil says he prefer by spoon, but that way his liquid intake is lesser..cause after that dont want milk.unless u give milk half portion first then give spoon but i didnt try that.cause i'm not at home, didnt want mil oblidged to try so many methods..

i bought avent sippy cup.funny, thought its rubber spout but it still feel very hard and my boy dont know how to suck it. so i interchange with his normal avent teat, so it looks like he has a new cup, but he still push and slap away if bring it to his mouth. he just want to play like a toy.

by the way, mil mention i shouldnt pump till B empty cause she thinks that will shrink the B in future. hhmm...but i thought pump not fully empty is not healthy, later get lumps or when want to wean only. anyone has any facts on this?

sunflower,
avent magic cup has soft white spout? is it for 3months above? i bought for 6 months above and its really hard...feels like hard plastic leh...