(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Lyn,
haha, i just bought that book yesterday and trying to absorb as much as I can..
I was wondering where to buy foam rubber as I would like to build the crawling track.. any idea?

am back from bkk... didnt get to see alot of bb clothes leh as compared to spicegal. managed to get afew at ard 200baht. i guessed i might hv missed those stalls mentioned by spicegal o/s baiyoke sky hotel... haiz !!!

re:crying and waking at night
mummies,i discovered that my boy was teething last night! that explains all the change of behaviour.was so happy to see his tooth, like big boy already

okipoki,
how was yr trip, had fun? back to work today?

tracy,
Your boy is born in June06 also rite? If so, he dun need the crawling track already... I have a white elephant in my storeroom now... lol.. You can use a smooth surface on the floor, only cannot incline... GDbaby does sell, but at $400++.

okipoki,
Welcome back...

Fi,
Wah... like going to strike lottery already... hahaha...

Good Morning ladies!!

okipoki,
anything intersting in bkk? very tempted to go too
my parents r going to bkk in dec. wonder wh part near baiyoke sky sells bb's clothes? i went there several years back and also hunting for bb's clothes but couldnt find many.
Did u buy many things? The bellboy at the hotel told me that many singaporeans go there with an empty luggage, fill it up with things before they go off

re: bb's passport
how long did u take to make a passport?

stephanie,
lower gum, one of the bunny tooth.read that usually start from lower gum. if baby don't let u see inside mouth, run yr finger along lower gum can feel it
maybe a lot of june babies also teething soon that's why behave like this?

should i discourage latching on then fall asleep, read that its bad for teeth? but he does that often especially the last feed before bed. cause evening feed is 6-7pm, next feed 9-10pm.usually he'll fall asleep when latching at 9-10pm.

mum2b,
how's felicia? are u still making your own brown rice,she's eating them? jae zen is still on heinz white rice mix with EBM about 4-5 times a week.he don't like to drink water from bottle so i'm going to get him a sippy cup. hopefully he'll like as i want him to get used to drinking water first before going on solid.he's quite fascinated whenever i drink water from my transparent blue colour water bottle so hope he'll pick up from there.

oki,
How's your bangkok trip? Have fun? Eat alot?

tinklebell,
Me too! Last year july when i went to bangkok with my hubby (b4 preg), I carried with me a big luggage, filled up full when back.

Serene, what did u buy? For me, i bought lots of 199baht bags fr MBK but until now have had opening ceremony for them. I find the clothes not so suitable though.

Lyn, tks for the update

tinklebell,
I buy some clothes and shoes from siam square, in fact i've got nothing from MBK except some quiksilver T-shirts and shorts for my nephews and local tibits from MBK. I bought some clothes from chatuchak also but i must say their quality not good, many of them after washing a few times, material turned hairy! I bought some painting, dry flowers, mango wood vase etc, ceramic plates, teapot, cups from chatuchak too! These to decorate my home...i love these stuffs lah.
I bought a small bag from Tim Thompson house too, nice!

serene,
i just bought ikea high chair for my girl. we ate at ikea cafe n sit her on high chair n she looked cute, even though she would slant to the side at times, so w decided to buy hehe..

fi,
feilcia is on heinz white rice cereal too. the brown rice she couldn't take yet maybe it's harder to digest. will try to give again when she's 6 months. she takes 2 small spoon of cereal now, w/ 7 tsp EBM. tried to feed her on high chair but it's v messy, easier when i let her sit on my lap. do u use high chair to feed?
i haven't give water yet coz scared she will off milk even further. hmm.. how.. does ur boy decrease his milk intake when u give water?
wow ur boy got tooth
Feli still hasn't got one but she's still cranky at nights. last ight slep at 12.30 am

mum2b,
feli's poo ok even when dont give water? my boy dont decrese milk intake when give water cause he dont drink much water in the first place. but it does decrease milk intake when feed cereal by spoon, hence the poo harder. that's why he's back using the bottle with cereal but he don't like, prefer spoon like adult

are u home taking care of her yourself? be patient with cranky. sometimes i find myself losing patient too but i have to keep myself in check cause want to be a calm mother
babies can absorb and will reflect our moods. is it difficult by yourself the whole day at least i get breaks when at work. but i've been thinking so much to be SAHM but the $....

mum2b

ur gal can sit on high chair already? how old is she? 5 mths? mine will be 5 mths next week, but dun think her neck and spine are stiff enuf leh......

fi

my gal slept at 8.30 last nite :p.....hehe finally...keeping my fingers crossed that it will continue.somemore, she only woke up once at 2 am....

fi

dun think i can tahan to be a SAHM...think the stress will be too much for me to take...now even during weekends, i can just lose my temper over the many household chores and baby stuff to be done...

fi,
yeah just me n feli at home. i also feel these days v moody becoz lack of rest. i'm not a v patient person to start with, so i'm trying hard not to lose patience when feli is cranky, doesn't want to finish her drink, etc. but i'm trying hard. maybe next month when feli is 6 mo n i don't need to pump milk again i'll have more time to rest n be a calmer mother

her poo is getting stickier but still ok coz she drinks mostly ebm. frequency is also e same as b4. no w i gotta pump again, uh oh.. feli is pooing too! gtg..

stephanie,

My ger only starts to sit on high chair last week. She will be 7th mth this week
Dun worry! I already feel that my ger's development quite slow, compared to other babies in this thread. Urs can't be slower than mine haha!

sunflower, i brought bb jake to fantsatic sam on Sun. they ran out of certs, so gotta go back again maybe on Thurs...

re high chair - bb jake turns 6 months next week, and is sitting on a high chair that has back support, not the ikea type w/o back support. so not to worry if your bbs cannot yet sit on a high chair.

next week i will start bb jake on brown rice cereal... should be fun...
do you need to boil the cereal? or just mix with warm ebm?

mum2b and stephanie,
jaezen likes to squirm around when changing diaper esp when change diaper for pooing,will test my patience.if give toy i'm afraid he'll fling it into the poo then eat, he's quite fast, can squirm and eat his changing mat. so when my back feels like giving way cause have to bend down, i find i can be quite rough on him to get him to stay still.but after that i feel bad cause little thing like this cannot be patient how about SAHM.

Tracy,

I read the GD books and visited websites such as www.sgparenting.com for information. Didnt get anything from GDbaby coz for me, it is too ex and ultimately still have to self-make.

On crawling, we have a spare bed whereby the legs can be bent to be stored below another bed. What I am doing now is bending one side of the legs and leaving the other side up. And wola, we have a crawling track for her. She is crawling on flat ground now but it is much faster coming down the inclined surface. Thinks that brings her some sense of achievement and she enjoys doing it.

Missk,

I use my old printer lor. I also got the Novum flashcards and think it is really good quality. Some posters also provide good pictures for cards. But I am behind my girl. Not enough cards to show her liao.

So, babies can have nightmare too no wonder my girl sometimes will moan and groan in her sleep. Dont know to wake her up or not.

Fi,

My girl doesnt know how to drink from bottle so we fed her water using spoon. One day I was holding her while drinking from a glass, she suddenly leaned over and tried to grab it. So from that day on, I fed her water using glass. And I find that she is more motivated to drink because her mommy does it this way. =b Think all kids like to follow what adults are doing. I have been trying hard to build up some good habits.... =b

fi

ya lor. i am stressed up often, on sunday mornings..the morning she wakes up, i need to warm the EBM, prepare her bath..etc etc...sigh..gone are the good old days where i can wake up late on sat and sun...

kk

maybe not slow development but becos ur gal is too heavy? saw from the may's thread that she's quite heavy as compared to the rest??...hmm, will be fun to see my gal on a high chair....

fi

that day i was busy cleaning up my gal's poo. Then suddenly she started to flip and kick...wah pian, had a hard time man..so scared she kick her own poo..in the end got to rope in hubby to hold on to the little feet.

stephanie,
wah ha ha...hold on to feet he'll also 'kek' the buttock up and down then try to flip over...wonder how my mil cope when i'm at work..

ya agree latch on easier, heat up EBM a lot of work, then after that u still need to pump?

wen,
how old is your girl? she know how much water to take in from a glass? can skip sippy cup stage?

fi, stephanie,

lol... soon bb will kick up such a fuss flipping non stop during diaper changing time... can call it the diaper war
There was a times I got such a battle changing my son's diaper till each time my hb gotta hold/pin him down also at times fail!

poohy

not soon, it's already happening now!! she will flip like nobody's business..sometimes i will sweat like a mad gal, just changing her diaper alone...once made me so frustrated that i 'smack' her pui ba (fat meat)....

fi

for me, i am pumping exclusively. can be stressful when i am midway thru my pump and she woke up and cry for attention, especially when it's just me and her alone at home...

stephanie,

haha... poor girl.. smacked by mummy
when my son grew older, he not just flipped, he start kicking me.. and dun allow us to change for him... refuse to lie down etc. sigh.. at times still like dat now.. I gotta get something to distract him each time

sunflower, bb jake not botak yet. din cut as the certs not in stock. will do so this week when the certs arrive. will post his pic here.

re changing diapers - bb jake will sing very loudly... legs in the air. luckily he not flipping... no space to flip on the diaper change station la...

Fi,

My girl is 6 months old. She started drinking from the glass when she was 5 months old. Don't really know how much she drinks, just agak-agak. So long as she is drinking it as if it is something reaaally tasty, I will let her be lor. Don't think it is over 40ml each time though. She didn;t like the sipping cup the last time we tried. Maybe try to give her again soon.

Stephanie,

My girl also flip during nappy changing time. She loves the changing mat a lot so she keeps turning to grab it so that she can put it inside her mouth. I have to use her favourite toy to distract her. If this doesn't work, have to get someone else to shake the handbell to get her attention.

wen,
hhmm..i'll try using glass then.sippy cup not cheap ah $12-16 for those rubber tip, non spill.. jaezen also like to eat his changing mat and i dont know how clean that is cause might have pee or worse poo stain!

stephanie,
ha..understand how u feel.sometimes pump half way at 5 plus am,baby wake up then i dont know what to do.so now i only pump my B half empty so that still got stock if baby wake up anytime
which he usually will, think he hear the pump go 'squish squish' then he'll 'wait wait dont empty all i wanna drink..' but if u pump then feed EBM will be very busy..

re:diaper war
so now need 2 person to change diaper? jaezen like the lotion bottle that i use. maybe have to find such bottle that is safe to put inside mouth. cause once grab will go to his mouth.

amy,
last time my boy also kuai kuai enjoy his buttock being wipe.wah now no longer so u enjoy the moment while it last

hi five gals... i thot my bb is cranky.. he is also getting more cranky at nite.. cry and laugh in his sleep.. making me so sleepy.. sigh..

not too sure whether it's my son who is slow.. my friend's 6mth+ bb can crawl n sit up when she is 4mths+ and now at 6mth+ can stand and walk abit..

hmm.. my son can only sit up for awhile.. put him on high chair b4 at home, but slant abit.. his crawling is more of backwards rather than forward, n still can't lift up his bum....

hee...my fiona started to crawl a little yesterday from centre of the bed to the corner! dangerous liao! but most of the time she cant crawl v well... looks more like a fat turtle kicking her way around

tinklebell, wow.. so fast fiona can crawl... bb jake like swimming in the air.... not much movement....

i wanna cry... my avent manual pump keeps breaking down... maybe it's time i change the white round rubber hor? just now gotta manual express... so cold...

amy,
she kicks and bangs her legs and arms on the bed and apparently manage to move a little.... really looked like a turtle struggling to move in the sand

oh dear, break down in what sense? today i forgot to bring my milk bottle cover and only left with on milk bag (which leaks!!!! so angry!!!) have to store my milk in the bottle and use a plastic sheet to cover

i havent changed the silicone yet. hopefully the thing can last til i stop bf'g.

amy,
i also use the same pump, didnt know it can break down?

peng,
think 6months plus stand a walk a bit very fast leh.jaezen now can wiggle till 360 degree on tummy
go slow never mind, enjoy the process.

my suggestion for a baby pumping room at my office has been accepted! hooray
but hope it'll be set up in time before i stop BF.

hiaz.... my wisdom tooth is aching and pain is really unbearable!!!! Donno if can extract teeth when bf'g or not? OUCH!!! the pain is killing me!

fi,

i really agree with how u put it... to enjoy the process of seeing our little ones grow... its so precious... at times we are too caught up with this and that and forget to slow down to enjoy the moment..

aiya... my Chelsia is damn lazy leh... still cannot flip lor.. and when put her on tummy.. she will scream lor.... and when i turn her back and put her on bouncer... she will be super happy..

Think she is real lazy... my frens say her backside too heavy to turn... aiya..

serene, tinkle, fi,

Well, definitely had lotsa fun... shopping, eat, sleep. anyway, went to platinum fashion mall.. bot quite a few dresses for myself.. chatuchak not much kids clothings. on my way to the airport, we passed by pratunam mkt again & saw those bb clothings juz o/s baiyoke sky.. those stalls along the street. not sure did spicegal bot from those stalls or not

sunflower,

bb's passport only valid for 5 years

re: crawling

my ger cant even flip not to mention crawling.. haha but she can sits quite steady by herself for awhile

tinklebell,
one day i woke up with severe pain on the back of my ear, can even eat coz it hurts when i open mouth. saw GP n he said because my wisdom tooth hasn't grow fully, so it's inflammed n hurt like nobody's biz. so it's mummy teething, not baby.. hahaha..

fi,
ur son can hold n drink from sippy cup? i have 2 from gifts, hasn't use, dunno when n how to start

serene,
this is my girl on high chair
she'll be 5 months on this Thursday
577745.jpg

wen,
wow drink using glass? will the water splats everywhere?

my girl also like to flip during diaper changing, n will eat her fists when i soap her during bathing! everytime gotta act fast n hold her fists after soaping n quickly lift her to the bathtub

poohy,
i feel like time is slipping through my fingers like sand.so fast coming to 6 months already that's why i've this naggy thought to be SAHM.suddenly i've this thought of converting to part time work 3 out of 5 days,maybe this way can get a balance.but must calculate if $ is enough...somemore i'm lucky cause my workplace quite family friendly, can pump so many times at work, baby room setting up, go off on time etc..it'll be a waste to give up...

celeste,
chelsia nice name.she sound mischievious

mum2b,
hey..feli look so happy and cute.she's grown so much since i last saw her.jaezen's sippy cup is still at kiddy palace
i've spotted a nice looking one with rubber tip and will get it tomorrow. so u know what its like to be teething? need gripewater? hee hee..

Hi Aunties,

Mummy say my development slower than my peers, i think it is true leh. I dunno how to drink from cup, and i only sit on high chair when i am now 7th mth leh!

577768.jpg