(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Good Morning ladies

Wishing all mummies have a GREAT week ahead !
kao_kiss.gif

moap,
wow, baby milk bath! all expiring is it that's why have to use up?

my boy has a change of behaviour past 3 days, maybe its growing up phase? he'll keep complaining and moaning when left to play by his own till i carry him in standing position or play exageratted games with him, then he'll laugh and smile and want to play some more. exaggerate games like action sing song games and clapping hands. but i can't be playing like this for hours, he only sleep average half hour naps in the afternoon, was so exhausted over the weekend and the back of my palm also strained from carrying him standing too much. but he keep wanting to play, eat less and sleep less now.

any mummies going through this?

Sunflower

Yes, mainly self-print. Pictures mainly from internet or contributed by mommies from the 2 websites that I visit frequently. I can't afford the GD sets though I had been drooling all over it. =b

Good Morning Ladies!

Peng,
my girl "jumps" when we carry her and put her legs on the table or on our laps. she doesnt want to sit and prefers to jump!

Fi,
My girl also likes to play exagerrated games like peekaboo or flying like superman or hearing us sing and clap in exaggerated manner! Ya loh, v tiring entertaining her. Think i can go and audition for being a clown liao

She doesnt like to play with toys and gets angry after a while when she plays with her toys! think she feels bored.

Anyone has interesting and fun toys to recommed?

tinklebell,
hahaha... Fiona influenced by Aloysius to start the joy of jumping... So cute... She must had observed Aloysius jumping... It's muscles training for us mommy... lol... I think by the time he gets one year old, I gonna be quite muscular already...

I have not been to the bird park for quite a long time already. Good idea...
Bird park, here we come...

Wen,
I been to the websites when preggie, mainly to find out infor on Shichida... Now dun have much time to go there

Tracy,
It's best to read his books before you begin. There's some point of view that we, as parents need to change. Else during the program, might give up due to lots of external "forces"...
Not many people accept the idea of starting educating from infant.
If you do read Chinese, I will recommend "ling2 shui4 jiao4 yu4 mi4 mi4" by "qi1 tian2 zhen1" to read as a start.

MOAP,
Wah... milk bath... good idea.. should use my expired EBM to bath liao.. hahaha...
Will baby get rashes?? Cos I thought milk rashes are common...

Peng,
Yes yes... can organise another outing..

tinklebell,
don't think they're bored but they want to interact with people.toys dont seem to work but if i sit him around other people talking among themselves he'll be fine.so other people dont belive me when i say he's hard to entertain,they say but he's sitting so quietly himself! a toy may entertain for 5 minutes but once he realise u've disappeared will call out for u till u come. he also like to jump, or stand then leg suddenly go limp without warning, so my hand strain. so when mil and aunt in law came last night, was so glad cause they'll have renewed energy to play with him after not seeing him for a few days.

poohy,
thanks for all ur explanation, it continues to amaze me how u as FTWM can do so much in gathering all the information and putting them to practice! even me as SAHM can't do half than u r doing now.. hehe..

sunflower,
umm.. dun think so, can't afford it.. hehe..
r u getting?

MOAP,
wow, milk bath! really a luxury

Fi,
my bb also has changes in behaviour. The past 4 days, she doen't want to sleep until 2 am. Will cry and cry until we carry her.. really tiring n was worried too. luckily last night she was very good, although woke up several times but everytime went back to sleep very fast. she drank less too.. sigh..
good thing during the day she is quite happy to play w/ toys, and rough & tumble by herself on a mattress. btw she could crawl forward n backward a little bit now.. hehe.. actually it looks so random doesn't look like crawling but rotating and moving here and there while on tummy.

tinklebell,
ur outing sounds fun
been wanting to go to the zoo, but my hubby's co pass all booked out for a year. maybe can join u when u have more passes to zoo?

Good morning all mummies.

Monday blues again!

MOAP, your gal is very fortunate to enjoy milk bath. She's very chubby and cute.

My boy has gone for his 3rd DPT jab last sat, now weighs 9kg @ 5mths 1wk+.

Just to update, I've gone to the toys fair @ Taka square yesterday, nothing much for babies, mainly are toys children and also those disney items.

peng,
yes we can combine our passes for bird park..then more pp can go

m2b,
my company zoo passes r usually prebooked in advance esp on weekends.... perhaps we can prearrange in advance

Lyn,

don scared me regardin the milk rash leh...
ekkekek

after the milk bath..of coz i use water to wash away the oily thing lor...if not ants will cum lor...

Serene,

yah she is chubby... she weight 9.6kg at 5mths plus.. ur boy also chubby mah...

Mum2B, Fi

My gal had a change in behaviour since 3 weeks ago....normally she will sleep around 8 pm...but three weeks ago, she refused to sleep and would fuss and cry...got to carry and pacify till she sleep..can see that she's tired, but just cannot fall asleep.

Somemore, she will wake up in the middle of the night for a few times, and cry...feed her but she's not hungry. She will continue to cry, even though her eyes are shut....

Anyone experience the same thing?

stephanie,

Did ur ger play too hard in the day???

My ger suddenly woke up at 11++ pm last nite and cry.. think she kena nightmare that's why. Maybe she got scared by my SIL, who carried her in the evening and she cried heehee.. then my mum carried her, she cried too (as per normal
).

hmmmm... thought only my girl has this prob.... she also keeps waking up in the nite to cry...donno is it due to playing too much during the day
true, she will shut her eyes and cry. if not she will start turning, tossing and kicking in her sleep ... and her eyes all closed
last nite alone, she woke me at least 5x! so sleepy now

tinklebell,
My boy also woked up a few times at night. Last nite, he cried too, no tears and eyes closed. Looks very poor thing, he's sobbing loudly! I think he laughed and played too much in the daytime! I had to wake up to offer him pacifier and pat him.

morning mummies

tinklebell, lyn, sunflower, vivi, nice catching up with your DD and DSs.

tinklebell, thanks heaps for the pass. Sorry we left early... bb jake was scared of the loud sound, so we quickly zoomed off to a quiet corner. like mountain tortise ha ha... we left quite early as hb need to attend GD advanced seminar at 1 pm.

re GD advanced seminar... ha ha... hb had a 1 to 1 session with law, cos the other mummy din turn up.

lyn, today i started the 1000 pic cards. after maths, equations (3 additions), eng, chi, i will flash 10 cards of one category twice. law said to flash the same 10 cards, but change the order everyday for 2 weeks. i might retire the whole set earlier if bb jake gets bored. so far, his fav is pic cards, then chi, then eng.

re blank flash cards - do they sell A5 size at popular? i need to get some to start Jap with bb jake. any suggestion where else i can get good quality flash cards?

went to taka toy fair yesterday, nothing much, no discount... wanted to buy bb jake something, end up hb got himself toys... aiyo....

next outing - zoo? bird park? tinklebell... organise another one? or lyn... we can organise swimming?

Hi lyn,
thanks for the info. will also read yr blog on educating Aloysius for more info.
me taking care of my bebe 24/7 now, that's y i wanted to spend my time wisely with her but dun really noe how to go about doing so.
I bring her to BJG but felt that more could be done on my part.. hee.. thanks for sharing..
will do his books now..

serene, ya... i read somewhere that this is about the age where our bbs experience dreams. recently bb jake also mumbling in his sleep... as he mumbled... he also frowned.... hmmm....

bb jake also v active... likes to stand. yesterday placed him on his high chair.. he was very happy... now can sit on the same table with mummy and daddy...

serene

mine too, always slam her legs...wake both of us up and then the next thing she does, is to open her mouth and cry....with eyes shut..

kk

we also thought she played too hard at first. but yesterday, we only brought her to PIL place and she didnt laugh/play much leh...last nite alone, she actually cried for 3 times....think the whole block now knoes that we have a 'screamer' in our flat....

not sure if its due to her teething? Does your gal has similar probs a few mths back??

re:waking and crying at night
oh no...so glad we can share on this tread cause my boy recently also wakes up often at night. hubby and i have to take turns, give pacifier and pat back to sleep. very tiring.at first i thought its because he's too dependant on his pacifier so dont know how to fall back to sleep on his own. but this pattern only started last week that's why i sleepy like zombie this week.

amy, dreams u say? hhmm..ya he was chuckling in his sleep last night. and when i flush toilet in the middle of the night it frightened him till cry terribly with eyes closed!

kk, u mention play too hard in day? ya..at this stage, he wants to play hard all his waking time. will cry if we dont want to play.

Fi

u mean ur baby will stop crying when u give him the pacifier? for me, when my gal reaches the state of loud crying with eyes closes, nothing, even milk or pacifier can stop her....her dad has to resort to rocking/carrying...think she wasnt 'aware' of what's happening, just cry out loud then all of a sudden, fall asleep.

amy,
Wah... 1 to 1 session with lawrence.. so nice...

I am thinking of retiring cards from the 1000 cards everyday. Then repeat again after i finish all of them... cos I read an example in Shichida book that the parents made 10,000 cards for the baby. And by one year old, the baby already seen 10,000 cards! ***sweat*** So I am thinking of showing as many as possible and assume he saw all the cards and already registered inside...

Popular dun have blank flashcards. My friend told me Bras Basah has. He always go to a shop there that sells lots of story books at level 3. I haven't check that out yet...

I went to Shichida at HDB Hub yesterday. Very tempted to sign up there cos nearer to my place... I am going for the preview this Sat at Springleaf
The feeling at the center at HDB Hub is quite good, and Aloysius was very happy while we were there
I believe in the "chi" of the place also

Maybe swimming next
I can offer my place
But this weekend quite busy...

Tracy,
hmm... I haven't got much time to update my blog on "Aloysius learning opportunity", although I very much wanted to. I will update my main blog now
Hope there are information that are useful to you

Do you have "How smart is your baby"??

Re: crying and waking at nite
Aloysius woke up many times last two weeks. Last nite, it changed for the better already
But still kicks and moves a lot when sleeping.

lyn

did u do anything to improve it or he just automatically change for the better? me still praying hard this will hard...she has been like this for nearly a mth liao....now we got 2 huge pandas in our house....

Re: crying and waking at nite

oh, Zav also had that last 2 weeks... then this week, he is much better. wake up, latch for 5mins, sleeps again. but sometimes can be v freq. but at least dun cry. :p

Lyn - this weekend hv preview for SM??
wat time? where?
me n my fren interested to go for the preview.

stephanie,
ya the pacifier is like drunken magic, that's why i thought he woke up cause too dependant on pacifier. but except last night when he was frightened from toilet flushing sound last night, that one pacifier didnt work, have to rock and talk to him to calm down.think mother's voice is best.i also use latching on at times when all these dont work.

at first thought i bring him out kai kai too much..

lyn,
agree with babies and 'chi' of the place. some place my boy look around wide eyed and in doubt, sometimes i think its the smell of the place too...

stephanie,
I am practising attachment parenting. When he wanna carry, I will just carry lor... Last week, I was panda eyes... I did not do anything special to stop this.. I just give him all the security and hugs he wants... Last week, sometimes, I put him on my tummy to sleep even...

mtdt,
You can call them to register. It will be at Springleaf. Timing not confirmed.
Yeah... can meet you and Zav again if you are going
haha... can let Zav wear red again so the other babies will not cry during the preview...

fi,
Babies below 3 have very strong 6th sense one...

lyn - hahah... wear red again huh?
snatch the "speaker" limelight leh!!

went to their website n notice tat they dun open on mon n tues. Wed then call lah. at the mean time, if u hv any news of the timing, inform me ok.

mtdt: great if you sign up for the preview class. can meet up with you again
I've also signed up for the class.

lyn: heehee me too, there are times when my bb too fussy to want to sleep, I just placed hm on my tummy to sleep. & of course mummy falls asleep too... but i will place myself in center of bed with lots of pillow as 'walls'

re: sleeping in the night
seems like all the junes babies are changing their patterns. my boy too! thought he was the only ones. last night woke up at 3am+ eyes so wide open, don't want to sleep. legs thumped on bed, heehee
my boy does that too! thought got earthquake bompbompbomp....

zoo/birdpark outing:
hooray.... yes let's go for another outing! all your coy so good, mine don't have corporate passes

sunflower - u signed up for the class in jan or the preview?

Zoo/birdpark - my hubby says too early to go. wait for Zav to be at least 1yr old then start going hor...

lyn,
meaning below 3 yrs old? so i should trust their instinct huh

stephanie,
me and hubby on shift to wake up give pacifier and pat to sleep.his turn till 4am, mine after 4am. so i sleep better when i know i can rest till 4am.

stephanie,
another trick i heard about babies waking up is all lights off at night.usually i'll have a night light on.dont know if that works though, but it worked from 2-7am last night.

june mummies, rainy days has started, good for confinement. remember we had our confinement at the hottest month of the year, had to sweat it out...

Hello mummies!!!!!!!!! How's everyone? I miss the forum.

Fi, my son was kinda going through that stage. He woke up a few times at night crying. He could wake up about 10 times. Haiz! I checked with my PD. He mentioned that children at this age are beginning to have nightmares. It's quite common for a bb to wake up a few times. He cautioned me abt overstimulating my bb though. How can my son have nightmares 10 times a night? So traumatic meh???

I got a phobia hearing his cries because that meant I had to carry him again. Probably I had changed his routine in Singapore. We were going out every single day for about 3 weeks. He was overstimulated and overtired.

Towards the end of the holiday, I told myself that this had to stop. I started putting him on a schedule again. True enough, after 3 days, he became better.

My son used to be carried before he slept. Now, he's getting better. At least, I could put him down on the bed and pat him to sleep as compared to being carried till he was in deep sleep. Maybe, u try starting him on a schedule? Maybe your bb is teething?

Wen, how do u print the flashcards?

Re: toys
Yah ..my son gets bored easily too. He wants to be entertained. Or he likes to listen to people's conversation. Earlier on, he was listening to me talking to my sil for half an hour. An accomplishment for an easily distracted Krist.

poohy: how are your children? I hope they are doing fine. My son was sick too in Singapore. He caught brochiolities and had to be on the nebuliser for a week or so. Now, he's up and about. Thank God!

re: Sleeping & Crying at night

At least i am now assured that my gal is 'normal'...at first we thought that something may be wrong with her somewhere, like not feeling well etc...

missk,

they are both fine and doing v well...
Just some mark here and there from the hfmd rashes...

mum2b,

thanx... but i only try my best .. at times I am also vvv lazy... hehee

stephanie,
ya glad that i'm also assured that my boy is normal.

missk,
u're not staying in spore?so maybe cause my boy go kai kai too much?we always go out on weekends and can be out the entire day.at home he like to play hard.must tell my hubby go easy on the playing and kai kai.

i am guilty mummy. this morning i was early 15 minutes before leaving for work.my boy was awake and playing.instead of spending the 15min with him, i went off early to work! bad mama..

poohy.... will the marks go away?

Fi, wow... so sad, work shift even at night? wonder when our bbs will sleep through...

re pillows: my colleague just advised me to refrain from using pillows for bb cos will interfere in their back development. hmmm... but bb jake seemed so comfy with his pillows and bolster... and comments on this?

lyn, wah.... so many cards per day. hb quite keen to follow GD, only allow me to flash the same two sets of 10 cards each per day, and he said to flash for 2 weeks... aiyo.... i prefer to flash diff cards, as many as possible... cos i getting bored of the cards... whose perspective to follow ah? GD or SM? Poohy, any comments? thinking of retiring as soon as bb jake gets bored....

missk,

hope your boy is feeling much better now

amy,

I have a tendency to follow shichida's recommendation to flash less than more. May not need to follow 2 weeks strictly even for GD... your child may already know the object already and can move on after 3-4 times
depends on the child. I combine both methods ... For GD flashcards, I flash about 10 times once a day. But each day I flash 3 sets of 10 GD flashcards at least. For novum or 1000pic cards etc, I flash one topic once and move on... really depends on whether my child is particularly interested in that topic. Follow your instinct ;) Better to flash a few times and then maybe sometimes later cycle back than to bored the bb out
Should never go wrong unless your aim is for the bb to memorise all the items flashed.. which is normally not the case.

oh.. so it's normal for bb to change in sleeping habit now. me too, glad to hear that

tinklebell,
okie, pls let me know if there's any zoo outing for june mummies

btw do u notice that ur bbs now like to play with their mouth n lips like pursing lips? hehe.. mine does, n it's soooo cute...

mum2be,

My ger going 7 mths and still doing that action with her lips. And whole mouth will be full of saliva. My hubby told her bad habit and if she continue doing it, will feed her with red chilli haha!!!

mtdt,
Yes. Mon and Tues are rest days. They open from Wed to Sun. Wed no class, only Thurs, Fri, Sat, Sun got classes.

sunflower,
Yalor... I will also fall asleep...

Fi,
I trust Aloysius' instinct

amy,
hmm... if you are bored, the baby will get bored also leh... That's the mistake I made... cos I was bored.. lol.. Then I read that whatever the mother feel during the flashing, the baby will pick it up and will not be interested too. Initially, I followed closely that if we are starting new things, gotta flash for 5 days... I was bored, and by the 3rd day, Aloysius dun wanna look already... hahaha.. dunno is it I am bored or Aloysius already know the cards... I assume he knows

From GD book, if you read carefully, must retire when baby gets bored... Retiring one card per set per day is the minimum. And the rule is, it's like playing a game with baby
It gotta be fun for the mother too.

mum2B,
Aloysius is also doing that... very cute and I managed to captured that on camera

poohy, amy,
I think another contribution to why Aloysius was not interested in the cards is that I did not retire fast enough.
That time, when he was not interested, I retired 2 cards per set per day. And he looked again. Then I went back to retiring 1 card per set per day... and now, he's not interested again.
Lawrence said it could be becos I have started the encyclopedic set. He recommended that I do dots and stop the eng/chi for a while.
I will also tend to follow Shichida method. As many cards as possible.. lol.. but very "siong" to source for more cards..

lyn, poohy... thanks for your tips. think will retire when jake gets bored. will follow my instinct... ha ha...

i also agree, mummy should not get bored. sometimes, i dread flashing the cards... cos v boring leh... esp Maths cards... all the same dots...

amy,
my boy also on pillow, but home made flatter kind.think he likes it cause can snuggle into it esp when turn sideway to sleep, he like something against his cheek.and i thought the bed might be too hard for the back of his head? cause his head is flatter on one side as he kept sleeping on the left when newborn, now difficult to change, wonder if it'll round back. poor boy.

mum2b,
ya my boy like to purse his lips and blow saliva too. and like to do it when given bottle or when latching on too *faint* now we think cute, when 7 months like kk, will want to give red chili?

amy,
Re: taka toys fair
Hee, my hubby also very interested at those controlled toy cars, plane etc. but he had recently bought a monster truck so cannot buy liao! Ya i also wanted to buy some toys for my son as i've not really buy much toys for him, so i went up taka 3rd level (toys dept) to purchase 2pcs of fisher price toys, no discount.

wow, bb jake can sit on high chair already? so fast? last mth, i put my son on high chair to try but the hole too big for him, he slip in, cannot sit yet...not sure about now. i think my high chair is too big. I had wanted to buy the ikea high chair but got a free high chair from buying my stroller.