(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

poohy,

SRM - oic.
must point to words!
heehee I never point. I just flash

tinklebell, yup... 10 am outside SC entrance. looking forward.

re SM class, poohy is correct.
Total is $1350 for first time SM parents. If you attended SM before, no need to pay for the parents course.

SRM - din know need to point to words. the cards so small... words so small... i just read as normal story book... as long as bb jake enjoys it.

re 1000 pic cards - i have yet to sort my cards. will do so this weekend. after sorting, will decide whether to proceed with the 420 cards. felt that the print quality is not so good leh... GD cards much better... of cos, more ex lo...

lyn - how do you intend to show these cards? same set 3 times a day?

Sawako cds - will give them a miss. too many things on hand... will finish my materials first. next time, intend to print my own, or use lcd screen. in fact, tried that with jake, he quite liked the lcd screen, though not good for eyesight now.

lyn, poohy, where to buy blank flash cards huh? i intend to flash Jap characters. what size is good?

sunflower,
I think I am a fan of baby's education and right brain training now.. hahaha.. Yesterday, I bought 3 more Shichida books on right brain training for kids. My hubby went "har? more books ah?" lol... Then told him it's for baby, then ok already
Yesterday, there are other books by other authors on right brain training, I was very very tempted to buy.. but I already buying 7 books at one go... lol...

sunflower,
Lawrence and my friend's theory a bit different. My friend's theory comes from Shichida and holistic education. It's about some kind of wave theory... alpha wave.. something like that... very chim to me.. I havent understood that theory, no time to read on that now.. kekeke...
I bought the GD encyclopedic set too. So now, I am flashing those. Yesterday, I took out the "flags" from the 1000 BP cards to flash. I think I gonna use only the words for the animals, birds and flowers series... Not clear at all. Even adults see already also very straining on the eyes. I tested those cards on myself and my hubby, so I decided not to use them.
Yes, I will collect mine this Sunday too at TPY
kekeke.. maybe we will meet again

I will check my email later...

SC: Yes.. tomolo 10am

tinklebell,
I read from Shichida and GD that if parents are phobia to learning, children will also phobia to learning.. cos they can sense what the parents feel.
I think I gotta stop telling my friends, except those who believe in Shichida and GD, about the flashcards thing... Lots of people are "phobia" to learning here... And might affect Aloysius if he's around... Some people go tell Aloysius "aiyo, so young have to study, you are so stress." Not good for him... Gotta refrain myself from sharing too much with my friends liao.. hahaha... Becoming selfish liao... :p but dunno can bor.. hahaha...

poohy,
For the ency cards, I show more than 1 second, do you think that's ok? I got no time to revise GD book on ency... I just read and show, cos got nothing much to do for Aloysius... Sometimes I feel guilty cos he's growing so fast..

I got the Novum cards
Only got one series now - fruits and vegetables... kekeke.. I want Aloysius to eat more fruits and vegetables next time... Gotta go and buy the transport and animals series...

sunflower,
Oh.. Popular got warehouse sale ah... kekeke... I wanna "cheong" there liao... secarly my hubby said cannot.. cos everytime go bookfairs sure spend a lot.. :p

amy,
I am still asking around and testing the cards. Very strangely is that Aloysius will stare at the GD ency cards, but he dun seem to want to look at the A5 sized cards. I wonder if it's too small for him to see clearly at a glance. Yesterday, asked a friend, she told me her boy started to look at those A5 cards only after 6 months. I dunno if it's related to the eyesight...

Poohy, what do you think?

I have forgotten where I read about baby's eyesight. I think it's a random book I browsed through in the library. Gotta teach baby not to read words that are too small, nor words that cannot be read easily in terms colors, such as yellow on white.. cos too strain on their eyesight which is no good.

I took out the flags which I think are clear enough to see... The only thing I dun like is there's a grey background... hmm.. if "mai hiam", "buay pai liao"... hahaha... I show once a day.. Just select random ones to flash... 20 cards at one go...

Amy,
I also wanna buy blank flashcards. Those from GD too expensive... I wanna get A5 size in thousands and not as thick as GD's cards... lol... Havent got time to source in JB.

lyn,amy,

blank cards can buy from Hiap Moh. free delivery for $200.

standard size is 25" x 37" and the price for 300gsm is $43.00 per packet of 100 cards.
350gsm price is $48.00 per 100 sheets of 25" x 37".
You can state the size that you want but price quote are for 100 sheets to 1 size only. If you want to cut to 2 sizes additional cutting charges incurred

amy,

not sure abt japanese characters cos I am not versed in jap at all. But I used customised 3x4" 350gsm both side glossy cards for my self print san zi jing chinese cards. 1 card for 1 character. I think its big enough.

lyn,

I showed J the novum cards since she was 3mth plus... so far she is ok leh... i dun show them often cos in SM, normally images showed once ... then wait quite sometimes before recycle back. I got the entire collection of novum cards... bought some at a exhibition and some others when my fren in this forum organised the bulk purchase. She is pretty ok about the images... always stared with her eyes wide opened when I flashed about 4 box of cards from this novum series at one go. I like the cards leh so thick and easy to flash.... can flash v fast

Samuel's favourite is also the fruits and vegetabls! I am flashing the animals cards a few more time this week cos I intend to bring them to the zoo this weekend

the images from the 1000 flashcards are extracted from the 10 GD picture dictionary CDs. On LCD screen, they look great leh. and the images are quite big... (depends only on size of your monitor). Samuel looks at them every nite now...he loves them...

Anyway most of the time, I uses 11x11" (GD encyclepdic set) or 8x8" (Self print) BITS. I feel that this is better for encyclopedic knowledge. BTW, the rules of flashing cards apply here too.. flash as fast as you can. If you flash too slow, the left brain takes over

I buy blank flashcards in thousands from hiap moh too. The quality is good. Hmm... dun get too light/thin type ok (unless u r very seasoned in card flashing at high speed liao) ? Else later will find it difficult to flash at fast speed.

SRM:

pointing as the CD read is practised in both SM and BJG classes. The reason why u do that i guess is to guide the bb's eyes... remember its to train speed reading mah... not to stare at the picture... as u can see that the words are v small... so if dun guide... maybe harder for bb to see ?

sunflower,
Thank you... I know about Hiap Moh

poohy,
I still gotta get used to two sides glossy.. kekeke... Yes, the cards are of good quality
. I was quite disappointed with the 1k cards when I received them. After sorting them out last weekend, I still have cards that can be used
Do you think the ABC alphabets Novum cards are good?

My sis recently went to Phillipines for diving. I am considering printing her photos out and paste on flashcards... kekeke.. The quality much better, and colors more attractive... And she has books to refer to the names of the different fishes, corals, etc...

hmm.. for the ency cards, I flash slowly leh
I find Aloysius not interested if I flash fast... How oo??

I am reading up on Shichida's book on speed reading
One of the practice is fast eye movement...

sunflower, thanks for the contact.

lyn, when will you be buying your blank flash cards from JB? let me know k? maybe i tag along your purchase? alternatively, anyone interested to organise bp on flash cards?

poohy, how much was your entire collection of novum cards? i am interested in getting them...

re speed of flashing - 1 sec per card ok rite?

lyn,

I did not introduce ABC to J yet. I only intro to Samuel after he turns 1 year old. But I find the Novum cards really nice... I will sing the ABC song while I change the cards when i flash to samuel that set. hehee.. he loves them.. though... the cards are both side... means A and B share the same cards on different side. So makes flashing a little difficult.

oh just came to my mind .. do u mean the ABC cards which gives the picture of the object that starts with A and then another object tht start with B? oh that one is good ... the novum cards are really very high quality and good
I was very impressed to see them and not exp also.

For the encyclopedic cards hor... why dun u check with Lawrence since you bought from them... I think they will give u a better advice. The book of course recommend flashing as fast as possible... but maybe they will have other insights. Share with me hor... if Lawrence got good advice on this. Oh btw, Glenn doman's team coming to singapore in feb 2007 I think to conduct a 1 week course. Maybe we all can attend together hehee

ya the 1000 pic cards quality not very good... hmm I sorted them out and printed a whole stack of title cards to go with each set. The SM instructor told us that we should have a title page for each set flashed. Imagine i printed 100 title cards!

For speed reading, eye movement v important hor... hmm maybe u should practise eye training with Aloysius... there are a few pattern for eye training... I am going to do the eye training on powerpoint for samuel.. if your books did not describe those, once i finish (hope not too long), I can send a copy to u so u will get an idea of the eye training. This is important and always practised in each SM session. I practised at first with J... but these days lazy.. hehe

amy,

I cant remember off hand the price I got for novum leh... $5-6 per set i think.

flashing 1 sec per card should be good
Of course can be faster even better... but human a bit hard hehee... I use computer to flash may not achieve as fast a speed as less than 1 sec cos I still gotta read out the words

shopping time:

Popular Mega Books Sale
Public - Free admission
Hall 4B
24-Nov-06 to 26-Nov-06
Start Time: 10:00; End Time : 22:00

MTDT,

I dunno leh... cos I din read any book. I only got the eye training pattern from my Wink Kit. And then in the SM class S attended, they also do the eye training. Its vvvv easy to do ... just get an object of interest(a toy etc) and then wave it in a certain pattern and get the bb to follow your hand movement.

btw, Wink kit is a set of material sold in the USA by an american.. she is supposed to be a master shichida student and develops the kit incorporating shichida methods and GD method. The company is out of business now... they even got an ESP kit.. i din buy at that time cos not into ESP...

poohy: Glenn doman's team coming to singapore in feb 2007

- is this on 'teaching on how to' or 'sharing on why'

novum cards - is this the My first Learning series?

sunflower,

GD class in feb is on How to multiply your baby's intelligence
I think should be conducted by janet doman. I am checking out details as time comes. Cos I may wanna sign up for this course and bring my children for assessment if they include assessment. In the IAHP-USA, they do assessment of the children too... if they do, I will suspend my children's SM classes for another term (anyway I can teach them myself) and then use the money to go to this GD course instead

I cant remember the title of the novum series off hand... but they are really stocked up high in the Popular bookshope... in boxes with a handle on top kind..

poohy - i see...

wink kit - aiyoh, out of biz liao huh?? :p

GD - i heard tat they r coming too.
might have a training session by them in SG rite(like the one in us). but so far no info/news yet.

poohy,

oh great if same as the one in USA.
poohy can keep me in the loop when you find out more. btw is it can check at their website? just surf their web 1 week ago, never see the annoucement le.

yeah then we can all go together!!

Amy,
Novum cards are $7+ per box of 40 cards. Popular member get 10% so about $7 per box.

amy, poohy,
I am so happy today
Just now I flashed all the 40 novum cards, plus 40 English words... Aloysius stared at them all

poohy,
I brought Aloysius for assessment, and Lawrence showed the ency cards at a slow and steady pace. I wanna attend the workshop again, but havent got time yet... I dun have time to read the ency book... That time Lawrence told me one category for a week. I tot that's pretty long... And Aloysius dun wanna look at them the next day. So I was told to alternate two categories. Then I read from "How smart is your baby" on the bits, can show up to 5 seconds cos there are details for baby to see.. hmm.. it's a bit contrasting to SM. A bit confused what I wanna do, cos I prefer right brain training.

Haiz.. I really need to speed up in my training in speed reading ah... so many things to read up... Haven't been successful yet in the basic training which I am doing daily... lol... must be I am already permanently head damage already...

Wah... ok.. I will go find out more on the GD team.. kekeke.. I am also a GD fan. I think the course, if it's one week, gonna cost $2k+
not cheap wor... The last time Janet came to give a course, that was $2k+.

Oh... Which book are you reading on eye training? hmm.. I did not know SM class also do eye training. So far, I know energy ball.. and older kids do meditation as well. Meditation is key to opening ESP, even in adults. I am trying to open my ESP... kekeke... only monks can open their ESP to highest level.. lol... For us, only certain level cos we got other "complicated thinking".

hahaha.. I feel like calling Lawrence now to ask..

lyn,

good that Aloysius likes the card
Hmm I din read any book on eye training.. I dun really like to read chinese book though I can read them... In fact I hardly got time to finish reading any book.. I just skimmed through only.
The eye training i learnt from wink kit and SM class.

www.sgparenting.com

I frequent this site and its former yahoo group. There are a number of yahoo groups that are on shichida or glenn doman discussion. alot of like minded parents on this site... go there and post your qn lah.. maybe they can answer u better

sunflower,
not sure if going, rather lazy.. hehe.. r u interested?

poohy,
u mentioned about flashing using computer, may i know from where i can get these flash card CDs?

mum2b,

lots of sources. A good set is the GD picture dictionary sold locally by gdbaby... or can get from usa gentlerevolution. There are 10 cds which consist of 1000 pictures spoken and flashed automatically in a few languages
The same pic as the 1000 pic BP

Other sources is any online images u can find that fits the GD requirement. I DIY most of my powerpoints. Picture source can also comes from images dvd...

www.sgparenting.com have a fair bit of such powerpoint shared by other parents. Also not forgetting palmchristy's website ..
i cant remember offhand... but go yahoo and do a search for palmchristy and u will see their site with those downloadable flashcards

I also go to the library to borrow books and scan and edit them for the flashcards..

hi lyn and amy!

sorry think unable to show u the materials liao cos i couldn find it at my mum place. So it shld be at my MIL place. Very Sorry!!

Just hope that my hubby could find aND pass to me tonight. Else, i can scan and email u all.

But that has got to wait till 4 Dec cos am clearing my Maternity leave now. Very sorry!

Re: Sc trip.

Any idea which bus go there?

Very excited to chance into this thread. I am mommy to a 6 months old daughter and am practising GD with her since birth. Wish to learn from all of you. Hope it is alright to jump in here.

Wen

hi poohy,
thanks.. may i know how much GDbaby sell their Picture Dictionary CD-ROMs?
err.. wondering if u could share ur powerpoint with me? hehe..
for palmchristy, i search google n found that this is a chinese web site? i dun read chinese
is there any other source in english? is earched google n found mostly have flash cards in clip art form

poohy,
hee add on to mum2b question, is it cheaper to get gd picture dictionary from usa or singapore?
is there any explanation of the object in the CD?

wow..poohy, u are our shifu in this forum.. imparting lots of knowledge abt flash cards to us, 1st time mummy... must learn more from u...

So is it a good time to flash powerpoint flashcards to our bb now?? is encyclopedic card good? I din get them.. now i only got english, chinese and maths.. trying so hard to flash, but it's hard to get bb's attention..

oic.. by the way, have fun at sentosa for those who r going tmr.. so sorry can't join u gals.

So when will we have a big june mom gathering? Think it'll be fun..

mum2b, sunflower,

i think if i din remember wrongly hor... each picture dictionary CD is sold locally at $78 or something like dat.... prob have minor discount if u purchase the reading kit from them... so 10 CDs will be $780 or something like dat... hehee really dun remember all these prices thingy.. looks like i need right brain activation myself...

the content of the CD is exactly what u see on the 1000 pc flashcards BP. The software reads out the images name as it flashed. can choose between flashing words only, pic only or both. In english, jap, french, spanish i think. It does not contains POI (programme of intelligence)... its just BOI, so not explanations
It is not the same as the GD encyclopedic flashcards though some topics overlapped...

definitely it will be cheaper in the usa.. especially if u are going there to buy cos can save costly freight charges. but still will be in the $500 and above ranges.

mum2b,

go to www.sgparenting.com its a good source of english powerpoint. Or www.childbrain.org
They also have v lively discussion and sharing of powerpoint ... they are mainly GD folks... i learn a lot from them...

peng,

i spent a lot of time researching since the birth of my son last year.. so definitely seems to know more but i think if u r frequently read up on the forums... u will also know most of the thing i know...

whether its a good time to flash powerpoint to our bb now... well it really depends on bb. My preference for J is I wont really make powerpoint flashcards her main session... cos she is still young and I wanna grab the opportunity to flash real cards to her before she is mobile. I will only use powerpoint as last resort if she starts to be too active and do not like to sit for the physical flashcards. I save it for later use.. else use all the 'magic" liao later nothing to fall back on haha..

hmm plus, i cant see her expression clearly with ppt... of course I can put a mirror at the LCD but i prefer not at this point since she is still vv receptive to normal flashcards... and i have so many of them.

btw, for ppt, use only LCD monitor hor.... CRT have refresh rates that we cant see but bb can see. to check u just point your video cam at the monitor and see if u can see it constantly refreshing...

if ur bb is receptive, and u really find it more convenient and both of u happier, go ahead with powerpoint then! Key is be happy and stressfree.. that promotes learning... people are generally against powerpoint/LCD/computer because of the unknown.. hehee... just like some people are still scared of using computer lah... but if u tink of it this way... GD sessions happen within 5 min... if looking at the monitor for 5 min prob wont spoil the eyes. Make sure bb look somewhere here and there to relax eye muscle if worry... the monitor wont spoil the eyes... its staring at something for long period with the rest that will spoil the eyes
If worry that u cant see bb's expression, use a mirror or get someone else to watch her. For bonding, carry her on the lap lor.. dun put her in a high chair, flash the powerpoint and u go off doing something else
all these are just my non expert reasoning lah...

hi tinklebell, lyn, vivi, amy

Nice meeting all of you and your darling princes and princess today!

hope we can gather together again with more mummies & babies

Tinklebell : thanks for the tickets

mtdt,

ya thats the site... i heard they r reopening... din chk it out for a while...
I got most of those tweedlewink dvd... so most prob wont get much things there... I am now trying to dir props for giving my son matching and categorization exercise

tks poohy for the reply..

Btw, how often do u gals change the milk bottle? I change the bottle n teat abt every 3 mths, is it ok? tks!

Hi lyn & poohy,

The 1000 pic flashcards are not of good quality? Pic not clear enough? Hmm, i missed out the order previously but am ordering the next 420 pic flashcards. Hopefully the quality won't be as bad as you gals describe.

What flashcard size is recommended for flashing chinese words?

Hi Peng,
I only changed the teats when my son outgrows the smaller ones. Typically, they will be used for about 3mths. I'm using Avent. As for bottles, he has been using his 260ml bottles since 2mths old. Only heard about changing of teats but not bottles ley. I have 6-8 bottles rotating though.

Hi Wen,
Glad to know another mommy who is practicing GD
How's your gal with the program? Do you do the physical stimulation?

Poohy,
Wah... You are a very hardworking mommy...

Janet Doman coming to Singapore is still pending..

vivi, sunflower, amy, tinklebell,
Very nice to meet you and all your darlings

Where's next? kekeke...

rodeo,
Fingers crossed

I am using the GD chinese set which is rather big in size...

Tdy just clear 35 pck of FBM ...each pck contains 140ml...and all went into my bb bath tub... and she had a Milk bath.... and my freezer is still full of FBM ...must clear every weekend for my gal to bath aready...

Just a tips for TBF mummies to increase in ss...
Eat almond and drink root beer helps in increase ss...

Here is a pic of her enjoying her bath....
574996.jpg

Hi Lyn

I started at birth with black and white stimulation. Then started with Maths, followed by English, Chinese and EK. But I found that it is quite hard to wait for 15 minutes interval as recommended by GD. So I had been showing her all the sets back-to-back when she was 4 months old. So far, her favourite is still Maths. And as she is starting to get a bit more mobile, I find it difficult to sit her through all the materials at one time... so have to be more creative from now on. As the GD set is too ex for me, I had been preparing/printing my own cards. On mobility, she gained weight a bit too fast at one point so was not easy for her to crawl. So we didnt really pushed her on that. She started again recently and is now crawling on her tummy if there is enough motivation to do so (put her favorite toy in front of her..hehe). Found heaps of good information from www.sgparenting.com and www.childbrain.org.

Heard that MV Doulos is here in Singapore. Has anyone been on it already? Is it worth going? Any nice children books?

MOAP, wow! milk Bath??? ur bb's skin must be v smooth after that!! wow! LOL!

Lyn, vivi, sunflower, amy,
Was great meeting you girls.

Lyn, my girl started jumping and jumping a lot today... haha... influence fr Aloysius? mummy's muscles aching already...LOL!
My co has zoo and bird park passes ... maybe next time we can organise a bird park trip
i love the aviary there.... v cooling and nice feeling to have birds flying around you

Hi Lyn,poohy,
was reading the thread and wanted to seek some advices from u guys about the GD program..
did the both of u sign up with GD's baby programs? is that how u start baby with flashcards? and do I have to read up on his books to learn how to use his program? Sorry with the silly questions cos I really dun noe how to go about doing this..
tks..

wow.. MOAP.. milk bath? wow.. so shiok...

oic. rodeo.. tks for the reply.. thot need to change bottle cos the plastic seems to be not so clear as u use more often... i oso have abt 7 bottles to rotate abt..

tinklebell.. ur gal can jump???? wow.. how?? Hey, my co also has passes for all places of interest.. next time we can coordinate and organize a session for all moms.

moap : wow milk bath every week! so shiok.
your gal's skin must be so smooth... heehee did she attempt to drink the milk while bathing?

Wen: you print your own EK cards? where you get your pics from?