(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

lyn,
do you have time for your own work with aloysius at home?yr mom or mil with you during the day? i find it difficult to create/control a home environment that i want, be it food or a positive surrounding when i'm not SAHM.

what's GMO?

lyn,
alamak...new research shows best to BF for 1 yr? *pengz* I still telling myself if i can stretch 6 mths its gd enuff! *lol* anyway i have done my best also liowz....cos its really tiring to BF especially when my ger doesnt latch on already. So its like spending double the time, cos i have to pump and bottle-feed *sigh*

FDA has actually suggest to BF for beyond a year.

re: soy milk

Abstract from FDA.

The carbohydrates in most soy formulas are sucrose and corn syrup, which are easily digested and absorbed by infants. However, soy is not as good a protein source as cow's milk. Also, babies don't absorb some minerals, such as calcium, as efficiently from soy formulas. Therefore, according to the American Academy of Pediatrics, "Healthy full-term infants should be given soy formula only when medically necessary."

For more info, Do check out : http://www.fda.gov/default.htm

lyn,
want to cry liao..
cause i also believe in research and a lot of things i want to follow my heart but unable to cause i'm not SAHM and it bothers me a lot. every mothers believe in certain ways and i think its respectable.and i'm starting to be labelled as picky etc by others

Fi,

not only u.. My mum labelled me as SUPER picky.

Cheer up.

Dun care abt them so long u think u r rite. Just tell them that their advice are noted.

Serene,
u know of any URL for oshkosh other than the donno wat eoutlet website? Cos I am eyeing a jumper dress for my ger

Fi,

yah lor, and my mum prepared so much already, not knowing that my ger sian already haha.. now the bi gor can last for quite a long while..

Kite/Serene,

Melbourne dec is pretty bearable to us. Perth is SO MUCH WORSE!! Ya, not so good are the flies.. and we got to chase away the flies.. this action is they call the australia "salute" haha..

I dun kena sunburn in melbourne. But i almost kena that in perth and southwest. Imagine taking the busselton jetty 1 km walk under the hot sun! And i was in spaghetti top haha! My whole shoulders almost cao da already.

Kite,
I've been Bfeeding for abt 4.5 mths already. My son going to be 5 mths in few days time.
Ya, drag the pumping time lor, it'll leak unless it get very engorge!
Now my bbs dun really feel engorge after long hrs (abt 12hrs or more) but will have some lumps! will have to massage it everytime when express out.

Re: Breast size
I realised the cup size changed liao. Need to get new bras...! Anyone encounter the same?

Celeste,
No I don't know. But i saw pangbaobao has coming stock for gymboree baby gal dress, very nice! Really envy baby gal, has so much choices...

kk,
Yes Western australia is so much hotter!

hi kite,
i bought the hanging toy at giant, vivo city. the brand is lucky baby. but i'm planning to get the window shade mobile from smallsmallword.com. it's hvg promo at $40. u interested?

re: breast size
i only bf for 2.5mths and now my size reduced, became smaller now.
sob sob.

Soy Formula:
Thanks for e article. Seems like soy FM not a very good choice? since my ger allergy to similac, doesnt mean she is allergy to other brand of cow milk rite? i think best its stil Bm.

Shrinking breasts:
oh dear. i got alot of feedback from mummies after stop Bfing, b wil either more saggy or smaller than pre-pregnancy. Jiat liat. I prefer e size of Bfing b now. wil definitely miss it. hehe

spicegal:
how abt graco citisport stroller?

serene:
yes hot til my skin peel n red like lobster.

lyn:
wow pump for 2 mths supply that could be alot n need alot of time. Its good to pump when u start to introduce solid food as u can keep more. i m almost hitting 30 bags of frozen milk bags. but i realise my milk ss slightly dip abit since last wk, dunno y leh. i think bcos of tiredness at work or i add additional pump session middle of the nite. i think overtime, our milk ss wil sure dip one so its better for u to start build up now rather than feb as latching wont be tat much as below 6mths.
wow so fast u u plan to TTC again. Good luck!

msnanas:
so u gonna stop exactly at 5mths? my ger turning 5mths next monday. so happy. counting down on Bfing.

Duffybuff:
thanks wil check out at vivocity giant.

hello mummies

long time no chat, i start work tomorrow, after 4 mths of maternity. Have been battling the blues for the past few days cos v 'she bu de'.

anyone works long hours? i used to, esp working in a US bank, but i will try my best to get out of office by 630 pm.

Fi,
If I am alone at home with Aloysius, I dun have time for other things. I only have time when he's sleeping. My mum is usually with me 24 hours
She will go back on Friday nite and back on Monday afternoon. hmm.... it's not easy to control certain things. The first person to convince is hubby
. I convince my hubby what I am doing by asking him to read the books or read to him... So I have his support...
When I was preggie, my mum started to come over to stay with me. There were things that we ironed out over time, and make me happier

Dun cry, dun cry
Sayang... Every mothers want the best for their child. I am also labelled as picky... lol... I think maybe many here also think that I am weird, except those who read about alternative health and looking into organic food... hahaha... I prefer more vegetables and fruits for myself and Aloysius
. I do not have plans to introduce meat and seafood to him. The most will only be pork in soup.

celeste blur,
hahaha... really *pengz*... I thought 6 months is good enough initially. Now I am thinking twice. I think it's tiring to pump out to feed, need double job and time...

vivi,
Thanks for the information

Friso Soy has glucose syrup, so not very good. My friend recommended Prosobee to me
. Most probably I will change to Prosobee... But haven't looked into it.

Kite,
I read that goat's milk is closest to breast milk. But I gotta read more to be 100% convinced :p
NOw, I dun have extra to pump now wor
Only a little... I think I gotta get my breasts use to pumping again...
My friend told me if I say I wanna stop bf myself, my breasts will react to it one leh... My supply also dipped this week. Maybe that's the reason wor.. cos since last week, we have been talking about stopping breastfeeding.

lyn,
talking abt *thinking* abt stopping bfg and body's reaction- that day I met u ladies, I latched whole day and still ended up with painful lumps when I got home? So strange, usually get lumps only with pumping.
Supply in my case definitely dipped, when out w/o bb, can last longer w/o engorgement. I really feel reluctant to lose the bfg bond, still latch on sometimes at home even when I told myself I shld lessen... :/

Ur food choices in mind sound interesting, if u've been adopting it some time already, I must say it really shows in ur glowing skin!

kite,

U sound so happy to be stopping bf soon! I'm back from my short trip and feeling more recharged. Thankfully, I didn't have to introduce FM to my bb cos my MIL was so nice to clear out their freezer to store my 30 packs of EBM. And everybody in the family dabao for 4 nites (pai seh). Was telling my hubby maybe next year can consider bring our bb to see his gong gong in Germany.

That day, I went back to have lunch with my colleagues and realized how nice my company is (and how lucky I am). Actually there are 3 mother's rooms in the 7 floors we occupied which are fully equipped with sterilizer, breast pump, fridge, detergent, locker and even spare funnel/container. All we need to bring is our cooler bag.

Now I'm working hard to nurse my tendons, going for physio or else worst case steriod jabs.

lyn,

My hubby's friend also keep advocating goat's milk. But I ever tried goat's milk myself, stink like crazy. very yucky to me..

Thanks kite for the recommendation. Will go check out the design.

Serene...dun tempt me with those websites leh..i bought 2 gymboree skorts and a romper from pangbaobao before...they have nice stuffs...haiz..going broke liao..spend a lot of $ on BP recently...

okipoki...saw you in the allerhand BP thread...actually just bought a skip hop diaper bag liao...then saw this allerhand BP...cannot resist the discount price..keke

hi gals, i am doing a spree on bobux shoe. so if u r interested, can go to market place or march 06 side to order, ok.

fi,
yes, pigeon teat can fit avent...I'm using avent bottle but pigeon teat right now

coz my son dun like the avent teat....so switch to pigeon...initially, we use pigeon bottle, then one day, my mum just use pigeon teat with avent bottle and it fits...so we happily use our avent bottles now...

btw, my mum did cut the teat herself when I haven't bought the bigger teat for her loh....so she used the smallest hole teat, cut a small line to fit him....

kite,
my son also, same as your girl...he will put one finger/thumb inside while drinking from the bottle loh....

my son is still sleeping in the bassinet of the playpen...mine can hold weight up to 10-15 kg loh...so I intend to let him sleep till he can pull himself up, by then dangerous liao, will let him sleep on floor...

celeste,
my friend who bf her kids found her breast up 1 size after she stop bf leh...u sure the GP say it will shrink? I thought it should be at least pre-pregancy size loh

Good Morning Ladies!!
Hiaz... back from leave... so sian... if only it's holiday everyday!

Medusa/ Lyn,
Nice meeting you girls
Aaron kept asking me yesterday when we r going to have lunch again..haha! think he miss all of u :p Lyn, can u send me the photos after u have downloaded them. Tks!

vivi,
Cold storage has the widest range of organic rice. Some NTUCs sell organic stuff...can check that out.

Lok,
U also have prob with your tendons? Same here..i have this prob since even before i got married and it came back again cos think i have been carrying my newborn for shopping trips far too often. U heard of Sonotron? It's an alternative treatment. I am trying this out. It's using sound waves to treat the affected area and it's drug free (that's what i like).

tinklebell

me also got prob with tendons. Experienced the pain two days before delivery...initially i thot that i had sprained my ankle...later i was told that it's caused by water retention in the hand pressing against some nerve....

Stephanie, your problem still there? Previously, my massage lady told me that she can feel the areas on my shoulder which have water retention and when she pressed, it was painful. She mentioned that massage can get rid of the water retention and the pain. I told her abt my leg she massaged but pain was still there.
now seems to be getting worse...sian

no time din post.. how's every1?

Tinkle/ medusa/ lyn, so good to be on leave.. envy u gals.. how's the lunch? hey, we shd have some gathering for all moms to meet together on one of these days..

talking abt stopping bf, me initially wanted to stop at 6mths.. like u gals, look so forward to stop it.. but now there are some changes, my milk ss suddenly decrease drastically.. i have to stop bf earlier than b4.. sigh.. only 1 mth i will have hit the 6-mths target.. i feel so bad for my bb that i can't help crying..

tinklebell

yap...the pain can be felt on-off...at times its unbearable..but seems to be better these few days (cross fingers)

morning ladies,
are you gals mostly stopping bf-ging at 6mth? 1 part of me asking me to stop as it's very troublesome especially expressing at work... but the other part of me want to continue as wanted the best for my baby. *tored*

spicegal,
me too... v tempted to get those things fr BP and online! I saw the allerhand BP ... v tempting!

peng,
clearing leave now loh... will most likely work 4 day / wk til end of Dec
U dont need to clear leave?

spicegal / tinklebell,
i heard that the allerhand bags zippers are not so lasting... heard quite a few comments.

yeah,
I tried the allerhand bags at mothercare too.. And find that the zips are not good.. very difficult to open and close.

mspiggy, not lasting ah? ok thank you for giving me a good reason to convince me not to buy! haha..have been trying to convince myself it is not worth to buy.

my Ameda funnel broke liao! Sian...gotta order fr MIM ..$20 for one side! so expensive! U know of any cheaper lobang?

morning ladies

lyn,
ya lor...jin time consuming for my case. Hence, i most prob will give up BF once i hit 6 mths or when my well dries up...*lol*

kite,
need to store many bags for 2 mths of EBM woh! That time i was having the mastitis and on antibiotics for one week. My ger cleared bout 30+ bags of frozen ebm and each bag contains bout 200ml! *sigh*

okasan,
the GP told me her B shrink lehz...cos she BF her 3 kids...but she did say that although many ppl will have their breast either back to pre-pregnancy or shrink sizes, but there's miniority that will still upsize....haha

tinklebell,
i broke one of my valve, luckily there's spare one provided. am going to get another one from MIM but always out of stock!!! arrghhhh...

and that small piece costs $9.80!!!! *faint*

Good morning ladies!

tinklebell,
Saw your bb gal and yr maid this morning. So after the haircut to make taimaobi, she still have alot of hair.
Btw that time you mentioned about confronting yr maid messaging her hp at yr mum's place, did you tell her off?

Good morning ladies!

tinklebell,
Saw your bb gal and yr maid this morning. So after the haircut to make taimaobi, she still have alot of hair.
You gal wake up so early everyday? My boy is still sleeping most of the time when i leave for work.

Btw that time you mentioned about confronting yr maid messaging her hp at yr mum's place, did you tell her off?

serene, haha! ya loh... she refused to cut her hair and cried v loud! so i just ask the person to cut a bit..just enuf to make the maobi.
She wakes up at 7am every morning! But sleeps at ard 8plus to 9pm.
yap, told my maid not to bring the hp to my mother's place anymore! aiyo! i just checked MOM website- previously when she was working in spore, she changed employer 3x and max with each is 5 mths! last was 2 mths before she was sent back! donno wat's wrong leh! i heard that she was sent back by last emp bec she got dengue and couldnt work.... i can hope wat she says is true loh. i hope MOM can even disclose previous employer's contact no or email for transparency. Anyway, i told my hub to supervise over what she does in the morning.

medusa,
I also feel reluctant to lose the bfg bond... Sometimes, Aloysius will look at me with his big round eyes when feeding him...

tinklebell, medusa,
It's very nice to meet both of you with your babies and Aaron too

Aaron is very cute and smart... So heart warming to see him playing with Fiona...

Lok,
I have not tried goat's milk before. There are goat's milk specially for infant. Must make sure the milk has added DHA, else gotta supplement. Cos animal's has smaller brains and no need lots of DHA, hence dun have a lot in the milk.

peng,
Yalor.. It will be nice to meet up with our babies

mspiggy,
If you can breastfeed longer, it's better to breastfeed till 1 year old... Breastmilk is still be best for babies... I gotta stop cos wanna plan for second one liao.. :p I wish I can ovulate and have menses during breastfeeding, but it's not happening...

celeste blur,
I dunno how true it is.. but my friend told me if we want our well to dry up, it will one leh...

tinklebell,

Wow you have so much leave left to clear? I still have 11 days, owe it to me not taken any leave in the early part of this year...but we can carry fw our leave to next year. I will be applying leave next sat to bring my son for the jab and also week after will take 1 1/2 days for the weekend, go bintan again.

Your foot still swollen and painful?

tinklebell,
your girl sleeping time is almost the same as my boy.

lyn,
maybe i will bf till my ss drops. thanks for the encouragement!

you planning no 2 already? that's nice. hubby asking me when no 2 coming along? i told him to wait coz i havent recover from my sleep from no 1 yet. hahaha

tinklebell,
Wow your girl is an early bird...
She sleeps earlier than my son too. My son sleeps around 10+.

I heard some of the agencies are willing to disclose the previous employer's information to us...my girlfriend actually called up the previous employer to check about this maid b4 she decided to take her.....i wonder why they can disclose it this way, actually not supposed to...
To send the maid back, it must be quite bad situation....

Recently, I've heard a bad news from one of my girlfriends. She just got a maid for a few days when the agency suddenly called her up ask to return the maid as the medical report came back showing that she is suffering from TB! My girlfriend was so angry on why the agency had asked her to collect the maid when the medical report was not even out! TB is very contagious! She is so worried that the maid might pass the virus to her 1 yr old daughter and 4 mths old baby! Goodness! I feel so bad too cos i introduced her my agency! I don't know why my agent is so reckless this time...

lyn,

I'm going to Bintan Lagoon Resort. I've heard that Nirwana is also nice and spending there is cheaper compared to BLR. BLR is nice and big with more activity but spending there is really quite ex., like singapore hotel price.

lyn,

This year is our last membership with the resort, i still have balance 3 room vouchers, that's why i go back there but probably this is last time as spending there is really expensive...