(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi tinklebell,

Last Sat, I brought my son to the pool again and this time round, I managed to dip him into the water and he accidentally drank some water too! Oh, actually i'm worried he might catch a cold..... :p Moreover, also my mum and others advise me better not bring infants for swim...should at least wait till 1 yr old...hmm... My mum kept saying that the baby has not finish all the jabs, shouldn't bring him for swim....Frankly, I'm not too sure if the chlorine will cause any harm to infant...

hazel,
i asked mrs wong before n she said it's common for 3 month old bb to decrease their appetite. my PD also said that bb's growth is like stairs, up then flat, then up then flat again. so when she doesn't want much milk, probably she is at the "flat" stage where she doesn't need the milk to grow as much as the "up" stage. so i learn to accept this, as long as she is not lethargic, still active n happy
but off course easier said than done, i still tend to worry a lot!

celeste blur,
oh can use bb oil to clean the v area? i only use sterile cotton pad..

Michele, will keep brendan in prayers. Must be hard on you. Cheer up k? Buy you coffee when you are back?

Do you have to start feeding cereal to our baby at 4th mth? Are they supposed to mix into the milk? What are the good brands in market?

Hi Michele,
You sound so sad... sob sob... So sorry to hear about Brendan. I will keep him in my prayers
Hope he will be healed naturally. Hope Brendan will get well before he travels next week
. Try to take care of yourself too ya? See you when you are back...

tinklebell,
Chlorine is no good for us adults. And definitely not good for kids. That's why I use a showerhead to remove chlorine when bathing Aloysius daily and after swimming...
The public pool will be worse. Go to the newest public pool. Cos the water in public pool is the cleanest when the pool just open for business. The water is never changed... only recycled and water added regularly.

amy,
Jake will like the visuals. Cos babies love images.

Serene,
For me, I reduce the chlorine intake for Aloysius as much as possible. Since I am breastfeeding, when I go out, I will always bring water from home to drink, and dun drink water in restaurants. In swimming, he will definitely drink some water from the pool... If I dun allow him to swim in swimming pool becos of chlorine, then he's never going to swim in his life, unless he goes to the sea...
There again, the sea is dangerous with underwater current and waves, etc, etc, even for a good swimmer...
To prevent baby getting chill, dun swim when weather is cold. Wrap baby when out of water fast. When baby's lips change color, stop swimming and wrap baby up

serene,
i just started today at lunch... but my boy split out .. hai.. not successful though.. spoonfeed or bottlefeed .. all split out.. for bottlefeed - maybe the teat lor as b4 cut is too small, so i cut the teat a bit who know too big..
will try tomolo again !

lyn,

Some says it's too young to start swimming. Must wait at least 1 yr old...?

Hazel,

You mean you had fed yr baby with cereal already? Is yr baby 4th mth old now? What brand of cereal r u feeding him? Some mummies feed their babies with those bottled type of food from the supermarket. Are those good? Can 4 mth old start eating that?

lyn,

Last sat, I dip my boy in the pool. When i put him in a lying position, he lifted up both his legs, looks like he dun dare o put down his legs... Did Aloysious reacted that way too in beginning? How to make my baby relax so that he will leave his legs inside water...?

Mum2B,
yuppies, can use bb oil according to my SIL. She's taken care of many babies before liowz and this was what she taught me. So far so gd
But cannot clean too frequently also....at most 2 times a week

Poohy...hope that Janelle is better now...do take care...must remember to clean her vagina area often...

Mich...brenden will be fine..dun worry too much yah...medical science in S'pore is very advance...he will be in good hands...we will all be here to support you...

Mum2B & Paula...my gal has been drinking 120mls 4 to 5 feeds per day ever since her 2.5 mths till now almost 4 mths...we tried to slowly increase her intake but she hardly finish 120mls....

Paula...I bought counting pal for my gal...she loves the songs & music...you are tempting me to buy the tortoise...sounds quite fun..thanks for offering to get us stuffs from states...will let you know if I need anything...

i_panda..me too shedding hair like crazy...there will be a patch of hair on my toilet floor after every shower...my colleague told me that the shedding will stop gradually...so not much of a worry...

hazel,
I read that maybe baby is not ready for semi solid food yet. It's due to some natural reflex that's still there that cause them not able to swallow... The book suggested to try a week later..

Serene,
hmm... did you maintain eye contact with Brayden? Gotta gain his trust that it's safe in the water, and he will start to relax.

thanx for your concern... joelle is much better.. vomit less, fever down after the antibiotic and glucose drip. it is uti but will only know the exact bacteria today. Her condition was quite crticial as the white blood count found in the urine same was so high till the computer cant display in the printout already. It was very heart pain for us to have to make the decision to allow them to insert a catheter through her urethra to extract urine on top of the pain of putting the drip... but for hours i try to catch a pure sample of her urine to no avail so the doc insist we cant wait anymore cos she cant even swallow her panadol... hmm anyway after the treatment start she starts to feel better and fever slowly subsiding... though her milk intake is reduced to 10-15ml 3-4 hours...

first time our children in such a condition... my hand was trembling when we carried her to the A&E on friday the 2nd time in a nite because she had turned purplish, shivering all over with 40.4 fever. We were so fearful of losing her...

poor girl she will have a series of followups and scan after this... cos uti in children can be becos of urine tract reflux which may permanently damage the kidney.. so need to rule this out..

poohy,
glad to hear that joelle is much better. I think as parents its really heart wrenching to see our bb suffer in pain. We can only try our best to take gd care of them during this period and comfort them. If u never mention all these stuffs i didnt know uti can be so serious
I only thought giving medication will be fine liowz. *hugz* take gd care of urself during this period too cos u need to take care of her

Re: Bb swimming costume
where can we get bb swimming costume at a reasonable price? Cos those that i see are normally priced at least $30+ and above. Cos babies outgrow their stuffs very fast so i dont wanna spend too much on a swimming costume.

poohy,

I can imagine how worried and scared you're when Joelle was so critical that day. No parent can bear to see their children suffering! That time, when my son's jaundice level was high when he's only 8-10 days old, he had to go down for blood test, he did it twice, even just the blood test, i already feel so heart aching. Also everytime when he go for his jabs, I make sure I take leave and bring him myself, feel so heartache when the needle poke into his flesh!
U must take good care of yourself so that you will have the energy to take care of your children. I will pray for your gal and hope she recover soon.

Celeste,

Re: BB swimming costume

You want to get those 2 pcs suit for your gal? As i've seen the bb diaper swimwear at isetan selling for around $15 but this is without the top (just the shorts). You can let her wear her own T-shirt. For me, i didn't get the diaper swimwear, I just let my bb wear a singlet and a short (underwear like).

Serene,
Diaper swimwear, does that mean if i buy the diaper swimwear i wont have to let my ger wear those huggies little swimmers diaper? Hmmzz, let her wear her own t-shirt...sounds gd idea
Think i will go isetan and take a look

hello ladies,
it's been awhile since i came in to chat.

poohy, sorry to hear abt joelle. hope she'll be alright really soon.

michele, hope bredan's condition will improve so that he doesnt need opn.

RE: feeding
ladies, do you wake your babies up for feed when they overslept? i mean in the day.

coz these days my son been quite playful in the day hence he will KO by 7pm and overslept for his feed.

wondering if i did the right way by waking him up for feed coz it's already 5 hr interval. or shd i just let him sleep.

mspiggy,
I let my ger sleep overnite if she can. She normally sleeps around 10pm to 11+pm range. Then she will wake up either at arnd 4-7am for her feeds. I will not wake her up for middle of the nite feeds if she can sleep thru

Hi Celeste Blur,

Yeah but then his last feed was abt 5pm+ before he sleeps ard 7pm. Rightfully he shd drink ard 9pm+ but he didnt wake up.

So worried might be too long an interval. I didnt wake him up in the middle of the night too.

mspiggy,

My boy same as celeste's gal, every nite, he sleeps around 9-10pm. His last nite feed supposed to be somewhere 10-11pm but I only feed him around 12MN so that he sleeps throughout till about 6-7am for next feed. The reason why i wake him up at 12MN for feed is becos so that he won't wake up around 2am. Hey, my boy also weighs 7.3kg@12th week. Now, he should be 8kg already...will be 4 mths next monday.

celeste,

I can't describe those diaper shorts well, but there's another layer of fabric inside...I personally think, even if baby urine, still can leak out. Yes after wearing this, you don't have to wear those huggies disposable diaper. Basically this is same as those huggies disposable type......

mspiggy,

Then i think you can wake yr bb up around 11-12MN for feed so that he sleeps throughout the night till 6-7am the next morning. I think this is most ideal!

Hi Serene,
what time did your bb last drink before he sleeps at 9pm+?

hmm... maybe tonight I will not wake him up... see what time he will wake up for feed.

mspiggy,
if his last feed is 5+pm then i tink its a gd idea to wake him up for a feed at arnd 10pm. Like that he wont wake up overnite or watever and he will still get enuff milk.

Serene,
Yuppies.....we do it the same way as urs too. If i feed my ger at 8+pm and she goes ZzZzz, then we will wake her up at arnd 10 or 11pm for another feed and most of the time she will be half-asleep n half drinking...haha...but strangely they can still drink when half asleep *lol*
As for the swim diapers if it can still leak then i guess its better to stick with the huggies little swimmers diapers. Btw there is only one brand for swimming diapers izzit?

ms piggy, celeste blur

my gal doesnt sleep thru the nite..she will feed at 7+pm, 10+pm, 3+am and 6+am......sigh, anyway to let her not wake up during the nite?

hi stef,

currently i wake him up ard 10pm+ for milk then he will sleep till 2-3am for the next feed.

i'm also thinking if there's anyway to train them to sleep thru.

mspiggy

my colleagues suggested feeding her water during the midnite feed instead of milk...as time goes she will not wake up cos there will not be milk for her...but we can not bear to do that!!

spicegal,
yeah my mum also said so... since now he doesnt really sleep in the day.

but then i'm worried he'll be hungry after dragging for so long (5 hrs+) as his last feed before he sleeps is like 5pm+

i will try not to wake him up tonight and see how long he can endure. hehee

mspiggy

i read a book by Gina Ford, which says that babies 3 mths old need only to nap for 3.5hrs during the day, morning around 9 to 9.45am then lunch nap of 2 hrs....this way, they are supposed to hit the bed at around 7pm....

mspiggy,

My boy usually drinks around 7-8pm, then he take a fast nap after milk but maybe 15-30mins only, then after he will sleep around 10pm. I will wake him up around 12MN for last feed. Yes, at this time, he's half asleep, it's baby's capability to drink their milk while sleeping i guess.
Usually, about 3am-4am, my boy will huh huh huh and lift his legs high and bang down on the bed (maybe to wake us up), make some noise, i'm not sure if he's hungry but I won't feed him, will tuck in the pacifier then he will sleeps till around 6am, lately, I'm lazy so didn't wake up earlier to feed him, I feed him only at 7.30am.
I was told that when baby is sleeping, sleeps well, they don't feel hungry. If they are, they will wake up crying. So dun worry that yr baby will be hungry if he's asleep.

celeste,

Yes I think there's only 1 disposable swim diaper in market (huggies).

mspiggy,

Perhaps, you try not let your bb sleeps so early at 7pm... How old is yr bb now? He still feeds on every 3 hrs? After the 5pm feed, try feeding him again at 8pm b4 putting him to sleep. Then you feed him again around 11-12MN. I'm sure after, yr bb will sleep throughout till dawn.

My boy is drinking 5 1/2 oz every 3-4 hrs but after 12MN he dun wake up for milk till 7am. Total feed a day is 6x.

mspiggy,

There was once, I fed my boy at 12plus midnite and he didn't wake up around 7am, he sleeps so soundly so I didn't wake him up too and he later wake up at 9am for feed. That's longest record, about 9hrs!!!

mspiggy,
Aloysius also dun sleep through the nite. I will feed him when he make noise.. hahaha... put my nipple in his mouth, and I sleep... :p I am also too lazy to wake up to see what's the time of his feed... Sometimes even forgot how many times I fed him...

Serene,
I cannot have a fix sleeping time for Aloysius... kekeke.. cos on and off I will bring him out and will be in the evening usually. Sometimes can come home as late as midnite.. kekeke...
I wonder if I can train him to sleep early but in his stroller

Hi, mine last feed at 8plus or 9plus .. he will zzz till morning 7plus to 8am, 10-11hrs total he can zzz one night since week 7 till now .. heng nv change !

Hi Serene,
My boy is abt 3.5 mth now. He's on 4 hr interval... total feed also max 6 feeds per day. If I feed him again at ard 8pm then will be too soon, he's drinking 160ml not sure how many oz.

Hi Lyn,
at least Aloysius still latch on.. not so tiring on your side. I'm giving him FM at night.

serene,

i just started yesterday .. my boy abt 4.5 mth liao.. but he dun like leh.. i fed him gerber plain rice cereal.. no matter by spoon (yest) and today i tried straight mix into FM and bottle fed.. he also dun want .. think he know the taste liao.. den whenever push teat into his mouth he will cry ... haiz .. den no choice wait a while, go bath.. den prepare another bottle of fm without cereal, at first he struggle when i put the teat into his mouth.. but later he tasted dun have extra thing (cereal) den he guai guai drink all n zzz liao..

haiz why so smart know gt add cereal or nt one meh.. wasted so much of my cereal n fm ..
think will try next week .. if nt wait he reject FM too !

Poohy & Mich - must take care of urself more to take care of baby. hope they recover soon.

Sleep - my boy also sleeps at 7-8pm, then nxt feed is 4-5am. i dun wake him up for feed.

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Updated as of </TD><TD>26-Sep-06</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>June mummies</TD><TD>Love Nest</TD><TD>Career</TD><TD>Sex</TD><TD>BB's Name</TD><TD>BB's DOB</TD><TD>Age (WEEK)</TD><TD>Current Wt </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Yu Jun</TD><TD>21-Apr</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>8200 @ wk20 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Jared</TD><TD>15-May</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>6895 @ wk17 </TD></TR><TR><TD>amy (toto) </TD><TD>West Coast</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Jake</TD><TD>22-May</TD><TD>18</TD><TD>7000 @ wk12 </TD></TR><TR><TD>poohy</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Joelle</TD><TD>22-May</TD><TD>18</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>MOAP</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Ginelle</TD><TD>23-May</TD><TD>18</TD><TD>7400 @ wk12 </TD></TR><TR><TD>syen27</TD><TD>Pasir Ris</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Brian</TD><TD>23-May</TD><TD>18</TD><TD>7900 @ wk12 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline</TD><TD>Farrer Park</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Celest</TD><TD>26-May</TD><TD>18</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>soh1dful</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Darrell</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>17</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>vivi</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Davian</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>7000 @ wk16 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Belle_mommy</TD><TD>West Coast Cre</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Isabelle</TD><TD>31-May</TD><TD>17</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Duffybuff</TD><TD>Serangoon</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Jeriel Tay</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>17</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>msnanas</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Caden</TD><TD>3-Jun</TD><TD>16</TD><TD>6730 @ wk12 </TD></TR><TR><TD>muffinmocha </TD><TD>AMK</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Jeremy</TD><TD>3-Jun</TD><TD>16</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>dor</TD><TD>Upper Thomson</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Mandy</TD><TD>4-Jun</TD><TD>16</TD><TD>6300 @ wk12 </TD></TR><TR><TD>i_panda77</TD><TD>Bukit Timah</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Josh</TD><TD>4-Jun</TD><TD>16</TD><TD>6100 @ wk9 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Paula</TD><TD>CCK Cres</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>16</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Missk</TD><TD>Jakata</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Kristanto</TD><TD>8-Jun</TD><TD>16</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Spicegal</TD><TD>Jurong Eest</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Jerica Ong Ke Yu</TD><TD>8-Jun</TD><TD>16</TD><TD>4250 @ wk8 </TD></TR><TR><TD>jojo</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Vanny</TD><TD>12-Jun</TD><TD>15</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mspiggy</TD><TD>AMK</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Wesley</TD><TD>13-Jun</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>7300 @ wk12 </TD></TR><TR><TD>K Ong </TD><TD>Newton </TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Kayley</TD><TD>14-Jun</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>7200 @ wk12 </TD></TR><TR><TD>MTDT</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Zavier</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>7400 @ wk12 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tinklebell</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Fiona</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>7000 @ wk12 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mum2b</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Felicia</TD><TD>16-Jun</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>5730 @ wk13 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michele Tang</TD><TD>Taipei</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Brendan</TD><TD>18-Jun</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>4900 @ wk10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hidora</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Isaiah</TD><TD>20-Jun</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>8000 @ wk10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Josephine</TD><TD>Old Airport Road</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>James</TD><TD>20-Jun</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>6000 @ wk10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>okipoki</TD><TD>Dover</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Chloe</TD><TD>20-Jun</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>6600 @ wk14 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stephanie</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Hui Xuan</TD><TD>21-Jun</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>6790 @ wk12 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fondue</TD><TD>Thomson Hills</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Reuben</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>14</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shell</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Zhi Yi</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>13</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mel</TD><TD></TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Zelia Ang</TD><TD>27-Jun</TD><TD>12</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gina</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Yu Xuan</TD><TD>30-Jun</TD><TD>13</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

mspiggy,
I think you try not letting ur bb sleep too much in the daytime. Cos for my ger, if she sleep a lot during the daytime she will most prob wake up once during the middle of the nite arnd 2+ or 3am one. Then I will have to give her milk. If she didnt nap so much during the day then most of them time she can sleep thru till at least 5 or 6am

Hi Celeste Blur,
He's not sleeping alot in the day.. the most 3 hrs in total.

that's why he knocked out by 7pm. hehehe

wow Hazel,

Your bb so guai, can zzz long hrs. Moreover he dun depend on pacifier, so good. For my boy now, pacifier is a MUST esp when he wants to sleep. He usually spit out when he's in deep sleep and i will keep aside. In the middle of nite, he will look for his pacifier again... Oh ya, if he dun like the cereal, u really have to wait awhile, if not, affect his normal feeding habit. Babies in general are very smart, especially sensitive to the food. My boy dun really like drinking water so most of times when he drinks water, he will choke himself! But when comes to drinking milk and apple water, he won't.

mspiggy,

I think my boy is 1 week older than yrs. He's turning 4 mths old next monday. If 8pm feed is too early for him, then u feed him at 9pm but then u had to wake up to feed him at 1am... His timing is always so accurate?

lyn,

So Aloysious follows your schedule.