(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hidora, wat? 9.15kg????? wow !!! that's BIG!!! must be v cute
what u feed him with?

lyn,

wat does the sleep book teaches? I had never read any sleep book cos I thought if we practise attachment parenting, we do not condition our children to sleep in the nite... not so sure.. wat i do is on demand... we do have night time lights off routine but that's all done to help settle them down... i feed my son nite feed on demand till he was over 1 year old... joelle start sleeping thru by 2-3 mth old... she will sleep stretches of 5 -7 hours in the nite. they are the one who determine how long they sleep and when they wanna feed.

poohy,
In the book, there are several suggestions of getting babies to sleep. If baby wakes up at nite to feed, if the mother can, it's better to feed, cos baby is growing at nite and he need the nutrients. There are also some parents who get stressed and lack of sleep due to nite waking, Sears gave some recommendations to change it. The father's role is quite important cos baby is the next most trusted person. To Sears, if a family is falling apart, that's worse than tired nite feeding. The book advocates co-sleeping for baby to sleep better. The book also touches on some psychological part of a baby. There are also hidden medical conditions for nite waking, which are explained in the book. I got this book becos my hubby went for reservist and Aloysius did feel the separation anxiety. I realised that after reading the book, and the tips inside the book did help me to wind him down to sleep at nite during his dad's absence. Aloysius is very very close to his dad

Good morning
wow so much info to digest.

tinklebell, pooh, lyn:
so early you gals log in already.

poohy,
ya lor, 1 thing about going to playgroup where they usu have play time, kids like to put things in their mouth at this age. so i think virus spread easier. I better start looking around for good classes & most prob will start after 6-mths.

took half-day off yesterday to go and cut hair.
hey, know there are LocknLock fans out here, John Little having store-wide sales. Buy LocknLock got 20%(brand)+20%(store)+5%(card) discount. works out to be about 38% off retail price.

lyn,

the book sounds interesting. I do a varied version of co-sleeping... Instead of everyone sleeping on the same bed or floor, I put both my children's cots beside our bed.. one on each side. Its close side by side with our bed... safer with those rails cos my son may fall out of bed without it.. hehee... Joelle also.. once I put her on the sofa and after a while her head almost at the side ready to fall out liao... Samuel will wanna sleep on the same bed with us at times too... I dun object to that as long as it give them comfort they need..... being close beside us prob give them a better sense of security

sunflower, Lock and Lock discount seems quite good hor

poohy,

ya lor. i thought only 20%. when I went to pay, got another 20%. Just need to show robinson card and pay. don't need to use coupon. Today LAST day!

co-sleeping:
my boy sleeps with us on our bed for certain stretch of time. especially when i find that he keeps fretting and seems to have difficulty going to sleep. put him on our bed..and he goes ZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzz

sunflower,

ya lor... when my boy was younger, at times he will wanna stay awake and dun go to sleep in the middle of the nite.. .we will just place him beside us while we sleep on... he will feel settled and soon fall asleep himself..

sunflower, poohy, lyn,
nowadays my girl also co-sleep with us at night. mainly becuase she will cry when the pacifier falls off her mouth, n it's so tiring to walk to the cot n put it back tens of times! initially i worried it might spoil her (the co-sleeping) n she will have difficulty sleeping on her own later on. but can't help it, better than having crying baby whole night..

poohy,
It's quite an interesting read... I am thinking of buying a queen size mattress and put on the floor in my room for Aloysius. His cot is getting a bit small. Sometimes when he kicked and turned, his legs will get stuck and woke up to cry.
This morning, I just removed one side of his cot. Might try to put him inside his cot beside us. But worried he will fall. He's like a magnet to us... lol... He seems to like to be skin to skin with either me or my hubby at nite...

sunflower,
I think my boy likes my bed... lol... During the daytime, I used to put him in the cot, but now, gotta sleep on my bed.. and he will fall asleep on his own on my bed... sometimes, he will wake up and look around on his own, then fall asleep again on his own...

mum2B,
My boy co-sleep with us since after confinement. I breastfeed him, and I just need to turn and feed. Easier for me too. kekeke... He dun usually cry at nite. He will just "ah ah ah" and I will feed him already. Then he will fall asleep on his own while I fall asleep during feeding... lol... This early morning, dunno what time, he cried after feeding.. Think he had tummy ache. I just put him on my chest to sleep, then put him down on the bed again... I kinda know the reason for his crying cos that's not usual..

kk...
hahahaha... John Little frequently has this lock n lock sale one... Robinsons also has... kekeke... must refrain from going John little today... later buy too many... secarly every corner of my house all lock n lock... **faintz** I think those sale for sets is cheaper. For example, a picnic set usually cost $80, but during member's sale, it costs about $40... very cheap... save even more...

lyn,

during confinement time my boy also co-sleep with me , after 3 days of bending up&down to pick him up, i got backache.
so decided put him beside me, easier when he wakes up for his nite feed.

dunno is it because of this, he likes to co-sleep with us now.

spicegal,

Your bb's cheeks so chubby and adorable!

hidora,

Wow 9.15kg at 13th week! Your baby must be SUPER CHUBBY !!!! I think she's the biggest baby of all of our babies here. Do share with us a pic of your baby.

hidora,

Re : Similac

I'm also feeding my baby with similac but he doesn't grow as fast like yr baby leh...
Anyway, taking similac, do you find the poo soft (creamy), green colour and super smelly??? My son poo on alternate day, sometimes delayed, poo after 2 days.

Stephanie,
wah...u pump 7 times a day? I only pump 4 times a day. Lazy to pump :p

Re : John Little
The john little sale is storewide? But today last day ah? I wanna stock up on the wet wipes, nappy liners and breastpads :D

sunflower,
Babies love co-sleeping with parents. It gives them comfort and security. Sometimes, when I carry Aloysius till very tired, or play with him till very tired. I tell myself these opportunities will not last long. Next time when he grows up, he will not wanna sleep with us anymore, nor want us to carry nor want us to play with. Time really flies... So now I cherish these moments more...
especially when I think back how small he was at birth and the different facial expression that he had, which I do not see now...

hidora,
Wah... 9.15kg at 3 months... Aloysius is only 7.5kg... What's his length?

lyn,

I agreed with you. All these time, bit by bit that our baby grows are so precious moment. I do not wish to miss any of them cos i know time passes very fast, for when we knew, they've already grown up or should i say when time has passed, we can't go back anymore. One of my cousins told me that as we grow with our children, we tends to slowly forget the past, forget the face expression, actions of our children when they are a baby. So i think it's good that you had a blog to record the story of your child or take photos for our babies every mth, really a good memory.

lyn, serene,

fully agreed. I treasure every moments I have with the children... one day they wont want us to hug, carry, sleep with, etc... I treasure these moments of togetherness.. Ever since my son was borned, I kept my thoughts for him in his blog and now together with joelle's till now... I try to take photo almost every other day to make sure that one day when they are no longer so readily with us, and my memory starts to fail me, I will still be able to look at the blog story, their photo album and their videos and remember those priceless, sweet wonderful moments where God had blessed us with..

we try to record as much as we can (thanks to modern digital photography technology)... like for samuel, on his first birthday, on top of all the presents we can and did get for him, we did a special photo/video album of all his "first times"... we had a mini gathering that day with our closer relatives and everyone watches that video of his "first times"... imagine looking at it again in 10-30 years time.. and showing it to our grandchildren... hehee.. heartwarming...

serene, poohy,
Sometimes there are moments which cannot be captured on camera
Or maybe I am too slow to take out the camera... kekeke... Aloysius loves to stare at the camera and often forgot to smile or "talk". There are moments when I latch him and he gave me a wide smile when I sing to him
These are the moments that cannot be captured on camera though I wish to... Last nite, I just lie on my bed and watch him sleep

I am always alone at home with baby... There's not much chance for me to take photos of him. Today, Aloysius can grasp my fingers and lift himself in the air already
I have been "training" his grasp reflex. Only today, he can grasp and hang on his own! It's amazing, isn't it?

hi mummies... wow... irvin so lucky, can swim as often as he wants. me must wait for weekends, hubby bring us swimming. no pool here leh... not staying in condo.

hope to go swimming again this Sat am...

amy, hehe not my mum's pool, is public pool cos my gal has swimclass anyway
. I'm really going to buy a proper thermal wetsuit for her ~$40 but I think with their sch insignia lor. Irvin will have to tahan w/o one for some time yet, he's outgrowing his stuff (his WAISTLINE!) too quickly!

Irvin seems to like the water!
is it better to wear the thermal wear of just the swim diapers?

public pool safe or not, is it dirty?
how long do you put your bb inside the pool?

medusa,

irvin looks so cute and chubby!!!
Me too, going to buy samuel a proper thermal suit this saturday before his swim class.. he keep shivering after a while in the pool and the instructor keep asking me to put on an extra suit for him .. i might as well buy one... with school logo too.. but its very nice and colourful hehee
Which school is your girl attending? The thermal suit is so cheap at $40+...

eh poohy, dun buy lah, they loan for free right? ;) cos outgrow very quickly- if u worry abt the condition/ cleanliness of the loaned pieces, just let him wear a normal zip-up type swimsuit inside? Yah $40 seems to b the cheapest thermal around, I haven't seen an actual piece yet- Aquaducks instructor said material same as what she was wearing (which looked decently thick to me)?

i really find that SMALL pools are colder- the one @ Mars tends to be so chilly, I often put 2 layers of thermal.

Joanna,
swim diapers are a *must* cos if the bb poos in the pool, u may get fined for pool clean-up. It's also dangerous if there's poo- can get all pool users seriously ill.
thermal wear is if the water's too chilly. Some bbs can tahan better than others
I really dunno abt cleanliness level of public pools... anyway I dip him 10mins max. He has no swimtop, loses heat very quickly.

Medusa, ha ha... i tot Irvin was at your mum's condo.
Yes, i think thermal wear is good - protect babies when they swim. when jake outgrows his current wetsuit, i might get him another one, but not so thick. maybe the normal 'shirt' type wetsuit, not the divers type.

lyn, poohy, serene,

agree with all of you. they grow so fast. Looking at him now, it seemed so hard to imagine he was so small only 3 months ago. There are some expression that i have not managed to capture on video or camera. my boy seems to know when he's 'on air' will always stare at the camera, video recorder. so can be difficult to capture that beautiful smile. So have to depend on my in-built camera to capture that smile in my heart.

It is only these few short years that they love us to hug, carry, sleep with them.. and time seems to fly so fast.

Medusa...what a cute and lovely shot of your boy...he is really enjoying himself...

Lyn & Sunflower...I have difficulties capturing my girl's hearty laugh/beautiful smile on camera/hp too...often she will be playing and laughing then when she sees me focusing the camera or hp on her...she will stop and stare hard at me...haha

I think babies are smart enough to know that they are 'on air'..lol

Hi Sunflower,

Many thanks for the material on speed reading. :D

So did you buy the Lock N Lock from JL? I bought the set I (got 4 pcs) at $19.90 which is the member price but din get any further 20% discount liow leh.

sunshine,
no problem

I bought locknlock - separate pieces as the set did not suit my usage. I think the set is special price for member so no more further discount liao.

lyn,
I *love* the way my bb smiles while latching/ immediately after his feed
. Sometimes I standby my camera phone... when he unlatches, I just move myself out of the lens view :p and click!

medusa,
hmm... need some skill for that rite? I am always very slow
Sometimes, I even capture his expressions when he cries... hahaha... I wanna capture his facial expressions just before starting to cry, havent got that chance yet...

medusa,

Wow envy, your boy dip again! I am thinking to bring my son for swim tomorrow again since it failed last sat due to the water too cold, he refused to go in and cried loudly! Wonder if it will be sunny tomorrow....???

lyn, poohy,

I also wish to do up a blog and record all the memories of my son but i'm lousy with IT skill, don't know how to create a website? Is there an easy way to do it? Can u gals teach me?

Serene,
Very easy.. Just go to www.blogger.com to sign up. Then you can start composing... Start from the basic first, unless you have time to explore... I am only using the very basic functions, just to write and post.. that's all
Next time, when I got more time, then I will explore more. Very recently, then I started to learn how to post pictures.. lol...

spicegal,

Haha, my ger loves all those gadgets.. camera lah, hp lah.. and recently she can cry for remote control.. OH GOSH! And she want the SCV remote control because it has 4 coloured buttons on it compared to the tv one.

Kite,

Yes, Dr. Winston is my gals PD. We have another PD in KKH but we only goes to him when my gal needs to go for those checkup to check on the cyst.

Serene,

Yea, my gals poo is also very greenish and meshy. Ive checked with Dr. Winston and he said its okay as long as the poo is not watery and my gal is pooing. Anyway, the shape of her poo is getting better we have been feeding her lots of water lately.

I've recently brought a talking tortise from Tiny Love. It's a soft toy but with a chop that were pre-recorded with babies' oohs and arrhs and papas... my gal love it and she has been communicating with the tortise... a gift for your little darling, maybe?

Paula,

You see Dr Winston Ng huh? I've seen him 3x. Do you still pay $40 for consultation each time? Expensive hor? I've seen him re. the oral thrush on my baby's mouth the last times. I didn't go to him for the vaccine, instead i go to polyclinic.

Serene,

Yes, I did. I have been going to him for the vaccine cos' I felt more assured as my baby growth is being monitored by a single doctor. He is a caring and careful doctor so I don't mind paying for it... :)