(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Do you all have similar experience? When i express, the volume of milk is low. But i can feel let down and milk dripping in between pump times quite frequently. Does this mean that i am not expressing correctly?

vivi,
got it.. thanks

hi vivi,
saw that your bb is delivered at Mt E, did you take up the insurance offer for Parkway Health group babies?

Hi Okipoki,

No pro.

Hi Sunflower,

Will resend tonite from home

Knocking off liao

To the rest:

Will send from home tonite.

Hi mspiggy,

do u mean the AIA insurance?

If yes, i did sign up.

Stef,

i've gut feeling what i express is less than what baby sucks when latch on direct cause baby keep swallowing a lot.

mspiggy,
5-6 oz is a lot! i have only about 4oz (110-120ml) each time. but baby at home also bottle feed this same amount of expressed milk so i try not to demand too much of myself,as long as meet up with baby's demand. but when i come home from work, baby sucks frantically like very hungry..

vivi,
what's your boy's name? my boy name Jae Zen

hello gals...
hee... I have been out almost whole day today... I went shopping looking at toys... hahaha... now I got more knowledge of toys already
I quite like the "Leap frog" toys...
It's quite fun to press and play with those musical toys though... lol...

sunflower,
In chinese, he's called "qi1 tian2 zhen1"

michele,
hahaha.. I can imagine... My milk also spray on Aloysius' face if he dislatch in the beginning...

amy,
People told me babies' hair will drop at about 4 months... and can be quite ugly...

sunflower,
Yes yes.. I am interested in the flahscards... Can email to me please? I have PMed you
Thank you for sharing

Stephanie,
I went to AMK polyclinic. So far so good... The nurse will weigh and take the length of baby. Then see doc before can give jab. Doc gotta say ok to jab first... Which polyclinic will you be going?

Fi,
I read that baby will suck 1 oz more than we express.

Lyn,
did u buy any toys??
now i "SIAO" over leapfrog... i want EVERYTHING!! heehee...

my son loves his musical cot mobile so much...my hub asked me to buy anyone cos he's son might get bored!! think they outgrow after 6 mths rite??

michele,
You bought "leap frog" ah? kekeke... I did not buy... First time I saw "leap frog" toys... Went there to check out what's available in the market and the prices... very "mountain tortoise" :p Very nice hor? Which one did you buy?
I am not sure about musical cot mobile... I think they will outgrow soon.

no Lyn, i m coming bak to buy...tw too ex!!! i can recommend u a few... i played liao.. haha so fun!!
Leap Frog
1) leap pad educational)
2) learning table
3) World ball
4) bb's 1st toy...
5) bb's book, the soft can...

thats bout it from leap frog that i'm gettin!! what did u play with?? how much they selling leap pad?

Stephanie,

I haven't had my 2nd HepB jab yet so i'm not sure will i see the doc b4 jab then. Maybe after the 3 mths assessment, no need to see doc already???

Stephanie,
Maybe you shd consider taking weekdays for jabs at poly? At least there's doc to check your bb's health?

Serene,
How big is your bb? How come haven't go for 2nd HepB? Tot it should be taken on the 1st mth?

yesterday we got into an accident with me, samuel and hb on the car... our car got hit by a very big long trailer! The trailer's brake lose control and hit us at the red light junction. We would be dead liao given its big size.. if it has not been attempting to brake for quite some distance liao... :-( But our car back is quite badly hit and we prob cant claim :-( Cos its a malaysian trailer and we were advised that its near impossible to claim from them... now we gotta take cab/bus to fetch the kids and travel to tampines to work... sian ... cos if we claim our own policy we cant claim loss of car usage. I think our loss at least $1k above cos even claim own policy still need to pay some excesses... but anyway thank God we are still alive...

Hi msnanas/ poohy,

Good Morning!
u girls are so early.

Lyn/ Michele,
envy u can stay at home to play with your bb. Hiaz... i'm usually so tired after work. Just take the time to breastfeed and talk to her. She loves to "chat" with me. But no time for toys cos by 830 she is usually too tired and wants to sleep.

Poohy,
Oh dear! You must have gotten a BIG fright! Hope it didnt frighten your kids too much!
Ya lor, repair cost can be quite expensive and the worst thing is that even after repair, sometimes the other mechanical parts will start to konk out bec of the impact of the accident... happened to our old lancer many years back when i only hit the corner of a wall

My son loves to sit in the car's third row...come to think of it, after reading your post, i think it may not be safe. Aiyo.... i better ask him to sit in front fr now onwards.
Cannot ask for cash compensation ?

serene

The second hep B jab is taken at first mth, the first one being taken in the hospital. How cum your baby havent take the jab?

Lyn,
no wonder, no wonder.so what i suspect about latch on direct is correct. no wonder my boy so hungry when i come home from work.

Poohy,
oh no, glad that your family is safe..

Tinklebell,
how long you've started work? its been a week since i start work and feel really really bad have to abandon baby at home, like i missed out a lot.

what are the steps to introduce formula? i just want my boy to get used to the taste as a back up, not meant to wean him yet.

Fi, i started work for a week already. Ya lor...miss my kids a lot! Also v tired every day... i only look forward to weekeneds! Last nite was telling my hubby i wish i dont have to work!
he said ok wor... but then again i think since i gotta support my parents, i better work...also must save a bit for rainy days.

how many days can we keep frozen milk? Some websites say 2 mths, some 3 mths and some 6 mths. Am a bit confused. I got quite a bit in the freezer...would be a waste to throw them if they expire. Do hospitals want donatation of frozen BM?

Tinklebell

Got this frm Askdrsears website. U may like to use this as a guide:-

STORAGE GUIDELINES FOR HUMAN MILK
These guidelines are for mothers who are expressing milk for a full-term healthy baby. Use clean containers, and wash your hands with soap and water before expressing. or pumping. When providing milk for a baby who is seriously ill and/or hospitalized, check with healthcare providers for instructions.

Where stored Storage temperature How long
At room temperature 15 degrees C 24 hours
At room temperature 19-22 degrees C 10 hours
At room temperature 25 degrees C 4-6 hours
In a refrigerator 0-4 degrees C 8 days
In a freezer compartment inside a refrigerator 2 weeks
In a self-contained freezer unit of a refrigerator 3-4 months
In a separate deep freeze with a constant temperature -19 degrees C 6 months or longer

lyn,
will email to you shortly.

I have 1 leapfrog toy also, its a gift from friend. My boy loves it. Its a caterpilla, can attached to baby cot and stroller.

Poohy,
Thank God that your family is alright. For malaysian cars, cannot claim from their insurance company?

Poohy,
Aiyao, seems like things doesn't go well for you lately. First your son get rotavirus and now this accident. Go bai bai (pray)?
Btw, how's your son now?

I dun like lunar 7th mth coz very suay. During the maternity leave, I always cut or injured myself, even walking out from the room can knock onto the wall! Not once but couple of times no matter how careful I am!
Then my hb's workplace has alot of accidents and he has to work OT to rush out reports, so left me alone to take care of my son and housechore.

Stephanie,
This is what i found in the BMSG website... the guidelines r somewhat a bit different.

Taking into account Singapore's tropical climate, the following are BMSG(S)'s guidelines on the Storage of Expressed Breastmilk.
These guidelines are very much more conservative than those recommended by several international studies. Working mothers who need to express and store breastmilk should evaluate their own storage facilities based on all available information.

MILK AT ROOM TEMPERATURE (17-32 Deg C) - to be Refridgerated as soon as possible

REFRIGERATED MILK - Up to 48 hours
(study by Pardou 1994, found that mature milk can be kept for 8 days at 0 to 4 deg C. A check with Local Fridge Companies in Singapore revealed that the Temprature of the Refridgerator Section of a 2-Door Fridge varies between 3 to 6 degrees C.).

FROZEN MILK in Separate Door Compartment - Up to 2 Months
(The Breastfeeding Answer Book by LLLI, says that breastmilk in a self-contained freezer unit of a refrigerator can be kept for 3 to 4 months. And in a separate deep freezer at -19 degrees C for 6 months or longer.)

BTW, what exactly is a Separate Door Compartment in a freezer? my freezer has a plastic door - does that mean it is a separate door compartment?

tinklebell,
separate door - refrigerator 1 door (when you keep drinks, fruits etc) and freezer another door (ice, ice-cream)
If you fridge has 2 doors, its consider separate door compartment.

Only those small fridge, then the freezer compartment is within the refrigerator compartment - these fridge only has 1 door.

tinklebell,

ya, better to let your son sit in the middle row.

I read somewhere that kids below 7 years of age, cannot sit front seat? anyone read that before??

Any of u got this? Be careful!

LeapFrog Learn-Around Playground Recalled

September 7, 2006
LeapFrog Enterprises is recalling about 186,000 Learn-Around Playground Activity Centers. A child's arm can become caught in the activity center's plastic tube.

LeapFrog has received 145 reports of children's arms becoming caught in the plastic tube, resulting in 54 reports of minor scratches and bruises.

The Learn-Around Playground is a multi-colored, plastic musical activity center for young children ages 6 to 36 months. It includes a Slide and Sing alphabet panel and a ball drop on the left side, a Number Rock musical keyboard in the center, and a Flying Rhymes airplane, pop-up LittleLeap, and "smart" book on the right side. "Leap Frog Baby" is printed on the activity center. Item number 10200 is written underneath the activity table below "Made in China."

The items were sold at department stores and toy stores nationwide, on the Web site www.leapfrog.com, and other online retailers from July 2005 through August 2006 for about $60.

Consumers should immediately take the recalled activity center away from children and contact LeapFrog for a free repair kit.

Consumer Contact: For additional information, contact LeapFrog at (800) 701-5327 between 5 a.m. and 7 p.m. PT Monday through Friday, and between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. PT Saturday, or visit the firm's Web site at www.leapfrog.com.

The recall is being conducted in cooperation with the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC).

michele,
hahaha.. Aloysius was sleeping in the stroller and I just played with those toys...
I played with whatever Leapfrog toys are there... :p

poohy,
Aiyo... Really thank God all of you are safe and sound

How's Samuel recovering?

tinklebell,
I think Aloysius dun like to chat with me a lot... hahaha... He will chat with my hubby, my mum, and my sis... And my friends when I bring him out with friends...

sunflower,

Oh that caterpillar very cute... I was very tempted to buy that yesterday... hahaha... I think if I bring my hubby to the toys section, he sure cannot resist... lol...

tinklebell,
Wah... so confusing leh... I have a side by side fridge, and I put the temperature to minus 19degC, I am assuming I can keep the frozen breast milk till 6 months leh... I have a drawer just for the milk and I dun have lots of meat products inside the freezer.. mainly ice cream... :p

Poohy:
how are the kids doing... must ve given them such a fright!!

Tinklebell:
your bb ger sleeps at 8.30pm? does she wake up again at nite or just sleeps throughout?

Stephanie:
no, we dun have that!! i read that too...

The 8.5kg Babies

1) baby at 2.5mths = 8.5kg
2) baby at 4.5mths = 8.5kg
3) baby at 9.5mths = 8.5kg

Hmm... i've been around all these babies recently and i'm geting kinda confused?! what should the ideal weight of babies be at that age?? the 9.5mths does indeed look kinda small BUT mummy is small...

HMM... maybe i should just go and buy 4D!! 8585 haha...AY... dun laugh, i might just get lucky!! @_@

sunflower, oic... silly me wondering what separate door compartment means. haha! tks for clarifying.
I have 1 bb car seat in the middle row which takes up quite a fair bit of space so i cant put an adult with another booster in the middle row. Even 2 adults in the middle row is a bit squeezy. So he needs to sit either in front or at the back lor... he used to sit in front until recently he decided to sit at the back.
I heard fr my hubby that he wanted to install some metal thing at the back of the car so that during collision, it will cushion the impact...donno if he has done that or not cos i was complaining to him that it is v expensive ... but now i think for safety, i think we better install.
The front seat concern is the impact of the airbag on the kid.

msnanas, stephanie,

Oic, then the HepB that my baby had on 1st mth must be the 2nd jab, i've forgotten..hee.

poohy,

It's really lucky that your family is safe. You must have got a fright.

Gals, few days ago i met up with one of my girlfriends, she and her hub also had a car accident recently, lucky thing is her baby not in their car that time. One van also bang into the back of their car at a traffic light. She told me her car's back was badly damaged. She advised me to install the car seat and MUST let my baby sit in the car seat and not let my maid just carry him.... Oh, 2 wks back, i had installed the car seat but find it real bulky, take up so much space, moreover think my baby still too small for the car seat so i asked my hubby to take it out. Think i should fix it back permanently. My Britex car seat is quite big, for infant till 3 yrs old....

lyn,

no problem

keke... now got sales, you can buy more leapfrog toys.

6-mths storage of EBM - this is only for Deep freezer. This only has freezer, no fridge. like those used by ice-cream vendors.

re: storage of EMB,
ya lor, so confusing, different books/sites give different timeline.

car seat:

agreed that it's much safety to put kids in the car seat. Must train from young, if not when they grow older, they will refuse to seat in the car seat.

saw a documentary on plane crash/accident, the mum was sharing how bringing a car seat up to the plane save her daughter's life.

Poohy, thank God all is well with you and your family.

Car seat: i do agree. Sometimes i dun put bb jake on his car seat, make excuses, wanna BF him... think must be disciplined.

Lyn, do you bring bb out with your frens? Can you handle? I have yet to try bringing bb jake out myself. maybe should start soon hor? but sometimes not confident. afraid he cry/fuss in public, creating a scene.

Michele, when will you be back in Sing? Can meet up shopping with you. Ha ha...

amy,
hee... I have been "practising" bringing Aloysius out alone with friends since "man yue"
Yesterday brought him out to meet my friends at Causeway point for tea
Tonite will bring him out for dinner...
We gotta start somewhere lor... First few times will be slightly "kan cheong".. but after a while, get used to it
And I also prefer those places with nursing room... Dun really like Taka though... too many people.. :p

Steffi,

but i read before formula and breastmilk cannot mix in same bottle le. i must look for the website that says that. can i feed separately 30ml formula and the rest breastfeed? just give him a taste.

so many storage EBM guidelines. general rule of thumb i just keep for 2 months in freezer.

tinkerbell,
so glad for the weekend.i keep bringing up the subject of staying at home, but hubby thinks the brain will turn nua.i've been showing signs of that when i stayed home for 3 months after birth. of course also the $ part...

thanx for all your concerns... we are all safe and sound... and Samuel is quite undisturbed by the accident hopefully..exception of crying for more than 1 hour because he was so hungry while hb settled all the aftermath.

mixed feelings... we are very grateful to be safe and alive but sad and traumatised because our new car is quite badly damaged at the back and we still need to pay for repair cost excesses on our own... its vv difficult to claim from malaysian vehicles. Now we do not have a car to use for the 2-3 weeks at least because its a malaysian vehicle (if sg vehicle then we will have a replacement car).. in any case lots of inconvenience... cos i work in tampines... so takes almost 2-3 hours to travel by mrt..
most upset part is the injustice that we need to suffer just because its a malaysian vehicle.. Sigh

tinklebell,

ya share your concern abt the carseat and the third row. Even with a mpv, its difficult to fit in 2 carseat. If put in front seat, then scared the air bag... plus my son cant stay still in his carseat sometimes ...so can only put joelle's infant car seat in front... if put in 2nd row then extremely squeezed. If put in 3rd row then fear too dangerous (like my kind of accident lor)... sian

Amy:
sure!! oct 5th... only 1 week though...unless cant fly immediately after rotavirus feed.

outings:
been taking Brendan out since he was 2 weeks, we go everywhere together, even eat meals with him "on" me.. i use the carrier when i'm out with him!!

sunflower,

Yes my friend has been telling me to train my baby on car seat early if not, they won't like to sit in next time. Same goes for the stroller. My cousin gave me his stroller, condition almost new cos his daughter refuses to sit....wasted! Then i didn't use it cos the stroller looks alittle girlish, instead i brought a new one... :p

So good, weekend is here again! Been waiting for it. Most happy thing is i've applied leave tomorrow so my weekend much longer now... It may appear the same for u gals who worked on a 5 days but for me who always work on 5 1/2 days, it's so treasurable.... Intend to bring my baby to swimming tommorrow but look at the weather now, it's raining....hope is good weather tomorrow. If not, I will bring my baby to the library and shopping.
Even 'nuai' at home do nothing, spend time with him also very happy!

michele, amy,
I also wanna go shopping.. Dun forget me hor.. kekeke... Can go for hi-tea in the afternoon if you all want
I will definitely bring Aloysius along, cos he cannot go out without me... hahaha... I am the "cow"... lol..