(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Celeste Blur,

Your gal looks good with her hair shaved. I think becos she has very round, nice head. Btw, she looks a little like boy boy...
Her eyebrow quite dark, very nice. My son's eyebrow not dark leh. I'm going to shave him too on 1st Oct, reaching 4 mths old. Did you use her hair to make the scholar brush. I intend to make one.

Time really flies, we walk through the preg period together, still rem that time at the very last stage, we were comparing our development and waiting anxiously for our time to go and deliver.... hee
Now our baby already 3 mths old liao and we are back to work! So fast!

Serene,
Hehe, many ppl commented she looks a little like boyboy also...*lol*. I intending to shave her eyebrows when she reaches 4 mths too ;) As for her hair i didnt use it to make scholar brush, i only kept a bit in an angpow

Ya lor...now back at work tiring to juggle baby and work....

k ong:

You may also want to consider taking
rota virus (oral x2) & pneumococcal (jabs x4).
This is not within package, must pay additional.

hello mummies
My ger will turn to 3 months in 2 weeks time. I need to take her for the 5 in 1 jab. Today called and asked the price. the jab will be at 3, 4, 5 month and each jab is 129. 3*129= 378SGD. And the rota virus is 100(x2) = 200 Expensive or not?
Note: this is not polyclinic but bb specialist

Mothers:

Suggestion: why dun u handwash ur bb stuff with the water from their baths? (if its clean) i'm sure the bb is not allergic to the washing products??

msnanas:
ur boy so cute!! is his nose yellow or just the pict??

Celeste:
there goes the sideburns...

sunflower:
petal massager not necc. silicon diaphragms, better cos they do turn yellow after awhile...

Shell, I take my jabs at Raffles hosp, and 5-in-1 jabs cost $85 ex consultation fees. Rota virus is $100 x 2.

sunflower,
I also have no idea if its necessary to have extra leh..

I'm bringing my son for rotavirus this Sat, heard got side effects.

Re: Pheumococcal
I asked the clinic abt the pneumococcal, they told me its ex at the moment. Any idea how much?

Michele,
His nose is yellow leh.. I also dunno why like tat. Any idea y? This Sat when I bring him to see PD, will ask abt it..

Amy,
your son like Towkay! hahaha

msnanas:
pneumococcal - yes, its expensive.
$170 per jab. x4 = $680
can take together with 6-in-1 jab.
so jab twice aech time, left and right.

my PD told me pneumococcal jab may cause some bb to have fever. so she gave mine a dose of panadol for prevention. my bb was ok, no fever

michele: silicon diaphragms, how often we need to charge? Once it turns yellow?

AMy:
bb Jake is soooooo CUTE!! he's such a big boy now!!

Msnanas:
the only thing i can think of is jaundice?? but so old still get jaundice?? dunno... any mothers??

Sunflower:
hmmm...when it turns yellow?? or smells i guess..

poohy,
Poor Samuel... Hope he will recover very soon... Did you learn from Shichida about subconscious mind?? Maybe you can practice that to tell him that he's very healthy and virus go away...

sunflower,
The difference between Shichida and Glen Doman:
Shichida is right brain training. According to Shichida, learning words is left brain training. And Shichida method mainly uses images. GD program uses words, with an aim of "training" baby to be able to read books early. Shichida aim is to "train" super kids with ESP...
The cards in Shichida is A5/A4 size. Cards for GD program are much bigger.
Shichida method is modified GD method.
Shichida method, gotta flash many many cards in one session. Can flash a few hundred... GD method, flash and stop before baby wants to stop.
GD method, repeat the cards maximum 3 times a day. Shichida method, cannot repeat the same cards in a day.
GD method, retire some cards daily. Shichida, retire the whole set of cards.

Very confusing rite? Last time, I was also very confused as to which method to choose and their difference.. So I started reading up during pregnancy...

angeline,
I used normal washing powder... I did not use any washing powder just for babies...
So far so good...
But I also bath my boy in chlorine free water...

msnanas,
Your boy is very cute too...

Wah... Avent manual sounds good... hmm... thinking of investing in one if can let down faster.

Shell,
Will there be consultation fees chargeable at the specialist? Usually there will be...

amy,
Jake looks so cute in the bumbo seat...
Did you take any pictures of his "swim" at home? Must be very enjoyable...

Wah... you gals still awake ah... I am going to bed soon.. My boy having separation anxiety these few days cos his daddy went for reservist... very tiring for me... He sleep halfway will cry, drink milk halfway also cry... Then I gotta feed so often. This morning he woke up at 4.30am laughing to me... He was never like that for past 3 months... always sleep till 8am one... really panda eyes liao...

lyn,
wow so confusing sia..
hmmm... must start reading up.

can i find books on shichida in NLB?

does images need to be in colour or black & white?
thinking of getting the set from My First Learning Series.

serene,msnanas

i use 1 capful everytime for a full load of water..how about u?coz instructions say 1 cap to 3litre..so i put jus 1 cap loh..not sure if its too much leh.my washing machine is 5litre load i tink if i remem correctly..

stephanie,

pureen got 2 type of powder rite? wats the difference?

Sunflower,
Wah, so ex ar... I think have to reconsider abt bringing him for this jab.

Michele,
Maybe his nose too big like his daddy, low blood circulation to it.. hahaha
Anyway, will ask PD this Sat. Paying so much for their consultation, so shd ask more questions to make my $ worthwhile. hahaha

Lyn,
Best time to get during these period since most of the shopping centres having sale. I bought mine at Isetan bb fair @ $69.
514562.gif

sunflower,

So far, there's only one and only one book by Shichida in English, but that book is boring to me, cos tell me all the stories, but never tell me the know-how. ***yawn*** kekeke... I dun want to read the success stories, but I want the know-how, so waste my time... :p The rest of the books which are useful are all in Chinese - translated from Japanese. I buy them from book fair and popular. I dunno how to search for chinese books from the NLB. I think they are good to keep too, cos on and off, gotta "revise". kekeke... I highlight my shichida and GD books as I read, so when I "revise", it's easier...

I am not sure about whether the images need to be in color or B&W. Mayb you can ask Poohy about that... I think colour is fine, as long as the pictures are not too complicated.

So far, the flashcards sold in the market do not satisfy the "requirements" if wanna follow shichida or GD. That's why I gotta buy the set from GDbaby.

msnanas,
Good morning
YOu are early... I woke up early today to get my work done before baby wakes
Very guilty yesterday never do work...

Good morn!!

msnanas:
doesnt matter lah... he's such a handsome boy!!

BTW:
any good PDs to recommend?? Thanks!!
what are the side effects of the rotavirus jab?

i am from july thread..but used to come here once a while..hehhe...regarding the 5 in 1 jabs...just wanna share..i've called healthway clinic (elias mall) got a few branches island wide...they charged $290 for the package and free MMR....maybe mummies wanna call and query

Hi amy,

Your BB Jake looks enjoying and relaxing in his bumbo seat. Agreed with msnanas, he looked like towkay hehe! Jake is chubby and adorable, he looked healthy too! I'm sure you had looked after him very well...great!

I also wanted to buy the bumbo seat the last time but hubby don't want. He says not realistic, will not sit for long....moreover the price is expensive! If i do come across anyone who wants to sell their bumbo seat as 2nd hand, i will consider to buy. If you do come across, let me know.

Hi breastfeeding mums,

Normally what do u do when after your warm bath, the milk starts to drip? Do you just wipe it and put on your clothes or start to express in the toilet? I really dun like the feeling of milk dripping right after i have cleaned myself leh....a few times, it starts to drip before i can put on the clothes.

stephanie,
It feels yucky hor? kekeke... I will use my fingers or a tissue paper to press the nipples for a few seconds.. then start wearing my clothes..

lyn

ya lor. i tried wiping my upper body dry first, then put on bra. Prob is, the water from my hair will drip and drip cos i have yet to dry them. So its either dripping milk or water!..also i find that the milk when dripped onto bathroom floor, will make it sticky.....

Stephanie:
yes at bathroom, my milk wil leak esp when i touch my breasts.

Hi Bfing mummies:
btw when u all started work, do u feel busy/stress at work, n wil it affect milk ss? Also does weight loss of 1 to 2kg, affect milk ss too?
I wil be starting next week, feeling abit panic.

kite

Stress at work will definitely affect ss. For me, ss was still ok for my first week, subsequently with work pressure and pai seh at hogging the room for too long, i think my ss has been reducing lor........As for weight loss, i dun think it will affect ss. Fluid consumption does though.

stephanie:
oic. btw how much was being reduced for ur case? ya i m feeling abit stress now despite hvnt start work cos i know pumping at work n at home is both different time.

Lyn,
I'll wake up @ 5.30am everyday coz hubby start work at 7.30am and its @ tuas (We stay at sengkang). So will leave house early to my mum's plc. Shack man!

Michele,
The side effects are running nose/flu and fever. So gotta monitor him after the vacination this sat.

dsiitan,
What's MMR? The $290 include consultation?

Stephanie,
This will happen when my Bs are full thou not engorge yet. So usually I'll pump out first b4 going for bath. =)

Hi msnanas,
MMR = Mumps Measles n Rubella.

FYI, For 5 in 1, My GP charge $84 per vaccine (with GST and no consultation charges)

As for pnuemococcal, they charge $175.

msnanas
mmr is mumps, measles and rubella ...hmm...consultaion im not too sure...shld be bah..cos its clinic not PD

stephanie,

ya lor, sticky floor. the area where i pump at home, floor got white stains.
kekeke....then i realised oh its my milk.

so will use wet wipes to wipe off.

msnanas: pneumococcal

some skip the 1st jab and start after 6 (i think) mths. so will be 3 jabs.

kite: don't get too stressed up over expressing in office. must RELAX!
& Try to pump at the same time everyday.

msnanas:
so...there are side effects for the rotavirus... can u pls ask PD if advisable to fly shortly after? feed also got side effects? Thanks!!

msnanas: ha ha... i also think bb jake looks like big boss...

jake took his rotavirus dosage, no side effects. he took it with 5 in 1. was smiling as he took the dose.

Lyn, yes, i took some pics as well as video of his swim at home. din upload cos mummy in bikini... ha ha. shy...

Lyn, poor you... must be very tired looking after bb without daddy's help hor?

serene, will look out for 2nd hand bumbo for you. maybe you can check the wts thread in the marketplace? i do see ppl selling bumbos...
but it's true, i think bb jake can only sit in his bumbo for another one month - cos his legs are getting chubbier, and when i lift him out of his bumbo, his legs are still stuck in there.

Michele, rotavirus is not a jab. it's an oral medicine. unless there is another version of this vacine.

Stephanie/sunflower:

TELL ME ABOUT IT!!
sometimes after a shower, i'm like a machine gun...... and at times when my son suddenly pull away, i start spraying at his face too!!
my hub is like... wife... U'RE LEAKING!!
i'm like... GET THE PLUMBER!!

(a little humor for the working moms...)

msnanas,
haha... u read abt my post abt my girl's hair looking like onion? okie... maybe i will try putting on cap for her.

amy,
Jakes looks so relaxed on the stool. he doesnt look like Fiona now :p

michele,
another possible side effects will be loose stools.
i usually pump before i bathe if not the floor will be wet and sometimes if i forget to clean, ants will come.

kite,
dont worry too much... just think of your bb

haha...

tinklebell...cannot put on cap... let it stand lah, news in tw, primary school girl receding hairline cos after bath grandma always tie tie tie her wet hair!!! thats why few girls ve long hair in tw!!

hey, found this site for cheap bumbos!! $79.90 brand new!!
http://www.babysayang.com/

dear kite, steffii and other breastfeeding mummies,

hi, i'm from may thread but my boy born on 30May so i pop in here to see..

anyone on total breastfeed? i went back to work this week. feeling tired cause have to wake up 5.30am and sometimes baby still sleeping i miss his morning feed then pump 2-3 times at work.

i'm going away for holiday for 5 days next month. anyone tried going away a few days and still manage to resume total breastfeed when come back?

really? wearing cap will cause receding hair line? first time i hear that leh :p but now her bao-zha tou seems to have improved... her hair is longer now and doesnt stand as much as before.... but she still looks like a boy. Hiaz.. yesterday i dressed her in pink and the aunties downstairs still can ask me "boy ar"?

sunflower, i saw in marketplace you bought the speed reading materials. are they good? how do you use them? as flash cards?

tinklebell... ha ha... ya... bb jake no longer look like fiona...

last nite i got a shock when i saw a bald patch behind bb jake's head. must be cos he kept sleeping on his head, sometimes rubbing his head hard on his 'pillow'. how ah? hubby ask me to cut his hair...

tinklebell,
haha.. same here. everytime I dress my girl in pink when going out, but ppl still surprise when i told them she's a girl! arrgghh.. mad! hehe..
my girl's hair is also groing v v slowly, n now sticking up .. somemore the back part of the head grows even slower, so really patchy. dunno when can have a head of full hair
515028.jpg

amy,

there are 2 CDs given together with the flash cards. As you play the CD, flash the story to child. CD will have 4 speeds. Seems that higher speed are reserved for older child according to 1 mummy.
There are 26 stories, starting A to Z.

You can read up the 1st BP thread, some mummies shared on how to use it. Keke... I've not used it with the CD yet as the stories not in alphabetical order. Must print out the title given, then I'll start the CD.

I simply read and flash to my boy.
I have read a few to my boy. He seems to enjoy it. It's a bit tongue twisting to get the sentence out
have fun

If you want, i can email you the titles and sample given.

For mummies who are interested, they have started 2nd printing ,$60 per set :
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449156/514750.html?1158206587

amy,
Really hah, his chubby legs stucked in the bumbo seat when u carry him out ah? Chubby babies very cute and nice to hug... That's the reason why my hubby find it not feasible to buy lor becos our boy also belongs to bigger size. He's 3 mths old but now wearing clothes that are 6-12 mths old. Few days ago, i took out those 6 mths old long jumper suit (those pass down from his cousins), thinking can start letting him wear then to find out 1 of them is tight already, the rests are only just fit. Soon sure cannot wear liao! Luckily those new clothes that i bought for him are of bigger size (6m, 9m, 12m), now i find them 1 by 1 can wear, very happy! He has been wearing new clothes recently!