(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

lyn,

ya its different year of publications

u can get a wide variety of Tiny Love toys from isetan, OR bb hyperstore

amy,
my girl seems to appreciate.... was v happy when the swans came near us!

serene,
no lah, didnt bring them swimming yestetrday... was last friday.

sunflower,
Botanic gdns too cosy for your bb
hee

MTDT,
just weighed my girl- 7.0kg @12wks. pls add for me. tks.

Her appetite seems to have gone down these 2 weeks. she used to drink 5-6oz but lately she seemed full after 3oz.

poohy, lyn, wow... i am also excited hearing how to bring bb swimming. aiyo... cant wait for my book nx week. think my wetsuit will also arrive abt the same time. target to hit the pool before bb turns 4 months.
One question - do you try out in the adult pool or the kids pool? baby pool too shallow for floating with mummy, right?

lyn,
Ya, I even tease my son that he goes holiday, his buttock also on holiday, never poo! haa!
Think I will bring my son to my friend or relative's condo to swim again soon... I love watching his reaction/expression when put him in water.

tinklebell,
oops, hehe, think I've read wrongly. Hope they're better now.

lyn:
my boy still poos a lot daily.
my friend pass me some disposable swim diaper cos her son outgrow it. so will wear it for him, jic
if wear normal top, will bb be cold?

poohy,
if hold bb head when floating so that water don't get into his ears.
then what it meant by submerged? won't water get into bb's ears if we submerge 100% bb's body into water?? (my head swimming in fog water)

tinklebell:
ya lor.. so next time he doesn't want to sleep & mummy tired, i shall bring him to BG for a walk.
keke

amy - wetsuit
where did you get your wetsuit?
went J&E, the thermal suit does not have his size.

stephanie,

try increasing the frequency of your pumps (pump once every 2-3 hours) and let your baby latch on whenever possible. the same thing happened to me 2 weeks back, my supply dropped drastically after a few days of pumping at intervals of 9-10 hours. pig trotters and fish soup are also quite good in increasing milk supply, at least they work for me.. hope this helps.

hi cookiemz

I am now on total EBM. Is it still possible to latch her on? Not sure if she still knoe how to suck leh. The reason why i pump instead of latching is becos she doesnt seem to be full after each feed and wld get frustrated.

Stephanie,
Sometimes when I eat oatmeal with "Shaklee" soy protein, I get engorgement... So I suppose the soy protein increase the milk supply a lot...

amy,
I go straight to the adult's pool. Baby pool too shallow to submerge...

Serene,
It's a book on teaching baby to swim

Sunflower,
If your boy still poo frequently daily, I think it's better not to bring him to the pool yet... Just in case he poo in the pool... What I read about preventing poo from getting into the pool, need to wear swim diaper, plus a snugly fit swim wear on top.
I just use normal top so that when the wind blow, it will not be so cold... hmm... maybe later i go and try the back float and see if my ears do submerge in water... :p

Oh no... the wind is pretty strong now.. and my boy still sleeping... kekeke... I am waiting for him to wake up to go swimming...

lyn,

i got the ball at $10 from the previous mattel warehouse sale before she was borned... i love it so much myself
In fact isetan having a sale on the FP jumperoo now and they give a sensory chime ball for free with it.. so can consider.. i may buy for my girl the jumperoo...

amy,

should go to the adult pool. Its very difficult to swim with bb in the children pool wan.. hehee u must be able to stand and the book states your water should reach your neck.. so even in adult pool u may also need to lean a bit to make sure your head on the same level as your bb's.

me too leh... very excited abt this saturday's swim session with my girl.. prob i will not buy her a swim wear if i cant find a nice one... prob just wear a swim diaper and go in

i am bringing her either to my uncle's condo so that my cousins can play with my son there.. or to the civil service club swimming pool... got warm waterbath over there to bath them after the swim

sunflower,
during submersion of course the head goes into the water
but thats only for 2-3 seconds. The rest of the time spent on floating, u hold bb's head to prevent from submerging
Whenever u submerged, it must be with a cue... let them feel more prepared mah

poohy, lyn... wow so cool... okies. will bring bb there next weekend... but what is a good timing huh? evenings? wow... adult pool... so exciting.

poohy, what cue can we give? tell bb in advance? so fun... bb floating with us. maybe this weekend give him some trial lessons in the tub first. ha ha...
i also want to get a FP jumperoo for bb jake. how much is isetan selling this? when will you start joelle on this? i plan to also get safety first exe.

sunflower, my wetsuit from Oz, ordered via a BP. http://www.bubbaducks.com.au/

re swim wear for bb joelle

Poohy, have you checked out suntec city 3rd floor - seafolly? the bb swim wear quite nice....

poohy, amy,
I go to the 1 meter side of the pool. I kneel down... I am not very confident yet to go to the lap pool with my boy.. Maybe will try if my hubby around cos not so crowded.. and I am not very tall, so the water is at my eye level there :p

amy,
Do you know if there's any shop in Paragon selling swim wear for babies? I am going to Paragon for tea with friends tommorrow

Can you swim? If you can, it should be quite easy and relax

hi amy

how much you pay for it?
does it takes long to arrive?

wonder if it will be faster to get friends to buy in Australia and shipped over?

poohy, lyn, i suspect we are all talking abt the same water babies book - teach your baby the joys of water.... and safe starts in swimming.... see my link above.

lyn, yes, there is one swim wear shop at the kids mall at paragon. i am going to paragon later, will also check out for you.
and yes, i can swim. should be easy and relaxing for me and bb.
cant wait for my book to arrive.... but even if it does not arrive in time, will hit the pool when my wetsuit arrives...

sunflower - i think there is a 20% off the price as seen on the internet, plus shipping, maybe another $10-15? why not you contact the supplier and see if they can send over asap?

amy,
Thank you very much

The two books are by the same author... AMK library has the one Poohy has... Feel like going there now to borrow... lol...
You can swim. Your baby and you will be very relaxed and bond more in the pool
If the book does not arrive before the wetsuit, you can try the floating first
Or get baby used to the water... From the book, getting from the bath tub to the pool is a big step for a baby...

lyn, thanks heaps. your book is the same as the one i attached in the link above? so that should be adequate hor? if you find the other book poohy has useful as well, let me know. will check out where i can buy that.

lyn,

its actually a seat where bb just jump inside

btw, have u introduce addition to aloysius already ? Joelle is almost done with 11-20 dots, I gotta start her on addition next week liao...

amy,

the jumperoo is selling at $169 in isetan now
If i get this, I will likely start her when she is 4 mths old and head very firm. Now her head is firm but gets tired after 5 min... so I wanna phase in slowly... I put her on her bumbo to sit now for a while each evening after her assisted crawl session with me. I think by the time 2 weeks later should be good to put her in exersaucer liao...

the marsden swim school issue out some instruction at the start of the term and in it, they recommended that we say "xxx, 1 2 3, GO." then pour water over the baby's face. This is done at bath time... this way, they will recognise the key word GO to means water coming onto their face etc.
In water, when u get them to move their legs in kicking action, u will use key words like KICK...
use of keywords and cue consistently to help bb understand wat we mean

but i din follow religiously cos my mum bath my girl most of the time.. by the time i home.. no time to bath her..
But I will ask her to say 1, 2 3 before pouring water on her face. When I flip her for tummy time, will also say 1, 2 ,3 I think this way, at least she know when i say that, it means something coming on her way... anticipations mah

ohh i did see the swimwear shop but nothing suitable for joelle leh....

i keep wondering whether i should let her swim with a normal wet suit or a thermal suit.... she is not those type who is afraid of cold easily... my son is afraid of cold though... but even he swim without thermal wear

btw, ya its the same water babies book

lyn,

i saw a shop selling swim suit at paragon 5th floor i think... beside the bb fox shop. I went there twice but din find a suitable one for joelle.. picky mummy...

stephanie,

haha..will try later to feel her gum..mil ask me to give her gripe water but i dun wish for her to depend on tt..

serene,

wah,so fast 2mths got 1st tooth??my gal got the same sign as yours loh..always wana put the finger/fist in n her tongue always like to in n out..n shes drooling..

anybody dropping hair?been dropping alot of hair lately..so sian to wake up each morning n pick up my hair from the bed..argggh..at this rate goes sure botak..hope it stops soon..

angeline,

ya me too dropping hair like mad
so sad... i gently comb thru my hair with my hair will find multiple strands of hair dropping out just like that... last time after giving birth to my boy, i also drop hair like mad... till i go and get my gynae to prescribed something for me... then he recommended the supplement called PILFOOD which is available in pharmarcy..told me it may help... i dunno whether its useful or not though cos i took it for a while only before conceiving Joelle.. so the hormone may had changed in favour ...

Serene,

Wow, ur boy is huge! My ger was 6.6 kg at 3rd mth. At her 4th mth, she was 7.15 kg. The PD already said she is not small, so urs is bigger!!

re: swimming

just to check when we submerge bb 100% in water for that 1-2seconds, will bb know how to hold breathe and not breath in water?

kk,
You know? babies who sleep on their sides will not have very chubby cheeks....My son's cheeks weren't very chubby cos he sleeps on the 2 sides all the time esp during his 1st mth (flat liao), but the back of his head is round, not flat.

lyn,
Wow so chim! A book to teach baby to swim.....

Very sianz! My son breaks his record again! 2 days no poo! I asked him why is it that he's not having his holiday now but his butts on holiday???

tinklebell,

Today's your 1st day back to work, good luck! I'm sure you also miss your kids after being with them for 3 mths...

lyn, just checked, paragon 5th floor, ocean paradise. v nice swim wear for bb... one pc suits for bb boy and gal... can check that out. they also sell thermal wetsuits...

sunflower, i am not sure whether the thermal suits are suitable for infants. seems like the suits not as fun as bubbaducks. what abt you ring them to check? or maybe Lyn can update you as she will be going down today to check out the swim wear.

amy,
I've passed by that shop you mentioned last week too but i didn't walk in to chk the swimsuit for bb. Must be expensive rite?

serene,
My boy never poo for 3 days already... As long as they dun cry in pain or the stools not pebbly, it's fine

amy,
Ok, I will go there later to check it out... Thank you

I brought Aloysius for swim yesterday
I have no time to write too much here now. I have it written in my blog.. http://lnung.blogspot.com/
Next swim for my boy maybe on Saturday.. see how... cos gonna bring him for jab on Saturday morning...

lyn,

wow.. read your blog..
so cute aloysius and his swim session.

looking forward to mine this weekend

also worried about dunking him in the water, what if he don't know to hold breath in water??

serene,
ya lor sian... but ok lah ... those go on smoothly as planned... just managed to express some milk...can get ard 7.5oz for a 5 hr break

sunflower,

If you are not confident and ready in dunking him, better not do it.. Cos baby will feel the fear and turn out not so nice experience..

am new here.

Would like to check with Happysunflower.

Hi Happysunflower,

saw your blog. Nicely done and detailed.

Re the pic of your boy taken during his 2nd swim. Jus wanna asked if your boy is sitting on his own w/0 help?

Do you think its ok to bring bb to swim when the mum, herself dun even know how to swim.

Hope to have your reply.

re: ocean paradise at paragon

hey girls!!! I finally managed to buy a swim suit for my litte Joelle!!!
I feel soooooo happy about it!! Its so sweet but pricey .. $49 ... not a thermal one. I debated within myself for weeks between a thermal one or a normal one, with sleeve or without... finally i decide that my girl is not really that fearful of cold... thus, i think a sleeveless normal swimwear should do and will help prevent overheating (with thermal wear)...

now i just need to get her a swim diaper and then she can start to swim this saturday evening!!!! So excited... my brother and cousins are all ready to be there to help with video taking and photo taking ...its a big event for me

lyn,

aloysius's swim sounds so enjoyable...
I will post Joelle's first swim experience here this weekend

Ever since she was born, my mum or always splash lots of water onto her face... to prepare her for this big day...
she is not only not afraid of cold but had never cry when water is splashed over her head... i hope this means she will love the water

re: dunking

no worries!! the reflex in our babies prevent them from breathing under water.. have faith! The book said that after 6 mths the reflexes starts to wane.... thus before that, the reflexes should still be strong!

Wow, all about babies swimming!

poohy,
What brands are there in the market for swim diaper? Does NTUC sells?

lyn,
Wow 3 days never poo! Very long leh! For mine, 2 days, i'm already worried, worried he will feel uncomfort!

tinklebell,
Glad to hear that things went on smoothly for you.

vivi,
Yes, I just put him on the chair by the pool to take the picture
It's ok to bring baby to swim if the mum do not know how to swim. The most important is the mum dun panic in the water with the baby. Cos baby will feel the panic.

poohy,
Congratulations on finally getting a swim wear for Joelle

I am not going to get a thermal suit too. I am targetting at those kind with sleeve... I think thermal might be too hot for Aloysius.
Yes, he quite enjoyed the swim
kekeke... I think I am ready to dunk him... I poured lots of water on his head during his bath this morning. He did not cry nor get nervous

k k.. gotta get ready to zoom out shopping liao.. tata..