(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Amy
I don't normally pat my bb to sleep.. typically he will feel sleepy at 10pm+, rubbing his eyes.. i juz put him down and he will doze off himself.. he dun take pacifier anymore too..

He will then wake up around 4-5am for his milk..he normally dun cry loudly, juz very soft cry (think he is half awake). So usually my hb will try to pat him to sleep, but i will normally want to feed him considering that his last feed is around 9-10pm+. Dun wan him to lack of milk.

Serene

My gal will be 3 mths old in 2 weeks time.She feeds every 3 hourly.So ended up waking twice every nite......Normally she is the one that started crying for milk, i dun haf to wake her up for one.

Paula,

My son
Milk : formula, 5oz
Feeding interval : 3-4 hrs during daytime. Last feed around 8-10pm, wakes up between 3-5am for next feed.
Motoring skill : His head is 95% stable, actively kicking alot, raised his legs 90 degree when lying down, sucking his hands well.
Oral development : Er, Ar, Ang ger, ke, smile, stick out his tongue. He cried when he wants milk/very hungry and sleepy.
Had his 1st teeth lower front teeth.

Stephanie,
Ya rite, that time, my son also like that. I always say he's the alarm clock, he knows to wake up when time's up!

amy,
wah.. you are fast
I might also buy a copy of the book for reference
Cos the swimming program is in stages... I might forget what I have read in future...
kekeke.. I will be going to the UK... I might consider going for a course there...

Stephanie,
My boy sleeps in the cot or on my bed. Usually, I will put him down when he's half asleep. Then he will fall asleep on his own...

kk,
Wah... Once you start buying lock n lock, cannot resist all the different sizes hor? lol... I also have a few on my dining table for the biscuits and cereals..

Hi everyone, am new here.
This is my baby girl. She is 2+ months. got to shave off her hair coz she has rashes all over her body. been using too much steroid cream. Any suggestion of traditional remedy?
Anyone know of good nanny around Bishan area?
507059.jpg

Lyn,

I was going round and round dunno which size i want haha.. partition or without partition.. i was hesitating... guess wat? I just packed my fridge and find that i dun have enough containers, despite buying 4 big and 2 medium sized ones.. thinking of going metro later to see got discount or not :p

OG quite worth it.. 20% discount on top of offer/nett price.

Paula,

My gal
Milk : formula, 6oz
Feeding interval : 3-4 hrs during daytime. Last feed around 8-10pm, wakes up ard 7plus am for next feed.
Motoring skill : Her head is stable, actively kicking alot,trying to flip when lyin down, sucking her fist and fingers well.
Oral development : Er, Ar, koo, ke, smile n stickin her tongue out. She cries when she wants milk or sleepy

Stephanie, bb jake does not use the pacifier. just now, i just BF him, and he fell asleep, put him down in his cot, pat less than one minute, he fell asleep.

bb jake sleeps at 7pm every nite, latest 7.30pm. Wakes up at 7am. i dunno whether it's my reinforcement, but he sucks his fingers at 1 am, and i will BF him (even when he does not cry). he will drink and then fall asleep. next wakey time will be 5am , when he sucks fingers again (but does not cry), i will give him FM. so if bb sleeps from 7pm to 7am, is it ok not to give him milk in between? dun want to deprive him of his feeds. but i wonder whether i am reading him correctly, suck finger = hunger?

Wah peng... your bb can doze off himself? so cool...

Lyn, ya lor... keen to bring bb jake swimming, so checked online for this book. mph does carry, but need to place order from supplier. $23.10 for the book, still cheaper than buying from Amazon.com.

wow.. how come every bb like progressing so fast? :p

Let's see:
My boy
Milk : EBM, 120ml (4oz)
Feeding interval : 3-4 hrs during daytime. Last feed around 8-10pm, wakes up ard 3-4 am for next feed then continue to sleeps to 6am
Motoring skill : His head is 95% stable, actively kicking alot, sucking his fist and fingers well.
Oral development : Er, Ar, koo, ke, smile n stickin his tongue out. He cries when he wants milk or sleepy or attention! :p

btw, din now sucking fist n sticking out tongue is a development? tot it's a bad habit. :p

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>As of:</TD><TD>5-Sep-06</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>June mummies</TD><TD>Love Nest</TD><TD>Career</TD><TD>Sex</TD><TD>BB's Name</TD><TD>BB's DOB</TD><TD>Age (WEEK)</TD><TD>Current Wt</TD><TD>Feeding </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Yu Jun</TD><TD>21-Apr</TD><TD>20</TD><TD>7150 @ wk16</TD><TD>Wyeth Gold S26 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Jared</TD><TD>15-May</TD><TD>16</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dumex Mamil Gold </TD></TR><TR><TD>amy (toto) </TD><TD>West Coast</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Jake</TD><TD>22-May</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>7000 @ wk12</TD><TD>BM + FM </TD></TR><TR><TD>poohy</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Joelle</TD><TD>22-May</TD><TD>15</TD><TD></TD><TD>BM + Enfalac A+ </TD></TR><TR><TD>MOAP</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Ginelle</TD><TD>23-May</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>7400 @ wk12</TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>syen27</TD><TD>Pasir Ris</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Brian</TD><TD>23-May</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>7900 @ wk12</TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline</TD><TD>Farrer Park</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Celest</TD><TD>26-May</TD><TD>15</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>soh1dful</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Darrell</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>14</TD><TD></TD><TD>BM + FM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Duffybuff</TD><TD>Serangoon</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Jeriel Tay</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>14</TD><TD></TD><TD>BM + Similac </TD></TR><TR><TD>msnanas</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Caden</TD><TD>3-Jun</TD><TD>13</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>muffinmocha </TD><TD>AMK</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Jeremy</TD><TD>3-Jun</TD><TD>13</TD><TD></TD><TD>BM + Enfalac A+ </TD></TR><TR><TD>dor</TD><TD>Upper Thomson</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Mandy</TD><TD>4-Jun</TD><TD>13</TD><TD></TD><TD>Friso </TD></TR><TR><TD>i_panda77</TD><TD>Bukit Timah</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Josh</TD><TD>4-Jun</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>6100 @ wk9</TD><TD>90% BF + 10% FM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Paula</TD><TD>CCK Cres</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>13</TD><TD></TD><TD>BM + Similac </TD></TR><TR><TD>Missk</TD><TD>Jakata</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Kristanto</TD><TD>8-Jun</TD><TD>13</TD><TD></TD><TD>BM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Spicegal</TD><TD>Jurong Eest</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Jerica Ong Ke Yu</TD><TD>8-Jun</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>4250 @ wk8</TD><TD>Nan1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>jojo</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Vanny</TD><TD>12-Jun</TD><TD>12</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>mspiggy</TD><TD>AMK</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Wesley</TD><TD>13-Jun</TD><TD>12</TD><TD></TD><TD>BM + Frisco </TD></TR><TR><TD>MTDT</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Zavier</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>7000 @ wk10</TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tinklebell</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Fiona</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>12</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mum2b</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Felicia</TD><TD>16-Jun</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>4500 @ wk7</TD><TD>BM + FM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michele Tang</TD><TD>Taipei</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Brendan</TD><TD>18-Jun</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>4900 @ wk10</TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hidora</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Isaiah</TD><TD>20-Jun</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>8000 @ wk10</TD><TD>BM + FM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Josephine</TD><TD>Old Airport Road</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>James</TD><TD>20-Jun</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>6000 @ wk10</TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>okipoki</TD><TD>Dover</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Chloe</TD><TD>20-Jun</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>5100 @ wk6</TD><TD>BM + FM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stephanie</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Hui Xuan</TD><TD>21-Jun</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>5200 @ wk7</TD><TD>BM + Friso </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fondue</TD><TD>Thomson Hills</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Reuben</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>11</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shell</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Zhi Yi</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>10</TD><TD></TD><TD>BM + Similac </TD></TR><TR><TD>gina</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Yu Xuan</TD><TD>30-Jun</TD><TD>10</TD><TD></TD><TD>BM + Friso </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

kk,
hahaha... I understand cos I always dun seem to have enough containers after using them... I have both partition and no partitions ones, and also bottles for water
kekeke... we gonna be fans of lock n lock...
Robinsons usually have 20% discount on top of offer price too...

kk,

ohhhh your girl sooooooooooooo cute!!!! I wanna carry and hug her !!
I like her round head... my girl's head not as round... sigh...

amy, lyn,

which book are u all going to buy for the water babies... i think there are 2 leh. One is called Water babies: Teach your baby the joy of water. The other is water babies: safe start to swimming or something like dat... do u all know if any difference?

amy,

I normally get books at kino... but its not in stock there...so i can just call mph to get the book for me ah?? can share with me the mph number u called?

lyn,

i told my hb i am very determined to bring joelle to the pool this weekend liao even though vv busy... got my brother and cousins to stand by to take photo of her debut swim experience. The book said that every session must involve submersion... so that's what i am going to do

sunflower,

why need to wait 2 more weeks ?
The book said that the optimal time to intro them to the pool and swimming is 6-14 weeks.

poohy,
oops... I did not know there are two books called "water babies". I borrowed the latter... Which one did you borrow?

Oh every session must involve submersion ah... The weather looks good today
I might bring Yu for a swim later today
He's now having his nap. hmm... I will be alone with baby, so nobody to take photo
I can't wait for my hubby... kekeke... he's only free on weekends and at nite... aiya... cannot take pictures of his expression at first submersion...

The latter is published by British... I will be going to UK end of this year... kekeke... I even thought of going there for a course on how to teach.. lol...

Good Morning!

Talking abt swimming... i just brought my kids to play in th swimmining pool on Friday n after that both r down with runny nose

kk, your girl is so cute... ya i also like her round round head.... the haircut suits her v much

Feeling sian... last day of my ML. went to buy lock n lock containers yesterday. There is a promotion at shop n save. Bought 3 2.1-2.6L boxes 3for $24.90. I'll use that to store my pump.

I dunno if you gals will believe or not... Just something to share:
I read from a book by Shichida on how to nurture "tian cai er tong" stating that shouldn't keep a baby too warm. A little bit of cold is good to stimulate their body senses. So I think going to the normal pool we have here is fine...
Dun follow me blindly hor...
Whenever I go out with Yu, I never wear all the long sleeves for him... lol... then I get other grandmas or mothers asking me if my boy is cold... but he still can sleep... so I think it's fine

u can try going to botanic gardens with your bb.... we went on Sunday and my girl loves it! She loves looking at at swans, fishes swimming and the dogs there!! She was also v curious of her surroundings...keep looking at the small waterfall with her eyes big big! v cute!
I love such places... will probably bring her to the bird park soon... i love the sanctuary where u could interact with the birds!

lyn, the big one is taking medicine is recovering and the small one sucking more milk to help her recover :p I am quite surprised that everytime she sucks milk, her mucous flow is less the few hrs that follow. That will be her medicine..hee hee

tinklebell,

hope they recover soon..
I brought my girl and boy to the botanical garden few weeks ago... the air is very fresh and i think they are quite ok with it... just mummy dun like it ... cos i am not a "nature" person... scared got mosquitoes etc

lyn,

me too never dressed my girl in long sleeve or pants since birth 99% of the time. The exceptions are on rare heavy rain and we need to go out .. and my mum insist... Else, she wears rompers all the time ... including sleep time... normally we dun even cover her with blanket if the fan is on... only when the air con is on, then i will cover her with blanket if i myself wake up and feel cold hehee

she is quite chubby so i think she got enough fat to keep herself warmer on her own liao

I got the first water babies book... i wonder whether i need to buy both ... sian the first one more exp cos i think its hard cover... but the published date of the 2nd is later..

poohy,
haha... u dont like that ar? hee hee .... i'm the opposite... i love nature
love going to the gardens, zoo, bird park etc etc... also brought my kids to the goat/ frog / fish farms recently.
Once i even carried my boy and walk up the Bukit Timah Hill...siao right!

tinklebell,

wished i am as much a nature person as u... from young, I am always a bookworm... there is nothing i like to do more than sit and read my books... I dun like sweating lah which is inevitable in singapore weather outdoor. My hb is direct opposite of me.... he loves nature ... he used to live in kampong settings lah... keep urging me to bring the children to beach, zoo, farm, park etc... I trying to ... as much as possible... its good for them.

poohy,
u love books? good lor.. i've been trying to make myself love books for a long time but seems like a leopard will never change it's spots. Hiaz... when i read a novel, i dont seem to be able to go past the first chapter
Even until now, my mother will nag at me saying why dont i read? **aiyo** Hee...think my mum would love to have a kid like u :p
Even as a kid, i hated going to school....used to play traunt once when in kindergarten. my Grandpa sent me to school but when he turns around, sneaked out to play and walk home on my own... when he came home, he shocked to see me :p
A lot of pp cant believe i was like that when i was young cos i went on later to do quite ok in school... hahaha!
But i am trying v hard to make my son love books. Sad thing is that he doesnt seem to be interested.... he cannot sit still even when we bring him to the library.... always urging me to bring him to sweat it out at Safra Toa Payoh. He loves the tarzen swing there!

tinklebell,
kekeke... breast milk is your gal's best medicine...
I feel like bringing my boy to the zoo since I stay so near the zoo.. but I dunno if he will appreciate...
I am also not a bookworm... I never finish a storybook or novels in my life.. lol.. last time, when need to write book review weekly, I just copy.. haha... I do read non-fiction books and magazines, but not novels... I will fall asleep at the first page...

poohy,
Last nite, it's the very first time I wear long pants for my boy.. lol.. my mum insisted and my hubby not around... hahaha... We switch on the air con every nite (not very good, but it's too hot), and he will just wear diaper and a top, and sleep between us. I did not buy blankets for my boy... lol... I am never bothered that he's cold :p I think when it's uncomfortable, he cannot sleep and will definitely complain... :p Partly also too engrossed in other things to bother about that.. Now I am looking into toys to buy...

Talking about bringing babies to the beach.. My dad eagerly waiting for my boy to be able to walk. Then he wanna bring my boy to the East Coast park and places he used to bring us when I was young... lol...

hi mtdt,
pls help to add.. my bb current weight is wt6100@wk12 ht59.5cm.
tks!

hi tinklebell,
oh botanic gdn.. was suggesting to my hb to bring bb there when we bk fm krabi next wk.
heard tat it's so much nicer now after the renov.

poohy, i am getting this book on water babies from mph: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/customer-reviews/1842159860/ref=cm_cr_dp_pt/104-7186827-7571100?ie=UTF8&amp;n=283155&amp;s=books

I hope it's the correct book that you are recommending.

You can go to mph's website, and check out its branches. Select a branch where you would like to pick up the book, and ring them, providing them the ISBN no. They will take 7 working days to order the book in.

Wah... you bringing joelle for her first swim this weekend? where are you bringing her? hmm... my infant wetsuit is not here yet. will bring jake swimming once it's here. submersion...can i start at home in our long bath?

celia, welcome to the thread.
How's isabelle doing after her 5 in 1?

poohy, tinklebell, will our bbs enjoy botanical garden now? every morning and evening, bb jake will be pushed around in our garden, but seems like he is not very happy in his pram leh.... maybe the garden too small.. no swan...

poohy, lyn, care to share how to embark bb on his first submersion?

lyn, what toys are you looking at buying?

yesterday i bought 4 bath books for bb jake at mph.
wonder whether he will enjoy them. maybe can bring them along on his first swim outing.

poohy,

really can start now? cos I thought must wait till baby 3 mths old then start.

can I dump him straight in the pool or must i start with tub at home ?

amy,
That's the book I borrowed and read

I want some toys that is educational. Actually, I am also not very sure which type of toys to buy for this age. I have lots of rattles already. Do you know whether there's some "hangers" that I can use to hang soft toys above the baby cot for baby to see and kick??

poohy,
Who's the author of the other "water babies" book?

amy,
It's recommended to start in the long bath. Let baby get used to water and float in the water. Before submersion, gotta give baby a cue. Immediately after the cue, must submerge, else baby get confused. And only submerge for 2-3 seconds. Not longer than that for the first submersion. Must submerge deep enough else baby get confused. At the first one, baby will looked shocked. It best that the mother submerge togather with baby. I also read that no need many toys during the swim. The aim is for baby to relax and bond with the parents. Gotta go down to the pool slowly and hold the baby so that he will feel secured.

For me, I hug my boy when I walk down from the shallow part of the pool to the deeper part. It gotta be gradual introduction of water. When he got used to the water, I slowly let him float - front and back. And slowly to let him float with just one hand supporting his head
. I shall try submersion later.. let you know how it goes again

At any time, if baby cries, gotta give him a hug and assure him. Try not to panic in the pool, else baby will feel that too. In the swimming program, it's also building the parent-baby bonding and trust.

sunflower,
I started to wash baby's face with more water at home during bath time. And recently, pour water over his head and face... lol... He slowly got used to having water over his face

Sunflower,
After I read the book, I felt a bit "kan cheong" that it will get too late to introduce water to baby... lol... Best is between 6 - 16 weeks... My boy is 13 weeks already... Anyway, KS mommy here :p

lyn,
wow,.. i better start washing his face with more water now.
he doesn't like it when i wipe his face at every bath time. if wipe too long, he will show his unhappy face

where do you get thermal suit for your baby?
or just normal swim diaper will do?

kk,
Your gal is so adorable! She is chubby and fair and really love her round head...She looked so sweet with her pink hair band. So good to have a gal, can dress her up always! Come to think of it, I would wish to have a gal the next time... hmm...

tinklebell,
Today's your last day of maternity leave ah? Fast hor? U need some time to adjust yourself after back to work lor. Yesterday's a rainy day yah? I think there's no sun, why bring them swimming? I hope your kids get well soon.

This morning, i just brought my son to the polyclinic for jab. He's brave, didn't cry much, his short cry sounds more like frustrated that someone disturbed his sleep....
Now, i just hope that he won't have fever....*pray* Btw, he's 7.3kg now at 3mths old. The nurse says his weight is of average range. Doctor says he's well fed.

re: swimming

hehe think lyn answered most questions liao

lyn,

mine is also the same author FREEDMAN... she got 2 books

for toys to hand stuff over the cot... maybe u can look into Tiny Love... they got an arch (red color) meant for hanging toys in the cot.

I love Tiny Love toys ...they are v good especially for babies below 6 mths of age... I got most of their toys for my boy and now my girl is using them... the famous ones are the musical mobile, gyminis, windchime...

Recently fisher-price launches a series of Miracles &amp; Development toys!! I find them vv good too.. but very pricey... I bought the 3 soft blocks from this series for my girl... she love them.... and there is mirror which I will buy for her tomorrow... i find it will be great for tummy time...
There is a FP sensory chime ball (look at my blog http://poohybaby.blogspot.com) and u will see the ball.. i find the color very distinct and really good for their age leh... my girl love it a lot.

I started putting my girl to sit in her bumbo seat yesterday night... i think she really enjoy the view sitting up on her own..

btw, do share how it goes for aloysius's first submersion!!
feel so excited abt my girl's coming swim... after I read the book i wanna fly straight to the pool... but gotta work *sad hehe.. me also ks mummy so we can shake hands

sunflower,
My boy also dun like me to wipe his face at first. I started to wash his face with water. Then more and more water to wash...

I did not get thermal suit. hee... haven't found one, but too "kan cheong" to bring him swimming.. I just let him wear a top and a pre-folded diaper. I know he's not going to poo

Does your baby still poo often?

lyn,

You tried letting your baby lie down on his back floating in water? Won't the water gets into his ears??? I only let my son dip half of his body in the pool.

serene,

think u r supposed to use your hands to hold the baby's head to make sure it dun submerged under water when he float

lyn, sunflower,
Same here, i only let my son wore a singlet top and a short, never even let him wear diaper. haha. Ya rite, now their bowel is stronger, they won't poo so many times. On average, my son poo on alternate days. That time, I brought him to Bintan Island, he left his buttock at home, haha, 2 days never poo! :p

poohy,
Oh.. Freedman got 2 books... hmm... Is it different year of publication?

I have a Tiny Love windchime and my boy loves it very much. I also have another Tiny Love for the stroller, but still in the storeroom... Do you know where got a wide range of Tiny Love toys? I went to Tangs last weekend, but I cannot find the one for baby cot...

haha... I also felt very excited after reading the book... Yesterday wanna bring my boy for a swim again, but it was raining.. Now waiting for him to wake up. Feed him, then go swimming with his "por por"

Serene,
Poohy has answered your question
Gotta use hand to support baby's head. At the start, use one hand to support the head, and the other the buttock. Slowly when you gain more confidence, remove the hand at the buttock. Baby will float freely. kekeke... There will be "accidents". I used one hand to support the head for both back and front float. He tasted the water a few times during front float... :p

kekeke... we are very "daring" hor... I have no time to go shopping. Probably will go shopping again tomolo and weekends

hahaha.. the way you describe your boy "left his buttock at home" is so funny... lol...

Ladies on total EBM, if you missed certain pump times and the supply reduces in subsequent pumps, is there any remedy to it? After missing some pump times over the weekend, i realise that my supply is low both yesterday and today. Not sure if it's becos i am tired as well.

Also, other than fernugreek and oats, are there any other ways to increase MS?