(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

kite,

if u latch baby direct, baby will get "FRESH" milk. For EBM, the nutrients in the milk will decrease due to storage. I think there will still be antibodies in EBM. Best not to store EBM for too long.

I am also using the PIS cooler bag & the blue ice pack that comes with it. Put the ice pack in the freezer when not in use. It can keep the EBM cold for 12 hours.

I will use hot water to rinse my pump just before i need to use it. Me use hand to assemble the pump. I don't ask permission, i just go when i am free.

kite

the difference is, the more the baby latches on, your milk supply will increase. However for EBM, even if you express frequently, the supply will eventually decrease.

kite:
i use hot water to wash and put in bag right after.
Before use, never use hot water to sterilise again.
i Use hand to use and assemble.
Just wash your hands before touching the equipment.

When I first start work, informed my boss that i'll be expressing milk during work time & duration. after that i just go as required and
never ask already.

i_panda:
Hmm so how about those 2 mths EBM in freezer? nutrients wil decrease rite but no choice hv to stock up for standby hor?

stephanie:
i m latching my baby early morning n at nite b4 she slp, while slping or after feed, i wil pump. i hv frens whom babies cant latched n they r stil pumping very well n maintain or increase their milk ss.

sunflower:
after u use hot water, u put in bag, PIS bag or ziplock bag? must use clean hands hor. huh? b4 u start to pump again, u never use hot water to sterilise again ah.
i think i got headache on e sterilising part.

kite

isit? hope it will apply to me as well cos i am one of them that baby doesnt latch well and i have to fully express.

kite

i think you dun haf to worry too much...u will grabra a bit initially, but soon you will get use to sterilising in ofc...

for me, it's 'dirty eat dirty grow'. i sterilise with hot water but will just use my hands to place the funnels into a pot.....pot will not be covered....then when next pumping time comes, will just take them out

stephanie:
yes they r expressing very well n more amount than me leh. dun tink it wil decrease if pump diligently. keep it up

kite,
don't worry too much. take things step at a time.
don't get too stressed out
ok

i use those big big transparent bag. not even ziplock haha.. but going to buy soon
and also locknlock container to put in office.

not able to obtain v.good sterilizing condition
in office. just make the best of what's available.

Went to JB last Fri- wkend w/o kids, w/o HB, just with a galfren, hehe. But spent sooo much time pumping (Avent manual), in the end despite being sooo careful to massage and clear and use hot bath to facilitate... still kanna painful lumps by Sunday. I even kanna blue-black bruise from massaging too vigorously. I dumped the milk cos too troublesome to store and transport lah- not very much, 500-700ml in 24hrs only. Funny thing is, after being so rough with them, when I got home and used my PIS, milkflow much faster! Now I'm back to latching and pumping

antibodies in EBM..

i thought if place in refrigerator bottom, antibodies still available.
only when frozen in freezer then no more?

Hi kk,

Your baby is really cute esp i really like the shape of her head, so round and she looked good with the shave. I've voted for her. I had also put up my son's pic.

kite,

mine is PIS advanced, same as yours right?.. when i start pumping, i go straight into let down mode and pump 10 mins.. enuff time for about 2 to 3 let downs. for me, if i pump 10 mins or pump 20 mins, the milk volume is about the same, so stick to 10 mins to save time.

after sterilising my funnels and bottles, i put them into a clean plastic container (lock n lock or ziploc etc) and use them for my next pump without sterilising again. think it's okay, as long as we wash our hands with soap everytime we handle the bottles.

i do freeze the blue ice pack and my office fridge is quite cold, but somehow if i stay outside for 2-3 hours after work, the next day some of the milk will have an oil smell, my gal will reject the milk and i have to throw them away. this has happened a few times and i think it has to do with the cooler bag..

serene,

Actually my girl's back of the head pretty flat liao leh
But i keep telling her it is ok lah, next time grow hair nobody bothers liao :p

kk,

think i will shave my gal's hair when she reaches 4th month.. can't wait for her to have proper hair.. keke.. now, my mum applies olive oil to her scalp everyday, her hair grew abit, but only selectively lor!! btw why do pple either shave babies hair on 1st month and 4th month? some kind of tradition?

my gal's hair stands up and she looks like an onion. anyway to make it go flat? shaving helps? sigh... but i really dont wish to shave her hair.

tinklebell,

I do believe shaving will make the hair nicer. My hubby's good friend has two daughters and they dun bear to shave their hair so now the hair doesn't look as nice as other kids who had their hair shaved.

Hey, actually my ger look nicer with botak head haha.. so i didn't regret shaving her hair at all

Cookiemz,

Ya.. guess it is tradition.

kk,
Oh, your gal sleep flat on his head since at beginning huh? My gf's son's head also very flat due to that. My son's not, cos he loves to sleep on his sides since at birth. I've heard that once reach 3 mths, the head's shape is stable, so though now he likes to sleep flat on his head sometimes, but i heard won't be affected much.

tinklebell,
Your gal's hair is very nice, so i can understand why you can't bear to shave her. I also can't bear to shave my son but only for the reason that he had alot dandruff stuffs and hair drop quite alot, that's why i intend to shave him but i think i will keep his baby hair, maybe to make taimaobi (hair brush).

kk,
Your gal indeed looks good in botak cos she has a nice round head.
My mum kept telling me that my son will look nice in botak too cos his face quite round.....but i do agree that how many times will we actually shave them, perhaps it's only this once and at this young age is ok, is cute anyway but not when he's bigger.

hmm.. then i won't do it so early then. i'm not local (indonesian), n every baby girl born there got their ear pierced very early, like day 1 or 2 in the hospital. that's why my mum is bugging me :p

hidora,
wow ur baby 8kg @ 2.5mths! seems my girl is very small if not the smallest among june bb

her appetite is average, plus my hubby always worried that she become too fat. told him that june bbs in the forum are bigger but he won't listen to me..
btw anyone know how to increase appetite in babies?

kk,

Yup, normal digital scale.

Mum2B,

I think bb by 3rd mth must double their weight during birth. So if your bb is 3 mth and has hit double, shld be ok.

wa.. all the photos of cute babies here really brighten up my day

hidora,
wa.. 8kg at 2.5mths... My baby is only 6.5kg at 2.5 months from my weighing scale...

mum2B,
Do you carry your baby a lot? I read that babies grow fast with stimulation and closeness with mothers... I am not sure how true...

poohy,
It's a very interesting book
The first session can dunk baby already but only 2-3 seconds. kekeke.... I read about that after the swim...
This morning, I managed to pour water on my boy and he never cry.. hahaha... I will try dunking him in the next swim

Re: Giveaways
I have some baby stuffs (new) which i do not use. Thinking of giving away to those poor family(ies). Does anyone know who i can contact, any society in particular?

re: 3rd month maternity leave

anyone here having problem clearing their 3rd month entitlement? my boss is giving me a hard time clearing the 3rd month leave...
asked me to defer to next year

amy,
It's interesting and helpful
I think the method suggested is in line with "attachment parenting" which I am practicing... It tells you the steps you should take to get baby to the pool and the things to look out for

Lyn, cannot locate the book at Kino. Placed an order with mph. takes 7 working days to arrive. look forward to reading the book.

Do your babies sleep in cradle (sarong) or cot. For cot, do you need to pat them to sleep or they just fall asleep on their own?

Currently my baby sleeps on mattress over at nanny's place. However when she is home, we need to use the cradle to rock her before she falls asleep. We can never lay her on the bed directly.

Anyone got any suggestion on how to rectify this? I really dun wan her to be over-reliant on the sarong.

any babies here teething already?coz not sure if mine is..she been vv cranky n naughty since sun..been screaming n jerking her head n scratching it violently..not sure if its teething.shes 3mths n 1week old.

serene,

Haha, then my ger's head is flat liao.. now 4.5 mths still flat :p And she only starts to love to turn her head and sleep on the side now.

Lyn,

Guess what? I went to OG crazy shopping just now (for the OG card.. need to spend $75 at least) and bought around $70 worth of lock n lock containers!!!! Now going to pack up my fridge liao heehee..

angeline

did u try feeling her gum with your finger to see if there is any 'sharp' edges. My gal was also cranky 2 weeks back and reduced her feed. Mum did this and said that she is not teething yet. She then suggested that i get some 'sweet syrup' from medicinal shop to clean her gum....but i have yet to try this though....BTW, if baby is teething, can use infacol teething syrup..heard it's useful

re: water babies

really a very good book imho... i think its worth owning a copy... i wanna buy too even though i am reading the borrowed from library copy now

Angeline,

I'm not sure how's teething looks like but my son already started growing his 1st teeth since 2 mths old. He's now 3 mths old. So far, i only noticed that he likes to eat his drumlets (his hands) and recently, he stick out his tongue very often.... :p Other than this, he's ok.

Stephanie,
There's a period, my son was quite cranky and i've no choice but to put him in sarong too. But after he fell asleep, i let him sleep for another 1/2 - 1 hr, i carried him up and put him back to his cot. Unless he cried very long, then we put him in sarong, if not, we tried to avoid it. That lasted for about 1 wk plus only. Now, we almost never touch the sarong. We only pat him to sleep on our hands and soon he fell asleep with the pacifier and we put him down to his cot.

hidora,

Wow, your baby is big, 8kg at 2.5mths! I put my baby on a normal weighing scale a week ago, think he's about 7kg at 11 weeks.

Serene

Is your son able to suck and hold on to the pacifier? For my gal, whenever she sleeps sideway in the cradle, she is not able to suck well and the pacifier will drop. The moment it drops, she wakes up...this can be frustrating at times, really feel like tying it to her mouth :p

Do you remove the pacifier once he is asleep?

Re: sleeping through at nite

i have a question - should i feed bb when he sucks his finger at nite, even if he does not cry? not sure, cos jake's been waking up at 1am and 5am, and i usually feed him when he wakes up. Should i just leave him alone in his cot since he din cry? if he's hungry, he will cry rite?

Amy

For me, i will not feed if she didnt cry. So far, my gal has been waking up and crying at 2am and 5am...thus need to feed

Serene, i also pat pat jake in his cot to sleep. my hb does not approve of my patting him to sleep. he says jake should learn to fall asleep by himself.
without patting... but, how to train him?

Amy

Does your son uses pacifier? Normally babies will fall asleep on their own, if the pacifier is thrust into their mouth...

Is the cot in your room or does your baby sleep alone in another room? Normally how long do u need to pat him to sleep?

Hellow Mummies,

Long time no chat... my gal is 3 mths old today. Since last week, she has been attempting sit up position ... she will raise her head and legs up from the pillows and mattress (or rockers at times)....

BTW, Florence has reverted. For those mummies who are interested in purchasing Pigeon clothings, could you let me have the code nos of pictures? She will try to get a discount for us. MSN me or email me at [email protected]

stepanie,
My boy has this problem too that time, the pacifier always drop and he cried again, i got so pissed that i felt like tying it to his mouth too haha! Now he sucks well already. Most of the times when he's deep asleep, he will spit out the pacifier.

Shall we compare notes to track our bb's development?

My Gal
Milk: Formula, 125ml
Feeding Interval: 3 to 4 hours during day time. Last feed at 9pm. Wake up at 5 or 6am for milk.
Motoring skils: Can turn on her stomach, attempting sit-up position, can punch and kick.
Oral development: Oh, Ar, E, Er, boo ... chuckle when she is happy ... scream when she wanted something

stephanie,
How old is your gal? When my son at 2mths old, he also wake up twice in the midnight too. Now he don't, if i wake him up to drink at 12MN or 1am, the next feed will be 7-8am. Sometimes i didn't wake him up for feed at 12MN, so he will wake up for feed at 3-4am, but i'm fine with waking up for 1 feed in the midnite.

Amy,
Sometimes when my baby is too tired n crying, immediately i put in the pacifier in his mouth, he closed his eyes. Now is very easy, he's more stable.

Stepanie,
Babies have their periods too! After awhile, she will change her habit again, maybe you just have to bear with it for now that she's cranky. Definitely, for her now, the sarong is a MUST, it sooth her, dun let baby cry too much. I believe that once they cry alot, they like to cry... Try ways to pacify her.