(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

kk,
u mention walker can affect walking skills ar? really? as my MIL kept on saying can buy walker for bb liao .. for him to learn WALK ... alamak.. even my hb also agree to buy ... as i told him i want to get exersaucer.. he dun want leh.. keep on ask mi to give him reason why walker no good ! already told him will affect walking... etc but he still want proof wor .. arghhhhhhhh really want to kill him..

again shaving... i want to shave my boy during 4th mth which is next sun (count as chinese) .. my my MIL enrol my boy for babyshow in nearby CC in coming oct .. den both of them dun want to shave ! as my MIL say later so UGLY ! and wait DOC will scold?!?!!??!? duhzz ... and my stupid hb also say just trim short will do then after bbshow then shave??? so late !! or he say shave tomolo?? i say next week lah as 4th mth mah.. he again ! ask mi to give him one reason .. why must wait till 4th mth, how i know why must 4th mth but traditional way is either 1st or 4th mah .. .. duhzzzzzzzzzz really want to slap him .. anyone know why must either 1st or 4th? so that i can shut his mouth !

been bz for the past few days..thanks for all the concern..bb celest almost back to her usual self..found that her temper really v short these few days.been screaming her head off..

tink my bb for the past 2 days milk intake drop quite alot.halfway thru BF,she will scream n cry n then the nipple will drop out n making a mess on her face..put her back to breast,oso cry..haiz..feed her FM,drink 20ml only!! n then she will go off to zzz.hopefully all these will past soon else i sure go craZY.

Oh,btw,all the bbies got tummy time already har?me haven leh..lazy to start her.hehe..end up her neck still not steady n she cant hold her face up when on her tummy.seen all your bbies pick, so envious..must start 2morow liao..

celk,

haha..maybe i go over ur house this week n let ur hb see me with my bandage n all the wounds then he will scare..better get 1 n start train her to be in it.n hor,fasten ur seatbelt hor even though u at the back..i took the front seat as the car backseat v squeeze.hard to manipulate the bb.hmm,oh ya,u started work liao,how to go over?

kite:
washing up -
I use hot water and bottle cleaner for the funnel.

for bottles: i'll bring the number of bottles i need for the day.

Hazel,

Got one mummy shared saying that walker will delay walking development of bb because bb becomes too dependent on it. What i heard some years back is that bb in walkers tend to walk backwards instead of front. But then hor, dunno how true lah haha.. my neighbour also say can put bb in walker liao heehee... but then i know i will never get one for her at home :p

kk,
ur bb so chubby n cute.. so u shaved her 2 times?

anyone pierce baby girl's ear yet? where to do it? how's the experience? worried it will be to painful.. but my mom already asked me several times to do it..

mum2b

how cum your mom asked you to pierce so early? Thot we can actually wait till they are in K1 or even primary school?

mum2Be,

Oh no no.. we only shaved her once close to her 4th mth. Her hair growing liao heehee...

I definitely won't be piercing my bb's ears. i dun pierce mine in the first place, so dun dare to do it on her :p

But why must pierce??

kk, okie, vote liao! v nice haircut. u cut it yourself?

mum2B, pierce bb's ears? aiyo so painful.... not now lah.

missk, my girl will look around, "talk" by saying er er er when u talk to her until she is v bored, she will cry and insist we carry her lor.

Kite, your office sounds like mine. Got no fridge, microwave and hot water comes fr pipe. I have bought a mini fridge fr Giant. Think i will bring that to office and place it below my desk.

Anyone using lock and lock containers? can put withstand hot water? am thinking of buying that to put my breastpump so that after pumping, i can either use that to soak the pump in hot water.

tinklebell,
sometimes early in the morning, when i reach office can pump 160ml. Then afternoon maybe 100ml. It all depends on the interval..if interval longer, can pump more. If drink more fluid, more also

I will be going to KL in Oct with hubby for friend's wedding for 3 days. Won't be bringing baby along. But one thing, pump already cannot bring the milk back cos no place to freeze. think the hotel fridge dun have freezer. Ha ha...my friend said give the milk to my hubby do facial. But very wasted hor...hopefully my supply won't drop

kite,

i am using picasa... u can go to www.picasa.com i think to download... or do a search on yahoo for it
its free.

we clean bb's tongue twice or more daily... my mum say else she will get ulcer easily...

rE: exersaucer

since u all considering exersaucers... i attached the 2 i have ... can also take into considerations

505626.jpg

505627.jpg

505628.jpg

poohy,

Hey, u also got one music gym (can't remember exact name) for ur bb

My ger loves the music, but then no interaction with it yet.

kk,

ya thats one of the gym i have... my boy still like to bang on the keys at times now.... i am starting to let my girl play with now... but she's sleeping most of the time when we got home... in my mum's house she will play with her tiny love total playground gymini.... i attached a tiny love electronic musical mobile on the gymini and she love it

your girl looks so cute... i like her chubby look...

Poohy,
I managed to borrow "Water babies" from the library
It's stated that that book is for babies up to 12 months only... Quite an interesting read... It is recommended to start the swimming in the bathtub at home... Have you got a swimming suit for Joelle?

mtdt,
The older folks belief when babies drink and sleep, they will grow faster...
So dun worry too much...

kite,
You going back to work already ah?
My mum does clean my boy's tongue. I am too lazy to go that sometimes...
I enjoy playing water with him more
so most of the times forget to clean...

amy,
I also have problems of bust being too big...

carebear,
Wah... So fast baby can take cereals already? Does your boy spit the cereal out? Or he can swallow already?
I read that babies gotta be at least 16 weeks before introducing semi-solids cos they still have some tongue reflux (I forgotten what it's called)... and also their digestive system not mature enough...

angeline,
Babies build up their neck strength pretty fast one...
And you can see the difference by the days...

tinklebell,
I am a fan of lock and lock containers... lol... They are microwaveble, so can withstand hot water...

poohy,
Your exersaucers look so interesting... Where did you get them? are both the leapfrog?

Lyn,

Me crazy over lock n lock containers too! And guess wat? Now by collecting new moon chicken essence boxes, can redeem lock n lock containers. So i tell hubby to help me drink more so that i can collect more haha!

I always wanted to get one whole set when on sale at john little sales. Maybe wait for the next sales.

Poohy,

Ur ger looks very strong!!! My ger still slouch front and back, like bu dao weng haha..

kk,
hahaha... I will buy the lock and lock containers set everytime there's sale at John Little or Robinsons... lol... I never seem to buy enough of those containers.. hahaha.. I already have 3 picnic sets and my containers seem to go "missing"... lol... I think mostly in my fridge and freezer.. I dare not tell my hubby I need more lock n lock...

Lyn,

i started this interest when i made cookies for CNY 2 yrs back. I bought lock n lock containers to keep those cookies.. haha..

i dunno where my containers went to too.. i gave one to colleague.. the rest dunno go where... funny.. and i dun use them in the fridge either..

Hmmm, now i must keep 12 boxes of chix essence to redeem one party set leh.. then suddenly i told hubby why not i just get one party set from JL sales, less hassle and cheaper haha..

Anyway, new moon package one container with each box of chix essence.. so every box of essence i buy, i get to keep one lock n lock container LOL

kk,

that baby in the pic i posted is my boy last year when he was 4-5 months old... not my girl hehee... she is still not strong enough for this

lyn,

i wanna borrow the book also leh!!! and i got no bath tub at home so my girl cant swim in it... but we now swim 1-2 times every week during weekends... so she will have ample chance to swim ...err once i get her a swimwear.. last weekend was simply too busy cos my son got playgroup outing at sentosa and then his normal swim lesson, shichida class plus a trial class at growing up gifted.... vv busy! ... i still cant make up my mind wheter to get her a thermal wear instead... argh

the first exersaucer is from safety 1st. It cost ard $99 or $100 depending on whether there is sale etc... i cant remember the price liao...

the 2nd exersaucer is from baby einstein... it cost $299 i think. You can get it from firstfewyears at paragon... they have 1 on display there too. http://www.firstfewyears.com.sg/pdtDetails.asp?pid=258

Hi Poohy, wow ... ur gal got 2 exersaucers! Wat a doting mum. Btw, how many mths is ur gal? My boy can't seem to be able to manuveur so freely like urs.

Hi Lyn, no worries, the EYS cereal we gave is not even paste or solid food. We cooked 1 teaspoon of d powder into 60ml of liquid paste (liquid enough to be suckled from the teat) and w mix 60ml of FM. He drinks it from a bottle instead of feeding w a spoon.

Oh yes, even the PD at the Polyclinic said it's fine to start my boy on it. My only concern is possible allergies, so I told my mum to maintain 1 tsp for 3 days & observe him. We gave him as it seems his appetite is dropping, and he may be sick of the milk taste. Si Shen is supposed to be helpful in improving appetite.

Hi kk, ur mum's brown rice is love-filled ... so much work! The EYS brown rice is very fine and smell good too, I tried a few drops taste gd too. My boy din rejects it, guess he likes the taste ba ... we mix it with FM so he won't reject FM for good. We have a lot of faith in EYS quality ... my mum always worries the Si Shen from unknown medicinal halls are fake ... that's why.

Exersaucer: So exciting, can't wait to put my boy into one, do anyone of you know if Robinson sells it?

mspiggy

u can get it from the main office at gateway. For me, i actually squeeze some lime/lemon and mixed it with water till 200ml (i think, as per instructed).

carebear..

LOL actually the pic is my boy's photo taken last year.... ya my girl got 2 exersaucer inherited from her gorgor. Hmm i need 2 because cant carry around... need one at my mum's place and the other at my own place. My girl also cant play in the exersaucer yet... will try with the bumbo first
she's just 3month 1 week old..

kk,
hahaha... Go get one set from John Little during sales... very easy and faster... lol... My sis bought lock n lock to keep her cameras... My cupboard also got a stack of "gan liang" in those containers... very colorful.. lol... black beans, soya beans, red beans, black glutinous rice, etc etc..

poohy,
I read from the book, swimming gotta be consistent. at least 1-2 times a week... Hey, Bishan library just opened last Saturday and I went there to grab the book.. lol.. brand new some more and latest edition. There's one more on the shelf when I was there...
maybe you can check out the catalogue online...
The baby einstein exersaucer looks very interesting. How long did your boy spent in it? How long can it last till?

carebear,
Oh I see... So it's just like cereal milk...

carebear,
when can we start brown rice/ cereal? my mum asked me to intro brown rice paste too but i dunno how and whr to get? my bb now is 3mths..can start so early?

kk:
oic so exesaucer wont strain bb's legs hor cos i dun wish to let her use walker, heard it may delay walking. or exesaucer is just for playing oni ah. is leapfrog or safety 1st better? in terms of function n attraction? so ur bb loves sitting in it, usually wil enjoy herself for how long?
so u bot new office clothings since u cant fit most of ur old ones?

Carebear29:
hey how r u? i m fine. Do u hv msn so that we can chat? Btw did u go for Hep B n rubella jabs as advised by Dr. YC? u gg for e jabs outside or at her clinic? me gg polyclinic cos cheaper. u? Btw hows ur boy?
btw sorry may i know y against tongue cleaning? is rice cereal considered solid food? thot 6 mths, then introduce solid food?

Amy:
same here. so u bought or tailor made alot of shirts? i hvnt buy yet, stil got 2weeks+ to go, abit panic. where u bot nice shirts? i dun intend buy too much 1st, see my wght 1st. me stil got 3 to 4kg to go. e fat mainly on my thighs, hips n bust. all my shirts cant button up.

Last 2 weeks, i did 5 session of malay massage n my tummy is smaller. I waited til so long cos mine csect. If i never did e massage, my tummy stil very big. Now everyday i wil apply cream n bind my tummy b4 i go bk to work n it helps abit.

Sunflower:
ya i hv bot rechargable batteries, will use it at home for trial first on how long can it last. Sometimes at home i can use up 1 hr, own sweet time. At work u using 30mins is despite empty or w/o empty? or u just stop at 30mins? cos not so nice to pump so long at work hor. Do u feel relax pumping at work? cos during pumping a person must be very relax, afraid i cant relax while pump at work bcos of time factor. wil try my best. I wil be pumping at changing room in toilet, got bench to put things.
Where u get hot water to sterilise? envy ur office got hot water. seems like most of u using hot water. my office dun provide.
u wil emergy everything into hot water or put rinse rinse oni?

Mum2B:
so early pierce earholes? better dun. for me, i pierce my earholes at Age 4. I didnt cry, surprise. Now my left ear got 4 earholes, right side got 2 holes (initially 3, now 1 close) LOL

Pumping at work:
i know its kind of rush to pump at work except lunch time. cos i tinking pump 3 times at work including lunchtime. btw u will pump at work til breasts empty or when time up? Btw how many times do u all pump n wat is e time interval?

Tinklebell:
u mean u using e hot water from water cooler? i dare not use leh so plan to use sterilising tablets.

i_panda:
u just keep pumping during the 3 days even though e milk has to be throw away or for other usage since u dun hv freezer. in tis way, ur ss sure wont drop one.

Poohy:
thanks for e info on collages
wow u hv 2 exesaucer.

Firm neck:
wow i can most of your babies have firm necks, usually when wil they hv firm neck? mine gg to reach 3rd mth tis wed oni.

kite,
ya lor..have to consistently pump if not supply sure drop. My boy today just turn 3mth, his neck also not firm. If we put him on his tummy more often, will it help train his neck faster?

i_panda:
my ger turning 3mth tis wed.
gg to bring her for 5 in 1 jab. Ya her neck also not firm, stil shaky. Eh i rarely put her on tummy, not sure wil it train neck faster. But whenever put her on tummy, i see her lift up her head like very strain, scare she strain so much, so i rarely put her on tummy.

kite,

i pump twice in office, usually at 5-7 hours interval.. my office has got a nice nursing room with fridge and steriliser, so we are quite lucky.

re: tummy time

these days when i put my gal on her tummy, she will bury her face in the mattress and rub her nose non-stop!! dunno her nose very itchy or wat.. i'm afraid that she will rub her nose flat, so very seldom put her on tummy.. hehehe.. vain mummy

poohy,

joelle is a big girl
and she really looks alot like samuel. my gal is 1 week younger than joelle but only 6kg.. so small :p

cookie:
so lucky. my co. dun hv any lactation room pls mostly 90% are males. So i wil pump at ladies changing room. wat time u pump n how many ml u get? i intend pump at 10am, 1pm n 4 or 5pm. 3 times per day. wat do u tink?

same here! my ger wil bury her whole face on mattress, looks dangerous to me! plus she likes keep wanting to suck e mattress lol so i quickly turn her over.

How old is ur baby? y u keep saying ur bb small?

poohy,

heehee no wonder the bb looks boyish... then i wonder how come it is bb ger heehee...

Kite,

I dun think exesaucer will hurt the legs lor.. just a plaything for them.. i put my ger in it the most 5 min.. cos she still cannot hold herself upright.

Lyn,

Yah hor, buy keep camera.. i lazy leh.. always expose my camera on the table, because anytime i just grab and film my ger heehee..

anyone using sterilising tablets to sterlise? good n hv to put in at least 30mins rite?

if using hot water, hv to sterlise how long?

kite,

i'm using steam steriliser...need a lot of water if use hot water...personally dun like sterilising tablets, coz the bottles will have the smell too....dun feel comfortable using chemical, prefer water....

use tablet once in hospital, need to soak 30 min....as for hot water, think need to boil for at least 10-15 min

kite,
so good, u can afford to pump 3 times in office...I only pump once during lunch time...the next time will be after office hour then pump liao....coz if pump too many times, cannot work loh....

read your ealier email abt pumping in office...if your office no fridge, u need to buy more ice packs...those provided may not be enough to keep the milk cold till u reach home...

hi kite,

my office has got a handful of nursing mums, so there are a couple of mummy's rooms in the building. my pumping schedule ah.. usually 10-11am, 5 - 6pm. each time pump 10 mins and washup/steam 15 mins. on good days, 1 pumping session will yield 220-240ml, stressful days will get 160-180ml per session. my supply is average, enough to TBF my gal with abit of leftover to freeze. if u can pump 3 times in office that's very good! but i can't do it coz work too busy, cannot keep disappearing from my desk.. haha

are you using the cooler bag that comes with the PIS? i find that it is not very good at keeping the milk cold.. any mummies got good recommendations for cooler bag?

my gal is 3 months and 1 week, her weight has only increased 0.8kg for the past 5 weeks and i see all the june babies hitting the scales at 7-8kg.. thought my baby small size..
how big is your gal now?

kk,

your gal very chubby, so cute in the sphaghetti strap dress
is your baby's hair growing faster after shaving? my gal quite botak.. still contemplating whether to shave her, my hubby still thinking abt making the taimaobi.. but i think not enuff to make even one tiny brush!!

kite:
i try to pump till empty. ya lor, feel guilty if spend too much time to express.
so far able to pump till empty or near empty.
I try my best not to exceed 30mins. Lunch time good, cos can take time to express
but must eat very quickly. so now i packet lunch to work.
First few times, I took 40 mins, as time goes by more practice, so now take 30mins.
office has hot water and fridge so able to wash with hot water. i dont emerse funnel
in hot water, just wash and rinse.
I also pump at 10am - 1pm(lunch) - 4pm.
Try to think of baby when you pump. i bring my phone with me at times cos can
see baby's picture! Don't worry, practice makes perfect!

i dont use sterilising tablets, the smell very strong, don't like.
If you use, think must soak 30mins before next use.
Can you bring a small kettle to boil hot water at your table?

cookie : wow your company v. good got nursing room.
My company male dominated, i'm the only nursing mum currently!

kite,

I bought from metro. A normal digital bathroom scale. Costed $39. Just sit baby ontop can liao. Dun need those bb's weighing machine.

Hidora,

I assume the weighing scale can also be used for adults rite? Heehee.. digital ones should be better.. those spring type are rather inaccurate.

cookiemz,

Yup, to our surprise, her hair grow pretty fast. Hope it continue growing
That time was still contemplating what to apply on her hair to faciliate growth heehee... now no need at all

okasan,
i m using steam steriliser at home but at work, i thinking of using tablets. oh chemical smell?
its jus an estimation, dunno whether can pump 3 times. wow u oni pump once at work, ur breasts didnt get engorged, used to 6 hrs timing? i wil b using PIS coolerbag w icepack.

cookie:
wow u pump so fast within 10 mins n empty breats, using pis dual rite? i cant. u using max speed? huh? pis cooler bag not so gd meh, i tried using b4, ok in keeping cold, did u freeze e ice pack until hard? i dunno how heavy is my gal now, wil get to know after her 5 in 1 jab.

sunflower:
same here. my department oni a few females ard sigh. Since u using hot water to sterilise, u did it just b4 pumping or after finish pump (meant for next pump)? Did u use hand or tong to attach e e PIS membrane n valve after sterilise? how u keep e pump after sterilise, put in ziplock bag?

permission to pump:
did u all ask permission to pump at work or go low profile?

another qs.

is there any different between latching n EBM?
i read a magazine saying there is differences. Meaning if latch, baby wil get alot of antibodies againist infections but when expressing out, there is no antibodies. TRUE? or there is stil little antibodies in our EBM? anyone got any idea on this ?

lyn,

i got my hb to borrow the water babies book from library for me too... wow really a very good book... havent read it yet but it looks like a very useful book
Will try it out this weekend