(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

BB Isaiah saying Hi~~ =D

495456.jpg

sunflowre - ya! PIS uses 10batt! think will buy batt until broke! so u tested, it lasted for 4days huh?
but now at home with power, i already on it full strenght liao leh. means maybe batt only will last 2days for me?

thinking of getting rechargeable batts. but realise rechargeable batts also not cheap huh!

msnanas - hmmm.. thanks.
think will need to train him to accept! :p

hidora - cute boy! so chubby.. see his hands

my boy say hi too
your_image.gif

Kite, i also using PIS advance. I normally run in depression mode. Stimulation mode is for letdown, but I dun use that.

My funnel is 24 mm size, and it fits ok. You can actually buy other sizes from Great World City, the shop at level 1... forgot what name...

happy,
spicegal and i r the ones using babyhugz sling. i love it v much and my bb sure fall asleep when i carry her in the sling. v easy to use

re: electric pump on batteries
Initially i ran my Ameda dual pump on batteries and it can only last for 3 days!! felt the pinch so switch back to using electricity.
Now, i'm using Avent pump when i am outside. Surprisingly, i find that the letdown is v good and the pump is v easy to use.

MTDT.
wah you can take max power!
I can't.. at most 9-10 o'clock position.
any higher pain..

keke but I can take max power with batteries.
wanted to buy rechargeable also. but also exp.

any of you know if PIS has car power adapter?
then most can recharge 4 at 1 time.

sunflower, i use the Avent manual... now i will bring it out with me so that i can express. if not, the milk leaks and somethings wet my blouse. so pai seh.

tinklebell,
u damn funny u know... u dun use breast pads ah...

Mothers:
your babies sleep thruout the nite? My has been doing that for the past 2 nites... BUT wake up at 5/6am leh...

tinklebell,
i'm also thinking of buying either manual or medela mini.
cos if long period outside, it can get uncomfortable if not express.

i heard that avent manual is good. but troublesome have to keep 2 types of bottles.
any of mummies tried medela manual vs avent manual.

any advice manual vs mini electric?

sunflower

i think mini electric is much more convenient esp if you are on frequent express. I use to rely on avent manual until my fingers cannot tahan the pumping anymore. Switching to mini electric saves much of my time as well

sun2flower - PIS hv car adapter.
then? go back car n pump? :p

michele - wow... can sleep thru v good liao.
why still hv a BUT? wake up too early huh? :p

hi eunice,

read that you're thinking of getting the avent isis iq duo. i've been using the UNO for over 2 months since my son was born and got a DUO just two weeks ago. Both pumps are VERY easy to use. Very fast. Of course there's the assembly of the pump etc but once you do it once or twice and get the hang of it, it's a piece of cake.

If I don't latch on and just express my milk, I can easily get 120ml in 5 min.

I'm selling my DUO though cos not much milk left to express after my son latches on. Don't want the pump to become white elephant at home.

Pls take a look at my thread if you're interested. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/493268.html?1156312666

hello mommies

just tot i'd give my input for those considering between manual and electric pumps...

if you get avent electric pump (be it the UNO or the DUO) you will also get the manual pump included in the set. This is what I really like about Avent pumps. You get both an electric and a manual pump when you make your purchase. You can have the flexibility to choose between electric and manual. Especially useful when you run into situations when there are no power points.

hee hee! I sound like a promoter!

But seriously, I do think Avent pumps are worth the money. There are others who beg to differ of course.

sunflower,
What i do is i express into the milk bags if i use Avent pump when i am outside. So only need to have 1 Avent bottle. Electric is good for use at home or if u have a private room for expressing milk in the office. I also quite like my electric pump but i find it bulky to carry out. I use it at home.
Some pp tell me the Mini Electric is not lasting if u use for intensive pumping. And it has a loud motor sound. Am not sure if it is so. Maybe u can find out more fr those mummies who use them to pump intensively.

Michele,
Of course i wear the breast pads... but still will leak.

tinklebell:
can i use avent liners with medela pumps?
as in put liners directly in the bottle?

i heard my friend using mini before. its loud.
ya i heard not lasting too.

sunflower,
that is wat i do ie put the liners directly inside the bottle to pump.
i think it should be ok to use with medela bottles...u try lor

Thanks so much. Would defintiely try Avent ISI Duo, the design is nice too. But most mums seems to liek the Medela PIS advance. But i thought the bag looks rather bulky..is it true for mums using it?

i also tot of trying to use avent bags.

but heard alot tat will leak. need to double bag huh?
n use wat to tie huh? rubber bands can?

eunice - think becos avent duo cannot use batt.
so most working moms will invest in PIS loh.

sunflower - dunno where to buy the car adaptor leh.
maybe can try moms n babes.

MTDT:

thanks. will call them & check.

eunice:
bulk-wise.. ok la considering the things you have to put in.
i find it a bit heavy though

MTDT:
the avent bags do not leak, i'm using them. it comes with 2 sealing clips BUT thos avent ones are really ex to buy if u need more so i went to Ikea and bought a bag full!! i clip about 2-3 bags together. another alternative is to use the Avent via storage cups but those can add up to be pretty pricey though and you can only sterilize them max. 3 times!!
yes, i'm a SAHM.

Tinklebell:
me 2... heehee BUT cannot be bothered to pump outside i bring along extra breast pads, too wet then can throw and put new ones in...

i personally am using avent manual, and i love it!! don't find it hard to pump at all... guess it's all in the mind!

MTDT,

How do you get that shot of BB Z? So cute! Wondering what he's thinking.

I used rubber band to tie up the avent bag. But now I switched to Via cup. Find it much more convenient. Can sterilize up to 5-7 times as told by the salesger. Basically the cup will tend to go a bit out of shape after sterilizing. Then cannot close tightly and will cause leakage. So the salesger was telling me can used until you get leakage.

I would like to try out Nepia diapers since it's so highly acclaimed.

Am looking for mummies who are interested in trading with me 3 pieces for me to try out.

I have Pampers Baby Dry (red packaging) size S for 3 - 8 kg.

Would like to exchange for Nepia size M.

Location: CCK / Yew Tee / Novena Square (weekday evenings only) / Bishan (Sunday afternoons after 2 pm only)

yes - avent liners = avent milk bags.
i hven use yet. currently still using glass bottles to store BM. (went back TMC 3 times to get bottles! haha) thinking of getting the bags. go back office easier to store.

VIA cups - long term v expensive leh.

re: avent milk bags
the avent milk bags don't come with clips
at least those sold in singapore don't
the instructions on the box of milk bags also advise to double-bag to prevent leaking
think the trick is not to store to the brim if you do not intend to double-bag.
to secure, some use rubber bands, some buy the twisties from the DIY corner at NTUC

personally using glass bottles as i dun like the plastic smell of the milk bags (tested with pack of water, also feedback from mommies from another forum)

mtdt,
i bought a box and gave it away to another fren who's been using the milk bags

suggest you can try out and if you're comfortable, then use the milk bags
after all, many mommies use it coz it's definitely more convenient

hmm.. maybe shd get a few from my fren first!
one box 100pcs leh. if dun like, how? :p

but main thing is bb dun reject the BM!

nvm, order the $10/box to try liao.

michele,

It's depending whether individual want to do the way the company recommands. If follow their instruction, they earn more money mah. Like they say double bag for freezing, but how many mummies actually do that?

MTDT,

Ya, if you hv good supply, using VIA quite bo hua. The whole fridge will be full of cups. =p You staying near me? If you stayed near north side, I passed you some bags to try lah. I opened one box, until now still not finish.

muffinmocha:
the bags got smell?? i use it and a lot of my frens use it too, no smell. Oh dear! is it cos ur EBM stale? anyhow, do u try it before giving it to your son? or maybe u can return those bags you bought to Avent and comment about it??

MTDT, agree with hidora, VIA.. BO HUA!! cannot store alot and really take up space... i also never double bag it, no need lah, just dun fill it to the max!!

hidora, i thought after that use teh via cups to store peanuts, lee kiam... so sayang to throw ah...

hmm.I have been using Medela bags. Are they also smelly? I find them rather useful though. I am not sure about the smell though. Any mothers have any comments about Medela bags?

michele,

The avent bag got smell is due to the plastic. Dun even hv to put bm. You can try with water, then freeze it, then thaw it. I think you'll be able to smell it too.

Erm, actually can store many things. Chilli paste, fried garlic, hairpins, etc. Use it to make agar agar also can.. Lol.

tinklebell
the sling u mentioned u using now issit the same as maya pouch??? or different kind? do u hv pic to show? i hv a MIM sling..but i so stupid..watched the demo dvd so mnay mnay times..still catch no ball...so how much u pay for it and hor..issit veryvery easy to use? me very scare of fuss and troublesome stuff one...so wanna something straight forward..hehehe...

Hidora, Michele

U mean the via cups can be used only for a few times? That is for storing in the freezer compartment or include the normal fridge as well?

Do you all actually express when u are outside, like shopping? Will milk supply reduce if you miss 1 or 2 expressing sessions?

i thinking of buying some milk bags
for emergency use.
sometimes express in office, never bring enough
bottles for emergency express..

mtdt. you bought from reading room?

mtdt,
i'm using avent liners, i dun double-bag, n i use ikea clips (the LONG ones r easier), n I store right up to the max 240ml.

steph, so far i dun express while out w/o bb... cos i try to time myself to be back home within 4-5hrs.

dsiitan,
this is the babyhugz sling:
http://wearbabyhugz.com/23.html
Diff fr MIM sling. hee..i also have MIM sling and it took many v long to learn how to use it. H/e, bbhugz sling comes in 2 types- adjustable or non adjustable. I got the non-adjustable. If u get a non-adjustable, i think it is impt that u get a size that suits u.

hidora,
i also use rubber band to tie the milk bag. U using via cups? good? but v expensive right? and can only be reused a few times.

MTDT,
TMC gave u the bottles? so good. i asked them 2x during my hospital stay and they refused to give me

Sunflower - yup, bought from reading room.

ikea clips - how much huh?

just realise tat I hv bought $20 of caps for my glass bottles. hmmm.. like tat more expensive then using bags liao loh! :p

mtdt:
i also thinking whether to get from Reading Room.
cos not using often/frequently..
only intend to use if emergency no
sterilised bottles to use for pumping in office.

where did you get your caps from? plastic type?
how much per cap?