(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hey Mummies,

Got this e-mail:
Hi Pauline

Saw your email address posted on the forum as you are interested in Signing Time
products. Hope you can help to inform fellow interested mommies about the the
10% we are offering for orders of at least two sets. Details are below. The
sale will end soon so do hope all you mommies on the forum will take advantage
of it before it ends. With a minimum of two sets only, it's easier for all of
you to find one other person to enjoy the discount instead of going through the
hassle of organising a bulk purchase.

If you need more information, feel free to call me.

cheers,
sharon
9001 0191
www.planetbabysigns.com (formerly www.houseoc.com)

HouseOC Trading
32 Maxwell Road
#03-07
Singapore 069115
Tel: 9001 0191
Fax: 6323 1839

Stephanie,
I switched to Ameda Lactaline (double pump) 3 weeks after I gave birth. It's not that Medela (single pump) is not good. Just tat I had quite bad engorgement and sometimes when I clear, one side will leak while I'm pumping the other. I found it a waste as I'm already low in supply. So decided to buy Ameda double pump. Can pump both sides at the same time. No wastage. In fact, now, my MS has stabilised to my schedule, so I express by hand instead. The Medela has been lying in the cupboard since late June. I bought it early this year. So it's first-hand and lightly used, for 3 weeks only. Are you interested in buying over?

hello gals...
Long time never post...

msnanas,
I just expressed BM this morning. I express into a milk bag and freeze it. Gonna bring it out to feed tonite
Hope it will work
I will put my frozen BM into an insulating carrier. I have tried other methods like warming the milk first and put in milk insulator, express to bottle and put into insulator with ice, but dun seem to be very convenient.

Paula,
You going to teach your baby sign language? Do you know sign language?

stephanie,
Medela mini electric is not bad. But can be quite noisy if you pump in office. If you dun mind the noise, it's good and value for money...

Lyn,
Then how you quick defroze the EBM when your bb hungry? I going out tonite also, the place dun have a BF place and I dun want to BF in public coz my son often get choke.

stephanie,
if you're gonna pump frequently at work and for a period of time, say 6-12 mths, i dun think the mini electric is suitable.
the motor is just not built for that type of intensity.

pebbles,
i got clip n go, double-sided first book and a lady bug squeeky toy from tiny love.
wanted to get the take-along arch, but they're selling more ex than First Few Years in paragon, the last i checked online.
was wondering if the rest is cheaper too at paragon...anyways buy liao :p

also got the alphabet mats

very long time since i last logged in.

I just started work 14 Aug. Took 2 months maternity leave and balance 1 mth flexible.
Have been pumping at work. using Medela PIS battery. felt that using battery v.weak.

oh, got BP on OTO Trimax TX-908 and get a free OTO Spinex SPX-500 at a price of S$280
remember some mummies were interested.
- is it Kite?

BP closing TODAY..
I'm still considering.....
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449156/487450.html?1155871500

msnanas,
I put EBM in the milk bottle. Bring 1 hot water vacuum flask (dolphin brand at Kiddy Palace is very slim and small), 1 fat plastic cup. When needed, place milk bottle inside plastic cup. Pour hot water from vacuum flask into plastic cup. Wait awhile and it'd be done (swirl EBM for even temperature).
When he wasnt on pacifier, I wld keep eye for slightest hunger signs, so it'd b ready before his "war cry". Now he's on pacifier, I put pacifier in his mouth while milk is getting ready.

sun, I'm interested but I don't seem to have any *time* to use it.
But I'm c-sect case, have to wait anyway... maybe by then I'd have more time (longer feeding lapse).

okipoki/ pebbles,
ya lor, price increase today. Luckily i placed order the day b4.
ordered 5 packs. hee hee KS.

msnanas,
I use the same method as medusa.
However, before i go out, i will also prepare ard 100ml of warmed EBM and put inside the bottle warmer. I have a heat pack placed inside the warmer to prevent it fr getting cold quickly...can last ard 2-3 hrs. BB often cannot wait to have her milk... so a ready supply of milk really helps to keep her crying to a minimum.

i hv bn missing for quite awhile cos bz with work.
sigh.. started work 3 wks liao and decided to stop BF 2 days ago cos BM level dropped so low.. and work so bz so no time to go express. but at least bb has 2.5 mths of supply. i dun want to get so stress over BM.

oh just went to taka bb fair.. bought 'Baby can read' CDs and baby einsten 'musical adventure' CD for bb... heard tat 'baby can read' cd is good for brain development.

if we decided to stop BF, are we suppose to do/eat something to cleanse the milkduct or gradually stop expressing ?

Hi gals, was telling tinklebell so angry tat dignus increased price so fast. I was too late to stock up. Anyway, just ordered 3 packs M & 3 packs L from them. In case they decide to match the nepia office price of $15.

I had placed my order for the OTO Trimax through the bulk purchase. Hope to tone up some flabby fats..hehe

Okipoki...i normally will wait for my gal to wake up, feed her milk, wait for half an hour then bathe her or else she will cry until wanna tear down the roof...keke

Lyn, Medusa and Tinkerbell,
Tks for your helpful info. Just now brought the EBM (which was stored in the fridge) and put into the insulator bag. 2.5hrs later, the EBM is just chilled and warm up to feed my son.. So its workable.. hee.. Always tot when go out, I have to feed him direct or he drinks FM..

MIA for a long time liao...went back to work 2 weeks ago...initially was worried abt expressing milk in the office...but luckily got a empty room, so can use them....milk supply drop a bit but still quite ok

duffybuff,
not sure abt the other titles u mentioned, but I have Baby Can Read- my #1 liked it. H/e, IMO, not that suitable at #2's age lah... I'd wait until maybe 4 or 5mths old b4 introducing. Bb may not like it initially, and not for such long periods.

BTW... some of us are already chatting in MSN... was wondering if anyone wld like to meet up on a wkend. If anyone has a home big enough to offer as a venue? Will be nice to put faces to the nicks and see our kid's "peers"
. Our kids too young to really "socialise" at the moment, but eventually it might be good to?

Yes Medusa!! If i strike that lottery, i'll buy a big house whee the moms & kids will be able to socialize!! BUT...since now i don't have a big house, next candidate pls... :)

I'll be back October 4th, i would love to meet up with all of u that weekend? it's mooncake festival, will bring back tw mooncakes for you moms to try!!!

Michele,

Awww... mooncake... my fav.

Medusa,

Can meetup on weekend, but can the kind mummy be someone staying somewhere in the centre? Me staying in woodlands... if like punggol or sengkang is too far le..

Poohy, thanks for the info on the play yard. How come you wanna start your gal on the play yard do early? Can she crawl now?

Tris, I have yet to make payment for the bubbaduck wetsuit. I think it is 20% off the online price, plus A$5 for postage, after sharing among the mummies.

Hidora, how's the capsule? Good? I might buy the tincture if this works for you.
MS low also... sian...

Hi medusa,
I think good idea
. I dun mind booking the function room in my condo if you all want
We can have potluck
Or if you all want, order catering... But gotta let me know in advance so that I can make booking...
So far, the function room is available on 26 and 27 Aug lunch time... Anyone interested?

hidora,
I am in YCK, not very far from Woodlands.

How long are you all going to breastfeed? I just saw my gynae yesterday. I just realised that I am anaemic. Gynae said baby take from me through breastmilk, and I haven't "bu" enough. I have been quite lax on "bu" now. Gotta start to "bu" loads already... I was told 6 months of breast feeding is enough.
He asked me dun wait too long for the next baby... I am wondering if I can get preggie even still breast feeding?? Anyone knows??

amy,

I dunno leh... Cos I dun do pumping.. And these 3 days I have been out shopping... Meaning that I didnt latch/ pump for a total of 7 hrs every day.. Think my supply might have drop.. Another thing is cos I'm rushing assignments, so I have been sleeping like 5,6 am every day.. Dun think I'm hving enough rest. And my bb is nv full from my bm, so I really can't tell you. I will not be gng out anymore for this week. So hopefully, with regular taking of goat's rue (due to gng out, I'm taking it at very different timing each day), and frequent latching on, I can give you some review. =|

lyn,

YCK is good! Hehe.. not so far and yet still near to SK area. But Aug cannot lor, cos still tied up with assignments. =(

lyn,

Me trying to bf as long as possible.. already feel guilty as bb nv have enough to drink. You can still get pregnant while on bf-ing. I got a fren who got preg right after her confinement, and she was doing tbf. You dun need to have your menses to get pregnant. But I read that if the second one is conceived too soon, bb will be smaller in size and high chances of delivering b4 duedate. That's what happen to my fren. It was said that shld wait 18 mths at least. If your gynae give you green light, then shld be no prob.

Hi Poohy,
Nice photo and nice blog too!
one question: in some photographs ,besideds UR quitee girl, there is one board (black & white). Is that one educational? from where did U get that? would U like to share?

Thanx!

amy,

my girl can only crawl vv little on her own... mostly she crawl with my help. will put her in play yard to play with her gorgor when she is ready ... can keep samuel company...

gunjan,

thanx. the black/white board is the checkerboard used for visual stimulation for newborns. It is recommended by GD book. I made it myself... i feel its very effective in stimulating the visual pathway of the bb...cos comparatively my girl can see v far.. earlier and better than my boy...

lyn,

ya can still preggie even if bfg. u can continue bfg even if preggie
the main problem that i feel at least i am facing now is constantly torn between giving attention to samuel or joelle. Samuel as a 1 year old toddler is at an age where he is very active and needs constant supervision. More importantly we worried he may be emmotionally sensitive if we put too much attention to joelle in front of him.. so end up... on weekends, i will mostly attend to samuel and joelle will be attended to by daddy. we do not have a maid. In a typical weekend, we will be bathing them, feeding them, playing with them, washing their bottles, clothes non stop till 9-10am at night... even dinner also gotta eat v late and very fast.. maybe 5-10min. Whole day the only time i can log in is after they go to sleep at night. that's the thing abt close age spacing. But of course in time to come... hopefully the close age gap will let them be the best of companions
I am thinking of having number 3 asap but looking at the situation... i think i better have a 2 year age gap between 2 and 3. Being busy and exhuasted is not that impt compared to the fact we may not be able to give each the adequate attention they deserve

Poohy, wah... your gal can crawl la... so fast.... bb jake cannot even lift up his head without full support. sometimes i think i am a bad mummy... read GD book, but din put any of the things into action. did you also follow the other tasks GD recommended?

Poohy, I am planning for no. 2, would like to try end of this year. you think too fast? my colleague recommended waiting 18 months. but seemed like your age gap is close and you are coping well. how's ur BFg going?

hidora, 18 months - did you mean 18 months then try? or 18 months bb no. 2 can be delivered? cos i plan to try end year, by the time bb no. 2 is out, jake will be 18 months.

Re: donation of BM
there is a mummy giving out BM. do you think it is ok for me to take from her? cos i can only meet 50% of bb jake's milk intake... back to work recently, seemed like MS dipped... bb jake constipated from lack of BM....

Re meeting up - yes, i am keen to meet up. then our babies can play together.... hee hee... let me know. i can also offer my place - i am at west coast.

poohy,
wow, looking at the age gap between of samuel and joelle, you got pregnant again when samuel was just 3 mths old?
must have been tough to cope!
are you a sahm?

Do your maids close door when they r sleeping?
Mine is starting to do that recently and i am wondering if i should let her continue the habit. Not v comfortable with it though esp when she sleeps with my son.

Amy:
at least let your body rest for 6 mths!! eat lots of iron & calcium pills for your bones.

Lyn:
can lah!! can still breast feed when pregnant, my fren breastfed till her son was 1 yr 7 mths and she just stopped bout 3 mths ago, she was already 6-7 mths pregnant!!

Hidora:
u can go so long without pumping or feeding ah...don't u feel engorged at all? for me...walk awhile suddenly feel like balloons the breasts, now even my hubby notices and he'll be like, feeding time? but bb is asleep how?

mommies, just wanna share with u. my son had the 5 in 1 jab already. best not to take him out for 3 days after the jab. i didn't bath him for 2 days after the jab, just cleaned him with a warm towel. the 5 in 1 is pretty good as the chnaces of them getting a fever after is slimmer.

Lyn, great, thx! Let's do a QUICK roll-call of attendees!

<u>MEET-UP Yio Chu Kang</u>
* pls put your attendance, choose Sat 26-Aug 1pm or Sun 27-Aug 1pm, indicate potluck contribution
* pls PM your email and mobile to Lyn? Then Lyn can mass-email condo function rm address/ directions?

1. Lyn &amp; family
2. Medusa, HB, Irvin, Athena. Sun 27-Aug 1pm. Shephard's Pie, springrolls.

tinklebell, personally i wldnt b comfortable if maid sleeps with bb and closes door. But i also wldnt b comfortable with maid sleeping with bb too, i'm admittedly possessive.

amy, try switching ard FMs, some FMs constipate more than others, it's trial and error. Personally i wldnt choose donated EBM unless bb is severely allergic to FM/ goat substitutes/ I have absolutely exhausted all mtds of increasing ss. I just tried goat's rue, seems to work... then again i have the opportunity to latch often thru-out day, i suspect if I had to rely on infrequent pumping in office environmt, my ss wld dip drastically too.

hope more mummies interested in meeting up- as I was sharing, it's less daunting to meet-up at a home (in this case function rm is ok too). Even if bbs fuss, we'd all be understanding cos our bbs all similar ages, wld have experienced the same!
Yesterday I just went for a picnic with my #1's peers in this forum... 11 families turned up ;) !

This is just too good not to pass on to all. Something absolutely positive
for a change. I have repeatedly seen the breakdown of the cost of raising a child, but this is the first time I have seen the rewards listed this way. Its nice.

The government recently calculated the cost of raising a child from birth to 18 and came up with $160,140 for a middle income family. Talk about sticker shock! That doesnt even touch college tuition.

But $160,140 isnt so bad if you break it down.
It translates into:
* $8,896.66 a year,
* $741.38 a month, or
* $171.08 a week.
* Thats a mere $24.24 a day!
* Just over a dollar an hour.

What do you get for your $160,140?
* Naming rights. First, middle, and last!
* Glimpses of God every day.
* Giggles under the covers every night.
* More love than your heart can hold.
* Butterfly kisses and Velcro hugs.
* Endless wonder over rocks, ants, clouds, and warm cookies.
* A hand to hold, usually covered with jelly or chocolate.
* A partner for blowing bubbles, flying kites
* Someone to laugh yourself silly with, no matter what the boss said or how your stocks performed that day.

For $160,140, you never have to grow up. You get to:
* finger-paint,
* carve pumpkins,
* play hide-and-seek,
* catch lightning bugs, and
* never stop believing in Santa Claus.

You have an excuse to:
* keep reading the Adventures of Piglet and Pooh,
* watching Saturday morning cartoons,
* going to Disney movies, and
* wishing on stars.
* You get to frame rainbows, hearts, and flowers under refrigerator magnets and collect spray painted noodle wreaths for Christmas, hand prints set in clay for Mothers Day, and cards with backward letters for Fathers Day.

For $160,140, there is no greater bang for your buck. You get to be a hero just for:
* retrieving a Frisbee off the garage roof,
* taking the training wheels off a bike,
* removing a splinter,
* filling a wading pool,
* coaxing a wad of gum out of bangs, and coaching a baseball team that never wins but always gets treated to ice cream regardless.

You get a front row seat to *history* to witness the:
* first step,
* first word,
* first blush,
* first date, and
* first time behind the wheel.

You get to be immortal.

You get another branch added to your family tree, and if youre lucky, a
long list of limbs in your obituary called grandchildren and great
grandchildren.

You get an education in psychology, nursing, criminal justice,
communications, and human sexuality that no college can match.
In the eyes of a child, you rank right up there under God.

You have all the power to heal a boo-boo, scare away the monsters under the bed, patch a broken heart, police a slumber party, ground them forever, and love them without limits,

So . . one day they will like you, love without counting the cost.
That is quite a deal for the price!!!!!!!

And, you get to do it all over again with your grandchildren.

If you take care of yourself, you might even get to stick a great in there too!

Love and enjoy your children &amp; grandchildren!!!

Courtesy : Anu, from IIM-B 1985 - 87 Batch

tinklebell, my maid closes the door when she sleeps. she even closes her room window... no air. asked her to leave it open, she refuse. she worried a stranger might climb into her room. i told her chances very low la.. cos the house beside us there are two big dogs, behind us, one big dog... our place is very safe... plus we have the alarm system... hmmm...

but if she sleeps with my bb, of cos, i will not allow her to close door.... i will need to check on my bb mah...

michele, wow... balloons... hee hee... that's good news la... that means you have enough MS...

Thanks for informing me about the 5 in 1 jab... will have to jab bb jake this friday. will take note... take extra care of him after that, which means i will not be able to make it for the YCK meet up.

Medusa, thanks for sharing your view re the BM. I will be getting the goat's rue tincture to try out. Re FM, my bb jake is on Nan 1 HA. Is there a similar type of FM that is hypoallergic? Cos I am very prone to allergies, hence need to be careful with jake's milk as well, further, he is G6PD, so gotta be extra careful.