(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

RE: mittens

i tired to go w/o mittens but each time my boy sure kenna scratches on his face even though i just cut his nails! *heartache*

did you gals file their nails after cutting?

Nepia - the back is the same as pamper comfort... poo will also leak out from the back! i dun like it.

mitten/socks - i also stop wearing mittens for my boy after 1st mth. only wear at nite with sleepsuit with leg cover (so dun need to wear socks/booties) when go out to aircon places, will wear socks.
i cut his nails every 2/3days.

think Mrs wong says to stop after 6weeks becos need to let baby hv a chance to know that he/she have fingers!! if keep wearing mittens, bb will hv no chance to learn to use fingers. at ard 2nd mth, they should learn to grab things already

i also started to train my boy on bottle feed...

he also will stop drinking halfway. then i will burp him, n he usu will continue. my mom says just like latch... hv 2 side mah. so bottlefeed he also wans halftime! haha

but realise tat after bottlefeed, he seems to forget how to latch. now always latch "wrongly" always hv the "click" sound, then all my BM will leak out. troublesome!

"no bottles, mommy!!"

That's exactly what my problem is!! My 2 mth old son REJECTS the bottle, what should i do? i went to 7-11 last nite and expressed some milk into the bottle BUT Brendan completely rejected it and started wailing the house down.

how can i introduce the bottle to him? what if mommy isn't around? BTW, i'm using Avent bottles...do bottles play a role in this?

Hi Sunshime

I have switched from mamypoko to Nepia now. The material is something like papmers premium, i quite like it. No difference from Mamypoko for my gal. Currently Nepia wholesale has increased to $15. Maybe you can get it from Dignus online store as they are selling $14 now. I jus ordered from them again and they are delivering to me today

zita,
scratched nvm.. bb skin heals very fast.
if u want to cut and file, make sure wash his hands after it.

michele,
Get someone else to bottle feed.. Cos if u bottle feed, he can smell you and dun wan the bottle.. have to be patient when introducing the bottle.. supposedly the best time to intor bottle is abt 6 weeks or so.. not earlier when they will get nipple confusion.. not later when they are too used to latching..

sure have some fighting at the beginning.. try other bottles, other teats.. try different positions.. my boy only accept bottle feeding if he is lying down on his bouncer.. he refused his bottle when we carry him. weird right?

zita, u r welcome!

Re: nails
I have to cut Karyn's fingernails every 2 to 3 days. They grow at such incredible speed!

Zita, when I cut her nails, I make sure I dun just cut straight across. I try to cut the sides to make them rounded to prevent scratches.

long time never update liao.. hope all of u mummies and babies are doing great

any of u mummies brought your bb to swim yet?? I am thinking of bringing my girl to swim this weekend if the weather is good and I can find her a nice swimwear... she is turning 12 weeks coming monday.. so I think its a good time to start her on swimming liao

some photo of my girl..

489304.jpg

489305.jpg

489306.jpg

more photos at http://poohybaby.blogspot.com

msnanas, kite
seem like graco prams are pretty heavy tho' is sturdy.

zita, Mt
scratch face nevernmind, i scare will poke the eyes cos my ger tends to rub her eyes.

sunshine,
am using both pamper premium & nepia.. started using nepia yesterday. i ordered from dignus & they delivered to me the next working day... very efficient

hidora, ha ha... jake's twin so cute.. how come he will pull his hair...? when he is bored? dun think isaiah's twin is aware that he has hair on his head yet.

michele, yes, cut nails. i cut jake's nails every two to three days, else will have scars on his face... bleeding even...

Sunshine, i think babies will start exploring their fingers after 6 weeks, and if you keep them in mittens, they will not know they have fingers.

poohy, your gal gal very cute. she has the same birthday as my jake.
jake will turn 3 months on next tuesday. 3 months can go swimming lo... but a pity, the wetsuit i got him is for 6 - 12 months, so maybe can 'swim' in bath tub first.
BTW, how much is your gal drinking and how heavy is she now? Jake drinks 160 ml FM at 1pm, 6pm, and 2am. At 10am and 3pm, he drinks about 140 ml EBM.

okipoki, jake sometimes pokes his fingers into his eyes... aiyo....

poohy,
any idea where to get nice wetsuits?

stephanie,
supply = demand
i think it's the frequency of pumping/feeding that will increase supply
if you let it slide and extend the interval in between will result in lower demand, hence lower supply.
also, not pumping/feeding for 6 hours at a stretch will probably be very uncomfortable!

Paula,
Yes $15 now... i also called them today and was shocked to hear the price increase!
Anyway, i just placed my order with Dignus to stock up.

Okipoki,
You r lucky... my order fr Dignus previously took 5 days!

R your kids wearing M or still S? my girl was 6.2kg last week (8 week)... i'm wondering if i should up her size to M.

tinklebell,
You upgrade when it seems tight lor.. dun have to follow the weight strictly.
I need to upgrade to L soon.. M is tight for my boy leow.. Brought some NTUC L to try.. If ok, anyone wants 2 packs of NTUC M?

hi.. talking abt diapers...

hmmm.. the size S seems to be tight at this thigh there... but big at the waist there...

then how? :p

poohy - ur kids are so adorable!

btw, wat swimming lesson did u bring ur boy to?
looks interesting.

i also wan to bring my boy to swimming liao.
where to get swim suits for 4mths old bb.

yve, wow how big is ur boy? so fast wear L size?
U using NTUC?
I'm using Nepia and the sizing is a bit bigger than the other brands.
My son is 20kg now and only Nepia XL fits him now when i cant even squeeze him into other brands' XL!

tinklebell,
Brian is nearly 8kg.. I use NTUC during the day and MamyPoko(MP) at night.. I din know that he will outgrow so fast too.. Went to stock up so much M..

MP got XXL size, did u try that for your son?

yve, ya.. he can also wear MP XXL size but not the XL cos back side too big(LOL!) But Nepia pants is cheaper so i'm sticking to that.

amy,

my girl drinks 160ml of milk abt 3-4 hourly too. At night she had started to sleep thru from 5-7 hours straight... for a young baby.. 5 hours is considered sleeping thru.. few days ago weighed her at abt 6.5kg i think... heavy hor!

muffinmocha,

i bought my boy's wetsuit at motherswork/greatworldcity... can get at isetan, paragon too... but i thinking of ordering 2 thermal suit from australia... like very nice .. since my boy and girl will be swimming every weekend now .. will be quite worth it..

http://www.bubbaducks.com.au/baby-infant-wetsuits.php

MTDT,

thanx... i brought my boy to marsden... the swim class start from 6 months... its vv interesting

poohy,
just read ur blog, u wanted the lyrics to what they sing in Marsden? I had different instructor last time, not sure if same, but here goes:

Teddy bear, teddy bear,
UP and Down
Teddy bear, teddy bear,
To and fro,
Teddy bear, teddy bear,
Turn around,
Teddy bear, teddy bear,
Up and down!

Ring Around the roses,
pocket full of posies,
Atishoo, Atishoo,
We all fall down.

U hav a lovely blog
Ur gal seems so much more advanced than my boy, and she has loads more pics than my boy lah, LOL!

mtdt,

marsden holds their class at their own premises at holland road.. can see their website below.. the lesson is $20 per class of 30min every week and 1 term is 10 class. Can only enroll bb when he/she turns 6 months cos need to complete those vacinnation thingy i think...

www.marsdenswimschool.com

working mums... juz for u!!!

Can I continue breastfeeding once I return to work?
Yes, you can. If you live near work or have on-site daycare, you may be able to take nursing breaks to feed your baby. If that's not possible, you have two choices:

Option 1: You can keep up your milk supply by using a high-quality, automatic electric breast pump to express milk during the workday. Save the milk you collect for your child's caregiver to give him the next day. (You can also supplement with formula if you can't produce enough milk.) You'll still be able to nurse your child yourself whenever you're not at work.

Option 2: If you can't or don't want to pump at work, you can gradually replace daytime feedings with formula while you're still at home but continue to nurse at night and in the morning. Remember that if you don't nurse or pump during the day, your milk supply will diminish. The milk your body produces may not be enough to satisfy your baby, even if you only need enough for morning and evening feedings.

What are the advantages of pumping at work?
Pumping at work stimulatesyour milk production, so you'll have plenty of milk available when you nurse. You can also collect the milk that you pump, so your baby will have the health and nutritional advantages of breast milk even when you're not there. What's more, pumping can be a wonderful way to feel connected to your baby during the workday.

One of the best things about pumping at work is coming home to a baby who still wants to nurse. You get to snuggle with him right away, re-establish your bond, and nurture him in a way no one else can. To make sure your baby will want to nurse when you get home, ask your caregiver not to feed him during the last hour of the workday, or to feed him just enough to take the edge off any hunger. Then you and your baby can look forward to a warm reunion every day.

Although it can be a hassle and doing such an earthy thing in a work environment can feel strange many mothers find that the benefits of pumping far outweigh the inconvenience.

How can I successfully manage pumping at work?
You'll need:
A breast pump, preferably a fully automatic electric pump with a double collection kit so you can pump both breasts at the same time

Bottles or bags to collect and store the milk in

Access to a refrigerator or a small cooler to keep the milk cold until you get it home (most pumps come with a cooler pack)

Breast pads to protect your clothes if you leak

Get used to pumping at home before returning to work so you'll know what to expect and how it feels. You'll be much more confident pumping at work if you already know that you can produce enough milk to fill a storage bag or bottle. Plus, it's reassuring to have a stash of breast milk in the freezer once you do leave for work.

Ideally, you'll have access to a private room at work where you can pump, such as an unused office or conference room, or even a large, clean closet with a chair, countertop, and electric outlet. (Most pumps come with a battery option, so you won't necessarily need an outlet.) Try to find a room with a door that locks so you don't have to worry about anyone intruding on your privacy. Ask the building manager or human resources staff for suggestions, and enlist the support of a co-worker or supervisor if necessary.

If there's some demand (even two mothers is enough), you could lobby to create a nursing mothers' station in the office. In a worst-case scenario, you'll have to pump in a bathroom stall, but many women have done so successfully for months.

Your milk supply may vary daily. To maximize your milk flow, try to pump at the same time and place each day. Relax and look at your baby's picture or visualize him while you pump. Stress and fatigue are your biggest enemies. Remember, you're still a nursing mom, so eat well and drink plenty of water while at work.

hope this helps 2 clear any uncertainties!!

for more info:
http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/baby/babybreastfeed/641.html

long time never chat..i have start work on 14 Aug..and still expressing milk at lunch time and tea break.. i get 620ml from both session..hope can maintain it.. however it is quite tough as i have to express in toilet... don no hw long i can tahan..

Hi MTDT,

May I know what diaper is your boy using now? My boy is now using both MP and Pet Pet. Find Pet Pet quite alright and is also pretty cheap.

Now got to find a diaper that is both cheap and good as the usage of diapers is pretty high. Very siong leh.

poohy, i also got the wetsuit via bubbaducks in Oz. Got from a BP, i think we got 20% off.
Waiting for the suit to arrive. I selected ocean color for jake.

last nite, jake slept thru... i was quite surprised. he had his BF session at 7.00 pm, slept at 7.30 pm till 6.30 am. For the past one week, he has been sleeping from 7.30pm to 7.30 am with one feed at 2am. Hope tn he will also sleep through.

Dear mothers,
just wanted to share with all of you from experience... i know many of you are worried about your milk supply when you go back to work. maybe you can record your baby crying...while pumping, think of your baby...being hungry, no milk for him/her to drink and your milk will just flow out or rather shoot out right into the pump!!

my baby is on TBF, yesterday, was just thinking what if my milk supply run out, whats my baby gonna drink when i was pumping and it was just incredible!! managed to pump out 180ml in 10 mins!!

Hidora, have you received your Goat's Rue Vegetarian Capsules? Pls keep me posted re the outcome. Where in Sing can we buy this?

amy,

huh it take v long to arrive ah? i still thinking whether to buy.... which size did u get? worried they outgrow very fast..
if i buy i will try to get more neutral colors like the green or purple cos... then samuel wear liao can give joelle and if my 3rd child is boy/girl also can wear

muffinmocha,

its the haenim playyard... sold in kiddy palace, kidsmall, etc. can get from some of the bulk purchase online. I got it abt $99 a set of 4 panels.. i got 12 panels..

re: sling

are most mummies here using bayb sling or mim slings? I am thinking of buying the babyrock sling ... can go to the www.babejoy.com to see .. I think it looks quite easy to use leh...

Anyone using the medela mini electric? Is it good? Am thinking of acquiring one for use in workplace. The current PIS works on battery and is quite bulky leh...further suction isnt that good when batt is low

poohy, is the haenim playyard useful? how come you need to put bb in a playyard?

The wetsuit takes about one month to arrive. Cos we ordered via BP, so they have to manufacture. Took a longer time to manufacture. But if you order only one pc, should be ok. Dun think will need to wait long. I got the 6 - 12 months ocean bb wetsuit for jake.

Hidora, next week I will go to Forum to buy the goat tincture. They are oos for the capsules.

Any mummies giving Dumex Gold 1 to ya baby? I am giving away free one UNOPENED 400g tin which was delivered to me but my baby is drinking another brand. Do email me [email protected] if you are keen. Self collect at Woodlands pls.

Stephanie,
I used my medela mini electric (single pump) for less than 3 weeks and then switched to Ameda Lactaline. Now I'm expressing by hand and only using the Ameda pump when engorged. The medela's suction is quite strong and is adjustable. However, it is slightly noisier than Ameda. Not sure how it compares to PIS. If you are interested, I can sell you my medela at $150 (bought at retail price $179) (negotiable). In very good condition. Comes with box. Pls PM me if interested.

what is the size of your beansprount pillow?
I am thinking of ordering a few for my fren who will be delivering in nov. May i know where you order from?

amy,

the play yard is useful as there may be times we need to keep the infant playing safely in a place... especially when we are not able to be with them for that moment. I brought it when my son was abt 10month.. creeping and crawling around very very active. As I was expecting joelle already and wanted to get him used to it , I bought the whole set and started to let him to play within its safe confine when I am unable to sit with him for short periods. Now with him walking around and exploring everything, I need the playyard even more for times where i had to attend to joelle and there is no one else to look after him. All in all, he is seldom inside the play yard... cos he prefer to roam the house and explore... but as and when i need him to be safe without my constant supervision, I will put him inside to play with his toys.

Soon I prob will take away the play yard... when joelle is slightly older.

oh it take a month to arrive for the bulk purchase ah... I was thinking of organising a bp for it... but i cant wait that long cos wanna get joelle started...guess i may just order for joelle and samuel myself

do u wake your bb up in the morning to bathe or will you let him/her to continue sleeping till he/she is awake. thanks

okipoki,

I will definitely wait for my ger to wake up before i bathe her. If not she will be super grumpy. And my mum say also no good to bathe bb once she wakes up.. must wait for a while first

okipoki,

Yup, or minimum 15 min heehee...

Anyway my bb always wake up around 6++ or 7++ am for her feed.. so after her feed, she sleep for around 2-3 hours... so i am able to bathe her around 8-10 am. Quite ideal.

And i always bathe her before her feed, else she regurgitate milk into her bath water :p