(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi Serene,
I'm ok... still trying to lose wt but appetite still so good.
U hv msn??? maybe u can log in so that we can chat. my msn is [email protected].
Wow! Go for holiday? my mother keeps asking me to go but i really dont wish to be away fr my girl. I dont think i want to bring her anywhere though cos if so, we cant really enjoy ourselves esp when i have another active boy in tow.
Your maid is fr wh country? Mine arrived in early Jul. Quite ok lah. Can cook and look after bb. But my son keeps bullying her. Think she is still trying hard to take good care of my boy.
I didnt go down to Taka fair... nothing in mind to buy.

MTDT, har? must shave hair? cannot cut and make mao bi? I dont intend to shave my girl's hair leh

msnanas, thks for the polyclinic jab pricing. Very helpful.

Hi tinklebell, thks! Yes, currently, my mum's helping me with baby round the clock.

The taimaobi is made at the same source as MTDT. I chose one which cost $158, but I bought a box which is $100 for it! I personally like the box better that the mao bi. However, after my boy boy's hair was shaved, I felt a little sad, as his hair used to be very silky and nice to feel, now very spiky ...

Hi MTDT, your boy looks very pleased with his new hairdo. Hee ... did you shave his brows too?

Hidora, my boy is really sensitive to sounds! He opens his eyes even when we turn the switches on/off!!!

Hi Yenny,

My maid is from Philippines and the agency that i went to is Budget Home. She do not have experience with taking care of baby and she's single. Nevertheless, she learns things fast and is smart too, so she picks up fast.

tinklebell,
Good to hear that you're alright. I've msn but hardly log in nowadays. I will add yrs to my address later when i'm free. My a/c is [email protected]. Are we from the same year, born in 1975?
She's from philippines, just came on 3 Aug, more than a week. She is very good in household, learn fast in looking after my baby but she can't cook yet. I'll be teaching her soon since she has already pick up and cope well looking after baby and housework. My mum also ask me to go holiday with my hubby, she will look after my baby for me with the maid but we both can't bear to leave my baby leh.....worried i will miss him when i'm away and can't enjoy too! What's the point. So my hubby says we can go with baby or wait till end of the year when baby is bigger....hmm, but is kind of waste of our leave....how nice to make use of the paid leave now to go holiday yah? In dilemma......

Hi msnanas,
Does Polyclinic offer 6 in 1 jabs too? You opt for the 4 in 1 or 5 in 1? Why is the Polio given orally for 4 in 1 pax instead?

I was told Rotavirus jab is given on 3mths, so is it given on the same day as the DTP/Polio/Hib?

Hi serene,

Not sure if your baby is cooperative. I've heard of mummies that brought babies of a few months old to Europe etc. But the feedback was half the trip is wasted on feeding time.

My boy boy at 2mths 3wks almost screamed down Changi T2 a few days ago when we went there for dinner. His cries echoed through the dome of T2, horrifying!

carebear - i choose a $168 brush...(something like means hv both wen & wu) n din upgrade the box. :p oh, i think he mention the same one as wat zoe tay did for her son.
nope, i din shave his brows... v little only anyway.
my boy slept thruout the shaving time!

did u also make the cord thingy? i like it... but dunno where is my boy's umbilical cord liao! haha

tinklebell - dun shave huh..
unles ur gal hv a lot of hair to just cut n make the mao bi... not sure abt this.
maybe call n ask them loh.

carebear29,
I would say my son is quite stable now, he's also about 2 mths 3 wks old. Yesterday, we bring him out whole day, to east coast park, safra country club at changi and to taka bb fair, liang seah st for dinner...1 whole day. he's fine but he never sleep much. curious looking around, listening to noise. even he sleeps also a short while.

serene - wow... so many places in one day?

my boy now 2mths, if he miss his afternoon nap, he will be SUPER CRANKY!!!

so far, i notice, if he sleeps well till abt 4pm+, i can bring him out till abt 7+pm. but earlier timing, CMI! :p

Serene:
same same... my boy 8 weeks, took him out from 3pm to about 11pm last nite!! all he does is zzzzzz... woke up twice to drink milk, we tired like mad he also not tired!! came home, kept me up ALL NITE!

hi carebear...

Jus be patient...ya days will come.

RE:Taimaobi
I should have paid for the lowest range of taimaobi $38 than to pay fojust a shave @ Paragon which cost me $18.

pebbles,
thanks for the info!
did you get any tiny love toys?
did they have the clip n go or the take-along-arch?
was gonna forget about going to the fair liao...
tia!

Carebear29,
Polyclinic don't have 6 in 1 yet. I took the 5 in 1 package. Not sure y Polio is oral for 4 in 1. maybe this package came before 5 in 1 and they have not invented polio injection? hee..

hey muffin

Me bought the wind chimes from mothercare few weeks ago at retail price
Wanted to buy Fruity Pals - Ozzie Orange but it was out of stock. Bought fisher price toys instead

I saw the clip n go and take along arch. About 4 shelves of Tiny love toys there

zita27,
I also express BM to feed and I got my menses at week 7 too. I think it's menses cos abt 1 week before that I ovulated. Didn't believe that it could resume so early too.

So did some research on the Internet and realised that when they say breastfeeding delays menses, they meant direct breastfeeding, i.e. latching baby. So pple like us who express, menses won't be that much delayed.

Hi serene, your boy boy so quai ... Mine gets cranky easily. We oso guess T2 may be too cold for him then.

Haha, Msnanas, funny ... guess I'll go for 5 in 1 plus Rotavirus bah.

Whoa, pebbles, your Paragon shave is ex leh! But trust me, the $38 maobi is a turn-off, it looks like it costs $0.50!!!

Hi Michelle, I tried MamyPoko, but still finds Pampers Premium more lasting. No doubt, it's cute, every pack has 4 - 5 designs on the band ... hee ... guess PP is still more worth the while though it's about 10cents more bah ...

Just realized I have tried so many things to increase bm supply. =p

1) Fenugreek (Not much increase)
2) Fish/ fish oil cap (bm reeks of fish, bb hates it. Rejects breasts totally)
3) Payaya soup
4) Royal Jelly
5) More water (urine more only)
6) Beer (for brewer's yeast, er, no help)
7) Eat more (ya, and gain more weight)
8) Direct latch on (every 1.5 - 2 hrs)
9) Domperidon (er, a little bit of increase)
10) Goat Rue (My last resort, gonna collect stock soon)

Anyway, I'hv just chg BB's milk powder to Enfalac. Hopefully, he will like it this time round.

Hidora...me too trying to change my gal's FM to enfalac..bought a small tin for her to try 1st...hope that she will adapt to it...;p

Serene...wah your bb so kuai ah..can bring out for so long...my gal still cries loud loud when she is not happy/sleepy/hungry so its quite difficult for me to bring her out...last sun went to the Mac downstairs for breakfast..in the end had to go back home early cos she started to cry as she was sleepy...haiz...

Pebbles...taka fair got take-along arch ah...maybe i will buy 1 for my gal to keep her entertained...

michele...i have used mamy poko for my gal...i like the pooh designs..so cute..i find it comparable to pampers premium...in fact it feels softer as compared to pampers..so far so good..no leakage...

when did u stop letting ur bb wears booties & mittens ? from 2mths onwards or ..... also how do u know whether ur bb got phelgm or not. thanks.

hi okipoki,
my boy stopped wearing mittens when he turned 2 months.
still wearing socks to prevent feet from getting cold.

hi spicegal,
where did you get the small tin of enfalac?
how much was it?
most places i've been sell the big tin, which has to be discarded after a month if not used up.
i use it as backup and normally can't finish the big tin in a month, very wasteful.
finally found the small tin at Guardian pharmacy, just wanted to compare prices.
tia!

okipoki...my gal stopped wearing mittens when she turns 1 mth old...she still wear socks thought cos better to keep her feet warm, and at night i let her wear mittens to sleep

michelle,

i have tried Mummy poko b4. hmm.. find that it always leak backwards, so decided not to use it.. think pampers better..

okipoki, ii have stopped letting bb to wear booties and mittens.. except at aircon place..

Serene,
Agree with Carebear that alot of time is wasted on feeding, esp bf if bring bb out.. i often bring bb out the whole day, walk every 3 hrs got to feed liao, and each feed take so long.. but it's fun to c him being so curious, mouth and eyes big big to look at the things and pple...

Just to check with all mummies ,

anyone have order Kyo Cake house cakes for baby full month ? how is the cake ? thinking of ordering their mini cakes n tarts , any one try it before? thank

muffinmocha,

I bought a small tin of enfalac last nite from shop n save. It costed $15.

Okipoki,

My boy only wear booties at nite as we on air con. Mittens are a must as he likes to pull his hair when he's angry. He's now close to 2 mths.

Hidora, jake's twin so cute ah... pull his hair when he's angry?

I have to wear mittens for Isaiah's twin cos he always rub his eyes and cheeks, sucks his fingers while sleeping... no booties even though he sleeps in air con. BTW, is it ok for bb to be in air con day and nite? Jake has never slept without the aircon.

hidora,
ur bb so cute.. will pull his hair ar. our bbs born on the same day remember ?? keke !!

can i say generally 2mths is the time where we can stop letting bb to wear mittens.. riz.

SERIOUS? to think that i was actually saving some mittens for later age... no wonder they come so small...
then how? scratch face how?

any mothers using sarong? how long can we use it for and will the baby like it for sure? thought wanna try sarong when we come back...will there be a sarong attachment?

any suggestions?

ask u all. how to store EBM inside freezer? after pump must store immediately? or can i accumulate 1 day of EBM n then transfer to freezer?

also can i mix EBM of 2 days or hv to mix EBM of only of e same day?

pls. advise. thanks.

Am going back to work next week. Currently quite stressed up over milk supply and expressing in office.

Wld like your opinions. Will expressing every 6 hours produce the 2 times the volume from expressing every 3 hours?

Somemore, my milk supply seems to have decrease suddenly. Anyone experienced that before?

also my ger too addicted to latching. i m gg back to work 1 month later. Now m training her up bottle feeding. whenever she takes bottle feeding, she wil drink 1/2 way or unfinished n want to latch on. how to solve this problem? headache leh.

actually my ger drinking 100ml but bcos of want to keep latching, she wil drink lesser from bottle. Anyway does ur baby drink a fix same amount of ml? or sometimes lesser? pls. advise.

Okipoki,
I've stopped letting my son wear mittens and socks when he turned 1 mth old. At home when we turn on aircon, I dun put on mittens and socks for him too, just cover blanket.
Only when go out to aircon places then I'll put on socks for him or when he has enzema he'll have to put on mittens to prevent him from scratching his face.

I personally like the travel system. Frd gave a 2nd hand Graco stroller. It has been very useful coz he'll usually sleep in the bb carrier, when we reach the destination and move the bb carrier to the stroller.. he's still sleeping, not knowing he's reached the destination! So we have peaceful time for shopping, etc! hee!

Peng,
I think phamacies like guardian, unity has the sterilizing pills.

Stephanie,
I'm going back in 2 wks time.. I'm also stressed over expressing in office and worry that it'll reduce the milk supply.
What I know is if you reduce the freq of expressing BM, the milk supply will decreased.

Kite,
My son also like your ger... I started bottlefeed a week ago. Initially he was like that too, now better. He's able to finish the bottle most of the time.

Mich,
i am using sarong for my ger... sarong can be used up to 1 year+ (if i am not mistaken). my ger already addicted to the momentum of the sarong thus she always want us to "swing" her. it can extremely tedious (jin bo eng one) so if u are looking for one, better get the automatic i.e the electic.

amy,

Ya, Jake's twin likes to pull his hair.. Pull already, pain, so cry. Becomes angier, pull harder, cries louder.. vicious cycle lah.. Lol

He also likes to suck his thrumb. Even with mittens on, still suck. And I think it's ok to let bb sleep in aircon. But you gotta make sure that the air is clean as there's no air circulation. On days when you see that it's windy, just open up the windows for BB Jake lah. I think he will like the wind blowing on his cheeks. =)

okipoki,

Oh ya, same birthday! Can hold b'day celeb together. =p

michele,

Cut his nails, else surely will scratch face one. And I'm using the sarong as well... hehe AUTOMATED one! Phew.. thank God for the engineer who invented automated sarong swing. Anyway, my bb wants to sleep in sarong in day time, but night time he wants to sleep on bed. So at least easier to wean off, (I hope) ;p

msnanas:
what teat n bottle r u using? i m using pigeon teat w avent bottle. i might try nuk if possible. dunno y she behaves like tat, she too used to my nipple. hv to train her but dunno how to train,cos she wil cry n fuss at bottle. any advise?

okipoki:
mine also graco stroller but hvnt use yet. wil oni use when hubby is around cos too heavy duty liao. i cant carry alone.

Hear alot about Nepia diaper. Is it good and where to get it? Tried diapers Mummy Poko, Pamper Comfort but dun like, as they cause leakage easily when poo. Especially Pamper Comfort, it leaks easily from the back as the padding does not go high up enuf, it really makes me go mad.

Hi amy,

Any idea why Mrs Wong recommends to stop wearing mttens for baby from 6 weeks onwards?

okipoki,
Ya, its pretty heavy but sturdy. Gotta go for lift instead of escalator coz really heavy.

Kite,
I'm using nuk teat for milk, pigeon teats for water and all kinds of bottles.. hee
Now I don't let him suckle so often. When I started to train him, I'll try not to bf him, no matter how loud he cry. I'll try to prolong the temptation of direct bf when he rejects the bottle and starts crying. It was quite heartening to see him screaming and crying. but well.. It takes time to see the result.