(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

thanks for your recommendations, mommies!

i tried petpet on my baby, but it leaked.
have yet to try nepia, it's always sold out!

msnanas,
the cutting for petpet is quite small right?
wat size is your son using now?

peng
u meant pampers premium at Giant JB sellin at that px? u bought the red or green packagin... wohh.. i wan to go n grab too...keke

me used petpet b4.. quite good lei. now on drypers... sucks. getting rid of it by changin her alot of times...hahaha

long time no login.. busy with work

kk,

same as you, i have been back to work for 3 weeks and surprisingly i'm enjoying work!

my daily routine has kind of settled and it's not so stressful anymore. every morning my parents will come by and pick up my baby and maid, then I will go to work. after work around 7-8pm, i will have dinner at my parents place and then drive baby and maid back home. thereafter i take care of baby till next morning.

re: PIS
the PIS advanced is really good and saves me alot of time in office. i lug my PIS wherever i go and my avent manual pump is my backup. actually i think my supply has increased after switching to PIS.

Dor,

i bought Nuby bottles before, the teats are leak proof.. but my gal disliked the texture of the teats.. so i use the bottles with pigeon teats.

re: sucking of fist/thumb
my gal sucks very loudly on her fingers, especially thumb.. does it mean that she's still hungry?

Dor,

my gal used drypers before, i hate the plastic strip! same as you, every 2.5 hours change, can use up very fast.. hehe.. you still using nepia?

muffinmocha,

If you stay near woodlands, I can pass you a few nepia to try. =)

amy,

I paid $115. It was bought in July. So quite a good deal. I looked at the condition, it's like brand new.

hidora, wow... good deal. what color? i ordered via babycentre online, about $140, but only cranberry color.

msnanas, wow... you can pump 3 times at work ah? so good. if i do that, might lose my job.. ha ha...

Peng, i understand your worries. me too, same worries. esp hubby still in darwin, been 2 weeks plus, another 2 weeks. sometimes wonder what he did to help with babysitting. felt so alone, looking after bb myself. luckily mum is here to help.

cookiemz, hope i can settle in a routine soon. back to work blues...

syen27: u talking bout my bb ah... he kept me up all nite last nite cos he wanted to suck for comfort... suck 3 mins slept in my arms... put him down, UP again... *SIGH* but everytime pick him put, he gives u the million dollar smile... so panda eyes also worth it!!!

amy,

I got the cranberry colour. =) Not something I like, but for that price, it's a good buy. Anyway, now I'm glad I got this colour, since camel would turn dirty easier...

Can leh. I let bb of 7wks try sleeping in it. No prob. But must sleep in cradle hold position. And I suggest you use a towel to put inside, so that the strap wun cut into bb's tights.

http://www.myfavoritebabycarrier.com/ii1.html

Above is the instruction on how to put bb in cradle hold position. And you will also get what I mean by putting towel. Basically put the towel like how she put the infant thingy.

michele,

ergo not for newborn lah.. It's actually hard for newborn to use. Can be used until bb is abt 18kg.

muffinmocha,
My son using Petpet M size. He's 6kg+ now. I started using M size when he's 5kg+. coz the S size cutting too small for him, every 1-2 hrs gotta change else it'll leak or overflow.

Amy,
I think shd be able to pump 3 times, gotta sacrifice the teabreaks and have short lunch time.
I dun really bother abt my job. Last year work so hard as first time working with this boss, work late almost everyday... in the end boss gets the credit and get promoted... I get nothing and not even a higher PB. So now bo chap liao.. work can never finish, I'll just do my best within the working hours. hahaha

msnanas,

My colleague gave me 2 pcs of petpet to try and it works well on her. I already find M sized a bit small for her. I guess she is around 7 kg now.

Hey, how come ur pampers leak? Did u get the premium one? Pampers work very well on my bb, so much so that i am not willing to try other brands haha..

cookiemz,

I have about the same routine as u, just tat we send our bb over to my in laws place, which is just 2 streets away. After tat hubby drive me to work, also around 2 streets away, and then he drive to work. he will pick me up from school around 6 pm and we will have dinner at in laws place (if there is no shopping plan etc) and then fetch bb back. Will reach home before 8 pm normally

In fact i feel much better after returning to work. Everything's within my control. Perhaps i am not meant to be SAHM afterall haha! I prefer a more hectic life outside.

Dor,

My colleague also told me pampers premium at JB selling so much cheaper than singapore.

i dun like pampers too, always leak. now change to nepia.

for those TBF mummies going back to work, wat u gg to feed ur baby? FM or stock up EBM? cos my BM seems just nice leh, feed on demand. u?

i also wish to join the msn messenger list

1. dor : [email protected]
2. missk :[email protected]
3. hidora : [email protected]
4. Paula: [email protected]
5. Tinklebell: [email protected]
6. cloud9mummy: [email protected]
7. mspiggy: [email protected]
8. peng: [email protected]
9. duffybuff: [email protected]
10. spicegal : [email protected]
11. okipoki: [email protected]
12. Hazel: [email protected]
13. matched_gal: [email protected]
14. poohy: [email protected]
15. Josephine: [email protected]
16. Kite: [email protected]
17. Shell: [email protected]
18. Michele: [email protected]
19. muffinmocha: [email protected]
20. syen27: [email protected]
21. ahblur: [email protected]

muffinmocha,
he will nap after playing a while after each feed.. sometimes, he will sleep immediately after the feed.. he naps very short periods, like 1 or 2 hrs only.. from 7 to 8 plus at night, he will be awake..or i will wake him up to play (tummy time lah).. so by 8 plus, he tired leow.. recently he even fall asleep on his own after his last feed at night.. i dump him on the cot, on the mobile and he fell asleep on his own.. think he got suck his fist for a while lah..

kite,
I built up ebm stock before gng back to work.. froze them in avent bags.. I move these stock by using some frozen and some fresh ebm every day.. so at least the frozen ebm is not kept too long.. can only keep for 2 mths max..

yve:
wow cos my ss like just nice, feed on demand. but i m trying to start stock up now since i wil be gg work next mid mth (extend 1/2 a month using my annual leave).

btw how did u start n do abt it on stocking up the excess? i guess right now u must hv alot of stock up excess liao?

any mummies here shop at: http://www.dignus.sg/

I want to know how long they take to deliver the goods. Thanks!

Re: Diapers
I am currently using both Pampers (Red colour, S) & Drypers. Dun really like pampers cos it leak, when my boy poo a lot, the poo will go all the way back & stain his shirt & pants. Using Drypers cos bought 2 packs fr last Taka BB fair & my colleagues gave 3 packs as gifts...Now i have so much diapers at home

kite, i will use EBM which i have stocked up and also what i have pumped during the day. If not enuf, then will use formula.

amy, i think i am also going to pump just once a day in the office during lunch time. hope i wont be too engorged before i reach home.

yves, do u notice that the defrosted EBM has a layer of yellow oily stuff? i checked with my BF'g friends. Apparently they say it is normal. But somehow, i find it weird.

re: Avent pump
Anyone using Avent manual pump? How is it? Can get milk flowing out quickly? I'm thinking of using that when i go back to work cos it's lighter and leaving my electric pump at home.

kk,
The one my hubby bought is Pampers baby dry. The part which covers from the half his buttocks to his waist doesn't absorb. So when he poo alot, it will flow in between his buttocks and hence thru the pampers.

ipanda, i bought fr dignus once... prices of their things r cheap but they took 5 days to deliver my stuff. spicegal also bought fr them but they delivered her stuff on the day she ordered. i called them they say bet 2 to 5 days.

Kite,
I'm planning to feed him stock up EBM. He is now on TBM. Last week I've tried giving him abit of FM (Nan-HA) to see if he drinks. At first he refused, then finally he drinks. After that, I continue with BM. 1-2 hrs later, he became merlion and threw up ALOT. Then I've stopped giving him FM.
My mum told me to mix FM with BM, so if one day supply starts to get low, he'll be used to the FM.
I'll leave this task to my mum when I'm back at work. Now so busy coping alone with housechores and bb. hee

tinkle bell: me using avent manual, in fact i ve 2... they're good, i dun find the necessity for an electric as avent manaul works very well for me!!

yep, the yellow oily stuff... guess our milk is oily?

YVE: i thought ebm can keep up to 6 mths??!!!
i pump everyday about 80-120ml, BUT i TBF... stocking up to mix with solids in the future... cannot keep that long meh...

Dor
Yes the pampers there are very cheap.. err.. i bought the orange ones, dun think it sells here cos that one got 68 pcs.. the green and red think got only 48 pcs selling at around RM30 too..

I have tried it.. not bad leh.. no leak at all n can last for long..

Amy,
Understand what u mean.. my hb also oftens goes on biz trip though luckily this period dun have.. but even if he's in SIN, he is wking late.. so most of the time it's me who's taking care of bb, but luckily got supportive family to help out, so it's not bad.

Kite,
me too.. my ss is juz nice.. Sigh.. think will have to give FM to the bb once i start wk cos i dun think i can pump so often.. but i m very scared of the engorement pain..

Tinkle,
I think the yellow oily stuff is fats.. Mine also have.. hear that that fats is good for bb, so shdn't be ok..

Check with u gals.. is it necessary to get 2 pumps? one at home and 1 in office? hmm.. i only got PIS, already spend so much on it so dun feel like spending so much $. So thinking of bringing the PIS around.. but very heavy.. Sigh.

Michele, huh? Ergo for NB? Website stated 6 months above... wow... your bb so cute... my bb jake... sleep throughout from 8 pm every nite to 8 am.... wakes up twice 1 am and 6 am... drink milk, sleep again... zzzzzz....

MSN: not installing, going back to work, so can't chat much anyway... can chat in the forum la...

tinklebell: me also plan to pump once a day at lunch time. also plan to use avent manual in office, cos light and easier to pump, also quieter. ha ha...

ipanda, i bought from dignus on Friday, they delivered on Tues. So far ok.

msnanas, pampers bb dry not as good as premium. i use premium and M poko at nite, nepia in day.

peng, PIS is dual pump rite? maybe you can bring the manual part of PIS to office to pump?

hope the transition back to work will be smooth for me. mum is willing to help me look after bb jake at my place when i go back to work... 4 days a week Mon to Thurs. I am so thankful, else, will have to go with initial plan - place at in laws with maid. just din like the idea of my maid looking after bb jake... so now, problem solved! can work in peace.

peng,

since u already have to PIS, stick to it, one pump is enough since PIS is very good. My fren also have a PIS since her 1st son. Now her 2nd son is 1 yr old & she is still pumping. She carry her PIS backpack whereever she goes. Once we went for a wedding dinner, during the last dish, she disappeared, her hubby said she went back to the car to pump. I regret not buying the PIS
485127.gif

Amy,
Sigh.. Hubby bought 2 packs of pampers bb dry during promo. Dunno how now. Maybe just use and pray he dun poo too much.. else I gotta wash his clothes...

How heavy is PIS?

Mothers:

i ve a piece of advice to give, i notice most of you are thinking bout buying Avent manual pump. it's a good buy!! True, easy to take around...but how to sterilize in the office?

buy the bottle where u can fit the Avent bags in them and put the pump in a ziplock bag, take it home everyday to sterilize, u don't have to take the bottle home as it doesnt get dirty!! :)

use 2 ziplocks, one for the pump after use and one for the pump after sterlizing...dispose the ziplocks after 1 week!!

kite,
I used up one small tin of similac before, hence i have some stock when i replaced the feed with FM .. and i also have excess when i pump in the morning.. sometimes 4oz excess every day..

tinklebell,
that layer is the fats that is from the hindmilk.. good for bb brain development! It is normal.. sometimes defrosted ebm also got some residue, normal too.. hate washing teats though, cos very oily uh..
i am using the avent manual.. Used to it leow.. convenient lah.. always good to have a manual pump in case no power, no batteries or pump spoilt.

michele,
dun keep ebm too long lah.. better to give fresh..

michele,
i dun sterilise, i put the pump in the fridge after the first pump.. so far ok lor.. if office got microwave, can use medela microwave bags to sterilise.. or use chemical sterilisation..

Oh Mummies,

I found a few diet plan. Anyone wanna be my diet kakhi?

1st plan,

3 day apple diet plan: (3-5kg lost in 3 days)

All you eat is apple. Red apple is the best.

For all 3 days, all you eat is apple and nothing else. No other fruits or food.
You can eat these apples on meal time or whenever you are hungry.
Fresh apples and must peel off the skin.
During this 3 days, if you are thirsty, drink water or mint tea.
During this 3 days, if you are constipated, on the 3rd night, drink 1-2 tbsp of olive oil.

After the 3rd day, go back to normal diet.
On the 4th day, eat some light meal because your stomach has shrunk. Absolutely no tidbits.
For the 1st 3 days after the 3-day apple diet, it's best to eat porride, tofu or whatever it's light.

2nd plan,

(1 month 10 kg)
The magazine said this is the diet that HK celebrities has been following for ages.

1st day:
Breakfast: 1 whole meal toast + 1tbsp peanut butter + 1/2 grapefruit

Lunch: 1 whole meal toast + 1 small can of tuna

Dinner: 2 piece of meat (70g) + 1 cup of snow pea + 1 cup of asparagus + 1 small apple

Drink with warm water of tea (said qing cha)

2nd day:
Breakfast: 1 whole meal toast + 1 poached egg + 1/2 banana

Lunch: 2 pieces of soda cracker + 1 cup of yogurt

Dinner: 2 hotdog + 1 cup of qing (as in green) hua (as in flower) ye (as in coconut) chia (as in vegetable) ??? + 1/2 cup asparagus + 1/2 banana

3rd day:
Breakfast: 1 piece of soda cracker + 1 piece of low fat cheese + 1 small apple

Lunch: 1 whole meal toast + 1 poached egg

Dinner: 1 small can of tuna + 1 cup of that vegetable + 1/2 cup of cucumber + 1 cupof asparagus + 1/2 banana

Note:
every meal should be accompanied by light tea or warm water. 1 day 8 big cups of water.

You can only use salt and pepper to season your food.

Only use water to boil your vegetable.

For the 1st 3 days, you can lose max of 4kg.
After the 3 days, you can go back to normal diet. No big feast.
After 4 days, go back to the 3-days diet again.
MUST REMEMBER: you must take a break of 4 days in between the 3-day diet.

Meaning: Diet for 3 days, rest 4 days, and go back to 3 days diet.