(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hidora, ha ha... swim in long bath... or use inflatable swimming pool. I want to get one for Jake, where i can sit in it with him. also, we are thinking of converting our outdoor koi pond to a pool for bb jake...

hidora,

Thanks for the warm welcome!

Was too busy adjusting to life with baby. Hardly get time to do my personal things.

muffinmocha,

The seat is quite expensive hor? S$79.90 For how long can baby use it up to? More than one year old can or not? At which other places can it be bought?

tris,
went to check the box, it says 3-14 months
i saw it at carrefour, some toys'r'us, mums and babes
best time to get it is at the fairs coz bigger discounts, you may wanna check it out at the baby fair which Angeline had pointed out - BB Fair @ taka from 9th Aug to 27th Aug

i'm looking for tiny love toys now...

muffinmocha,

thanks for checking. maybe i'll make a trip to taka to see if they sell it there.

Does anyone know if the bubbaduck wetsuits tat amy mentioned can be bought in SG? I went to the website and am fascinated by them. Would like to buy them too!

Shell,

medela milk bags quite ex i think. You can try Avent milk bags, a lot cheaper. Try going to the Taka Baby Fair...they sell the Avent milk bags during their last fair. One box is ard $13++

hi i_panda,

i have the symphony in motion too!
my baby loves it
i thinking of getting the Take-along-arch, Clip & Go, and the double-sided first book
just waiting for the right sale to come along
gonna check out at Tangs and Isetan tomorrow

re: avent milk bags, panda, do you double-bag as instructed?
read in another forum, the milk bags had a smell to it
i experimented with water, froze it and thaw it to drink, indeed had a plastic taste,
still sticking to glass bottles now, and i'm running out of freezer space soon :p

muffinmocha,

tiny love toys quite good...bb still young oni 2mths now..will prob get more toys when he is bigger.

Re: Milk Bags
Ha ha...me bought a lot of avent bags prev, thot i will have a lot of supply. Haven't use the avent bags yet, now oni store in bottles. I don't have a lot of excess milk to store, my fridge will max have 2-3 bottles. So i cannot answer your qns

re: avent milk bag
can we use avent milkbag on medela pump also..rite.

Huh..milk bag got plastic smell....hmm..then how am i going to express the milk out in office. The freezer in my office very small...somemore share with big group...headache liao

sohldful,

Wa, so interesting... but not very scary leh, the face.. thou hor if I'm in the car, confirm die of heart attack! Lol. Luckily, you not showing us chinese ghosts. Somehow I feel chinese one will be very scary. ;p

amy,

Lucky BB jake. I think I put an inflatable at home, living room no space to walk liao. Hehe

welcome tris
i gv birth on 4jun at MAH too. mayb we hv bump into each other. which rm r u stayin then. me Rm 325.

hey ladies
anyone use the pigeon wide neck bottles. can anyone tell me abt the teats? wat the diff for M and Y teats.
anyone usin Nuby bottles huh?

Hi amy,
When i go back to work, baby will be left with my maid under the supervision of my MIL. Yes my MIL mainly supervise only since now i've got a maid. My MIL will come over to my house everyday. On the days if she's not free, i may bring the maid and baby to my mother's house. Since you have engaged a maid, you must entrust the care of baby to her. She is here to help us.

Hi Dor,
I stayed in Rm 332. Perhaps we bumped into each other at the nursery before. I was always in and out of there. Checking on my DD and chatting with the nurses. Hehe. Is your BB boy or girl?

Hi msnanas,
Thanks for the thread link.

Serene, me too, have to leave maid and bb at MIL place, and MIL is there to supervise only. I dun like the idea that maid look after bb. Am i being too fussy? I engaged this maid just to look after bb, but now, having second tots. It's not that i dun trust my maid, she is great with babies. just din like the idea. dunno how... my mum is happy to come to my place to look after bb, but dunno how to tell MIL, since arrangement made with her way in advance.

Tris, i think the bubbaduck wetsuits are not available in Sin. We bought from them in Oz, 10 pcs or more, 20% off, i think. The mailing cost is A$55.

Maybe you can write to them, enquire, and organise a BP? or maybe there will be enough interested buyers in our June thread?

Shell, re: i think we can use avent milkbag on medela pump also. i have avent and medela pumps, and i also got a converter to convert the medela pump attachment to avent bottles. That way, can still use my avent bottles to pump direct and store in bottles. when i go back to work, will use avent milk bags, more convenient. no need to sterilise, can leave the disposable bottle holder in the office, just bring the top part of the pump home to sterilise everyday.

Hi Mothers,

i found this posting on NUK bottles, Dor, is this what u meant?

"nuk's teat is more similar to nipple... 2. if she doesn't like silicon teats, then try the yellow rubber ones..."

here's the link if you're interested in the whole story!!
http://www.parentpages.net/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=1600&highlight=nuk

i use avent bags, must buy many clips to clip it, i buy the clips from ikea! cos i run out of avent ones. what bottles do some mothers store their bm into?? sometimes i use the avent via cups.

Michele, i use avent bottles to store my BM. I dun have much, the most 4 bottles at one go, so it's ok. You can also tie the milk bags with cables, easier.

Michelle,
I got it from hospital. They will throw away the bottles after feeding the bbs. So I just ask from them and they'll dig from the trash. =)
Then just buy the caps.

amy,
which model of medela pump are you using?

msnanas,
i get the bottles from the hospital too
where did you deliver?
i dun think they dig from trash lah, dun scare michele :p
if you need more bottles, can request from the auntie who tends the convenience store at Mt A.
Same place where you can get the bottle caps.
i left my number with her, she said she'd get some and call me when the nurses pass her some

soh1dful,

For my ger (in her 3.5 mth now), we started feeding her water from 2nd mth onwards. We dun limit the amount of water she drink. Initially she can drink 80 - 100 ml of water at one go and that was one feed of water per day. If two feeds of water, she can drink around 50 ml per feed. We tried to "bluff" her to drink in between her milk feeds. But now, really not easy to bluff her, so at times she only drink 30 - 50 ml of water per day. She also tends to sleep more recently so "escape" from her water feed haha..

soh1dful, I feed water to my bb from 2nd month onwards too. 30 to 60 ml per alternate day. I am partial BF also.
You can start water feeding by spoon feeding first, once bb used to it, then convert to bottle feeding. Once bb happy with water, than you can consider introducing gripe water mixed with water, maybe 3 months onwards?

muffinmocha, I am using medela PIS advance.
Very good system.

muffinmocha,
I deliver at MAH. You deliver at TMC rite, how come you go MAH and get? TMC don't give the used bottles?
I saw them digging from the bin which they usually throw the used bottles leh.. maybe its not really a trashbin.. heehee

Amy,
How much is the medela PIS advance? I'm using medela mini electric... I'm considering getting a PIS if its affordable and if I'm able to continue BF after going work.

msnanas, i paid $600 for my PIS. Got on promotion from First Few Years in Paragon. Usual price outside is $700 plus. With the PIS, expressing is such a breeze. But when I go back to work, i will be expressing at work with my avent manual pump, easier to transport, less bulky.

kk, this week is my last week of maternity leave, start work next Monday. Having back to work blues, worry abt bb and caregiving arrangements.

hi mummys...

amy - so fast back to work...

i just look at the calendar... only 4 more weeks for me. so sian!! :p

msnanas,
tmc gave me bottles
but i needed more, seems quite weird to go back tmc to ask for more, so we asked the auntie when we bought the caps

she gave me about 50 more i think :p

i'm gonna get the PIS Advance from First Few Years too!
Been eyeing it for a while now, think it's the cheapest around at $599
http://www.firstfewyears.com.sg/pdts.asp?cid=15&sid=10
currently using a borrowed set of PIS Original.

amy,
i can totally understand how your feel about going back work, i'm not looking forward to it either

mtdt,
we're back at work about the same time!

Hope not too late to join in the msn messenger list..

1. dor : [email protected]
2. missk :[email protected]
3. hidora : [email protected]
4. Paula: [email protected]
5. Tinklebell: [email protected]
6. cloud9mummy: [email protected]
7. mspiggy: [email protected]
8. peng: [email protected]
9. duffybuff: [email protected]
10. spicegal : [email protected]
11. okipoki: [email protected]
12. Hazel: [email protected]
13. matched_gal: [email protected]
14. poohy: [email protected]
15. Josephine: [email protected]
16. Kite: [email protected]
17. Shell: [email protected]
18. Michele: [email protected]
19. muffinmocha: [email protected]
20. syen27: [email protected]

muffinmocha - wow.. 50 bottles huh! tat's alot.

i also need to get more glass bottles liao.
maybe will popby to get.

thinking shd i use milk bags instead... but scare i v clumsy.

muffinmocha, yes, the PIS Advance is the cheapest i can find in town.

so sian...thinking of the work piling up back in the office. these few nites cannot sleep well, worried abt bb jake... wonder whether he will miss mummy...

I add on mine here..

1. dor : [email protected]
2. missk :[email protected]
3. hidora : [email protected]
4. Paula: [email protected]
5. Tinklebell: [email protected]
6. cloud9mummy: [email protected]
7. mspiggy: [email protected]
8. peng: [email protected]
9. duffybuff: [email protected]
10. spicegal : [email protected]
11. okipoki: [email protected]
12. Hazel: [email protected]
13. matched_gal: [email protected]
14. poohy: [email protected]
15. Josephine: [email protected]
16. Kite: [email protected]
17. Shell: [email protected]
18. Michele: [email protected]
19. muffinmocha: [email protected]
20. syen27: [email protected]
21. kk: [email protected]

Surprisingly, i dun feel anything or super depressed when going back to work. I am already 3rd week into my work. Perhaps too busy to think of anything else haha.. but very tiring though, and sorry for not spending enough time with ger.

Amy,
You'll b using manual pump when you go back office? I was thinking the other way, getting a better one when back at work, coz might not be able to pump so often.. so having will good one to pump in office shd be able to maintain the supply.

muffinmocha,
u're so funny.. Y feel weird going back TMC where you deliver your bb. heehee

MTDT,
U going MAH to get? When you getting? Then I will avoid that timing else I wun get any. 2 weeks ago went down to get and just nice someone came before me and took everything... I went back emptyhanded and wasted my trip.

msnanas & amy,

me also thinking of getting the Medela PIS but if really want to buy PIS, i need to sell off my Avent ISIS iQ UNO & the Medela Cooler Bag which i just bought...

msnanas,
no lah, since the auntie at mt. a say can get for me, might as well take lor :p
go back tmc still have to explain

i'd be leaving the PIS in the office to pump too

no lah.. most likely going to TMC to take.

i also thinking of leavin my PIS in office...
just take back the bottles n funnels everyday.

msnanas, how many times will you pump a day in office? i intend to pump once only. at home, i will pump 3 times at least (twice at night), so better to have the PIS at home.

i_panda77, you can still keep you avent pump, like me, one in office, one at home.

muffinmocha, re diapers, nepia is good. i use for day, pampers premium and MP at nite.

amy,

I bought a second hand ergo carrier from one mummy. Seriously it's pretty good!. Think I will buy the backpack to go along with it.

Amy
Me too going bk to wk very soon.. 1 more wk to countdown.. i am also very worried that i can't cope with the nite feeds and job stress... now at home so shiok can take lots of naps.. 1 more wk this will be gone.. Also worried that bb won't be well taken care of and what if bb dun miss me.. Also whether can maintain MS since pumping/ latching on will be reduced.. Sigh.. lots of worry..

I am using PIS at home now.. find it very good leh..

Muffinchocha, I am using pampers.. Yest went to JB.. wow!.. Giant M'sia sells the pampers so cheap. RM29.50 for 68 pkts.. have tried today.. not bad leh.. so maybe will try to stock up more next time.

Btw, the bb clothes and toys seem cheap there.. dun ii din buy cos got too many of these..

i_panda,
If i'm getting PIS, I also need to sell off my medela mini electric. PIS is quite ex, big investment for me.

muffinmocha,
my son now using petpet, like wat kk said, its pretty good. He can't use pampers coz when he poo alot, it'll flow back and dirty the bed or clothes.
I've tried pureen, same price as petpet. I don't really like the quality, feel like paper.
Now I have extra pureen and pampers.. dunno how. Heartpain to give away ..duno can sell off or not.

Amy,
I'm intending to pump at least 2 times. Best is 3 times if possible, morning, lunchtime and late afternoon.
When back home, I'll let him suckle instead of pump.

Peng,
Bb stuff in M'sia is cheap. I went last year when I was pregnant and bought alot of bb clothes. Its so cheap.. One top only RM3! When back in sg, wanted to get some more clothes for him but its so ex. So in the end, din buy.