(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hidora, i want to get a BN Ergo. Ross emailed me. will organise a second BP when i am back in the office. if we can get 20 pax, will be a good price. just a bit more than a second hand one. can choose your own color too.

Rashes/sensitive skin/Enzema

think it comes and goes. better to leave it alone if on the face. if wash with water or soap too often, will stripe the skin off its natural moisture. that's why dry.

Shell, i have a maxicosi Cabrio infant car which I got from BB Hypermart. However, my bb jake now 2 months old, cannot belt up lo. The car seat too tight for him... Also, i only used the car seat three times while pushing him on my stroller, now, he prefers the stroller, more roomy and more comfy.

Michele, i find the maxicosi Cabrio infant car easy to use, as the base is fixed in the car anyway. just pull up, place on my peg perego stroller, click and go. if you are placing the infant car seat in your car, do get a mat to place below, else there will be a mark on your car seat. the mat is available from mothercare.

MTDT - is the rotavirus jab part of the complusory jabs? my PD recommended the jab against pneumococcal disease. plan to jab after bb 6 months. so far, bb only went for the 1 month Hep B jab. at 3 months, he will go for the 1st dose of DPT and Poliomyelitis.

Michele, the mat is about $80.

my bb is 6-7 weeks now. DOB: 15 jun

rota - not complusory but i feel tat's nec. my nephew kenna before n stayed in KKH for 5 days. so i scared liao. :p

amy,

You confirm organizing ah? Ok, then I wait for your bp to start. `The contact that Ross gave you was from Mummymilk? Let me email Chloe to see if she's able to offer a good price for BP. =)

Do we need a special mat? Can use any carpet instead?

Rotavirus is not compulsory, but my PD say better take. He said all kids will at least get it once, so better to spare bb from the diarrhea.

I took 6 in 1 for baby also. So in all, will only need 3 jabs. If taking 5 in 1, will have to give baby 5 jabs.

michele,

Your bb looks so chubby, very cute!

THANKS Hidora.. but he's kinda small leh..was born 2.62kg, now 6 weeks 3.9kg, 54cm. i put on 20kg!! BUt all the weight apparently went to me!

michele,

Dun worry too much about bb's weight. As long as he's eating fine and putting on weight healthily can liao.

I also put on too much weight for my pregnancy. My gynae said all weight comes to me too.

hi june mommies!

so glad to have found this thread!
i'm a 1st time mommy to a 2 mth old boy, birthday on 3 june.
looking fwd to sharing baby experiences and tips with june mommies here!

michele,
me too! i put on 20+kg n baby was abt the same weight as yours at 6 weeks.
trying to lose the pounds now.
r u breastfeeding?

re: baby acne on face
my boy had red spots on face too initially
we used cooled boiled water to clean, helped a little
it was only when we bathed him twice a day and cleaned his face with Lactacyd that it significantly cleared up
prob the ph3.5 of the solution helped

re: slings
i'm using hotslings

re: stroller
i'm shopping for one now as well
i like the quinny zapp, and peg perego
but all so exp!
any one using combi? is it well padded?

tia!

hidora,
ur bb's expression is so cute!

Talking abt bb's wt, very geksim... mine came out bigger at 3.8kg but doesn't seem to be gaining much on TBF (poo/pee output very gd). Still within normal wtgain lah, but I notice some of ur bbs lighter than him at birth, are way heavier now.
No way to forcefeed him leh. :/ I have slight excess of BM ss, also take omega pills and gd meals leh.

hidora - so cute.
i also like to put bb on legs like tat.

muffin - wow, so fast can sit bumbo? neck steady already?

medusa,
how many weeks is your baby now and how heavy is he?

michele,
TBF = total breastfeeding
thanks for the strollers link!
have added you to my MSN
mine is [email protected]

mtdt,
neck quite steady liao at 2months
went to paed today for review checkup coz my boy's weight gain is slow for the 1st month
now weight at 4.65kg, but prob 1kg behind his peers.
kinda paranoid about his weight
me on partial bfg

medusa, MTDT,

Thanks. Hehe. It's my mom's leg. My leg very short, somehow he ends up awkard on my thighs.

michele,

Added you. =)

Celeste,
I took whole 12 wk of ML...coz although my edd is in june but I deliver baby in may...so go back work ealier than u gals...

peng,
when I went for haircut, I asked the hairdresser if hair will drop at 4th mth...he say yupz, likely to drop so no point rebonding/perming...he even advise me to cut my hair thin so that the rate of hair dropping can minimise...

1. dor : [email protected]
2. missk :[email protected]
3. hidora : [email protected]
4. Paula: [email protected]
5. Tinklebell: [email protected]
6. cloud9mummy: [email protected]
7. mspiggy: [email protected]
8. peng: [email protected]
9. duffybuff: [email protected]
10. spicegal : [email protected]
11. okipoki: [email protected]
12. Hazel: [email protected]
13. matched_gal: [email protected]
14. poohy: [email protected]
15. Josephine: [email protected]
16. Kite: [email protected]
17. Shell: [email protected]
18. Michele: [email protected]
19. muffinmocha: [email protected]

re: 4-6 week assessment
what is this assessment about? I never bring my son for any assessment when he's 4-6 week old leh....did I miss out something?

amy,
yeah pour abit of the lotion on the cloth then wipe lor
my mum said "gan gan" push ur finger in to wipe... haha !!

spicegal,
my mum bought for me in those neighbourhood medical hall. the box is yellow/green colour with a pic of a baby

slings:
- i borrowed a forget-wat-brand PINK-striped cotton sling when starting out. Din like the shoulder *padding*. Then bought a burgundy MIM silk sling. But it was abit hot for outdoors.
479585.jpg

- this yr bought the Taylormade Water Mesh sling- kinda Nike type of dryweave, soft stretchy material, still provides enough bfg cover. Tried on my 10kg tod when I was in final mth of pregnancy. Avail. from http://loveslings.com/ (locally) or http://taylormadeslings.com/tms/htm...log.php?p_id=36 (USA).
479586.jpg

479587.jpg

muffinmocha,
oh, it's the assessment in the health booklet...I saw that one....I was told to do the 3mth assessment in the health booklet before going for jab at polyclinic when baby is 3mth old....but din do the 4-6 week assesment...thanks

btw, how old is your baby? he can sit in a bumbo seat liao...

okasan,
Confirm ah? Hair will drop in 4th mth... so sad.. any1 got any tips to prevent this???

Muffinmocha
Welcome.. wow ur bb's neck is so strong.. can sit on bumbo seat.

Medusa,
Your bb seems very big and u look so slim and pretty..

i m may mummy, trying to order similac for my keane; 3 mths old.I have this lobang, selling at $26 per tin 900g for similac infant. Therefore, local packing. manufactured by abbott Ireland for Abbott laboratories North chicago, USA. Expiry date is 2008.
i brought 1s from my friend's friend. She works at this abbott singapore. Hence, currently, i left 2 tins.So far so good.
Any interested party ps send email to me @ [email protected]
Would prefer prepaid to prevent back out.Self collection at sengkang or pasir panjang

By the way, i accidentally delete one of the mummies email, mind to email me one more time. Thanks

Thanks mummies for your reply. Think I'll start bathing him with bb soap every morning.
479779.gif

Spicegirl,
How much you bought the lactaycd? Guardian selling promo pack 2 for $15+, is it cheap?

re: Rashes/sensitive skin/Enzema
I've just tried using Hazeline Snow to moisturise the dry skin on his cheeks, its seems to suit him. I've shd have tried this first... then save my worries and $. Spent $14+ on the QV cream.. the hazeline snow only $3+ for a big bottle..
479780.gif

Hi muffinmocha,
My son also born on 3rd jun. Which hospital you deliver?
479781.gif

Ya, hair really drops significantly for me after delivering in April! So betta dun do any chemical treatments to aggravate

Maya Pouch
Maybe can try the maya pouch as it is definately more comfy and easier than slings. No need to adjust everytime you use, jus put baby in and the material is so beautiful!

Hidora, yes, I am now checking with Ross whether she can contact Chloe for a better price, while i organise the BP. I am asking Ross to neg with Chloe, to take our BP as top up items to Ross's BP.
Keep our fingers crossed.

Thanks for the info on jabs. I think i will also take Rotavirus as well as 6 in 1.

Hidora, your bb so cute! look like my bb jake. ha ha... all babies look alike hor?

muffinmocha, how old is your bb? can sit already ah? jie jie muffin very pretty le.

okipoki, my bb jake wailed so loud yesterday when i wash his tongue. now gotta do slowly, must ask his permission first... ha ha...okies, will go get the S L solution.

Medusa, how to get bb to sit in MIM sling? I have one, but bb jake din like sleeping in the sling. maybe i sling incorrectly?

amy,

Haha, really look alike! Like brothers like that. Lol. I think cos our baby both single eyelid.

I show my mom Bb Jake's pix, know what my mom say? "Isn't this our baby?" Hahahaha... even the grandma cannot regconize.

Amy: Jake's so handsome! whats his weight and length? Is there a specific weight a bb should be when he's certain age? (weeks/months) Thanks!

hi msnanas,
i delivered at tmc.
r u on msn?

hi amy,
my boy's neck quite strong at 2 months, can sit with support liao.

hi michele,
you can find growth charts for breastfed babies on the WHO website: http://www.who.int/childgrowth/standards/en/
i was pretty concern about my baby's weight gain as well, quite slow in the first month, even had to go for review with the paed
but paed said that he's developing well, very alert, focus and healthy, and is already engaging well when interacted
dun worry too much on the weight gain if your baby's healthy, really.

hidora, ha ha... when i showed my mum bb Isaiah, she said so handsome, looked like bb jake...

michele, bb jake now 6.5 kg, as for length, i am not sure. will bring him for his 3rd month jabs in 2 weeks' time, will know then.
His birth weight is 3.24 kg, 49 cm.

muffinmocha, wow... your bb can sit with support liao ah... how you train him ah?

hidora, my hubby in Darwin now.... there for one month. my mum said show bb isaiah pic to my hubby, say it's bb jake... ha ha... maybe you try on your hubby?

Msnanas...i bought my latacyd at guardian for $10 plus per bottle if i remember correctly so $15 for 2 bottles is definitely a deal...thanks for the info..i will also go and buy to stock up...hehe

Okipoki..thanks...i will try to find...

Michele...me too just did rebond and colour...so sad to hear tat hair will drop...

Mummies...this morning brought my gal for her 1st 6-in-1 jab...the doc also did the 4-6 weeks assesment for my gal...so far at 8 weeks her weight is 4.2kg, length 55cm..doc commented tat my gal is small boned and small eater so not to worry too much about her weight gain as long as she is healthy...

amy,

I tried liao! LOL. My hb really tot BB jake is BB Isaiah. Weight also the same. BB Isaiah is 6.5kg now. We should bring them out together, then people will think they are twins.

Wa, 1 mth, so long. Think your hb is gonna miss BB Jake lots.

hi amy,
not consciously trained lah :p
all babies' neck will become stronger sooner or later
i usually burp him on my shoulder n he will wanna lift his head
during playtime every couple of days, i'd give him some tummy time (lie on tummy) for a few mins
also, he doesn't quite like to be carried in the cradle / sleeping position, especially when he's cranky, he like to be carried upright on the shoulder
by n by, he learnt to lift up head for longer periods

amy,
my boy doesn't like to lie down in sling either, he likes to be "hugged upright". I just put him in like I'm hugging him upright... he can be facing u or sideways (his legs will be sitting cross-legged), tighten the sling and use one arm to support *HIS NECK*. Since bbs this young need neck support. Not handsfree lor.

I dun like needing 1 hand to support, so now I'm trying to switch to Baby Bjorn... when his neck is firm enough, then I'd sling him upright with legs hanging out.

Handsome Jake
. U dun hav any help while ur HB's away? How do u deal with all that crying? I'd be a wreck!

hidora, ai yo... must pull your hubby's ear... ha ha... cannot recognise bb isaiah. I will try when my hubby is back from Darwin, hee hee... i think he will not be able to tell as well, as one month, bb jake can grow alot.
the last time, he was in BKK for two weeks, came back, cannot reognise bb jake... he said, what's this fat boy doing here? dun look like my sweet peanut anymore... ha ha...

re Ergo BP, contacted Ross, she will organise a BP on Monday. Great... what color you looking at? I am interested in Black and Burgandy, but on the website, looked more like Navy and Burgandy. I prefer the latter.

Medusa, good idea, hugging bb upright, but must also adjust the sling accordingly? but sitting cross legged, can anot? will cramp if sit too long? rather than switching to BB Bjorn, maybe you should consider Ergo, much better.

My mum is here to help while hubby is away. She stays with me for the whole one month, taking days off in between to go home to do housekeeping. Actually, bb jake seldom cry... cos we know his routine, so before he cry for milk, we already all ready lo...
these few days, he enjoys flash cards - bb einstein discovery ones... in color, but he will focus on the black words, sometimes on the picture..
when my mum read to him, he will go ooohhh.... ahhh.... very cute.

Michele

re BF, 15 mins per breast, bb can empty lo.
you can tell that the MS is slow, cos bb jake will be very fussy at the end... will grumble...twist his head or pull backwards.. ha ha...