(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

I'm going back to work next week...how time flies....

now I'm more worry abt expressing breast milk for baby when I start work....hopefully I can express milk in office...coz I really hope to bf baby for at least 6 mth...

okasan,
ya lor...my ger is everyday her face definitely got some small bits of red rash here n there, tink my place too dirty...*lol*
btw how come u going back to work so soon? U not taking full 12 week ML?

hidora,
Did u try putting ur boi into the sling using the correct posture? Supposed to cross baby's legs before u put them in then they will be more comfy
You have the MIM demo vcd? It is quite helpful
So far my ger most of the time ok with the sling but sometimes she will throw tantrums n dont wanna be in sling

Lobang,
Dont buy too many newborn clothings. My ger now i can even let her wear the mothercare bodysuit for 6-9mths old! Although a bit loose...haha

paula...thanks...i will let her listen to tat..

wow mummies...all your bb grow quite a bit yah...mine is small at birth 2.725kg..then 1 mth later 3.5kg..now almost 2 mths...will know her weight this sat when she go for her jab...but she is still wearing her new born clothes leh..same are even loose for her..i m so worried..cos she also dun drink a lot of milk..but she sleeps a lot though..

Spicegal,
Dun worry, I'm sure she is fine. Mine was 2.8KG at birth and now she weighs 4.7KG. Good for babies to sleep cos' sleeping will aid in their brain development during the first year...

celeste blur,

1 reason could be becos I dunno how to use it, another reason is it's too hot for my boy when he's in the sling.. He hates it lor.. He has always been scared of heat. When he was a few days old, already letting him wear singlet. I tried putting in the sling , and when I took him out, he was sweating like mad.. So I think forget it lah.. lol

I'm more interested in the Ergo New Gen carrier now. Hehe.. tried putting him in a carrier that my fren pass me, and it's not too bad. The only prob is that carrier is too small lor. Think by next mth, bb cannot fit in liao. And it's not adjustable somemore.

Hidora, my bb also din wanna sleep in the MIM sling. Maybe it's too warm and restricted for him. Since birth, he has been sleeping in air con. U also wanna get the 2nd Generation Ergo Carrier, heard it is very good. Just missed the recent BP. Looking out for the next one. Maybe I will organise one when I am back at work.

Hidora, i just wrote to Ross to enquire who to contact. Will keep you posted. We need more than 20 to get 20% off.

Hopefully we got better response this time. Last time when Ross organize, it seems that response is pretty slow.. Maybe cos this is not a cheap item. =)

Ya, but seems like some mummies have been posting under WTB.
will keep you posted. do you know which retailer sells this item? maybe we can consider an in store sale instead?

hidora/Paula/okasan/Celeste, Thk U for the good guide

Thanks to the helpful mummies who have share info. with me, now I know how to agar
Hv a nice chat

Amy,

I am the one posted under WTB lah.. hehe.. if ppl willing to sell second hand, cheaper mah. Miss out on a good deal again. Got one mummy selling camel colour, used once at $120... argh...Yahoo auction also dun hv ppl selling.

I only know the online store mummymilk and b**ysupplies selling. Not sure got any retailers selling leh.

Hi all mummies
So good to read all chatting here. I am a new mummy, my ger born on 26 June...hope to join the big group to discuss on the bb problem and sharing...

shell

Anyone here catered buffet from Mum's Kitchen recently? If nice, what's are their nice food?

Or anyone tried from other caterer and find them nice and recommendable?

Many Thanks.

Hi Sunshine,
I hv ordered their full-mth package. However, their portion are abit small even tho' they claimed to hv catered 10% more. My family & friends said the food are nice... infact majority of the food are nice

hi mummies out there,
i m may mummy, currently trying 2 order similac for infant (0-6mths) 900g. I have a lobang @$26 per tin.
Ordered b4 and currently left 1 tin. The batch expiry date is DEC 2008.
Wondering anyone keen to place order so that i can get this offer price.

Self collection @ Sengkang.
Prefer to prepay b4 i place order, to avoid backup.
Interest party ps email me at [email protected]

thanks hidora paula and okasan for your advice.my bb has tiny bumps on his scalp too. dunno whether it's heat rash or wat. his chin has skin peeling off, maybe i wiped too hard after his feed cos milk always dripped onto his chin. bringing bb to see paed tomorrow to confirm if it's heat rash... been 2 weeks liao quite worried abt bb's skin condition.

so anvy u gals who are still bf, my bb on total FM liao cos i really too tired to pump out wat little milk i have and have not been pumping for few days liao. am feeding bb NAN 1 HA for a change from Friso, anyone using this brand too?

hello okipoki,
it's so hard to reach the tongue, my boy will 'bite' on my finger when i tried to clean it. arrghhh...

the mouth wash works well?

Mspiggy,
So far it works for my ger & while cleaning try to talk to your boi. Also do try to feed ur boi water after every milk to "clean" his tongue as well

Morning Mummies!

Been busy w my ger.

Menses:
I went to gynae for checkup to confirm its my menses! Yes my gynae confirmed n even pointed out my EGGS to me! She said i m very active in the ovaluation, must be careful not to be pregnant again as mine is csect. LOL gynae thot i m pregnant again n tats y visit her. She told my menses is unlikely to affect milk flow. Oni milk flow wil affect menses.

Strong Let-Down:
Ask u TBF mummies! Recently during latching, i hv been experienced forceful let down n my baby wil either choke or pull away at tat point of let down as a gush of milk came down. After a few secs, she wil resume latching again. How to solve tis problem? do u encounter this?

Sarong Sling:
i carried my ger in sarong sling once to town. Got alot of stares and got strangers even came up n ask me "Wat is that in ur sling? is that a baby? so cute". I nodded my head.

Maternity Leave:
Ideally i wil be starting work on 29 Aug. But i got e green light to extend 1 more mth using my annual leave, which means i wil go back on 2 Oct!.

Cradle Cap:
My ger also got cradle cap. We use olive on her daily n use a pigeon soft brush to comb. hv to do it diligently cos e cradle cap comes back very fast. How long does e cradle cap last?

Food During BF:
Do u tink if i drink milk during BF, wil it affect allergy to my ger? cos her face got alot of rashes. not heat rash.

Sensitive Skin:
dunno y my ger got alot of rashes on her face, shoulder n body abit. Dunno how. Seems like she has very sensitive skin. Its very dry n rough. Any advise? help?

kite,

Strong let-down:
I read from the BMSG book that u can try to feed with bb on your tummy and u on your back. The force of gravity will alleviate the problem.

Sensitive skin:
Did u try california Skin or GAIA? Supposedly organic and gentle on the skin.

HI mommies!! i also wanna join... my son brendan, born june 18th!!
at birth: 2.62
6 weeks: 3.9kg
all of your babies are kinda heavy! what do u feed them?

hi michele
welcome to the club..

Kite,
my bb's 6 mths assessment is done by the PD when he gives the rotavirus to my bb..

Btw, does u gals bb start to lick his hands and play with salvia?? hmm.. i wonder whether he is teething.. but glad that i have given him rotavirus medicine considering that he is licking his hands and our clothes whenever we carry him by the shoulder..

okasan,
me too plan to do it 6 mths bf.. now that i am enjoying the latching.. but really scared no stamina to do it plus i really think it's not possible to pump during the office hrs, so the MS will sure drop if not disappear.. sigh..

Have any mom signed up for tmr bb massage in TMC? Me going.. wonder any of u join then can c each other..

Thinking of having a hair cut b4 starting wk.. Any good place to recommend?? Is it true now no pt to do rebonding and colouring?? hmm.. cos scare hair will drop after stopping bf..

okipoki, how to use the mouth wash? soak in cloth? i used sterilised gauze to clean bb tongue, but still cannot reach deep inside. any tips?

Hidora, thanks for the link. So far, with Metoclopramide, there is no effect on me. MS did not increase, so maybe it does not work for me at all.

hidora,
quite true the sling is quite hot except if u get the silk one, heard tat its quite cooling for silk ones

Hmmzz, the ERgo carrier is gd? Went to the link u posted but the price is not cheap! Almost $200 for a carrier, dont think my hb will agree...haha, prob he would rather use the sling n carry bb himself :p

Amy,
To increase MS, u try eating papaya and more fish? I think it might help increase MS and also drink a lot of water

Kite,
My ger also got red rashes on her face and body on and off, heard from my sil is becos bb's skin still sensitive now, so its like when they come into contact with dust or like when we touch their face with our fingers it might cause the redness. Also try not to kiss ur bb's face with ur lips cos our lips might be oily etc n might cause the redness.

Re : Putting bb in stroller/pram
ANyone of u all tried putting bb into the stroller? I tried to put my ger into the Maclaren TEchno XT but she doesnt seem to like it, could it be she not used to it or she's too young to be comfy in a stroller?

kite,

Yup, put baby on top of you while lying down should do the treat. I do that sometimes.. and that scene is so cute!

amy,

My goat rue is not here yet.. Now I'm thinking shld get the doc to prescribe me Domperidone. =(

Btw, if for Ergo, you dun mind hving a second hand one, email Chloe at [email protected]

She is the owner of http://www.babysneed.com/ Sometimes her customers sell back the carrier to her, and so she's selling them 2nd handed. I've emailed my preferred colour to her already. Price will be abt $10-$20 cheaper.

celeste,

Exp hor. That's why I'm looking for second hand one. But it seems good leh. I tried putting baby in carrier, and I like the feeling as compared to slinging.

michele,

There's a comparison between bjorn and ergo here. http://www.myfavoritebabycarrier.com/comparison.html
It's said that ergo can last longer as it distribute bb's weight more evenly.

Rashes/sensitive skin/Enzema,
My son has rashes on his cheeks, I've tried to clean his face with warm boiled water after each feed but it seems to get worst. The rash patch get bigger. Got very worried so brought him to PD and its enzema.. Got the steriod cream.. No choice but to apply coz its really very bad. After applying, now his cheeks not so red but very dry. Bought QV cream (one of the creams recommended by PD) to moisturise his face but it got even worst coz doesn't suit him. Sigh.. Later gonna try Hazaline snow.. if it doesn't work again, gonna buy other brands and try until it suits his skin. Its so heartache, somemore gotta wrap him so he won't scratch/rub his face.

Bathing with bb soap,
Mummies, do you bathe yr bb with bb soap everyday?
I'm bathing him with bb soap twice a week, is it too few?

okipoki..where did you buy the mouth wash? I have tried cleaning my gal's tongue with the mouth gel recommend by Paula but still can't clean off the milk residue at the back of her tongue..

Michele..i am using the babyhugz non-adjustable sarong sling for my bb...so far i find that its very much convenient as there are no hooks to adjust...so much easier to use also..

Peng..my gal also likes to suck her fingers and hands...so dirty hor...hehe

celeste blur...i put my gal in her stroller when we go downstairs for breakfast or when i go shopping..she seems to enjoy sitting in it so far...often she will fall asleep in it.

hidora,
oic....but gd thing is the weight is distributed between both side of the shoulders rite? What i dont like bout the sling is the shoulder will be aching after i walk for like 2 hrs or so
cos all the weight on one side of the shoulder...*sigh*

msnanas,
I bathe my bb with the Sebamed baby bath every morning. Evening time i will juz use warm water to wipe his body

spicegal,
Wow...ur ger is guai
My ger will cry when i put her in the stroller...tink i must try at home and let her sleep in stroller...*lol*

Is the mouth wash safe for BB? My PD said no need to do anything wor..but i m using a nappy dip with warm water to wash her mounth when the tougue turn really white. Is that good enough?

As for the stroller, anyone using quinny zapp? Got one from my hubby col during my ger full month. Am considering to buy te maxicosi Cabrio infant car seat as the stroller can be only used after 6 mths. Anyone know where i can get?

Shell

Any comment on FM? HAve been trying Similac for a week and found that my ger have loose stool...wondering whether she is diarrea or not. Just bot Enfalac and will give her a try tonight.

celeste,

Ya, the carrier will distribute the weight between the shoulders, and also the hip. There is a strap across the hip.

shell,

Similac will give baby looser stool, but it's not diarrhea. It's said that baby on similac seldom have constipation. I'm on Similac too

I'm also using a hankie with water to wipe off the residue on baby's tongue. Actaully no need to do anything one, unless it's thrust.

msnanas,

My mom baths baby with J&J soap everyday ever since he got back from the hospital. Feel cleaner leh. Cos we always carry baby, then got sweat, dirt all over him. Water may not be able to clean off totally.

Also, how about using aloe vera on baby's face? It should be gentle and moisturing enough. Buy those can be applied externally and internally, then at least if it gets into baby's mouth, still ok.

here it is again!!

i have a quinny zapp, i can't manage it by myself with my newborn, you'll still need the strength of a man to pull the maxi cosi out of the stroller to put it in the car. i believe it'll make a good stroller after 6 months and up!! :)

right now, am scouting for a easy to manage stroller cos i'm really small, need something lightweight and one u can manage with 1 hand!

found an aprica, we found that to be the best compared with combi and graco. why?
1) lightest 3.9kg combi Ricco still weighs bout 4.2kg
2) sturdy when upright... my husband tried it... he put both the combi and aprica upright and he push them over... combi fell BUT aprica stood sturdy!

the lightest graco is 5kg.. not suitable for me, dun have the strength to fold it with one ahnd lah!!

hope this helps... OH another thing... the buzz came with a bag latched on right? we can use the same bag for our ZAPP, dun let them tell u otherwise...
479453.jpg

hi hi...
just came back from PD checkup.

Bb z now 5.7kg & 57cm...
today did all the development test for 4-6weeks, and jab the 1st 6in1 + rotavirus.

my boy hv cradle cap too... PD says to use olive oil. shall monitor...