(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

tinklebell,
the isavvy account with maybank is much more attractive than esaver....I'll open one too...

thanks for the info

cradle cap:
remembered mentioned here before, use olive oil to massage. must we wipe/wash off the olive oil after application?

if we don't apply olive oil, will it drop off on its own?

Can i join this thread.. My bb Gal born on 13June..She's my second bb..

How long do your bb wakes up b4 going to slp again. my gal don seem to be napping in the day..

stealing a moment to come up here while bb is sleeping.. been bz with bb since CL left on Sunday. now more or less coping with bb alone. MIL brings me meals everyday, but i am taking care of bb on my own.
kite,
my bb same, he has rashes over his face and scalp for 1 week plus liao, seen GP but his cream and bath gel not effective. today i saw something that looks like dandruff on bb's hair... wonder if it's cradle cap. tried traditional remedies like applying cold tea on bb's face, herabal bath, applying stout etc... now thinking of bringing bb to c paed liao.

anyone has same experience and can help?? feels so worried abt bbis condition. btw my milk almost dried up liao, 2 days never pump still dun feel engorged. think its becos i dun pump frequently enuf plus not enuf rest...

Hi gina,

The dandruff thing is cradle cap. My son still has it thou it's getting lesser. It's like yellow pale flakes on the scalp rite? I'm using Dentinox cradle cap shampoo, bought from Unity pharmacy. Dun expect miracles lah, but it will get lesser in time.

When it was real serious abt 2 wks ago, I would put olive oil on his head. Then after one hour later, use a comb to comb the flakes out. After that, then bath him. Did that a few times and his condition improved. So now I'm just using shampoo alone.

If your son's rashes on the face is around the forehead, eyebrows area, it could be due to cradle cap too. Try to see if he has those yellow flakes on the rash or not. Er, it will clear in time.. Maybe you wanna try applying aloe vera gel? Me using aloe vera gel (Jorubi's brand) on bb's bum. Quite good for the nappy rash.

Re: milk supply

Do you do direct latch on? I'm gonna try out Motherlove's Goat's Rue. Waiting for the BP organizer to get the stock. She said that it can really help her increase her milk supply. After I try, and if it's good, I let you know. =)

good morning ladies!

ann, welcome! your girl shares the same birthday as my boy

hidora, feedback on the goat rue after u've tried.

Morning Ladies!
We brought two insurance policies for our little gal yest - Life and Investment Linked Policy ... will be getting an endowment too...

Gina,

Some of the rashes might be caused by oil glands ... my gal has a lot of those on her head and forehead (not reddish, but trans spot, some a little yellowish) and my PD said those will go away when they are abt six mths old ... he refuses to prescribe cream for her cos' he said tat babies skin are delicate and hence, should avoid using as many products as possible. I have been applying hazeline snow on her milk rashes and so far so good plus her skin is moisturised...

MsPiggy,
I got from Manulife... Adrian (97676091) .. he is one of the best agents that we ever had ... as we brough policies from AIA, Prud n Ntuc ... the other agents only want ur business by pushing u to get as many as possible but this chap go thru our existing policies, savings and plans and make a recommendation

ann,
welcome

Paula,
yupz, bought insurance for my baby just few days ago....bought hopsitalisation one, critical illness and accidental/death policies for baby....AIA got this "bundle of joy" that covers baby/toddlers illness such as asthma and hand-foot-mouth dieases which I find not bad

also bought one endowement, meant to save money for baby's education...

gina,
for cradle cap, just use baby oil or olive oil and leave it for a while then use comb to scrap them off...dun need to see GP for this...

as for rashes, dun have to worry too much...rashes come and go very fast, esp milk rashes....just use clean wet cloth to wipe his face often....that's what the PD recommends me to do...dun need to apply anything....

Re: red rashes on face
My bb have some red rashes on the face on and off, izzit juz sensitive to dust or anything? As it comes and goes off by itself.

celeste,
my baby also have rashes on and off....coz at this time, their skin still quite sensitive, so can have rashes easily...may be cause by milk or dirt...

okasan, my maid is from Phillipines. 23 years old, her son is 3 years old, so she is good with babies. she is very polite, and can also cook very nice food...
She worked as a domestic helper in Phillipines, and has helped out her family business as a massage lady and manicurist.

okasan, what are the benefits of Maybank? I also need to open an acct for bb soon.

Paula, i have already bought two educational/endowment type policies for bb jake, both from Manulife via citibank. Got two free Nokia phones for that. will take up a life policy sometime within this month. Care to share what life policy you bought? how much sum assured is recommended?

Re baby einstein dvd - you play the dvd and bb watch tv? or bb just listen to the music and sounds? will try later during bb's playtime today.

Re bb playtime - what do you do? care to share? i flash him some flash cards, bring him for a walk in the garden on his pram, put him on his swing, place him on discovery mat... when can bb start recognising coloured flash cards?

Ann, welcome. re bb waking up, my bb wakes up at 8 daily, I will BF him, then playtime, then bath time at 9.30, then drink FM at 10.00, then sleep... his breaks in between are normally about 2 - 3 hours in the morning. Afternoons, break time is less, maybe 1 hour. Evenings, about 2 hours break, then sleep at 8 to 9 pm, till 8 am next day, with 2 - 3 feeds in between.

Hidora, my MS also getting low, only can pump 60 to 80 every 3 to 4 hours. Need to boost my MS...My gynae gave me metoclopramide, but no effect on me. Why dun you try that as well? It works on some mummies.

Hidora, have you considered More Milk capsules and More Milk Plus Tincture? Is Motherlove's Goat Rue better?

amy,

I was on more milk plus... hmm, not much effect, so gonna try out goat rue. The BP organizer said that fenugreek doesnt work for her, and more milk plus contains fenugreek. Hmm, I'm still on fenugreek... Not sure about my milk supply cos I do direct latch on..

I can only judge by how much FM he drinks to know whether my ms got increase or not.

paula,

Is it a good idea to let baby watch tv so young?

I was searching on the web for whether we can let bb watch tv and this is what I found.

It's Official: TV Linked to Attention Deficit
by Jean Lotus
Original here

A study from the American Academy of Pediatrics shows that watching videos as a toddler may lead to Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD, also called ADD in UK) in later life.

TV watching "rewires" an infant's brain, says Dr. Dimitri A. Christakis lead researcher and director of the Child Health Institute at Childrens Hospital and Regional Medical Center, Seattle, Wash. The damage shows up at age 7 when children have difficulty paying attention in school.

"In contrast to the way real life unfolds and is experienced by young children, the pace of TV is greatly sped up." says Christakis. His research appears in the April 2004 issue of Pediatrics.

Quick scene shifts of video images become "normal," to a baby "when in fact, it's decidedly not normal or natural." Christakis says. Exposing a baby's developing brain to videos may overstimulate it, causing permanent changes in developing neural pathways.

"Also in question is whether the insistent noise of television in the home may interfere with the development of 'inner speech' by which a child learns to think through problems and plans and restrain impulsive responding," wrote Jane Healy, psychologist and child brain expert in the magazine's commentary.

Babies brains grow rapidly
Even a child playing with its own fingers has the neural patterning that comes from bending, flexing, stretching and grasping. Scientists tell us that the brain develops in completely unique ways between birth and three years. As a kiddie viddie baby sits "mesmerized", neural paths are not being created. This is crucial brain development that stops by age three.

"You dont want to think that something as innocent as half-an-hour's peace and quiet could reduce your kid's chances later in life," says Claire Eaton, 27-year-old mother from Lewisham, Australia.

Setting up baby for failure in school
Are parents who use infant videos such as "Baby Einstein" and "Teletubbies" putting their child at risk for a lifetime of Special Ed classes, school "behavioral therapy" and Ritalin?

In the study of more than 2,000 children, Christakis found that for every hour watched at age one and age three, the children had almost a ten percent higher chance of developing attention problems that could be diagnosed as ADHD by age 7. A toddler watching three hours of infant television daily had nearly a 30 percent higher chance of having attention problems in school.

Infant videos: They wouldn't sell them if they were dangerous --Would they?
An explosion of kidvids for the bouncy chair set has hit the market. These include Baby Einstein, Baby Mozart, So Smart etc. TV shows, such as Teletubbies, aim at 18-month-old toddlers. These videos are peddled as "educational tools" to "give your baby a head start." The truth is, they are a video-tether that keeps baby out from underfoot.

"Max is learning German right now from a video"
Parents take away crucial life experiences from their child every time they pop in Baby Einstein. But they do love how it takes the baby out of their hair for awhile Listen to what parents say in testimonials about infant videos:

"I love spending time with my boy but let's face it, there are times when you just have to have 10 minutes or so to yourself so that you can wash the dishes or do laundry; that's when you pop this video in. It's 25 minutes of entertainment that holds the attention of even very young children." (son 10 months) Chris Hudson from San Antonio, TX.

There are times I rewind it and play it again and again until I get the dishes done and order restored. My son is captivated (and hopefully learning something). Mom in Connecticut

The only thing I wish is that the videos were longer than 30min. Melissa Perruzi, Clinton Mississippi
(From Baby Eisntein reviews on Amazon.com).

Big problem for little people
Twenty-six percent of US children younger than age two have TV in their bedrooms - often watched from the crib, and 36 percent of families leave the TV on almost all of the time, even when no one is watching, according to a 2000 Kaiser Family Foundation study.

Don't put your child at risk!
The good news is, infants and toddlers don't need television to distract them. Humans raised children for 50,000 years before television sets and you can do it too. Your children can learn to entertain themselves or play with your supervision.

"When one-year olds are playing with a toy, they can explore it, poke at it, drop it," says Yale University Television Researcher Dorothy Singer. "They're learning about space, about sound, and they're developing sense of competence. Watching a TV show just doesn't provide the same sensory experience."

Leaving a child alone with the TV is never a good idea
"Would you entrust you toddler into the care of a baby sitter, even for a few minutes, who cannot hear or see your child?" writes Nancy Hall of Yale University's Bush Center in Child Development and Social Policy. "Would you leave your child in an environment that encourages passivity, limits creativity and results in increased aggressive behavior? Many 1-year-olds are spending time regularly with just such a baby sitter: the television set."

What is Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder?
ADHD affects 12 percent of US school children and has increased dramatically over the past 50 years. Studies show ADHD increased with the introduction of children's television in the 1950s and then spiked higher in the mid 1980s when VCRs and home video became commonplace. Although the condition is known to be genetic, scientists have noted its rapid spread throughout every social class of children, and guessed that there could be an environmental cause. TV watching is a cause, this study shows.

How much TV should I let my baby watch?
No child under age two should watch television at all, the Academy of American Pediatrics advised in 1998. Doctors blame TV for increasing aggression and obesity in children, now they add ADHD risk to early TV use.

Paula,
Wah.. your daughter so young watch TV... I am trying to follow a book that says not to let my son watch till he's 3 years old. But seems not easy...

Something to share on insurance policy which I learnt from my financial advisor:

Ref: accident/death policy for bb
Does this mean that if *touchwood* something happens to bb, the parents get the sum assured? Or it's the other way round where the bb is the beneficiary? The former may not make sense as the parents will probably not need the money.

Ref: endowment policy
R u all looking at the long-term endowment type (like 18 yrs or 21 yrs)? If so, given the long investment horizon, my 2 cents worth comments is that investment-linked policy will probably give better yield than endowment, though endowment is clearly a less risky investment.

Ref: AIA bundle of joy
Is this a hospitalization plan? The other ones which mummies may want to consider is Aviva My Shield which is claimable "as charged" with no restrictive sub-limits or NTUC's Enhanced Incomeshield.

Hidora, thanks for the info on watching tv. hmm.. many of my frens also let bb watch tv, and sit by their side thru out, talking to them...

maybe i will delay that till bb 6 months... 3 years without tv very difficult. my nephew, when he was only 6 months, is watching National Geographic, and dun like bb einstein. i tot that was really very academically inclined of him... Hmm...

Paula, thanks for your contact. I will follow up with Adrain. One thing - is it better to buy through the banks or go direct to Manulife? Any recommendations on which is a better deal?

Hidora, I am also taking Fenugreek. Not sure whether it helps. Why dun you try pumping out milk to see how much your MS is? If Motherlove's Goat Rue works for you, let me know. Maybe can get some to try. When will the BP be on again? Keep me posted if you see it, k? I will also keep a lookout for you.

Amy: not too sure ... all these while, policies are brought from agents lei ... but do have a chat with that chap... a caring and resp agent... just tell him tat u got his ctc thru kelly's mum

amy,

I was actually interested in getting the baby einstein.. then I chanced upon this article. Well, guess I will dleay letting bb watch tv. Just wanna play safe.

I used to pump out milk at night, now at night I'm also doing direct feeds. So quite hard. Er, also my bb needs milk every 1.5 to 2 hrs, so my breasts are always empty.. lol. No chance for me to wait until 3 hrs to pump. But if I see him drinking lesser FM or totally dun drink fm then I will know got increase liao.. Hehe.

Can ask Medusa too, cos she's also getting the goat rue. The stock will only come in mid Aug thou.I will let you know if there's another BP gng on. Strange, the website seems to have remove the product info on goat's rue liao.. @_@

Re: Insurance

Can I recommand my financial advisor, Viviene Chin? She does not represent any insurance company. Basically you tell her your needs, and she sourced out the best insurance plan for you. There's no charge from her. (I think she gets her charges from the insurance companies.) She used to sell insurances then I think she went out to set up her own company.

She's introuduced by a fren and we found her pretty good when we were signing up for medical plans. The good thing abt engaging her is that you dun hv to go sourcing for plans and comparing them one by one. She will do those things for you. Then she will let you sign the documents on behalf of the company.

Disclaimer: I'm not earning any commission.

Here's her data.

http://www.eternal-fa.com/ourppl.htm

If interested, can give her a call at her mobile, 9692 1775. If she asked, just say you got her contact through Angel, Huiqi. Thou I'm not too sure if she rems me.. cos last I seen her was quite a few mths back.

I am a first time MTB:
going to buy clothings for my BB but heard BB outgrown clothing very fast, can share roughly your BB weight and height/length at 2nd & 3rd month?

think at birth 0-1st - 50+cm/ard3.5kg
2nd
3rd

Thanks in advance for sharing

Hidora, sure. Will ring Viv re this. I like agents who do not represent any cos. Then we can get a more objective perspective.

amy,

Hope she can find you a good plan. I was quite surprised when I first get to know about her.. When my fren intro, I tot he was intro-ing me the Aviva agent. Gong gong one, didnt know got those individual agent. =p

Anyway, anyone wanna buy MIM sling? Cotten one. Letting go at $28, with VCD. (neg)

Washed once, and let baby tried for 10 mins at home. He hates it.. >_>

478295.jpg

Same design but the red lining is without stripes

Hi lobang,

At birth, 4.075kg, 54cm
Now 6 wks, 6.5kg, 57cm

Anyway, I bought clothings that are for 9-12 mths for my bb to wear. I dun like to buy clothing that are too short. I always think that short cloths cannot cover tummy, then end up bb has wind. (I dun let baby wear pants)

Hi Paula,

My ger also love to watch tv, but she dun response like ur bb heehee.. ur bb so cute
i so worried that it may spoil her eyesight leh.

Lobang,

Mine at birth - 3.09 kg, 51 cm.
1st mth - 4.4 kg, 58 cm.
3rd mth - 6.6 kg, > 60 cm (can't remember exact)

My bb now 3.5 mth, wearing 3-6 mth clothes. She started wearing 3-6 mth clothes before 3rd mth. She outgrow her NB clothes VERY fast! So i suggest not cutting any NB clothes for ur ger. Get 0-3 mth clothes right from the start, but dun buy too many too. U can stock up on 3-6 mths clothes for the time being if u want to. Like Hidora, i bought clothings for 9-12 mths for my ger too. I even bought 1 yr clothes for her too

Hi lobang,

My ger at birth - 3.08kg, 50cm
Now at week 6, 5.1kg, 56cm

Well, bb tends to outgrown very fast... dont buy too much newborn clothings

bb z says hello to everyone:

my boy at birth - 2.86kg 48cm
now at week 6 - 5.26kg 55cm

now i also start to wear 3-6mths clothes.
NB clothes - fit just nicely liao. :p
478359.jpg

Paula, I also bought the einstein DVD for my gal...maybe can let her start to watch/listen during her playtime... hehe...btw which disc is suitable for such a young age? There are so many discs..not sure which ones to start on...

hidora, Thank you for sharing
, I hv bot the NB, worried can't cope after confinement so doubt can shop, still headache to get the 0-3mths or 3-6mths clothing...

kk, Thank you for valuable info
after my confinement will be near X'mas so hv to buy more clothing for BB in advance so I wonder should buy 0-3mths or 3-6mth

okipoki, Thank you

MTDT, hihi to your handsome boy
wow, can start to wear 3-6mths clothing when BB at 6 weeks har..

lobang,

I suggest getting a 0-3 mth set for your bb's full mth celebration. Then get 2-3 (3-6) mth long sleeves for pyjamas. Another 2-3 (3-6) short sleeved, or singlet for day wear. Weather hot lah.

Lobang,
Yea, do stock up 3-6 months clothings ... Pigeon and Max Cool clothings are quite good cos' the material used is thin and airy ... good for this sunny weather.
My gal will be 2 months old this Saturday and she is wearing 3-6 months clothing since the first mth ...

lobang,
dun get newborn size...they outgrow very fast...I even have friends who gave birth to 4kg baby and straight away cannot wear newborn clothes....just get 0-3mth clothes...the no. of clothes to get also depend on how often u wash the clothes