(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hi calliope
welcome to the thread. Is ur bb drinkin FM or BM. My ger is on TFM and the poo is the same as u describe.

Re: allerhand diaper bag
hmmmm.. why must get diaper bag. i thot any other bag is good enough..keke. no offence har, cos i m not a diaper bag person. keke. I rather get crumpler bag as diaper bag.

Paula/Spicegal:
I have not gotten the allerhand diaper shoulder bag. Baybb told me they need to order and will arrive in 1 to 2 wks time. FYI, I applied the Baybb membership card for $10 thus i hv 10% discount for the allerhand bag.

Okasan:
yaloh sianz. seems like among the BF mummies, i m the 1st one whose menses arrived.

re: green poo
I heard from old folk that if baby has green poo, it's coz they got frightened....

a doc at polyclinic told me if breastfed baby got green poo, it's coz the muimmy eat too much hot spicy food....

Hi Paula & Kite...went to mothercare today...they are having 20% discount for allerhand diaper bags...selling price is $119.90 so after discount is around $95...only managed to see the messenger and the carryon...the outlet i went to did not have stock for the shoulder bag range...the carryon is quite spacious though..

Hi hidora...went to carrefour today to buy the bfree bottles...i bought 2 9oz bottles..tried it just now, find tat its very good...really no bubbles in the milk...but kinda funny to see my gal drinking from such a giant milk bottle cos she is quite small size...lol..

Hi okasan,
My son had green poo recently, my mum believes that he had got frightened. Anyway, I was busy coping with his crying recently.....sigh! That's why long time didn't log in.

Hi tinklebell,
How are you coping with your baby? Your gal almost same size as my boy. My boy now 7 weeks and about 5.6kg, he's tall. Btw, really busy recently so long time didn't log in, baby cried alot recently and i was stressed. Finally i've decided employing a maid. I think it's wiser choice esp when i return back to work. I wish to spend more quality time with my baby next time and not rushing/coping with the housework!

Hi Serene...could your boy be colicky? cos my gal also cries a lot during the past 2 weeks and we kept wondering why is tat so...until sometimes after a session of crying she will fart and poo a lot..my mum pat her tummy and we hear 'pong' 'pong' sound (meaning lots of air in her tummy..then we realised tat she is crying a lot cos of tummy discomfort caused by colic..

hi kite
my menses juz came back today.. b4 that i have abit of blood.. i asked my gynae. She said that it is probably menses. But today it's really the normal flow.. I was so shocked..

Hmm.. if our menses come back early, what does it mean? Our womb ok? Why early though I am also breastfeeding??

Okasan
My gynae advised me not to jog till 3rd mths cos scare the uterus will prollapse, but can do light and stretching exercise. U might want to confirm with your gynae.

Spicegal and Serene,

If ur bb has colic, suggest that u bring ur bb to c a dr.. At first i thought colic has no cure.. But actually there is some medicine for bb to take to relive the wind.. So bring ur bb to c a dr.. cos it's really IRRAITING to face a crying bb everyday..

peng..thanks..my gal is better these few days...i have bought the bfree bottles for her today so hope tat will help to reduce colic...will bring her to a doctor if she is not ok...

ladies..may i know when does mensus comes back? btw I am not breastfeeding..

hello ladies

I need to pat my son to sleep and when I put him down on the cot, he will make some noises. A while later, he starts to cry and will only keep quiet if I carry him. This can happen a few times. Does this happen to any mummies here?

missk..my gal also..everytime i will carry and pat her till she sleeps...but when i put her down in her cot..she will wake up and cries...then i have to carry her and pat her all over again...this can happen several times at night...really not enough sleep..

Then since last week, i tried putting her to sleep on my masterbed between me and my hb..i realised tat everytime i put her down, she will open her eyes again, but when she see me sleeping beside her..she will close her eyes and go back to sleep...a few of my frens also sleep together with their bb...i guess they are still young and therefore would want to be near us...maybe you can try to put your son on your bed?

Hi Serene
How r u? still going to your mum's place everyday?

Your bb's cries could be due to him having colic. Mine also like that... or sometimes she feels uncomfortable when she has not burped. after she has burped, then she is ok. If your boy has colic, u can try Infacol. My girl has been using it and i find it quite good.

U getting a maid? I also find having a maid a great help cos i can spend quality time with my children. My current maid is quite ok with bbs. Plus she can also cook simple meals so we save time and money eating outside food. However, i wont put maid at home to look after bb. They will be going to my mother's place when i start work.

spicegal,
hee hee... i also notice the same for my girl. think she feels more secure sleeping next to us.

kite/ peng/ spicegal
hmmm... i donno if my menses has come back. I'm TBF'g at the moment. My lochia has stopped for 2 weeks. 2 days ago, there is bleeding again. I thought was menses but it stopped again. Strange. In my first pregnancy, my menses came during the 6th week and it came for 5 consecutive days so i was sure it was menses... but donno if the current one it or not.

Serene,
if u believe in chinese medicine, u can try to give a bit of jing feng san to your baby...just rub some powder onto his gum will do....

peng,
I forget to check with my gynae when I went back for folllow-up 1 mth after delivery...that's why asking around now....think I'll play safe and not start jogging yet...

missk
it's normal for babies to dislike sleeping in the cot, that's one reason why I never buy a cot....sleeping in the cot can be quite warm for them...my baby sleeps on a bouncer most of the time coz it's very cooling....he also wakes up if I try to let him sleep on a mattress...

spicegals/tinklebell,
if u let baby sleep beside u, u dun worry next time harder to train them to sleep on their own?

re: green poo

thanks for the replies on the green poo. I'm on partial bf, perhaps it's cos i've recently up her intake of fm. realised also that when my gal poos in the morning it's grennish and in the evening it's yellow. haha...maybe she's frightened in the morning. anyhow, am bringing her to see the doc later just to set my mind at peace.

re : putting baby to sleep

i also face the same problem. think the crux is with putting the baby down gently in the cot, which i find it difficult cos need to bend over. after putting her in and when she moves a little, i try to place one hand about an inch from her eyes to block her vision and use my other hand to lightly pat her shoulder. it works quite often, not evey time though...hehe. you gals may wanna try?

My bb sometimes also cries when we put him down to sleep in the cot. According to my CL, during the day, he likes to sleep on his side with his hands near him. Feels more secure this way.

The trick is we can't put him down on his back. If we do, then must swaddle him so that his hands are close to him (like in mummy's womb). Try it and see if it works.

okasan
thks for the websites for scrapbook... are u into scrapbook too? btw, i can't get into scrapperloft.com ..is it the right website?

btw, i hv collected my bb's passport last fri. heehee.. he looks so chubby in the photo.

re: menses,
mine came during the 7th wk and lasted for 4 days. well it won't affect bf for sure.

re: exercise
i started doing crunches, situp and leg rise but realise that i can't even do 5 situps... jia lat. i was very flexible and doing yoga before pregnancy but now totally can't do leg rise even for 10 sec... AH!!!

missk,

U can get bouncer from kiddy palace. Depends whether u want a sophisticated one or just a simple one like my rocker which is really cheap at $20++.

Hmmm, but hor, just to share.. my ger dun like to sleep in bouncer. So in case u want to get a bouncer for her, there is no guarantee ur bb will love to sleep in it lor :p

Duffyduff,

U are really lucky! My menses lasted for 8 days!!

And now waiting for the 2nd one to come. Delayed liao.. think i am back to my normal ovulation cycle.

okasan,

I agree.. my bb didn't even like the playpen. Luckily we didn't get her a cot which is so much more expensive. She co sleep with us for a while, before we transferred to her to her own mattress. And she is happy with it
Now she enjoy sleeping on the mattress. With the fan on, she dun feel warm.

tinklebell,
I dun go to my mum's hse everyday now. Most of the time, i stayed home. My MIL or mum will come over some of the days.I'm not sure if my baby still has colic but i never stop giving him the colic drop.

Okasan,
I had been giving my baby jin feng san.....only recently one week, i didn't give him cos too many medicine for him to take at 1 go.

spicegal, peng,
I had brought my son to see doc since the day he starts crying alot...about 3 wks back! Has been giving him colic drop since then but doc says dun expect miracle. There is no cure to colic and it will subside by it's own....

morning mummies

re:lochia
tinklebell, mine same same as you. stopped for quite awhile and last 3 days came red... now stopped again. is it considered still lochia?

morning

tinkle, i m also not very sure the last time cos the bleeding is only for a day and very little.. but this time round more heavy and already last for 2 days, so think it's menses

Serene, true.. my bb initially also cries for nothing initially, but after the colic medicine, i find that there is an improvement after taking for 1-2 wks of medicine..

spicegal,

I didnt get the small bottle too cos bb outgrow them very fast. =)

Re: Putting bb to sleep

I will play Mozart's Effect Cd for Newborn whenever I put bb to sleep on my bed. I find that he sleeps much better with the music on. And he dun get startled so easily. But need a few times to train him to sleep to the music. Usually after a meal. Then I will pat him to sleep with the music on. I use pacifier too. Then after he falls asleep, it will drop out from his mouth.

The cd cost less than $30, so prehaps can go buy and try it out.I will play the cd whenever he's sleeping in my room.

The cd actually produce sound frequency that sounded like what bb will hear in our womb. Maybe that's why he feels more secure, and sleeps better. It can be found in Borders. But this cd is only meant for bb from 0-3mths. After that it's another range already.

duffybuff,
the url of the local scrapbook forum is http://www.thescrappersloft.com/forum/

yupz, I had been scrapbooking for a while liao, doing both digital and paper scrapbooking....but ever since preggy, I stopped scrapbooking....all my scrapbook material are collecting dust now...now hopefully can find some time to do up my son's album

wow, u so fast apply for your baby's passport liao...I don't think I'll bring baby out of singapore until he's at least 6mth old....btw, now passport valid for how many years? still 10 years?

kk,
ya, my son also dun like the playpen...lucky never buy cot, it's such a white elephant...at least playpen still can keep in a compact manner

Serene,
how come your baby taking so many medicine? if u bring him to see doc, then dun give jing feng san, coz better not to mix chinese medicine with western medicine

btw, for colic, can try tummy massage, may help to make baby comfortable....also can use ruyi oil to get the wind out....

dsiitan,
wat u mean by watery? for my case, after the cord drop, there's still some blood inside the belly button, so I applied the cord spirit everyday until there's no more blood....

okasan,
hee hee... i know it's not so good to let bb sleep beside us but easier since i'm BF'g her. Used to do that for my boy too... even until now he will ocassionally slip into the same bed as us... so it's a foursome now and i'm always the one who gets kicked out of the bed. I think they feel secure this way.
U open the bank account already? I applied one for myself instead cos the interest rate is v attractive. Havent opened the bb one...still deciding wh one to.

ms piggy,
i donno whether that is lochia or meneses leh... doesnt feel like menses.

u do have a lot of air? I seem to be passing out lots of gas since delivery and worse thing is cannot control one **pai seh**:p donno normal or not. anyone experiencing that too?

tinklebell,
ya, opened one saving account for baby liao...coz he got so many ang baos from relatives, so thought it's good to save the money for him

which bank account u open for yourself? how's attractive is the interest rate? so far, I think standard chartered's esaver offers good interest rate at 1.88%...

re: menses

i don no weather my is mense or my womb have not fully recover coz i am having menses like bleeding for 7 to 8 days then it will stop for 4 to 5 days then it will come bck and bleed again like menses...i has happen for 4 times aready...sian really very stress..

Mensus:
My mensus still have not come yet...wonder is it ok since most of you have something like mensus already..

Okasan..i have no choice but to let my gal sleep beside us leh..cos everytime i pat her to sleep and tries to put her in her cot..she will wake up and i have to carry her and pat her again..this can carry on and on throughout the night until i dun have enough sleep..i find tat she can sleep better and longer on my bed lor...

okasan,
I massage my baby with an indonesian oil every morning after bath and evening when changing for nite. In between, i rub oil too when i change his diaper. Ruyi oil seems not so effective already so has been recommended by a friend to use this indonesian oil.

Afternoon gals!

so long never login liowz.

Btw, how many of u all went for 6-in-1 for baby? I asked my GP she said its $115 for each injection..izzit exp? And the PD tat i was referred to at TMC charge $131 per injection and $45 consultation fees. Thinking prob juz bring my gal to GP for 6-in-1 can liowz

Re: Menses
My menses juz came again yesterday and its only bout 2+ weeks after i totally stopped bleeding after delivery....but i still tot BF will delay menses for quite long...hmmzzz

Hello gals...
Havent been in here a few days liao
My boy needed to be carried very often... But today ok already
Put him down in his cot, he can fall asleep already...

hidora,
hahaha... Yalor... luck, fatt and forever... but I dare not think of number 3...
That day my hubby was saying lucky we planned to have a baby
Think he's enjoying fatherhood...

missk,
I dunno which school of thoughts in parenting you wanna follow.. I am following attachment parenting. I carried my baby whenever he wants. It was not easy last week. I also experienced putting him down in his cot and he woke up. Today seems good
I put him in his cot, switch on soothing music, and he can fall asleep on his own this morning.
For my son's baby cot, I did not buy a mattress. I just lay a towel and let him sleep on the towel

lyn,
did u try installing sarong at ur hse? My ger sometimes kick a fuss when placed on the bed then we let her sleep in sarong she can sleep better

Haven't visited this thread for awhile, though have been participating in some BP. Hope all is well with all mummies.

Hubby in Oz for one month, luckily mum is staying with me to help out. Sian, will be back at work mid Aug. Will definitely miss bb jake heaps.

My new maid is very good, good with babies, she learns very fast.
Can also do sewing and cross stitch. She is now stitching something for baby Jake, a precious moment baby boy with a measuring growth tape, when it's done, will upload the pic here.

Re baby sleeping, i used to carry bb to sleep, then put down in his cot. now, i just wait till he is sleepy, pat pat him in his cot, he will sleep. luckily at night, he only wakes up for his feeds, then go to bed st away. so far, his bedtime starts about 8 - 9 pm, then wakes up at 7 - 8 am, with 2 - 3 feeds in between.