(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hey sunflower

The salon is located on the fourth level. I am going to get the salon director to cut my hair first then rebond. The cut by salon director is only $29.90 after 49% discount. Quite ok lah. Anyway, the salon is managed by Monsoon.

Hi paula,

How's ur full mth's celebration ?? Well, I intend to get Mum's kitchen & their full mth menu too. So, how is their food portion & food ?? Did they come to collect 3hrs later ? If I hv abt 50 odd guests shld I order 50 or the exact guest ? Sorry for so much questions

finally had our 1st outing my hubby n my ger to suntec city with another of our couple friend

spend there almost the whole afternoon n yet we only go round the carefour area.. cant imagine hor. cos half way got to feed n the pram really need some practice to go up n down the esclator..keke.

Went kidmall(hvin 20% dis), finally bought my Maxi cosi cabrio seat. keke.

Hosted a buffet lunch for my friends yesterday. The food from Mums Kitchen is really good and many of my friends like the food.

Carebear,

Yea, have been pumping religiously for three days now at 4-hours interval can only manage 10ml still will continue to pump for a week.

Okipoki,
The food was good. I ordered the full month celebration package and the bee hoon and curry chicken is really yummy! If you are expecting 50 paxs (and these ppl confirmed that they are showing up), do cater for 60 paxs. They are not that generous in their servings. Yes, they collected 3 hours later. You can extend the collection time by an hour for S$10.00.

Paula,
Thanks, u mean they charged for extention of collection time ??? Hmmm abit inflexible over here leh. I was thinking since the no. of pax are quite alot they will allow to extend an hour or so. Btw, how many pax did u order ?

Buffet Catering:

To share, my family have recent had 2 buffet catering, one for my bb full-month (Eatzi/Jack's place), one for my aunt's hsewarming (Neo garden), we ordered both for 30paxs.

I'm very disappointed with Eatzi Catering (under Jack's Place), both with food and service. They only gave us ONE miserable garbage bag, in the end, it was overflowing, we have to start digging out our own large bags). The chicken (buffalo) wings are so skinny and dry, it was almost embarrassing. The quantity is also much lesser in comparison with Neo garden.

Hi Paula,

I'm also considering bring bb to polyclinic for the jabs. His next jab is when he's 3month old, I think it's the 5in1 you are referring to.

How old is your bb already?

Hi Confinement Mummies,

Me too staying at hme doing my confinements and 2weeks more to go. It's really bored to stay at hme esp the whole day, think of that it makes me want to return to work soon.

My bb now is 13days old.

I also thinking of perming my hair or do renonding, just to make me more presentable during my bb full months party.

missk - me staying in hougang at my mil place, me too tinking of going to Hougang mall Twister to do my hair.

Good morning gals!

How are you gals doing???

I had a very hard time for the last two days soothing my crying baby... Gotta carry and feed hourly. This morning, it's getting better

MTDT,
My boy has gas. I think quite a bad one for last two days. I apply ru yi oil on his tummy. One drop at a time, then keep his tummy warm by carrying him tummy to tummy, or let him sleep on his tummy. MAybe you wanna try... It does helps to relieve the gas with lots of poo...

Good Morning!

Rainy morning... v nice to laze ard. Yeh! One more week and my confinement period is over! Sick of confinement food and rice liao!
Asked my hub to tabao from Jack's place on Sat cos it's our 6th wedding anniversary
Yummy!

MTDT,
I read fr some magazines that u can carry bb in "superman flying position" to relief colic.

lyn & tinklebell - thanks for ur suggetions.

both mtd i am currently using...
he has lots of gas (must be bad mummy din burp him well) so i will apply ru yi oil at times and sleep on tummy.

when he is awake - i will put him on my thigh and burp him using superman flying position. he loves this. :p

ru yi oil - heard cannot directly put on bb. but rub between our palms first then put pressure on his tummy. i have been doing this.

it's getting better... and he really hv lots of POO & FART!!! and he takes a lot of energy to release it. :p

Abbott Lab (manufactures Similac) responded and told me that they do not have discounts for bulk purchase. Nepia is selling M size diapers at S$14.00 per pack whereas NTUC is going at S$16.90 per pack.

MTDT, lyn,
sigh... my postnatal masseuse did commment my bb sounds colicky. But my HB "doesnt believe in colic". So frustrating HB.

Hi Carebear,
She is 5 weeks old and yep, it's the 5-in-1 package. We are visiting the CCK Polyclinic and it's under the National Healthcare group. You may want to choose one that's near your hse?

Lyn,

Feeding your baby with Gripewater will aid in preventing colic too.

Re. carrying baby, I carry my little one till I cannot tahan and get her a sarong instead. It worked miracle ...

paula
mine also wants to be carried once she is awake... hiaz...
how's the quality of Nepia diapers ? i'm interested in the BP if u r organising.

Tinklebell,
Haha, yea, at times, traditional method works best. I'm just glad that sarong can help to soothe her.

I felt that Nepia diapers are better than Pampers Premium. It's more absordent. Don't need bulk purchase in order to get it at S$14.00. Just contact Karen. See message below.

-------------------------------------------
Nepia/Karen <[email protected]> to me
More options 10:27 am (3 hours ago)

HI,

We are selling $14 per pack now, no Bulk Purchase Discount at this moment,thx.

regards
karen

I am back to chat. gave birth to my bb boy on 30 June, exactly on my EDD. here's a v simple a/c of bb 's birth:
29 June 730 pm contraction starts at 10 min intervals. me cleaning up house and continue to finish cleaning everything as planned. pain bearable.
after mid night, pain getting more intense and 5 to 7 mins apart, still bearable b ut scared later contraction too close to walk downstairs to take cab so wake hubby ard 3 plus to go hospital. actually gynae ordered induction on 1 july if bb no signs of wanting to come out... so now everything is just in time via the natural way..
reached KKH ard 3 plus, true enuf when pain come, had to stop, can't walk... admitted to triage to be monitored. transferrd to delivery suite after half an hour.
strapped to the bed and when gynae arrived ard 5 plus, was 3cm dilated. after VE was done, waters broken*ouch* and put on drip and antibiotics and oxytocin administered to quicken contraction... epidural injected too.
waited and waited on the bed... hubby snoring beside on the couch...dilation progressing from 5cm to finally 8cm... bb's heartbeat suddenly dropped to a dangerously low level, hubby informed the nurses... almost had emergency c section as thr nursewere shaving me and helping me put on gas mask while resuscitating bb... gynae came and reassured me bb's heartbeat is back to normal but they are stopping the oxytocin for 1 hr as the rapid contraction of my uterus is causing stress to my bb... i was in shock thru out the emergency and in tears after bb is resuscitated... thank God bb is safe.
oxtocin resumed after 1 hr, ard 3pm fully dilated, and after some v hard pushes(no pain tho as i had asked for 2nd jab of epidural) and with hubby's help (the mid wife walk in walk out never really helped me with the pushing
bb's head emerged and gynae called in to deliver bb. whole labour last less than 12 hours.
the after pains is quite uncomfortable tho... but seeing bb healthy and cutie, everything is worth it. bb is 3.058kg at birth.

okipoki,
hey glad u still remember me... my epi wounds still hurt after 11 days, tummy big big like 5 months preggy, not successful in latching on.. got short nipple, the other inverted... and din manage to help bb get used to my nipple cos in pain... so have to rely on my medela PIS to partially feed bb EBM. i use Friso as bb's FM. bb now can drink up to 90 ml at 11 days!

spicegal, good that they do home delivery... nowadays stranded at home
so sian... too troublesome to go out too. Also too shy to go out cos still v fat

Gina,
Congrats! U finally made it on the last day of June

sunflower/missk,
hi ladies, rgd yr question on doing hair... in fact i hv gone for my hair cut and colour once after my confinement.. heard abt hair colour is no good when u r bfing but i think it's ok lah. it was not advisable then when we are pregnant cos bb is inside us and stil developing but now since already out, i think shld be ok.. so far i still bf but ok leh.. no problem.

Tinklebell,
I think so. You may want to check with Karen?

Gina,
Congrats on the birth of your little one. Glad that your baby was okay. My baby's heartbeat was going at more than 200 beats per minute towards delivery and I might have ended up in C-section too if not for the quick intervention of my gynae.

Sunflower,

re: vacinnation
5-in-1 : 3m, 4m and 5m and first booster at 18 mth
Hep B jab to be taken separately at 1m and 6m.
(Total of 5 injections, not including jab taken at birth)

6-in-1 : 1.5M, 3M and 5M if hep B jab has been given at birth (total of 3 jabs, not including jab taken at birth)
Booster to be taken in 18mth but using 5in1 (cos u dont need to combine with Hep B booster)

Sunflower,

5-in-1 jab: hep B 2nd dose is integrated into other vaccines.

6-in-1 jab? hep B 2nd dose adminstered independently as a shot when baby turns one month old.

Paula,
Same!
haha! i just saw NTUC website last week but their delivery charges r quite expensive. It depends on the wt of the groceries.
I've been looking at nursing wear... not many sites that r cheap and good. Someone commented that she sees so many mummies wearing the same nursing top within just a few hrs in town. haha!

Tinklebell,

Yea, have been spending about S$6.00 on delivery charges for fairprice purchases.

Re. nursing wear, yep, the styles are quite similar ... unless you buy it from overseas portal?

Paula,
Avent has no online website. But the last time i needed something so i called them up and they told me to send them a cheque and they will post the item out to me.

Paula,
Overseas sites r too expensive lah... already spent a bomb on confinement, maid, gifts... luckily got $3k fr govt to offset.

duffy, the site is not bad... somemore free delivery for $150 and abv. worth considering

luckily got online shopping .... life is so boring with no shopping.