(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

K ong
Ya, i think I went there abt five times. The bottle caps could be purchased from the pharmacy @ Mt. A. We bought them at 70 cents each. You can sterilise with the steam steriliser or just boil them.

6-in-one jab
Doc will normally prescribe medicine for fever for you to bring home. My baby had the fever for a day after the jab. My doc said that it is good for them to have fever as it means they are responding to the vaccination. I used KOOL FEVER on my gerl's forehead too.

lyn,
i'm also using medela mini eectric, but haven't been able to pump regularly every 3 hrs coz must take care of bb myself. my mum dun even dare to bath or change her diaper, while my husband is too tired from working every day. i still have to do laundry also. i guess family support is really important to success, which sadly i'm lack of
really evy u gals who can pump more than 100 ml in such a short time.
btw the pump is v noisy.. each time has to go out sitting in the living rm to pump coz dun want to wake my bb. a bit inconvenient.

okipoki,
wow so envy, can pump 80 ml already! do u also do direct latching as well? how do u do it ah?

kk, dor,
i bath my bb when the sun appear.. v late hor? coz scared she got chilly.
oh so must wipe again w/ wet cotton wool on top of wet wipes after poo? din know that.. saw the nurse in hospital only use wet wipes for pee and poo.

carebear,
oh really ah no need to do anything abt the dry skin? actually my PD also said it's normal, but v heart pain to see her skin peeling off like that.. i apply vaseline just now. should b ok rite?

missk,
no, i'm located in sgp.

actually i really dunno how much my boy is drinking as i direct latch most of the time.
i am feeding on demand now.

am i using his "sleeping" hrs to guage how full he is. good times, he can sleeps 4hrs, if not, every 1.5-2hrs he will wake for milk again.
so really hv no time to pump also. :p

oki - why dun direct latch and feed on demand.
think not a good idea for her to get used to FM/bottles. think they will get "lazy" to suck from breast later.

medela - ya, i heard tat it's really noisy. heard tat Ameda is slightly better and as strong as PIS. still considering which one to invest.
now using manual pump as i dun pump v often. depends on my boy to empty my breast! :p

mum2be,

Heee, using cotton wool after wipes is double protection lor. And i feel that it is cleaner that way

Oh scared chilly u can close all windows and off any fan, then bb won't get cold liao
So no need to wait till so late then bathe bb lor :p

I only applied hazeline on my bb. All parts of skin ok, except eyebrow still got peeling skin occasionally lor.

Poohmum,

I did have my binder on day and nite during confinement. And yes, it did help me to walk better until i became too dependent on it. When i took it off, i seemed to be very "light", dunno how to walk well haha.. need some time to walk like normal.

hey lyn ..thank u so much for the detailed description. I will try harder. How often do you pump lyn? Do you latch him on? I try to pump an hour after feeding him. But the MS is very low - about 20 - 30ml only from both breasts. I can't help but to feel discouraged.

Also, I realised that if I dun express after 6 hours, the MS is very low, instead of high.

hey tinklebell

I am going to heed your advice on drinking tons of fluid before expressing. Do you express only or direct latch on and expressing as well?

missk,
most of the time, i express.
If i let her latch direct, then i will prolong the expressing timing intervals.
I hope drinking more fluid will help u express more

Also, when u pump, u try to think of beautiful pictures of ur bb. It helps in "let down".
BTW, wh pump r u using?

hey tinklebell, I am using PIS Advanced. How abt you? How do you store your EBM? In bags or bottles? Since I express very little, I store them in a bottle in the lower part of the fridge. Then at the end of the day, I pour everything into an Avent bottle for freezing. Will this spoil the quality of the milk?

tinklebell,
You can proceed with massage straightaway for normal birth. I've signed up a 10 sessions massage at $600. The lady is good, she can push the water and wind out of my tummy. I must say my tummy slim down alot. Tomorrow will be my last session. If you like to contact her, her name is Maya, Tel:9476 7836.

tinkle,
Drinking more water helps in more milk flow? I drank soup too, milk still did not increase, Today so far, i've expressed twice, each time i got 150ml, 170ml...but on the whole, milk supply did not increase, still not enough for my baby's demand.
I will try to drink more water and see.

serene,

Wow u mummies really have so much milk! During confinement i drank so much fluid, the most i get was 110 ml only. And only happened 3-4 times only. The rest of the time was only 80 ml. Not enough for my girl at all.

tinkle,
i pour the BF into the glass bottle then my CL direct feed her from there... Chloe tends to get very frustrated in searching for my nipple... so sad & she will cried like siao chabo !! Her whole face will be very very red... haiz !!

mum2b,
aiya my nipples going sore soon... bo bian, just sit on my bed & pump as long as possible. normally i will try to hit that if not will leave 40ml as minimal. i think we shld try to pump more offen so that it can replenish with more MS.

Missk,
PIS Advanced should be v good. U try relaxing and drinking more fluid ...see if it helps.
I store the milk in glass bottles or Avent milk bottles. u still have milk to freeze? i dont freeze them cos they will be consumed within the next 12 hrs anyway.

Serene,
Thanks for the massage contact. Must go for 10 sessions. I was thinking maybe go for 3-5 sessions should be enuf cos i dont really like the smell of the jamu wrap. Can u ask her how much she charges for 3 or 5 sessions? How much wt hv u lost so far? hiaz... i still got another 6.5kg more to go
still cant fit into my normal clothes

I think it's bec of the fluid that my MS increased. Maybe it differs person to person. Must also relax when u pump. Today, other than the freak 65ml, the other vols range from 160ml to 200ml.... more than enuf for my dd.

Okipoki,
Your dd's case sounds like my son's.... also v kang cheong searching for the nipple.

MTDT,
not that i dun want to latch her... she is extremely impatient plus my flow is pretty slow lor. i guess if she couldnt find the flow she has in FM she gets very agitated. hopefully, my supply will increase more & "powerful" then i will latch her again. so right now i need to work harder...

tinkle,
i find that my massage lady not bad & i had my 2nd session today. if u are interested, let me know
btw, her charges kinda varies depend on where u stay. i took up a 2 weeks package with her cos my tummy aiya like 5 mth preggy lor. so far after my 1st session, tummy did went down abit

tinkle,
hahaha so u know it can get very stress for me leh... then she will shake her head like mad ger. surprisingly my ger's head is pretty strong & her legs can really kick alot.. haha..

Hi Lyn,

Today started to take the Sheng Yu jing and kanna lao sai... twice. Tummy painful. think must be the Sheng Yu Jing.

Baby's Data
DOB : 10 June
EDD : 11 June
Weight : 3.56 kg
Name : Trisha Toh Yu Ting

hi dor/lyn/oki,
i am back from some frantic buying of toiletries, crockpot for confinement and wanna buy a tower fan but no stock ha... also got this nesting instinct, keep washing and tidying and wiping... but then went for a nap and still got quite a lot of mess to clear .. ask my bb give me 1 or 2 more days to clear the mess...
after the plug came out this morning i feel some pain and difficulty in walking, bb really impatient to come out liao i guess, keeps kicking the whole day and v vigorously till i feel pain... he so fed up i keep asking him to wait haha :p
oki, my gynae at KKH not like yours pte so cannot call direct. so i have to monitor to see when i have to rush to the hospital to be assessed lor... quite worried cos am alone at home most of the time.
btw my frds say b4 u latch on rub a little of your own breastmilk on your nipple to prevent sore nipples. i bought the avent brestshells for sore nipples in case this doesn't work. i v scared of sore and bleeding nipples...

gina,
ooh guess u are due anytime now.. cos i do hv nesting instinct too but started pretty early before the plug came off. i wont be surprised if u are going to due tomorrow. btw, just monitor ur any contraction & show

alternatively, u can get ur mum or in-laws to come over ?? most impt u must pack all ur stuffs liao

me too bought the shells but have use yet cos my milk didnt leak much. i did rub some of the BM whether i finished pumping. how i wish i can latch on my ger

ladies who expressed BM...how many times do you pump in the night? my breasts are so engorged when i wake to pump ard 4am, and i pump b4 bed ard 11-12am. do you all have this prob?

mspiggy,
ya, it happens to me too. My CL said usually morning will have alot of milk. its kinda true leh.

pebbles,
i think the price of d cap went up already. 2 wks ago i went to buy @mt a, its $0.75.

tinklebell, yah ... I tot PIS is really good but my MS is VERY low. Perhaps my MS has nothing to do with the machine at all. I usually only use 25% of the suction as I am afraid of the pain. Do you think that's the problem?

Yah .. I direct latch on and express. The milk that I express will be used for night feeds. If there is any extra, I will freeze the milk for future consumption.

Good morning ladies!

missk,
i am not sure if it's due to the suction. when i use my ameda pump, i adjust the suction to the 2/3 mark. painful initially but soon the milk will flow out in squirts. u tried nursing yr bb directly, MS is a dd and supply thing.... maybe u should let her latch for a few days and then try expressing again? Or try papaya fish soup? TMC provides that soup for morning tea everyday. Supposed to boost MS.

MIM is selling some nursing tea... they claim it will increase milk supply... i was still thinking whether to get that or not. maybe those mummies who have drank them can give some comments?
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/milktea.html

mspiggy,
i also have to wake up every 4 hr at night to pump cos the Bs are engorged. tiring right?

tinkle,
I'm not sure if she has 3-5 sessions??? I will ask her later and let you know. I've lost about 11kg, another 9kg more to lose. I can't fit into my normal clothes yet either!

My baby was cranky this 2 days esp last nite and now also. He hardly sleep long, woke up and cried loudly, as if in fright....dunno what to do sigh! Seems that he is very used to the CL's carrying. When my CL carries him and talk to him, he stops crying shortly and seems happy. But when i carry him, he's not comfortable and continues crying...i'm still trying to understand his needs, imagine i had to take over looking after him next week....very stressful! Didn't have enough sleep, very tired now! Very disheartened on breastfeeding too...so far can't feed him 100% breast milk also, dun think i will ever have alot of milk and moreover each feed, he's shouting loudly for milk, can't wait also, formula milk seems more practical.

mspiggy,
Wake up in the middle to pump is not a problem, is normal if you have alot milk. For me who dun have sufficient milk, dun even feel engorgement and no need to wake up in middle of nite to express. Sleep throughout the whole nite until now, hasn't express also won't feel engorged! I'd wish i have more milk but dun have! My girlfriend told me also she woke up in the middle of nite to express, she has alot of milk. She even need the cabbage sometimes to cool the engorgement but i dun need at all!

hey tinklebell

yah .. I still feed my bb directly every 2 hour. Do you think that's the reason why my Ms is so low. My gf can latch and express. When she expresses, she can get 100ml from one breast! Imagine that! How cool.

Btw, have you started on your massage? I am going to start mine on wednesday.

oh serene .. I understand how you feel. Yes, I agree with your that breastfeeding can be very frustrating, tiring, stressful and even boring!

Like you, my MS is low. Somehow, it has become a source of stress and even depression for me. I am not about to give up yet. I will continue to nurse him and hopefully my Ms will increase. AT the same time, I am reading all I can to improve my MS.

Today, I will try to express on a 3-hourly basis and at the same time, I will still nurse my bb. Let's see if it's going to improve. My fren told me to drink red bean soup. I am not sure if it's going to work. I will try it today. Will let you know again.

In the meantime, take care!

serene,
dont be disheartened. In my first preg, i also thought i have no milk for bb so 70% formula. So this time round, i tell myself must go and find out more abt MS and BF. So far, can give my girl 100%, except the first 4 days before MS comes in. Now i write down my pumping schedule and amt of milk expressed and i religiously follow the schedule - every 3 or 4 hrly, depending on whether bb latches or not. If i cant reach the targeted amt of milk after 10 mins, i relax again and express again after 3-5 mins... surprisingly, there will be milk... every drop counts lah...so v happy

missk, oic, seems like your bb has emptied your boops...haha... how many weeks is your bb. i suppose it will take a while b4 u can express a lot.
Take your own time... dont compare yrself to ur fren lor... every body is diff.
Havent started massage. thinking of starting this week. still got a lot of weight to lose

Re. Friso,

Yea, they do have great service. They called me and told me that they will be sending a tin of sample over. I thought its a small tin but it turns out to be the normal size tin selling in the market! I wonder why Similac isnt doing that. Haha.

Re. Maya

Yea, she is highly recommended. One of my friends who have used her said she is really great and she appeared on Xin Xin Mummy too. I brought the package from Rustic Nirvana and my masseur is Helen. She is really good. I started off with two sessions last week and have stopped since cos I was down with UTI and piles. I will resume on this Wednesday. The package comes with sea salt scrub and steam bath too. My tummy has gone down and I have 3 more kgs to lose before Im back to my pre-pregnancy size. I was so happy when I could fit into my pre-pregnancy tee shirts but realize that my hips have expanded a lot.

Tinklebell,
Did your gynae say anything about your epi wound? It should heal by now already, isnt it? When I felt pain after urinating, I thought it was due to my epi wound too but after a visit to the hospital, I was told that my stitches were healed and the pain was caused by urinary tract infection and was given a week of antibiotics. The pain went away after day 5.

Serene,
My baby girl is going through the same sleepless motion like yours and she needs to be carried before she will sleep. My CL said that she is down with fright will be getting some ba xian fen from the Chinese medicinal store later
Dont be stressed up over the milk supply. I havent been expressing milk for more than a week away as I was on heavy medication. Though my doc said that the medication are breastfeeding safe, but Im still hesitant cos I know that antibiotics are not good to our bodies at all so how can the baby take it. Will start expressing late this week and Im praying hard that I still have milk.

missk - if u latch ur bb, of cos wont be able to express much rite? becos ur bb empties it for u mah? i also latch bb on demand, if i express, i only get a miserbale 10ml! hahaha

but i latch quite often, like every 2-3hrs too. since after feed, he can sleeps for 2-3hrs, i assume he is getting enough.

i notice nowadays, i will leak milk... while feeding on one side, the other side will leak! so wasted sia! hahahh...

oki - maybe the way u carry ur gal is not comfy thus she is fustrated. u r using cradle hold mtd? i used to hv sored nipples becos of this hold. then i change and use reverse cradle hold it solved my sore nipples problem! and i feel tat it gives better control of ur bb. oh, when i hv sored nipples, i used avent soothing nipple cream.. it's good!

maybe u wan to try other mtds to latch ur gal. and dun wait till she is crying to try.... maybe try 30mins before her feeding time. hopefully she has more patient to trial and error with u.

Hey Mummies,

Recalling our delivery experiences; what were the things that you dread most in the labor suite? Heres a list of them:

1. My labor suite does not have a telly cos all the tellys in the labour suites in KKH broke down!
2. When I couldnt withstand the pain already and my anesthetist wasnt there yet.
3. My hubby snoring away in the couch even though Im in pain.
4. Epidural ran out and have to wait for the approval from the anesthetist before the midwife could administer another dose on me I must say that the anesthetist in KKH was a very sweet lady the way she talks and assured you throughout the whole process really relieve you off the pain when the needle was poked into your back
5. Those VEs prior to epidural. It hurts! My gynae was speaking to me when he did the VE prior to bursting of waterbag hence, couldnt feel the poke
6. The insertion of the urination catheter.
7. Have to wait in the delivery suite for four hours after given birth. Was down with high fever then and every sight in the suite was blood and more blood make me feel worst!

Puala,
My gynae says my wound is healing well but i dont think so leh. Last nite, i woke up in pain cos the bottom area is so painful! The V and the anus!
my hub says there's prob an infection... anyway, he suggested i take a dose of antibiotics so see if the swelling and pain goes down. no choice
sian.

449320.jpg

My 20mth old and 1wk old

Postnatal masseuse for c-section:
sorry if I missed a reply, can anyone rec me a contact? TIA!

Pumping-
I tried with Avent manual and PIS... can't get letdown, can only relieve very tiny bit of the engorgement. Too tired and sore from almost-hrly latching to try more pumping. Tandem with bb on one side and pump on the other side usually gets letdown from my experience with #1.

Tinklebell,

I felt the following symptoms:

1. Sharp pain (needle poking pain) in the V-area.
2. Burning sensation after urination.
3. Could hardly walk after urination cos of the pain.
4. Dull ache in the anus. Spotted bright pink blood.

If you have the above symptoms, you may want to make a trip down to KKH 24 hour women clinic. The doc will check if you have UTI. If you are down with it, you have to get it cleared first because if it gets severe, our kidney might get infected. I refused to see the doc when I felt these pain cos I die die also thought the pain are caused by the epi wound. For my case, the UTI was severe. I drank lots of water and cranberry juice and it helps I visited the clinic yesterday because of (4) and was told that I was down with piles! After taking some medication, the pain is gone

Mum2b, Tinklebell,

Yea, my relatives were saying that she has very nice lip she has inner and outer double eyelids on her left eyes but the double eyelid on her right eyes isnt really noticeable hardly have the strength to carry her these days cos she is getting heavier!

Paula,
i have pain in V area (some parts) and anus!! when i feel down there, there is are 2 lumps ard the anus and V area ! So far, i dont have burning sensation after urine. I know i have piles so maybe after delivery, they have worsened
i'll take the antibiotics first and see how it goes. Pray hard it clears.

Tinklebell,

Yea, I know how you felt ... the pain is damn bad. The doc told me that if the mediciation does not clear the piles, we would have to remove it surgically lei ... hope that won't happen... try to sleep on your side at night.

Paula, r u taking anything for piles? Daflone (i cant rem the spelling) or something like that? i am hesitant to take them now. Hope they resolve by themselves later on.

mum2B,
Come to think of it that we gotta learn to take care of baby our babies on our own plus breastfeeding sooner or later

missk,
I used to pump every 3 hours till I stored so much milk in milk bags in the freezer. Now I try not to pump. Cos I dun feel good giving baby frozen breast milk. The contents of our breast milk will change as baby grows. And those milk will be wasted with all the nutrients from my body... lol... Now I only pump if I cannot tolerate the engorgement.
When I wanna freeze, I will pump direct into the milk bag and freeze immediately. For those milk to be stored in fridge, I will pump into bottles. Each time, I will only have two bottles of EBM in fridge...
I think drinking more water will help in the milk supply. I drink a lot of milo and horlick too.

okipoki,
HOpe your baby's checkup at PD is ok today
I did not bring my boy to the PD at one week... I postponed it to 14 days...
I dun wan unneccessary stress for myself.. cos from what I read and hear from friends, most babies nowadays will be hospitalised for jaundice. Almost all babies will have jaundice and breastfed babies' juandice will peak around day7 to day10. Then will come down...

carebear,
Wow.. 10k is a lot... How much did your gynae charge? Last time my surgery with blood transfusion, I paid 6k after medisave... Blood transfusion cost quite a lot in Singapore...

okipoki,
I read that baby still dunno how the nipple feels like. Gotta train them to differentiate. It will take time... My boy still cannot differentiate. So gotta be patient to guide him when feeding...
My friend told me to bottle feed sometimes plus breastfeed, cos her boy TBF and dun wan bottle. There's once she was out and her boy did not drink any milk for 12 hours till she return home.

poohmum,
Is yours C-section? hee.. sorry I forgotten... :p I dare not drink sheng yu jing nor eat sheng yu...

gina,
Dun overstress leh...

mspiggy,
You pumped at 12am and 4am usually rite? Last time, when I pump to stimulate at these timings, I will get painful engorgement at these timings and have to pump... Our breasts very clever...

missk,
Increase the suction slowly...
When I pump, I use the least suction then slowly increase.
I do drink lotus root with black beans soup daily
I think lotus root can boost milk supply. I dun drink the papaya fish soup though...

Paula,
Wah.. So good.. You are not far from pre-pregnancy weight already. envy envy... I still got 6kg to lose
. But my tummy gone down already, and I can wear my pre-preggie clothes but with a bulging tummy... I never go for massage. I wonder where has the weight gone to...

Wah... Kelly looks so cute... She has got sharp features.. Beautiful baby indeed

had my first mth celebration last sat.. whew!! Sort of finish my confinement.. hurray!! Chk with u gals do u drink red dates n bath in that herb for40 days??? i thot 28 days is enough..

Got free sample for Friso??? Any1 has that no?? My son is taking that one..

Carebear29, my son has abit of colic.. so PD prescribes some medinice.. so far abit of improvement.. so u might want to bring him to c dr..

Any1 knows how to lose wt fast?? Gosh i only lost 8kg so far, still got 10kg to go... so sad..

Peng,

I stopped herbal bath and red dates by 30 days. BUT of course, red date drink "bu xue" and good for BF, so encouraged to drink as long as possible

mspiggy,
me too either wake up at 2 or 4 am just to pump my milk and before that i pump at ard 9pm. i think is normal bah !!