(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Wah, seems like many mummies are popping soon getting very excited now. Serene, MsPiggy, all the best to the both of you and jia you!!

Kite,

Yea loh, still 1cm dilated but am feeling pains all over could hardly walk especially with the lower back pain. This morning woke up feeling worst cos the V area very sore and hurts I have lumpy greenish discharges in the past one week or so

Re. out of office message: I had mine written as Ill be working from home from now till July 2006 haha.

Paula,
Wow for how long u r stil 1cm dilated? ya sometimes me too, e V there sore n hurts even during slping when i want to switch position, painful wor
so do u hv any contractions n mucus plug come out liao?

Paula

Thot ur EDD is 5 June. Not waiting till then to see if can deliver naturally. 1 day shd not make much diff rite?

My cramp went off already. No more cramp from last night.. Just came back from Suntec somemore... Feel alright except feet aching. Hehe. Going to remove make up and go rest a bit. Got a bit of soreness at the V area thou.

Hehe, must be becos my mom and hb have been telling bb cannot come out so early. ;p

kite,

Is it possible to write "I will be on leave from xx to xx, and maternity leave from xx to xx instead? Quite lor soh lah, but clear?

hidora,

at least so gd u stil can go shopping. now even i walk or stand for 1 min, wil b painful leh, not sure y like tat. so most of the time, i m either in sitting, lying or slping position.

Eh i dunno when i wil be starting on my maternity leave so cant include tat. right now, i hv changed to : i wil be away fr office from 1 june to 30 june". sounds better hor? e date is just temporaily. wat do u think?

kite,

Ya lor, just put in temporaily date first. Then when maternity leave starts then put in the date from then.

I think cos bb is pressing too low on your pelvis? Did you walk/ exercise a lot during your pregnancy?

hi kite,
you rest well at home. so far gynae didnt ask me to rest at home till delivery just ask me to see her weekly.

hidora:
yaloh put in temp date first. But 1 of my colleague advised me to put from 1 June to 31 Aug 06 n put "away from office". Aiya so many suggestions, make me so luan.

Ya gynac told me bb's head is lower n already 1cm dilated. sometimes i can feel e pressure. I think i walk too much during pregnancy, me like to climb e stairs n go shopping fr morning til nite during wkends
now i cant even go downstairs.
when is ur EDD?

mspiggy:
maybe u are stil okie. my situation abit diff cos mucus plug (bleeding) has occured n contractions happened after tat. now feel much better but cant walk loh.

tinklebell/okipoki:
i have changed to put "away from office" but if u were me, wat dates wil u put? 1 mth temp or 3mths straight?

Paula:
u mean u wrote " from now til July 06" is just temp, wil u update once u start ur maternity leave?

missk
Went to see gynae just now coz baby not moving much as usual. On monday when I did ctg test, there was contractions, today I did again, there isn't any. So gynae suggested to get induced today. He put the tablet in to open up the cervic.. I'm going to the hospital now coz he said the feeling or pain will kick in in 3 hrs time.

Ciao and take care guys!

paula,

Ya, dun take oranges already. My fren proven that drinking oranges and cold water really increase phelgm in bb. Her bb ger got lots of phelgm. Also, avoid eating heaty/ spicy stuff. Another fren's bb had heat rashes for like 4 mths.

kite,

Wa, you really walk a lot! I only walk, but I stop climbing stairs after 7th mth. Too tired! And I usually only walk for 2-3 hrs at most.. Then pant pant pant liao.

My edd is 25 June. But maybe gynae will induce me by mid June as bb is big.

Did your mom give birth earlier than due date too? It could be due to genes.

msnanas,

Wishing you a smooth delivery too!

hidora:
i regret walking too much, nvm at least now i can hv a gd well rest. before tat, always busy w work n hsework, cooking n shopping. now no more, everyday sit, lie n sleep cos cant walk n stand properly.

yes my mum gave birth to me 2 to 3wks earlier
u?

celesteblur,
Yah i staying at farrer park the one near farrer park mrt.. you too?

KK ,
when my gal breath, can her the funny sound for her mouth and nose.. its confirm phlegm lor... after much thought, PD say tuesday at first appt she is ok.. how come thurs.. she become like that... and ask anyone sick at home.. i say no... so still dun know the cause... sad lah..

Tinklebell,
i feed a combination of FM & Direct BF & EBM too... her phlegm is quite bad on thur.. lucky getting better now after the nose drop tree times a day... hope she sleep well.. i dun dare to sleep.. have to keep an eye on her... and monitor...

Kite,
i still have prob loading my gals pics here... think really need help... ahahhahaha.. ama computer idiot though

hello ladies

my birth story (sorry if too cheong hei):
30/5/06
1130 - water bag broke, luckily on maternity leave oreadi, else will flood the office. took a long shower, pack hospital bag, drink chicken soup and left for hospital.

1345 - admitted to delivery suite and strapped to CTG

1445 - gynae came and did VE, 4 cm dilated and baby quite high up in birth canal but no regular contractions, conclusion.. have to induce via drip. he told me that i may have to consider c-section if baby does not come out by midnight

1500 to 1800 - oxytocin drip started and upped to max dosage, but contractions still irregular, no pain.. juz stomach discomfort

1845 - gynae came by to check, 6cm dilated and contractions still irregular, some 5 min apart, others 3 or 4 min apart. the contractions felt like normal menses cramps or tummy ache.. i was still very calm until i heard the lady in the delivery suite next door screaming her head off!

2030 - contractions more intense but pain still manageable, i was still yakking away on the phone with frens (very bored in the suite.. no TV, no books) and also trying to call my confinement lady in m'sia. 8cm dilated! got hope to deliver naturally! but nurse told me baby rather high up, may have to push 2-3 hours (aw shucks)

2045 to 2215 - contractions got really intense and pain was terrible, i was literally shaking the rails of the bed with each contraction (now i know why the bed rails were all so shaky) and sucking ice cubes to cool down.

2215 - suddenly felt strong urge to push, midwife did VE and full dilation! yeah, can push finally! the bed had no stirrups so i put my legs on my hubby's and the midwife's waists to push while waiting for gynae to come. actually the pushing stage is quite ok, coz can't feel the contraction pain when pushing

2300 - gynae came and with a snip and couple more pushes, my baby was out at 2311
her weight 3.32kg and length 52 cm

thanks for all your well wishes

my baby was re-admitted to KKH yesterday afternoon coz of jaundice and i was so upset to leave her at the nursery, never knew that i would be so attached to her after only a couple of days.

anyway.. my main problem now.. and the reason why i'm still up is.. coz i'm suffering from engorgement and blocked milk ducts, so painful that i can't sleep.

any mummies here can advise how to remove the blockages? massaging the lumps and expressing the milk does not seem to alleviate the problem, but make it worse leh... SOS..

Serene & Msnanas...all the best to the both of you...jia you...hope to hear your birth stories real soon..

Cookiemz...congrats to you...thanks for sharing with us your birth story...another brave mum without epidural...

I am now under close monitoring for my amniotic fluid and BP...every alternate days must go for ctg test...my gynae is on holiday now...next visit is on Mon..by then i should be able to know if he wanna induce me...

cookiemz...i heard from my colleagues that you can either apply hot/warm towel to your breast and massage them at the same time to ease the blocks...alternatively if you can bathe...go for a hot shower and rub at the blocked ducts at the same time...

cookiemz,

i have engorgement and blocked ducts.. big ones under my arm too both pregnancy. They are formed v soon! I would recommend that u apply hot compress to the area and then, if u have electric pump like medela, pump from that breast, as u do that, massage hard in circular motion pressing the blocked duct untill it soften and form smaller lumps and u work on those smaller ones. They may be back for a couple of time .... each time u will just press the lump hard and start massaging in circular motion... gotta bear with the pain... its very painful.. but after that u will feel very relieved! No need to go LC cos they also will press and massage hard... same kind of pain hehee
the key is no pain no gain... definitely will be painful to massage them. Another way to relieve engorgement is cold cabbage treatment..
I do that at first when i got engorgement and it really help!
But do note that use of cold cabbage may reduce supply slightly i heard...

dun worry soon when u establish your supply and routine, the engorgement and blocked ducts will be gone. whatever u do, just pump or latch on regularly.

Hello Spicegal

Oh you poor thing ... having to do CTG every other day. I was already complaining when I had to do CTG twice every week. Gosh .. it's sooooo EX!!!! I spend $400 on medical bills every week for the past motnh. Geez!

Good Morning!

mummies who have given birth,
One question:
Do u feel that both sides of your hips hurt few days before u have given birth?
I'm having aches on both sides of my hips
(it feels like those muscle aches eg when u have not exercised for ages and then maybe go for a few km jog) Yesterday was on one side of the bum and today the other

hi cookiez:
congrats! May i know during the bursting of ur waterbag, issit like alot of water come out at 1 time or watever?

spicegal:
wat is ur fluid level? we wont know until we visit gynac rite?

celeste:
did u try to resize ur pic to small bytes (less than 50kb)?

Good morning ladies !!

Went to the motherhood fair yesterday evening.. nothing much & not as good as the fair that held previously. so not worth to go at all...

cookiemz,
thanks for sharing ur birth story.... very good no epi but is a long delivery huh.
hope ur bb will get welll soon.

do u encounter some clear discharge but oni abit (but wet ur panty)? issit normal? me feel like calling n visit my gynac abt tis but scare false alarm.

kite,
yeah i do & i thot is normal (kinda like normal discharge)... u are afraid that ur waterbag must burst ar ?

okipoki:
the discharge is somehow watery, transparent.
but i dun think so cos no pain n etc. maybe normal discharge yest morning, now dun hv. i think waterbag burst is in a gush hor. but i dunno y want to go down to gynac for assurance leh. me again start to worry. shall i call?

kite,
i guess it should be normal one. yeah if waterbag burst it will be in gush (thats what i heard from my colleague). probably u should give ur gynae a call to enquire 1st rather than going that & is a false alarm.

Morning Mummies,

kite,

My mom always delivered later than due date. So I think if I'm not being induce, may deliver later too..

I read that water bag brust is either like a gush, or like urine streaming out.

celeste,

Try to resize your photos to less than 600kb. Right click on the photo and choose edit. The program "Paint" will open up. Then go to the taskbar above and select Image, then Stretch/Skew. Under Stretch, type in 20% to 50%. This helps to reduce the photo to the % you choose.

Save the photo under another name. To check the size of the photo, just right click and select properties.

Then click on upload attachment and select the photo you want.

cookiemz,

Thanks for sharing your birth story!

Hey Ladies,

My wife has given birth last Tues. Normal Delivery without Epidural. Just to ask those who has given birth, what milk is ur baby drinking?

Matt

Matt...

My gal taking Similac cos while in hospital they use similac.. she is ok no allergy to it... so stick to similac... maybe you can check what the hospital gave your BB.. then use the same... safer.. I think..

Stephanie,

Yep, tomorrow is D-day for me Im having a bag of different emotions now. Happy because Ill be finally seeing my little princess, sad because Ill start missing her aerobatics kicks and touches within me, worried because I dont know what to expect during the labour process and scared because Im scared of pain!

Ill be admitted on 5 June at 1am. My gynae reckons that Ill give birth on the evening on the same day

Kite,

I was dilated at 1cm for two weeks! Quite long hor? Muscus plus refers to those big lumpy discharges right? Yea, my V area and my pelvis area hurts real badly these few days (maybe these are signs that Im further dilated?) and my back aches real bad could hardly manages a few steps I hope gynae can still administer epidural on me despite the back aches

Re. out of office assistance, nah, I did not hire a temp to replace me cos of the nature of my job anyway, its off peak period now and as long as I spent every two to three hours a day working on my e-mails, there shouldnt be any problem.

Msnanas,

Was it painful when the induction pill was inserted into you?

Cookiemz,

Another natural birth! You are one brave mummy! Would hot or cold compress helps?

I was still hoping to clean up my whole house today ... after some minor cleaning, I gave up cos' no more stamina ... sigh! End up packing my hospital bags (3 bags in all, haha) ...

paula,

U must be excited to pack ur hospital bags.. haha.. that time i put all my things in one travelling bag and brought another empty one along. Came home with 2 FULL big bags!

Wahhh, still have mood to listen to music? My friends also told me to bring player along, but i asked myself good mood to listen meh? I didn't bring and true enough, i so gan jiong until no mood to do anything. By the way, TMC got TV in the delivery suite. So i was watching tv while in labour.

Matthew,

i agreed with celeste. Stick to the FM given by the hospital, if everything's ok. My bb was on enfalac A+. Now on wyeth gold S26. Both ok on her.