(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

MOAP, celeste,
I got a friend whose PD said cannot feed water to baby. The nurses also told her at discharge not to feed water. And when her baby got bad jaundice, the same PD asked how come never feed water cos her breast milk haven't come in! And her baby's jaundice is due to dehydration. *faintz*

Paula,
I also getting very nervous.. hahaha.. these few nites very light sleep, cannot sleep very well... But this weekend gonna enjoy "er ren shi jie" with hubby
We going to eat dim sum on Sunday

MOAP,
Yep, I'm set on going on epidural cos' my tolerance of pain is low. It is just the thought of being induced and the bursting of waterbag... sigh.

Serene,
Yep, let's be a happy mama! :)

Lyn,
When are you due? Yep, my hubby is bringing me out for nice dinners on Saturday and Sunday. Meeting up with my friends in office for Swensons tomorrow ... countdown begins!

Serene,

Actually MOAP is right with her advice on induction. Two of my friends asked for induction but ended up in the operating theatre ... one of them labored for more than 10 hours and was told that her cervix is too small ... the other one had an extremely long labor and baby ended up in distress.

i am selling away 1 set of "sheng hua tang" that i bought from eu yan seng.. never had a chance to boil and drink ...bought it at $25...nw selling at $18... PM me if you are intrested and self collect as i am doing my confinement...

okipoki,

The cake in the photo from prima deli heee.. just a normal cake. It is delicious!! Yummy, make me drool.. feel like eating again :p

Hmmm, i only received one set of $40 metro vouchers from a friend. Ya, received ang pows from a few others too. But still many sets of clothings leh, which i am surprised. I didn't open them yet, cos bb no lack of clothes - got hands me down and also i bought for her too.

celeste,

Huh? Based on the old folks, water should cure jaundice?? I feed my bb water, but not much because she dun like to drink.

My PD say phlegm is normal at this stage. My girl has phlegm too. Urs a lot ah?? Cause discomfort in ur girl? Mine also coughing sometimes during feed, when she choke hee..

Paula,

Wow, wish u all the best next monday! Soon u see ur little one

Ya, using pigeon steam steriliser. So far so good. Nope, after steaming, i just leave the bottles in the steriliser. Hmmm, but the bottles can be quite wet lor. But not a big problem

MOAP, Paula,
I think I agreed with your advice...now i rem what happened to my one of my girlfriend's sister...the labour took too long and ended up baby lack of oxygen so had to proceed for c-sect immediately... I think kk's case also the same yah? Can't rem it clearly.... Then since already waited till today, i better wait until my EDD....I dun wish to undergo 2 pain, natural and c-sect too.... scared!

Paula,
My EDD 18 June... But will go C-section 6 June. Last nite, went out to celebrate my mum's chinese birthday
. Sunday, me and hubby going for dim sum lunch at Carlton
Saturday, meet friends for lunch

MOAP,
How many packets is the sheng hua tang? Or can boil how many times?

serene,

Yah lor, halfway through my labour, i started to bleed and then the midwife also gave me oxygen tank. Partly because i waited until sian liao, so dozing off. When dozing off, bb less active as displayed on CTG graph. Midwife got scared, passed me oxygen tank.

Serene/ Celeste,
The clinic busy today? aiyooo... think i better go earlier today. What is the earliest they open for the evenings?

Serene,
ur edd is 12th right? so u'r thinking of inducing after your EDD or a few days before lah. U didnt let him check if cervix dilated? i've kind of given up hoping bb will come out early
my tummy is still v "high"....think she feels too comfortable inside. outside may be too harsh for her... maybe she is scared to see her kor kor who has been talking loudly and using his little finger to "kachao" her lately.

Puala,
True, if your cervix dont dilate fast enuf and bb is in distress, have to go for c-section. mine dilated v slowly... only at the last hr did it dilate very quickly... the thought of c-section scared me and i started to push v v hard..haha.. donno if that had expanded the cervix :p

U also into K-drama?

My feet have been v swollen since last night. V difficult for me to walk

kk,
your girl seems to have grown so fast! hee hee very cute...i notice her hair stands up... did u comb it like that or is it naturally like that :p

lyn,
Thanks for checking for me, if i'm overdue, i'd consider to induce on 15 June, so my baby same birthday as his daddy...good yah?
It will really be a great present for my hubby this year.

tinklebell,
Go as early as possible, maybe 5.45pm, there was once Adrian came at 5.50pm. On average, he will come in around 6.15-6.30pm, but at least you can chop 1st to see him if u r early and usually will get a seat inside, cooler.
Oh now hearing advice from my cousin and also advice from MOAP and Paula, think it's really better to wait till EDD, if overdue, then i choose date to induce after lor. Same as u, i'm still carrying my tummy high, dun think baby is engaged. My hubby says our son very comfortable inside still...but next week onwards, i must talk to him, encourage him to move lower soon and prepare to come out, if not, i think my labour will sure take longer time if he so comfortable inside.... I think i will let Adrian check my cervic next week to see if i'm dilated.

kk,
Your gal quite 'pong pong' hor? In certain angle, she looks like boy boy. Very cute...thks for sharing the pics. I'm sure you enjoy taking pictures of her. Every mummy does!

Ask you all something can? How to differentiate bwt cramp and contraction?

This morning, I have been having bad cramps until now.. Sometimes above the navel, sometimes below. Drink water no help too. Then if I lie down, cramp gets even worse..

Call my gynae, she said wait until got bleeding then go hospital..

tinklebell,
I think my baby gained the weight from the bak chang! My mum made some more bak chang again this week, hers really yummy no. 1! I really enjoyed the bak chang very much, forget about weight gain on myself liao!
Still home made is best!

Hi mummies, re pumping milk: how often should we pump if we are total EBM?

My baby Jake was admitted to hosp this morning. Was there for his jaundice checkup, was upset he has to stay while I go home. Poor baby, he stayed 7 days in hosp since his birth, and now, another one day. When I found out, I cried. Wondered whether there is something in my milk that caused his jaundice level to shoot to an all time high. Poor babyK

Serene: Madam Rohaya charges $70 per session, you will need to take 7 sessions, $490 in total. Each session is about an hour. She uses lemongrass oil, smells very nice.

Kite, take good care.

Hidora, I guess your bb a bit big. Mine was 2.9 at week 37, and gynae said bit big. By week 38, I delivered him at 3.24, which is still manageable for me. Not to worry, personally, I dun think inducing is a bad option. For me, I was glad I induced, at least, I can deliver naturally, as bb not very big. But you will also need to check to see whether you dilated. I dilated about 2 cm before induction, and on the day of induction, I dilated 3 cm and had show. My hubby and I BD two days prior to my induction, and after that, I had show. Of cos, inducing via drip is preferred, as pill might be painfulK I did not need the pill as I was already dilated.

celeste,

If got nothing to buy, dun hv to go lah. Cos not much things there leh. Or you can do a search under Marketplace, some mummies posted the offers there. You can see if there's any offer you want.

hidora,
I've heard contraction cramp is painful. If u feel painful, quite unbearable, then most likely is labour cramp...monitor to see if you will have spotting or waterbag burst, contact yr gynae immediately anytime if u not sure... For me, really no cramp so far except the tummy tightening, which ppl says is braxton kicks, not labour cramp! Not even anything like menstrual cramp....

KK,

Thanks for the advice on the sterilizer. I would have to start sterilizing it before I get admitted on Sunday.

Yea loh, finally my turn will come next!!!

Serene,

Yep, its good to go natural and wait for D-day unless our gynae suggested otherwise. Both baby and mummy health are the most important. Since you will be taking next week off, just enjoy it, do some shopping, finished up the nursery and relax. You will feel much better.

Lyn,
Do you happen to know which dates in July 2006 are good for hosting banquet or not?

Tinklebell,

Yep, Im into K-drama too thought better stocked up some DVDs or else Ill be bored in hospital and during confinement month. Hubby advised me to buy those comical ones so that I wont end up having post natal depression!!

amy,

I'm thinking still need to induce or not.. lol dunno am I hving contraction now. The pain comes and goes..

I dunno whether got dilate or not cos gynae nvr do any VE.

MOAP, Celeste, ah... conflicting opinions re giving water to bb. i did not give bb water, should i? i really want his jaundice level to go down... poor bb...

hey mummies, been wanting to upload bb's photo, but the upload attachment is not working now...

any advice on how to upload photos here?

Re. Jaundice,
Would it help to bring baby out for a walk under the sun? My mum did that to my younger brother ... the older generation seems to think this method works...

serene,

Tears rolling down already.. lol. It gets better and worse, then better and worse. Until I couldnt walk kinda pain. Now is the ok period. Dunno when will the next wave of pain comes.

Called my gynae earlier on. She say got bleeding then go down. Sianz, just gotta moniter for now.

duffy,
am not too sure why i'm dilated before baby's head is engaged too.

kite,
you also dilated! and your EDD is also quite late right. I guess you better dont drink the raspberry leaf tea now. so far, i have not have any contractions since that bleeding incident. *touchwood*

i'm back to work since last week but was advised not to walk too much. am hoping baby can endure till full term which is next week.

do you have thicker discharge these days? i seem to have very thick brownish discharge, doesnt seems like show.

celeste blur,
yeah... initially thought of GSS so that can get good deal for baby stroller.

amy,
I'm sorry to hear that your baby admitted to hospital, i'm sure u are very sad and heart pain and worried. If i'm you, i will be very sad, worried and cried too! Is there any way to prevent baby from having jaundice? Many ppl says dun eat so much ginger n sesame oil in beginning, 1-2 wks of confinement, it will cause baby to have jaundice esp we breastfeed. Don't worry so much, i'm sure yr baby will be fine and go home soon.
Btw, Mdm Rohaya's charge quite high, at least the highest among the rests of the contacts that i've got. Usually the charges around $50-65/session.
Re: breastpump, i thought anytime when yr breasts engorged, u can pump.

hidora,
seems like you're having contraction now. monitor the interval... if it gets closer and closer better give your gynae a call again.

hidora,
your EDD is the same as mine on 25 june right? wow... seems like we are going to deliver much earlier.

mspiggy,

I think it could be a false labour from the way my gynae sounded. Shall see how it goes.

amy,

I think the picture must be less than 600kb, then you just click on upload attachment and the system will do the rest.

Have you tried to sun your bb?

hidora,
Poor thing, don't worry, be brave. Just have to monitor, no choice. If it's false alarm, then no point rushing to hospital...gynae knows best. Also u r still early fr yr EDD, so that's why yr gynae never perform cervic chk, even now i'm at 38th wk, my gynae also haven't chk my cervic.

mspiggy,

Ya lor, 25th June. That's why wondering why hving cramps now..

serene,

Ya, hopefully it's really a false labour.. I still got lessons next week to attend.. =|

hidora,
is possible to experience labour cramp at yr stage though earlier...but u r going to 37th week, possible to go into labour anytime also. Many mummies here also deliver early around 36 or 37th week esp. Only a few of us here hasn't may deliver at 40th week term.

hidora, how to resize a picture? i am able to attach, but size too big.

i did not sun bb, as nurses said no use, instead will get UV.

Breast pump, how many minutes should we pump per breast? I am worried pumping too long will be bad for the nipples... just now I pumped 15 mins each breast, and my nipples hurt...

How i wish bb is here to suckle...
missing him already...

I brought the latest issue of Mother & Baby. The magazine recommended the following bakeries for the prettiest first-month cakes. You may want to check it out.

1. The Patissier
2. Awfully Chocolate
3. Melrose Bake House
4. Polar Puff and Cakes
5. Choz

Hidora, i think the decision to induce or not is very important, hence better to check all factors with your gynae before making a decision, like whether cervix dilated, what week you are in, bb's weight, ctg report. if possible, maybe wait till you are ready with signs of labour... if induce then, seems like true labour except with the assistance of the drip...