(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Lyn...wow your bb kicks so much in just 2 hours...i dun think my gal ever kicks more than 50 times a day hehe..

Hidora...my gal is 2.9kg at 37 weeks..your bb consider quite big liao...cos this is the weight for normal full term bb..never mind lah..big or small...healthy most important..

Paula...you are right...with so many places on sale right now..you can get many good deals...

BTW, anyone of you gone to Peony Jade Restuarant at Clarke Quay yet? Is the food and ambience good? We are thinking of hosting the banquet for my little princess first month celebration there...

For Mummies who will be popping soon:

Is there any way to predict when I�m going to go into labor?
Not really. Experts don't fully understand what triggers the onset of labor, and there's no way to predict exactly when it will start. Your body actually starts "preparing" for labor up to a month before you give birth. You may be blissfully unaware of what's going on or you may begin to notice new symptoms as your due date draws near. Here are some things that may happen in the weeks or days before labor starts:

Your baby "drops."
If this is your first pregnancy, you may feel what's known as "lightening" a few weeks before labor starts. You might detect a heaviness in your pelvis as this happens and notice less pressure just below your ribcage, making it easier to catch your breath.

* You note an uptick in Braxton Hicks contractions.
More frequent and intense Braxton Hicks contractions can signal pre-labor, during which your cervix ripens and the stage is set for true labor. Some women experience a crampy, menstrual-like feeling during this time.

Sometimes, as true labor draws near, Braxton Hicks contractions become relatively painful and strike as often as every ten to 20 minutes, making you wonder whether true labor has started. However, if the contractions don't get longer, stronger, and closer together and cause your cervix to dilate progressively, then what you're feeling is probably so-called "false labor."

* Your cervix starts to ripen.
In the days and weeks before delivery, Braxton Hicks may do the preliminary work of softening, thinning, and perhaps opening your cervix a bit. (If you've given birth before, your cervix is more likely to dilate a centimeter or two before labor starts but keep in mind that even being 40 weeks pregnant with your first baby and 1 centimeter dilated is no guarantee that labor's imminent.) When you're at or near your due date, your practitioner may do a vaginal exam during your prenatal visit to see whether your cervix has started to change.

* You pass your mucus plug or notice "bloody show."
You may pass your mucus plug the small amount of thickened mucus that's sealed your cervical canal during the last nine months if your cervix begins to dilate as you get close to labor. The plug may come out all at once in a lump, or as increased vaginal discharge over the course of several days. The mucus may be tinged with blood (which may be brown, pink, or red), which is why it's referred to as "bloody show." Having sex or a vaginal exam can also disturb your mucus plug and cause you to see some bloody discharge even when labor isn't going to start in the next few days. In either case, if you see more than a few spots of blood, be sure to call your caregiver immediately because it could be a sign of a problem.

* Your water breaks.
When the fluid-filled amniotic sac surrounding your baby ruptures, the fluid leaks from your vagina. And whether it comes out in a large gush or a small trickle, you should call your doctor or midwife.

Most women start having regular contractions sometime before their water breaks, but in some cases, the water breaks first. When this happens, labor usually follows soon. If you don't start having contractions on your own within a certain amount of time, you'll need to be induced, since your baby will be at increased risk for infection without the amniotic sac's built-in protection against germs.

kite,
u take care ya!

paula,
u sure can use yoko yoko? i hv stopped using all these medication for backache since my pregnancy. u too hv discharge ah? ya can be quite disturbing cos hv to change panty liners.. almost 4-5 times a day.. aiyo.

kk,
wow u still hv to work at home ah? luckily ur bb is guai.. so u can work in peace

hmm so far i didn't ask my gynae how heavy is my bb. but alot of pple ard me said my tummy really big like hvg twins.. & esp. now when i'm 39wks.. lagi big.. hmm just wondering how heavy? probably at least 3.2kg i think.

oso dunno what my gynae will say tomw during my check up.. not sure if i could ask him to induce for me or not?

what do you think? is it advisable to induce bb though everything's ok with bb? cos i'm suffering from severe backaches and tummy really feel so stretched? any my edd is 8 jun, that is 1 wk away.. any advice? anyway, i'll stil ask doc's opinion when i see him tomow.

mspiggy, spicegal, serene,

Hmm, the scan like cannot be fully trusted one.. So many mummies have popped, but their bb's weight is different from the scan leh.. I'm afraid later induced liao, bb only 3kg.. Then could have wait a bit longer.. And I'm most worried later induced but cervix refuse to dilate...

I also dunno when I wanna induce.. No say in this.. lol. My gynae said she will see how then tell me. Going for CTG next week thou.

RE: yokoyoko

Must chk the ingredients leh. I know got one contains Camphor. That one cannot use on pregnant woman.

Motherhood Fair, where is it at? On already? Need to check out something there.

Am at 38wk, no pain/ contractions... just wait and see. Gynae thought I looked pale so he checked my eyes... turns out I only have pale lips, heh.

Hidora,
i see... mine already dilated 2 cm. hence now try to have min walking if possible. no more shopping for me this GSS.

Hidora...ya the scan is only approximate only...dun worry too much lah..i think bb is fine so long as hit 3kg..better dun ask for induce unless your gynae advise you to..cos induce is very painful according to my colleague...for me no choice lor cos my amiotic fluid is low...

mspiggy...wah...you 2cm dilated already..mine still no dilation yet...hmm have been drinking the raspberry tea since my 7th mth...hope to have dilation when i get induced next week...

duffybuff,

I got a master Zhuo1 Ju1 Shi4 for my girl's chinese name. i find him very friendly and he charged $80.

His contact is: 96339159 and he is at Pending Road, Blk 129, #13-334

hi spicegal,

not sure why... maybe i walked too much earlier. i thought of taking the raspberry leaf tea initially but now dare not take already. gynae said baby's head not engaged though he turned already.

not sure if i can endure till my EDD.

hi duffy,
yeah my EDD is 25 june. gynae said will be definitely not be later than 25th. so now it's waiting for baby's head to engage.

kk, thks! so i only need to call him after my bb is out right? need to book appt? gotta to wait very long or not? my hb & 1 came out with a few chinese names already but just waiting for the exact DOB before going to a master.. is that ok?

oh mspiggy, u mean yr bb's head is not fully engaged but u hv dilation already?! oh.. i thot usually dilation only happens when bb's head is engaged. keke.. sorry i'm just being ignorant..hope i'm not asking stupid question

mspiggy,

Wa, already 2 cm dilated! For me, I dunno yet cos gynae nv do any VE. But bb's head is already engaged.

spicegal,

Ya lor, somemore if induce when the cervix has not even dilate, that's even worse.

Mummies:
thanks, wil check on my hospitalisation leave. Never hv such encounter before so not sure.

last nite n this morning, my bb very active, has been moving alot. Everyday at hospital, they use the CTG to monitor my bb's movement and contractions. My contractions is on n off though quite frequent.

Btw, on monday morning b4 i was admitted, gynac measured my bb weight is 2.6kg at 35wks, 0.5 dilated when gynac did a VE on it, saying bb's head is lower. After tat, gynac afraid that bb wil come out, she gave me 2 jabs to strengthen bb's lungs just in case, so painful

Then tue morning n tis morning, same, no change 1 cm dilated.

I dunno wat trigger it, maybe due to too much walking (been shopping alot), or stress at work (gan zhong) or drink coconut at 34wks (too liang)?
i also dunno e actual reason. Right now i hv to rest well.

But then very Xin Ku leh, dunno y, i cant even stand straight or walk leh. so chiam meh?
anyone encounter like tat b4?

mspiggy:
wow u 2cm dilated liao. me already 1 cm dilated. yaloh dunno can tong until longer since our EDD is end of june
ya, u better dun walk too much n better dun drink e raspberry tea, wait trigger labour. i stil hvnt open my raspberry tea wor.

do u hv any contractions? i m hving painful contractions on n off.
cant even walk a few steps, wil feel pain n sore.
therefore hv to bedrest at home til i delivery.

Paula:
thanks for the article on labour. ya i also dunno what trigger it. wish can drag as long as possible cos i m stil at 35wks, stil early. tis sat, then wil hit 36wks.

seems like i hv pass my mucus plug on morning monday. does it mean i wil be delivering soon even i m 1cm dilated for the past 3 days, think my cervix opening slowly. but must control my contractions. cos gynac said contractions wil trigger alot more on labour. so hv to rest.

paula

ur article is quite a good one. so indeed i hv my mucus plug passed out but not the bloody type.

duffybuff
hey ur due is 9jun.. mine is 2jun lei. i went to see gynae this afternoon after yest mucus plug. my ctg apparently shows NO contractions at all. Gynae said i still can afford to wait past 1 wk as my fluid n bb are perfectly fine but i juz cant tahan. waiting at home is no joke. it's driving me crazy liao.

so i hv to wait till nxt appt on 5jun, then he will decide to induce me. now he dun even wan to induce me cos he says no pt as it's not past due and both me n bb are perfectly healthy. so the only way is to persuade my ger to come out then...keke

re. induce by drip or pills
i asked my gynae whether can we choose either one. he explained it depend on whether our cervix is opened not. if not, hv to insert pill to soften the cervix which may takes up to 6hrs to open, then dilation kicks in, okie.normally after insertion, we can go home n wait till contraction comes stronger, then proceed to hospital. if cervix is opened and hv dilation, then drip can be used.

hi ladies..

really v bz n trying to settle down to come in to read all the posts...n oso trying to ajust myself to the routine etc..treasure the feeling when bb inside u.i misss the bb movement etc...

lyn...

mine is gal.name celeste.weight 2.695kg.c-sect

going to sleep soon..need to wake up at 3+am to pump..

nite

Paula,
True, my hubby also says i work too hard and thinks i shouldn't. Ask me to spend good quality time resting for the last 1-2 wks and talk to baby more, he hope i can build up my body energy and strength and get ready for the final 'battle'.

I've bought Princess Lulu last sat and had already started watching, finshed cd 5...not bad, though beginning abit bo liao, draggy but now ok, getting nicer. Wow the price hardly drop much, i bought at $45.90 at TS...luckily didn't buy on friday, which is $49.90, On sat, price dropped to $45.90.

tinklebell,
So far, my blood pressure is normal. I know that swollen foots can sometimes lead to Preclampsia and it's quite dangerous cos blood pressure be high!

Duffy,

I booked an appointment with the master after bb was borned
Can just call him up and give him the birth date and birth time of bb, followed by ur name and ur hubby's name over the phone. Then, also can give him the list of chinese names u have selected. He will do some analysis and tell u whether the names are suitable or not. If not, he will generate a list of possible names for u. At the same time, he will also tell u more about the bb, like what the bb can or cannot do in the next 3 yrs
It is interesting to know this

Duffy,

Just need to call up the master first.. give him all the details and he works on it. Call him at later stage to see whether he is ready then go to Pending Road meet him

morning ladies

tinklebell,
no wonder last thur Adrian's clinic assistant told me this thursday be prepared to wait. So its becos Dr. Lawrence Ang on holiday so his patients will go to him also...hmmzz...tink this evening chamz donno must wait how long

hidora,
so u dont tink the motherhood fair is worth visiting? Me thinking if shld go...cos like not much things to buy liowz.

duffybuffy,
ya lor...cos when i told my gynae bout my yellow/green discharge he told me "again" that no itch and no pain its okies. But he wanna give me antibiotics but i forgot to take from him. Must remind myself tonite. But I guess since our gynae say its okies then can be ignored bah

mspiggy,
u still wish to go GSS ah...hehe...me also itching to go...but where got stamina to shop thru the whole Orchard! *lol*
But I told hb mabbe tomolos take leave, then go for a nice movie followed by nice dinner and mabbe + a little wee bit of shopping :p

morning ladies!! so exciting one by one we all popping already!! 1 Jun already! 1 got 19days more to go! bb already 3kg. But still breech, if 5 jun check up still like that, then have to opt C-sec. Doc gave ventolin to prevent contractions from coming in the meantime.

Have been out of action, as busy finishing work, and handover before mat leave. And have developed a rash called PUPPP which affects 1 out of 100 preg. Like hives, the itch started from the tummy, and your stretchmarks instead of one line, is now 10dots side by side. the dots are like mosquito bites, and are very very itchy. That last for a week since 12may. Then last week, the itch moved out into my hands and legs. Now patches and dots all over my body. Have to keep the air con at 18 degrees and use ice pack to freeze the itch. Lunchtime is the worst. Coz outside temp very hot... sigh. the rashes will stay till i deliver. If i suai, will continue for one month after delivery!!! sigh. Asked doc if i can c-sec now, since bb in breech, so that rash will go away, my doc prefer to keep the bb inside as long as possible, so that it's mature and more healthy... so i have to "tong" for another 19days at least...

i drank coconut yest and last night super bad cramps, guess i'm not suitable for coconut...

Morning Mummies,

BB not guai today.. woke up 5 am to have her feed, then tekan me again.. play and play and make noise until i let her suckle then she sleep. Now still sleeping.. hee..

Woke up too early this morning.. felt wu liao so took some photos. U can view at http://photos.yahoo.com.sg/kerenelu . I have uploaded the photos of all my full mth gifts given by friends and relatives.

Kite,

I have uploaded the pic for the gym mat my students gave my bb girl

Morning ladies !!

kk,
ur ger looks abit diff from birth hor.. wah u received alot of baby clothes huh. I like the gym mat ur students gave... nice

okipoki,

ya, she looks differently from the time she is borned. And now she acts differently from 1st mth too heee... more responsive and smiles more often
Later i bathe her will take her photos. She is happy to be bathed

Ya, didn't know bb clothes so popular as gifts nowadays? I thought i would receive a lot of milk bottles and other stuff.

kk,
heehee so amazing to see she has changed so much hor... more responsive is good at least u know that she understands. Well, do keep ur webby posted with more pictures

I thot nowadays more ppl giving ang bao or vouchers. My colleagues will be giving me vouchers from Robinson + NTUC. I hope no baby clothes cos I had alot of those pass down.

Btw, the cake u took in ur webby from awfully chocolate ?

hi all...

ow haven in here for few days.. and so many of us has popped... congrats to all... welcome to the motherhood circlr.. hehe..

Its Day 10 and my gal is not feeling good.. kinda worried abt here.. she o lots of phlegm and is coughing.. think she feel bad.. going to PD later... hope everything is fine with her... I have not slept for 1 day.. cos has been starting at her whole nite.. worry that she may choke herself cos lots of phlegm.. sob..sob...

Tuesday i went PD for her first appy and doctor say not to give water to NB as they dun really need it... adn my fren's PD told her water may cause jaundice.. any1 heard of that b4??

Kite,

My cervix was dilated at 1 cm on Monday last week. When I saw my gynae early this week, he told me that my cervix is still dilated at 1 cm! Sigh, not much progress despite all the walking at work and in the shopping malls! Guess we just have to be patient?

Dor,

Thanks for the useful information on the modes of induction. I guess my cervix has yet to be softened and hence, he wanted to use the pill on me. I was told to be admitted to hospital at 1 am on 5 June and I doubt I would be able to come home after the pill has been inserted.

Serene,

Yep, lets cherish these final moments I felt fresher and happier now that I am resting at home and working on my own pace (still think of work, no matter what! Terrible!). Is Princess Lulu as nice as Lovers in Paris?

KK,

Are you using bottles sterilizer for your baby bottles? Do you leave your bottles in the the sterilizer after it has been sterilized or should we take out the bottles and leave it on a drying rack?

Hi morning gals!

MOAP, how come different PD says different thing. My girlfriend brought her baby to PD and her PD advised no need to give water now, empty calories...but my gf worried the FM too heaty for her son, so still give her baby water everyday...

Paula,
Princess Lulu, so far okay. last nite, i didn't continue with cd6, as i came back late, didn't watch. But the male leads in this show not charming leh...
I think I'll take my MC/leave from next week onwards...

Celeste blur/Tinklebell,
I just came back from my appt. This morning is crowded too. I was there at 9.30am but went for my breakfast 1st, Adrian came in at 9.45am, i managed to see him around 10.15am. My baby is now about 3.1kg, water level is ok...now only waiting for labour to start... I asked Adrian if i could choose to induce earlier, he says no problem...the baby is mature now, i can deliver anything. He asked if i want to do a cervic chk just now to see if i'm dilated, if i am, i can choose a date to induce if i want... I was panic, so told him shall wait till next week..hehe. If by 12 June (my EDD), there's still no sign of natural labour, then i will have to go for induction already, he says can choose any date, on 12, 13, 14 June... few days late no problem at all... Very gan cheong leh!!!!

MOAP, I'm scared too! Esp. 1st time! It will be very painful rite? Just now i asked Adrian whether induction is more painful than natural labour began by itself. He says is the same...but the labour pain is of cos painful... But if in case if there's no sign of contraction/spotting/waterbag burst, i must also check if my cervic is dilated rite, if not even 1-2cm dilated then no point to induce early, if not, will suffer the pain longer, cos waiting for cervic to open fully rite (longer labour)?

lyn,
How did u check out for auspicious date/time for baby birth? Yr case is c-sect, is easier to fix a time but if my case is induction for normal delivery, then still possible to see the time??? We won't know how long the labour process take and when the baby pop rite? I am still thinking whether to wait till EDD (12 June) or to induce earlier, 9 June or 12 June or my hubby's BD on 15 June.....which date better??? Do we have to match the date with mother's birthday or something?