(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Dor,
I wish I can wait till very near my EDD like you leh... I envy ah... my gynae very firm that I cannot wait till then
I also believe what your hubby believes... let baby comes out naturally.
How does contraction really feel like? Is it painful? Last nite, I experienced pain and tightness on my upper tummy. Yesterday, I started to tell my baby to give me contractions and burst waterbag on 6 June early morning, since I going for c-section on 6 June... hahaha... Very deep in my mind, I still wanted natural birth...

Serene,
Wah... You are so lucky... You are having a lucky baby... So good...
I also havent settle my baby's cot. Havent tie the bumper, still deciding to buy mattress or not, haven't buy bedsheets.... hee... Still a lot to do hor? But nowadays getting very busy and lazy also... And my hubby gonna be working this weekend...

lyn

just curious, if you have already opt for C-sec on 6 jun, then it happens that your baby decides to break the waterbag and comes out naturally on the same day, do you still have to pay for the op's fee?

Serene, Lyn,

I read somewhere that for newborn baby, we shdnt tie the bumper to the cot too quickly. cos baby might overheat, no where for the heat to escape via the head...not sure true or not though

missk,

i only latch on day 2 for 2 feed only..i replace smilace for her during the first 2 day..my milk came in on day 3 not day 5.

Lyn,

i only let my bb latch on at day 2 for 2 times only. Then cum hme the nite my breast is full so i pump out then that is when my milk cum in. i seldom let her latch on only pump out ..i pump every 3 hours...even at nite ... "no mi jue"
eat more fish lor...

tinklebell,

very soon you goin to pop also..don think too much.

stephanie,
I also dunno leh... That's what I have been thinking about last nite... lol... I think it will be fair that they treat it as emergency... hahaha... cos emergency case no extra charge, I suppose...

hmm... About the bumper, I am also thinking about that, that's why havent put up the bumper. Dunno to put or not also... So getting that settled not in my top priority... I kinda regretted buying the bumper cos my cousins never use bumper for their babies also...

lyn

my cot comes with the bumper, so bo-pian, have to accept it. If not, dun think i will buy it as well....

Maybe when she's older, abt 1 years then i tie it on...hmm, maybe by then, the bumper sheet will have a different colour from the cot sheet already...washed too many times.

Dor,
thanks feeling much better.... hah just woke up from my nap & it is going to rain soon
I think jurong area has started to rain liao...

Dor,

That's what i thought about for myself, if until EDD, my baby still comfy inside refuses to come out, then most prob i will have to go induce liao.

stephenie,

I dun think the bumper will be too hot for baby. All my friends tie them on, no problem. When baby turns 2 mths or 3 mths old, he will start to shift and move his body esp move upwards, so u need bumper to protect him knocking. I dreamt of my baby moving alot and knock himself in the cot hehe. Also last nite, i dreamt of my baby had slight jaundice, need to sun him at home for first few days...BUT wonder how come i never dream of the delivery process...

moap,
u still drinking your raspberry tea?
u think it helps increase MS?

lyn/ dor,
hee hee... if strike lottery, i want commission hor:p

wow! u all prepared the bed already? mine is still in the storeroom... still cannot think of where i should put it.

re: maid
seems like not many of u getting a maid. all u all like very "neng2 gan4"... can cope. u think i can do without one? maybe u can share some "mi-jue" on how u cope with bb and housework.

those putting bbs with your mum/ in laws, they can cope? do yr mum/ in laws still do daily cooking? my mum is telling me that she is already v tired looking after my son and having to cook for us. I dont wish to overtire her. But at the same time, i dont really like having a foreign maid at home but given no choice, i will still employ.
Judging fr past experience, it's no joke coping with a bb after a tiring day at work. A maid is "nice to have" cos she helps u with the housework and runs errands for u. But if u r suay and kenna a bad one, then it can be a nightmare!

lyn
u hven buy mattress har..keke. u got a cot rite? Get those foam one 1st lor. i already put shui shui the protector sheet n bedsheet liao. for bedsheet, i manage to find a good buy at Kidzloft warehouse at Tagore lane. Lollipop brand in plain pink colour only (discontinued item)@ $5 lei but i think the cotton is abit rough. anyway i puttin soft comforter on it so it's smooth lor. even the bloster n pillow all goes for $1 per cover. juz grab a few to standy. also bought a few better quality ones at taka.

tinklebell
hey still can drink raspberry tea after delivery har. i hven finish mine lei. dun think can finish b4 delivery.

u shld bring out and assemble ur cot liao. anyway ask ur hubby to do it. if pantang type, dun even help him with the screwin or wat. so u need another person to help him.

serene
i read alot of website that it is not advisable to put bumper at this early stage lei. so till now i hven even buy. mayb waiting for pple to give ba..haha. save $$. keke.
btw when r u due har?

re: stretchmarks
i m hvin stretchmarks at the lower abdomen which are super itchy. i feel the skin there is rough. anyone hvin this type of condition? i m puttin cold compress to relieve the itch, even the gynae's lotion dun last long... ta bulat tahan lei

okipoki,
I think it gonna be a rainy day today.. My side also looks like going to rain soon...

tinklebell,
kekeke... if strike give you and your handsome boy a treat la... ;)
I am thinking, last time people can cope without a maid with 3 or 4 kids. Why can't we? I also dunno... After my baby comes out, then can tell you... :p

Dor,
Yap, I got a cot. The base of the cot has a thin layer of foam and a waterproof layer
My cousin who gave me the cot told me I can just use the single bed bedsheet and fold a few times and let baby sleep on it. But the cot looks a bit empty without the mattress... lol...

I am having stretchmarks too
But it's like red dots all over the lower tummy. My left side is worse than my right side. I think it's becos I always sleep on my left side. Baby kena pulled by gravity to the left and stretch the left side of my tummy... hence all the stretchmark there lor...

Dor: when did u start drinking the raspberry leaf tea? I heard it helps to bring on labour ! maybe u sld drink more, then can pop soon ! heeheee

what are BH contractions like ? just tightening of the tummy issit ?

Do you also feel like your fingers/toes retain more water? or other strange symptoms ?

I have been feeling very very good last 2 weeks, ie, light and can walk ard, comfortably. But this week, my fingers seems to swell more, and need to go tiolet more often.

Stretchmark: issit cuz baby is very low down already ? So the weight concentrates there ?
How heavy is yours at 39 weeks?

<font size="+2"><center><font color="aa00aa">June 2006 Babies' Club</font></center></font>
<center><table border=1><tr><td>Mommies</TD><TD>DOB</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Weight(kg)</TD><TD>Name</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>21/04/06</TD><TD>21/04/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>3.19</TD><TD>Yu Jun</TD><TD>TMC(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pebbles</TD><TD>13/04/06</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>1.63</TD><TD>Chanz</TD><TD>MtA(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>15/05/06</TD><TD>20/05/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.91</TD><TD>Jared Hee</TD><TD>TMC(Natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>carebear29</TD><TD>19/05/06</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.77</TD><TD>Mathius</TD><TD>TMC(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poohy</TD><TD>22/05/06</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>2.9</TD><TD>Yi En</TD><TD>TMC(Natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>MOAP</TD><TD>23/05/06</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>3.43</TD><TD>Ginelle Tok Jin Wen</TD><TD>TMC(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celeste</TD><TD>23/05/06</TD><TD>06/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>2.69</TD><TD>Chelsia</TD><TD>GlenE(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>yve</TD><TD>23/05/06</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3.3</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>ESH(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jeslynster</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>Javen</TD><TD>TMC(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>AngelineGoh</TD><TD>26/05/06(?)</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>TMC(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peng</TD><TD>28/05/06</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2.91</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>soh1dful</TD><TD>30/05/06</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>GlenE(C-sect) </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffybuff</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amy</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>22/05/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3.24</TD><TD>Jake</TD><TD>Raffles(natural) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dor</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>02/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>MtA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Paula</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>okasan</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>17/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>steffi</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>tinklebell</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>Fiona Lee</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serene</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>12/06/06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>Brayden Leong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>okipoki</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>29/06/06</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>???</TD><TD>Chloe</TD><TD>MtA</td></tr></table></center>

<font size="+2"><center><font color="0077aa">June 06 MTBs waiting eagerly to pop!</font></center></font>
<center><table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD> EDD</TD><TD> Gynae</TD><TD> Hospital</TD><TD> Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mattew Lee's wife</TD><TD> 01-06-06</TD><TD> TL Heng</TD><TD> ESH</TD><TD> Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dor</TD><TD> 02-06-06</TD><TD> Henry Cheng</TD><TD> MtA</TD><TD> Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookiemz</TD><TD> 05-06-06</TD><TD> SF Loh</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>jiajia_pauline</TD><TD> 05-06-06</TD><TD> John Tee</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celeste</TD><TD> 06-06-06</TD><TD> Gordon Lim</TD><TD> GlenE</TD><TD> Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Carebear</TD><TD> 10-06-06</TD><TD> YvonneChan</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>i_panda</TD><TD> 10-06-06</TD><TD> WK Tan</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>miz_hopeful</TD><TD> 10-06-06</TD><TD> Judy Wong</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serene</TD><TD> 12-06-06</TD><TD>AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>K Ong</TD><TD> 14-06-06</TD><TD> Dr Lim</TD><TD> MtA</TD><TD> Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>medusa</TD><TD> 14-06-06</TD><TD> Paul Tseng</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starfish</TD><TD> 15-06-06</TD><TD> AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>steffi</TD><TD> 15-06-06</TD><TD> M. George</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>cyberbabe</TD><TD> 16-06-06</TD><TD> Chris Chong</TD><TD> GlenE</TD><TD> Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Teo Gillan</TD><TD> 16-06-06</TD><TD> Paul Tseng</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tinklebell</TD><TD> 16-06-06</TD><TD> AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emily</TD><TD> 18-06-06</TD><TD> Paul Tseng</TD><TD> MtA</TD><TD> Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>luvflower</TD><TD> 18-06-06</TD><TD> FongYang</TD><TD> ??? </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>happysunflower</TD><TD> 18-06-06</TD><TD> Peter Chew</TD><TD> GlenE</TD><TD> Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>spicegal</TD><TD> 19-06-06</TD><TD> Lawrence Ang</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>sunflower</TD><TD> 19-06-06</TD><TD> Choo WL</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>JosephineTan</TD><TD> 20-06-06</TD><TD> LawrenceAng</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>rendevouz</TD><TD> 20-06-06</TD><TD> Toh Chin Keong</TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fondue</TD><TD> 23-06-06</TD><TD> Paul Tseng</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>hidora</TD><TD> 25-06-06</TD><TD> TL Heng</TD><TD> ESH</TD><TD> Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>mspiggy</TD><TD> 25-06-06</TD><TD> Selina Chua</TD><TD> MtE</TD><TD> Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lilfeets</TD><TD> 25-06-06</TD><TD> Fong Yang</TD><TD> MtA</TD><TD> Girl n Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>JoyFu</TD><TD> 26-06-06</TD><TD> Noel Leong</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>mum2b</TD><TD> 26-06-06</TD><TD> DouglasOng</TD><TD> MtA</TD><TD> Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>okipoki</TD><TD> 29-06-06</TD><TD> Henry Cheng</TD><TD> MtA</TD><TD> Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>gina</TD><TD> 30-06-06</TD><TD> JudyWong</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>kite</TD><TD> 01-07-06</TD><TD> Yvonne Chan</TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Girl</td></tr></table></center>

tinklebell,

Now you going to cope with 2 kids and yet has to work, i think it's pretty tough. One of my girlfriends also has yr same situation but she dislike a stranger staying with them so no choice, i think her sis-in-law continues looking after no. 1 and if her sis-in-law can cope, maybe continue looking after no. 2 for her and she may put no. 1 in childcare or something....

On the other hand, my colleague engaged a maid since the day her no. 2 was born and she enjoyed her good life with the help of her maid till now. She's lucky and got a good maid, that's why. But based on a practical consideration, i should think when you have 2 kids, it's quite worthwhile considering having a maid...but there's another problem, can your mum or a trusted elderly help to watch over during daytime when u n hubby not around? Or you can trust the maid with the kids alone at home? You son gone to nursery or childcare already?

Serene,
it's definitely worthwhile to get a maid when u have 2. I'm very curious how many of the ladies who r working can still cope without one. Donno what is their "mi jue".
Nowadays they have childcare and infant care but it's the afterwork hrs... u gotta bring them back by 7pm, cook, do housework... can be quite "siong" but many pp still can cope.

BTW, My boy is in half day childcare. He loves attending school so, i dont think i will pull him out of it even though i have a maid. Anyway, the price difference for half day childcare and nursery is only $50... so might as well put him there half day since the timing for brining him there and back is more flexible.

lyn,

I applied alot stretch mark cream on my tummy, concentrating on my tummy only! Neglected my backside and hips, now alot of marks on my buttocks and even 2 sides of my hips got it!

k Ong
i started drinkin from Wk 34. but i dun thnk will pop early (see, i m still here lei) but i hope it can ease my labour or contraction.

for contraction, i hope i m expericing the BH contraction cos i hvin crampy feelin and tighenin of tummy last nite, different from those feelin on baby stretchin in the tummy.

till now, i hv yet to hv any water retention. no swollen of fingers n feets lei. I still feel fine when walkin ard.

my ger last wt is 2.95kg at wk 39. belong to the average size. but i ate durain on sunday..haha. hope that wont make her too fat. keke

Cookiemz
u still got time to come in n report... so funny. all the best and hv a smooth delivery.
i hope it will my turn next.

Hi serene and lyn,
I have SM on my lower tummy also though I've applied Clarins treatment oil religiously. Give up now...

So far, hips and buttocks don't have. *touchwood*

Dor,
u r so lucky! no water retention or any swelling? i have been swelling ever since week 34.. and it is getting worse and worse by the day. now, i think i look like a water buffalo
even my mother's frens commented that i look "zong zong"

hehe.. u should be the next to pop :p excited???

aiyo! everyday i get contractions and sometimes quite strong ones. so i really wonder if i will miss the real ones and give birth in the office or in the cab

Re: Stretchmark
Sianz, I also kena stretchmark abit here &amp; there (butts, thigh &amp; lower tummy) but no itch leh. *touchwood*

cookiemz,
Good luck &amp; hv a smooth delivery

gals
it's not raining afterall.. so hot here in the north.. how i wish i m office or some shopping centre for some free aircon. okie.. i go find 'zhuo gong' now. gonna to blast my aircon liao.. haha
tot to u gals later

tinklebell
i also hope so la..

tinklebell,

Is your son attending childcare nearby our hse? Next time, i can check with u for good childcare schools nearby...

tinklebell,

U start to feel the contraction? If you had, better let adrian knows, perhaps should rest at home n wait for labour? Usually 2nd time will be faster than 1st time rite?

lyn

I didn't realised the stretch mark on my butts earlier, but i rem i happily scratch when itchy and one day i looked into mirror, oh gosh, too late! But i was thinking as long as these areas could be covered up w/o showing, i just close my eyes liao... But hope my tummy dun thighs dun get it, if not, i can't wear my bikini next time if i slimmed down!

Dor: not sure if you eat beef, but my girl has growth spurts when i eat beef ! she is 2.9 at 37 weeks ! big right ? heeheee

BH contractions: oh ok ... so maybe i experienced some but really mild ones ...i just tot it was because i was too full ...

serene, i told him last week already but he thinks it could be Braxton Hicks. My only worry is that i get contractions almost everyday... donno which one is real wh one is false... i might get so confused and end up too late for the hospital...haha!

my son is attending the childcare called Amazing Star at Greenridge. Got a lot of childcare centres in BP but no so called "good primary schools" leh... that's why hub and i think that we may want to move out by next yr.

tinklebell, how much u pay for 1/2 day childcare? Braxton hicks is those tightening feeling on stomach. I had that everyday. R yrs also such feeling or is like those menses cramps? If like menses cramps, i think you had to take note.

The pri sch westview no good?

Serene, we r paying $325 for his half day childcare. but now, i heard the price is $375. we paid less bec we registered him during the promotion period.

hmmm.... donno if westview pr school is good or not. just that most of the schools in BP are newly set up.

my contraction pain is a bit like menstrual cramps in the sense that it is crampy and it affects my front and back... but i heard some mummies say the pain will increase to 3-4x more intense than menstrual pain. i hope when i encounter that, it wont be too late to go down to the hospital. Ha ha...i have to rush fr Tuas to BP to collect my bag, wait for hubby to fetch me to TMC. I think i need at least 2 hrs to do that! Actually wanted to put the bag in the car but i have a cord blood collection kit that cannot be put in hot places.

tinklebell,

we r not going to hire a maid.... fear it may become nitemare and i dun like to have strangers in my house...mt mum will look after both my son and daughter when i go bk to work........ she also dun want a maid. think even when i hv my 3rd, i wont want a maid....at most sleep later.... the only concern i hv is my job may suffer... since having my son, i paid less attention to upgrading liao... so must put that back into my planning liao... in IT, not upgrading means obsolete... moreover i am doind security thus need to keep up with even more stuff and faster... just gotta bear with these initial years and when the kids are older we will have a great time together...

Me busy doing handover coz have been having some slight stain (fresh blood at first, now just brown stains)since yesterday afternoon.....Dunno consider as show or not. No contraction at all. Still waiting, see how.....

Want to let mummies here who are still considering storing cord blood for their babies that there is actually a promotion between Stemcord and young parents magazines. The first 100 who sign up will get waiver of $750. So only pay hospital and gynae of between $400 and $500 (depending on which hospital you deliver in). The 'catch' is that you'll have to stay with stemcord for at least 5 years. (but I tot since I store, I'll store long term, so no issue with this condition).

Very worth it, so I actually met up with the sales person during lunch just now to sign up. Paid $450 + GST coz deliver in TMC. She says strictly for first 100 mummies who sign up. Till lunch they have about 20 sign ups so still have space. Simply buy a copy of June's young parents mag and the form is inside. To ensure you get the waiver, call the sales lady Lynn at 98416676. She is very helpful.

okie, back to work.....

starfish,
wow! ur timing is earlier than us
u called Adrian to tell him abt your stain already? maybe u'll be next to pop:p

The Stemcord promotion sounds quite good. Save a lot on the upfront fees.

poohy,
My gynae also said that they have lots of collection kit there but i heard fr others that u have to pay. i guess if i really cannot tahan, then i wont go back for the kit and bag. In that case, i better bring my gynae letter and contact lenses with me where ever i go.

your mum quite "xing" hor. How abt your own home. nowadays after work, i need to spend at least an hr doing housework... i find that it sort of deprives me of time with my child. Somemore, my hub doesnt help me out cos he comes home v late almost everyday so i need to do everything on my own. AND i am very particular abt clean floors... so i mop them almost everyday... used to vacuum 2x a week but now i dont vacuum myself anymore... been using the 3M microfibre mop with Dettol instead. Cannot close one eye leh.