(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hi to mummies who have popped ! congratlations !!!

Clarins Treatment Body Oil: the one for stretchmarks is called "tonic" issit ? cuz my friend bought for me from DFS, and i think it's the wrong one, "Anti-EAU" for water retention.
Can i still use it, or sld i get the "Tonic" one for stretch marks instead ?

Peng
Congrats! I still thought we may bump into each other at TMC since your edd is just 1 day before mine. u doing your confinement at your mum's place or your own home? haha! u fell asleep after delivery??? hee hee first time i hear of pp doing that.

lyn, hiaz, i'm a hardcore coffee addict...when i wasnt preg, it was 2-3 cups a day. now, i cut it down to at max 1 cup per alternate day.
wow! u still can eat bryani rice... envy... i have no appetite for heavy stuff now. only crave to eat fruits.

Serene,
his clinic is opened mon to sun 9am to 2pm. he usually comes after 930 and may not stay til 2. if u r going after 12pm, better to check with the nurse first. Just now, there were at least 8 patients waiting for their turn... luckily the nurse printed my mc for my in advance. wanted to see him initially but seeing the crowd, i just took the mc and go off.
re: amniotic fluid level, this is what i gathered fr the textbook:
Ultrasonography is essential to measure the deepest pool of amniotic fluid, wh if less than 2cm, constitutes oligohydramnios, wh is essentially defiency of amniotic fluid.

lyn/ serene,
I also hope mine comes out on 9 June... then she will have the same bday as her daddy. yesterday just told my hub that fr next yr onwards, he'll have to celebrate his bday with his daughter whether it is earlier or later ...kekeke:p

Seeing so many pp pop, I keep wondering when is my turn. very tired.... going to sleep now ... talk to u gals later
429987.gif

Hi KK

yahlor..really a nitemare for me manz...so i keep telling hubby he must hold my hand during the operation..hahahaha..

By the way..any idea how long does the effect of epi kicks in? Me bery sua ku...then u able to move yr legs anot?

tinklebell,

Open till sunday? U sure? I dun think he opens on sunday yah?

Oic. thanks for the explanation on amniotic fluid. Which means not enough will have to induce and deliver baby fast?

Looks like around this EDD, 10-16 June, left the 2 of us still hasn't pop huh? Dunno next be u or me.....?

I totally can understand how you guys feel about taking MC esp when the management is very particular. I used to be a teacher but have since resigned. Gosh, my school is rather particular about MC although they try not to show it. During management meeting, the P will pass around a list showing the no. of MC that all the teachers have taken in that particular term. So scary. EVerytime I took MC, I felt guilty. Dun you think it's very unhealthy? Well, I guess the management also wants to protect their interest. It's defintely a conflict of interest.

Anyway, if you feel tired during this period, just rest at home. It's important to take care of your health and the baby's.

Seems like quite a no. of people here are going to deliver at GlenE. So am I.

soh,

Different mummies react differntly to epidural i guess. For me, it takes some time for the epidural to be effective. I think abt one hour or so.. or even longer than that for my case. The legs will slowly slowly become numb..errrr.. yes, cannot move much but anyway we dun really need to move around mah rite? heee.. when i woke up after my c-sec, my legs can move liao. i dun exactly know how long it takes for the numbness to go away.

Tinklebell,

Feeling better now??

missk,

Haha, my school dun pass around a list to display number of MCs taken.. but we supposed to "xin zhi du ming" and know ourselves. It will be taken into account in work performance review. If take a lot of MCs in that year, sorry, may not have satisfactory bonus the following year.

my last check-up was on last Fri, head just engaged. BB weigh 3.19kg & is still growing. Doc said shld deliver w/i next 2 weeks lor..going to see her again this friday. I hope to be able to see bb this sat 3/6 cos its my ROM date..
430010.gif

Hi Peng,
Congrats! wow.. seems like a lot of the mummies here deliver before EDD. I'm getting very excited now.

Hi Soh,
Have a smooth delivery tomorrow. Hope to hear from you soon.

Hi K Ong,
I dont think you can use the Clarins for water retention now. I've checked with my therapist before she told me to hold it till after birth.

i_panda77

Your gynae says your bb engaged already? Mine not yet i think, gynae didn't say anything except ask me to monitor movement of baby, if movement reduce to less than 5 times a day, must inform him immediately. my EDD is 12 June. where u delivering?

Serene,

yap..just engaged she said..she did VE for me. I oso cannot feel that its engage..ha. The nurse got ask me to monitor movement..abt 10 times a day. Me deliver at TMC. Oh ya...the nurse also asked me to cut down on ginger & sesame oil to prevent jaundice. Nurse also teach me how to massage my breast to prepare for BF...

Hi panda77,
you must be very excited now.

my EDD is 25 june but Gynae said will be early, will monitor weekly. tmr going for my checkup... very "gan cheong" now after hearing so many birth stories

need some advice fm those who hv delivered... i'm now 38wk+ and last fri,my gynae said that my cervix is soft and stretched so if bb pushes hard enough... i will deliver very very soon.

these few days i kept hvg contractions.. and can be quite strong.. like last nite.. ihad contractions every 5 mins interval and it lasted for more than 1 hr but i was relunctant to go hospital cos i can still bear with the pain.. it's like 3-4x stronger than menses pain.

but like what gynae said.. cos my contractions had been very regular.. i may go into labour without realising it. so now i'm afraid that if i wait till water bag burst, i may not hv enough time to rush to hospital.. but oso dunn when i shld go hospital??? ah!!!

it's driving me crazy.

I am curious to know are babies really so smart to the extent that they are able to distinguish between different pple when they are only 5 weeks old??

I dun understand how come after my mil feed my bb, my bb can sleep like a log after that. But after i feed her, she will try to bully me by getting me to carry her around, rock her before she sleep, or even want to suckle before she actually fall asleep. SIGH!

serene,
sorry, my typo...the clinic is closed on Sundays.

duffy,
u still around? hee hee.
i read in the pregnancy care book that u should leave for hospital when contractions are bet 45 to 60s long. They say that this probably means that your cervix is 4 cm to 6cm dilated. But when u reach the hospital, contractions may slow down bec this is normal psychological response to a change in environment. They recommend that u stand upright to encourage contractions.

kk,
at 5 week old, b probably cant recognise pp by sight. H/e, they can sense fr the way the person smells.

soh,

That's what my hubby say lor... they recognise smell.. wah so tiring, i tell her mummy no energy carry her liao, must start using the MIM sling liao kekeke..

congrats to peng and other mummies who had delivered

been a busy week for me... looking after my bb personally round the clock and helping to do some of the housework plus juggking to take care of my elder...
me on partial bfg thus i express every 7-8 hours... cant afford too much time on this cos too busy... slept at most 4 hours daily since the day i delivered. btw.. any mummies gain their pre pregnancy weight liao?? me still got 2kg to lose... hope can lose it asap....

my girl's photo on day3...

430088.jpg

duffy...y dun u chk w your gynae if u r worried? hmm... he can advise u better... but for 1st time mummy even if waterbag break shd normally still be able to reach hospital in time....

tinklebell,

So they can see, but cannot remember so as to recognise? My bb looking around her more often than first mth. What is she exploring and thinking then? Heeee...

Just now i siao liao.. post natal blues came back.. i cried and smsed hubby how come his mum still bug me when confinement is over. Today she is here again in the morning. Till now still dun want to go home. Hog on to bb again, even when bb sleeping. Aiyohhhh, i told hubby if like tat hor, what's the difference between i am on maternity leave and when i am back to work?? I will never have personal time with bb!

Hubby say he will tell his mum tonite not to come over everyday. But hor, not very nice rite? Then i feel so guilty telling my hubby all tat...

poohy, Yi En is so chubby

kk, you r right. they can see but cant remember. Hee heee... i have no idea what they r thinking. i suppose at 5 weeks it could be regarding milk and more milk... ;p

hi poohy.
yr gal so sweet...

hi tinkle/ poohy,
tks for advice. ya my hubby oso asked me to call my gynae to check with him.. my hb even said just go kkh lah.. so what it's false alarm.. better to be safe. but i'm still not sure leh.

tinklebell, duffy, kk, thanx... my girl is not as chubby as my boy.. but her features are quite small.. and she look quite small size like her brother. I din take as much photo and video for her as her brother... cos too busy liao... sigh.. as usual we are preparing a 1 month special vcd album for her ... we did one for our son's full month and 1 year old too.. so gotta be fair...

btw duffy, after your waterbag break, i think how fast u dilate and are ready to deliver also partially depends on the baby's position... whether posterior or anterior... if posterior.. normally the waterbag break early in labour and should have much more time to the hospital... anterior will have much less time. Ya call gynae.... at most just go down for examination... better than later u get so anxious trying to get to hospital in time...

kk,
your mil is probably concerned over how u and ur girl r. it's her way of showing her love to her grandchild. it's just that she has overdone it. sometimes v difficult to tell old pp off. just like my own dad... i'm quite frus with him bec everytime he brings my son out, he will definitely buy something for him... i know he loves my son but that's not the right way to educate him... told him off a lot of times but he simply bochap!
my mil is the exact opposite of urs... dont think she will come to visit me more than twice in 3 mths.

i_panda77

I'm delivering at TMC too. Same like u, i've got mixed feelings. Everyone asked if i'm excited....??? Of cos i'm excited n looking fw to seeing my boy but at same time, scared n worried....

Hi duffybuff,

Why not call up yr gynae and check. i think you should go hospital now...no? Contractions 4-5 times stronger than menses cramp and with 5 mins interval, should considered real contractions and labour may start anytime leh.

tinklebell,

my bb will sometimes smile and make cute faces when she sleeps hmmmm dream of wat ah? haha.. i tell her if dream of 4D number, must tell mummy :p

ya i agree with u.. my mum also like tat.. she keep telling me when bring my nieces and nephews out, dun buy toys for them. Yet she buy all kinds of candies and dunno what else for them when she brings them out.

Ur mil busy with things??

Hmmm, but i really feel so uncomfortable with her around.. pple have 1 mth confinement, i feel that i am going to suffer 3 mths confinement! i told hubby just now i have never been really happy ever since delivery. I was so upset that i told him, why not put the bb at his mum's place from tomorrow onwards while i go back to work. I told him i dun even feel the bb belongs to me and i dun want her liao.

Can u imagine? She is sitting there the whole afternoon, just awaiting for every moment to feed her?? Weird leh! I think i can never understand how they feel until i grow old myself.

duffy,
actually i quite pei fu u... fr they way u decribe, ur contractions seem so painful and u still can tahan for since last nite. true, no harm going to the hospital ... give ur gynae a call first to see what he says. sometimes, if i am not wrong, waterbag doesnt break so fast... need manual intervention.

kk,

Don't worry, u need someone to convey your message over...so the only right person is yr hubby. I also worried after 1 mth confinement, my MIL will pop by daily to kepo, teach me this n that. I know very bad for me to comment this, anyway she meant well to come over to help us...of cos i understand what u mean by not nice even hubby is the one who says it becos yr MIL sure know is your idea/complaint. Perhaps ask yr hubby to explain nicely, says u need to learn take care yr own, u r the mother after all etc??? Or if u can do it, u tell yr MIL personally, nicely that u want to learn it yr own and develop bonding with yr baby...so perhaps she dun hv to come over everyday...unless u need help?

kk,
actually your mil sounds like my dad. worse still, he used to wake my son up just to play with him after i took so much effort to put him to sleep
even now still like that. very frustrating hor.

mil is helping my sil oversee the kids. she got 4 kids n many grandchildren so probably not all the kids / grandchildren get the same level of care lor. anyway, used to it liao lah.

hi tinkle/ serene,

that's what my gynae said.. he thinks my treshold for pain is quite high cos last fri when he saw my CTG readings.. he was shocked.. he said the readings looked like one who is in labour already and he asked if i feel any pain.. but i told him the pain is bearable.

so this is why i'm so relunctant to go hospital cos dunno if it's for real. but think like what u all said better call my gynae and no harm going for check.

kk,

oh poor thing! I can understand how u feel. So much, so strong we wanna be close to our baby esp we know we will have to return back to work soon, this is the only time we can be very close to our baby, day n nite....I think she meant well to help u, prob know that is 1st time for u, worried u can't handle alone, so wanted to help but has overdone it, not being sensitive. Maybe she didn't know that you wanted to be alone with yr baby...so that's why i thought it prob be better u tell her that you wanna pick up the role to learn to look after yr baby alone, since u be returning work in another 7 weeks' time. Tell her dun wish to trouble her everyday, tell her u can be on yr own...no problem. If dun learn now, when's the time to learn, baby grow up easily....

serene,

sigh, thought staying close is a bonus.. but definitely not for now. Popping by is so easy.

i thought i wouldn't mind, but when my mood gets low, it really matters.

See lah.. she tell me she going marketing now and chiam liao, i am going to eat confinement type of dinner tonite. No wonder i feel nauseous.

But hor i worried leh.. my hubby dun put things across well. Weekend mil go malaysia and called day and nite to ask how bb doing. Actually i was quite mad and i angrily asked hubby "ur mum see me suey, dunno how to take care of bb issit??"

Very bad of me hor? But then, she called and asked so many things.. got bathe bb or not lah, got clean the tongue or not lah, got feed or not lah, how many times to feed lah, got burp or not lah, bb got sleep or not lah, what time sleep lah, dun put nappy rash cream lah... AIYOH! i asked hubby "Must i write a diary everyday to show ur mum what i did everyday to the BB???"

So just now also sms hubby say if his mum dun let go, it is very difficult to carry on. She will have plenty of time with bb after i go back to work. But not for me leh!! After tat will be night time with bb only.. and night time is wat? SLEEPING TIME lor.. like tat where got interaction?? If i dun even have personal time with bb now, i won't even dream of having it soon.. personal moments with bb is really a luxury when i return to work.

duffy...

think your ctg resemble mine when the day i delivered my boy... i had regular painful contractions but felt bearable for number of days... but the ctg shows bb heart rate drop at times... thus my gynae induce by breaking waterbag.... hmm i think your gynae can induce labour easily for u anytime by breaking the waterbag judging from the regular contractions... keep us updated.. so excited for u...

mummies who delivered liao...

hey do u all feel like having another bb soon.. for me yes leh... i do miss being preggie leh both times... and now i thinking of when i can have my 3rd liao.

serene,

ya i think my girl resembles her brother too... my mum said that too...

tinkle...

ur mil sounds like mine... they dun visit at all! only come once to see bb yesterday and din even carry bb... during normal times... if we dun go over their place, they wont come over to visit at all too...well there are really many different type of people but i am not really complaining.. hehee better to have less trouble and frictions

duffy,

No lah haha.. my in laws go malaysia to pray to ancestors over the weekend hahaha.. if not hor, weekend i will still see her, in that position in the living room, waiting for feeding time.

tinklebell,

Aiyah good also, it is best that in laws dun kaypo so much haha.. me very bad hor? Friday i am bringing my bb over to my brother's place, to let my mum take care of her for the whole day, while i bring my niece out shopping. I dun care liao. My mum so pathetic, only see bb once per week. Let her take care one day also not guo fen.

kk,
having confinement food again???
maybe u can consider tingkat meals. Tell her dont need to trouble her to cook lor. then she wont come over everyday liao.
ur hub only son is it?

poohy,
if i want to complain, can complain non stop but i rather maintain a cordial relationship with the in laws. sometimes i do feel hurt when i think they dont show enuf concern... but my memory is bad so after a while i forget abt it.

poohy/tinklebell,

Dun visit also weird, like never be bothered or deserted us but bothered too much also chiam like kk's case! sigh!