(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Carebear,

Congrats on the delivery of your boy! Do have a good rest.

Hehe, you know hor, me and hb were thinking whether to name our bb Mathius just weeks ago..;p

Hi lyn,

Don't be too troubled with the dates for c-sect. Are you really very concerned on auspicious date/time? If you are, then ask a feng shui person to see the date/time for you. I'm sure there will be one that matched. If you not totally concerned, just leave it to doctor to decide for u. Sometimes, ppl says fate lies in the hands of the person.

Oh, i didn't take any additional supplements except what's given by my doctor. Last nite, i experienced my tummy very tight and couldn't sleep well, has been turning left and right, quite uncomfortable, at this moment, i really wish to deliver my baby earlier than to suffer this uncomfort....sigh!

okipoki,

I have this feeling too! But i guess is becos as tummy gets bigger during the final term, no matter what position u sleep, u wouldn't be in total comfort. Sometimes i feel whether to stretch our legs straight or cuddle it up also dun feel really good...sometimes i toss around all nite...of cos it keeps me awake and so frustrating!

Hi Mummies, i'm back....

Delivered baby Jake on 22nd May, 1433 hrs, weight 3.24 kg, natural, no epidural, no episotomy.

Was supposed to discharge on Wed, however, baby Jake down with jaundice. Still in hosp now... will be discharged tomorrow.

My breastfeeding has established, had bad engorgement on Day 3, today, Day 5, am expressing 30 ml, plus latching on every 3-4 hourly.

A short summary of my birth story:

Sunday 21 May - mucus plug discharge in the morning, rang gynae, told to monitor for contractions or water bag breakage.

Monday 22 May - more mucus plug discharge at 7 am. showered, had breakie, got ready to admit.

8.30 am - admission

9.00 am - given enema, cleared bowels (only a bit)

9.30 am - on Strep B and oxytocin drip for induction, gynae broke water bag - 2.3 to 3 cm dilated.

Throughout the wait, there was no pain, cannot feel contractions, just some heat in the stomach, sweating, felt warm...

1.30 pm - felt the urge to push, told nurse I felt like shiting, nurse checked - 8 cm dilated. Nurse said... don't push... very hard to ren not to push

2.20 pm - gynae arrived... asked me to push on next contraction, push (head comes out), then asked me to hold, then push...

2.33 pm - Baby Jake pops...

2.40 pm - gynae delivered placenta, although she did not perform an episotomy, there was a slight superficial tear. gynae did stitching - only few stitches.

Carebear, take good care, thank God all went well...
both mother and baby are well...

Rest well.... and enjoy motherhood...

Carebear...glad to know that everything is ok after your long ordeal..congrats on the arrival of your handsome boy and do take care...

Celeste(celk), congrats to you too!

Serene..me too having lots of difficulty changing position in bed...cos every time i try to turn, the sides of my tummy and my back will hurt so much...

Carebear,
My poor girl... i can imagine the ordeal u n ur family have to go thru. Am glad u r ok now. Rest well. I'm sure you'll recuperate quickly. Your boy is so adorable. what's his name?

For sterilsers, I will be using Pigeon. I find it cheap and good and easy to use. I have another NUK one but NUK sterilisers only fit small bottles. If u r thinking of using Avent or large sized bottles, then, it will not fit.

Amy, Congrats!!! We were wondering how u r... I feel so happy for u that ur baby's timing is so perfect... now dont have to worry whether gynae is on leave or not.

Serene, I just came back fr BPP... bought Bak Chang fr the dim sum shop next to Cafe Cartel ($2.20 each - price increased $1) ... smells nice... think i will have Bak Chang for lunch. I also bought some Vegetarian ones fr Swee heng... no meat but has mushrooms. Think that will be perfect for me. Eu Yan Sang is having a sale. 6 bottle Bird Nest cost $29.90 only instead of the usual $40 plus. worth buying?

Serene,
yeah thats exactly how i feel.. whenever i toss ard i am definitely awake so normally didnt get to sleep well.. sianz !! seeing so many of u popping really hopes my turn will come soon

Amy,
Congrats.. sound like u hv an easy birth.. so envy !! really hope that i dun need any epi, thats really very encouraging

Tinklebell,
We still can consume birdnest meh ?? I hv stopped all sort of tonic liao except coconut which is occasionally nia.

lyn...
Yah mine is in glen eagles via c-sect.. and i took the citibank promo package.. but i still dun know whats the diff.. i presume slightly cheaper bah... stil have not go and take a closer look...

okipoki..
Yah think if i were you, i really hope i will pop soon... after delivery, no heartburn, no worries about bb condition in stomach.. hehe.. and best of all you can hold her/him in you arms...

Wow so many babies have popped! Congrats to carebear, MOAP, Celeste and Amy

carebear, glad things are alright now. You take care and rest well!

amy,

Congrats! Wow, no epidural n no episiotomy, so good! How did u manage to do it? Without epidural, not painful? U r brave gal! Take good care n rest well.

tinklebell,

So finally you got to eat yr bak zhang, good!

okipoki,

I'm also anxious when my turn will be. Last nite, my tummy was unusually tight and uncomfortable, i know it's not the real contraction but already feel bad, can't imagine the feeling of real contraction, must be quite unbearable...maybe 'quite' is understatement!

I really wish n hope that i'd have a smooth and easier delivery. I know it's definitely not easy for 1st time but i pray that it's not too hard. Really scared!

amy,

Btw, what's the mucus plug discharge looks like? I do have the yellowish discharge now. Recently the discharge has increased....

serene, yes finally got to eat bak chang but not nice leh
a bit disappointing.

okipoki, my mum still makes bird nest for me once a week.... cannot take? hmmm..... donno leh.
I wasnt thinking of buying the EYS bird nest for consumption now but more for keeping it for later use since it seems quite cheap compared to the normal price.

tinklebell,

I always think bak chang sold outside are not nice, i only like my mum's. Like what u say, we customised to our taste, about the same as outside but ours with quality ingredient, more ingredient, lesser rice. I ate the last 2 just now too, yummy!

okipoki,

I also drink bird nest few days ago, it's no herb so i dun think it's a problem.

tinklebell,

U really intend to work till close yr EDD? initially, i had told my boss that i will worked till 31 May but seems that i will extend to 2/3 June or even 5 June....i think we should feel some symptoms much earlier/in time b4 our labour.

Serene, i will probably work til maybe 2-3 days b4 my EDD if i have not given birth by then. I rather spend time with my bb later on than at home anticipating the birth... can be quite a torture fr my previous experience.
i'll see first. if i'm really v uncomfortable, i may consider going on ML 1 week earlier.

Hiaz...home made bak chang r the best. Wonder if my mil is making... never hear anything fr her leh

hi carebear,
glad to hear that you & yr bb ar doing fine now!
take care ya.

hi amy,
congrats to yr smooth delivery!

just wondering when's my turn coming? kekeke..waiting aimlessly is really cham!

hi tinkle/serene,
aiya.. i oso regretted taking this wk off.. shld take leave only a few days before EDD but now stuck liao.. dunno whether to take next wk off..sigh.. cos wasted 1 wk of ML liao. aiyo i had show yesterday and gynae said my cervix is soft and stretched so shld be very soon... but i'm still waiting at home.

kk,
my bb only normal checkup, no blood tests given. Was givin powder for cord.

lyn,
my PD is Dr Keoy is recommended by Dr Adrian i think .. at TMC

Serene,
my bd is on 06.06.76 heehee nice number leh .. easy to remember.
eh my hb also into car .. he also took part in dreamcar dressup competition 2005 at SG expo.

celeste (celk),
yeah definitely.... i wont hv much worried on how is she in my tummy & watch out what to eat etc. Of cos the best part is I can hold her
anyway, good for u, u can hold ur baby in your arms.. hehe !!

Serene,
huh really ar !! haiz.. my edd is towards the end of june.. gotta wait awhile longer loh. do u intend to take epi ?

tinklebell, serene
i hv stopped all sort of "bu" liao... heard birdnest cannot drink very frequent cos not good for baby... might develop asthma.

Hazel,
u definitely have a nice no for ur bd.. too bad ur little ones came out too early else isnt it nice to hv 06.06.06 ??

Hi Carebear29,
Thanks for sharing about your delivery and for the v cute pics of your baby!
Sorry that you &amp; your hubby had a traumatizing experience. <hugz> Thank God that He helped you to pull through. Hope you stay strong, recover well and give thanks for daily mercies.

Did Dr YC recommend the C-sect because she said the baby was too big for the pelvis?
Was there any medical name for the condition or explaination of the cause - like blood couldn't clot or something?

tinklebell,

I won't utilise my ML before labour, even if i took leave to rest n wait for labour, i will ask Adrian for MC to cover those days.

duffybuff,

Why didn't ask yr gynae for MC to cover this 1 week instead of using yr ML? But at least yr gynae already given u the indication that yr labour will be anytime but for my case, gynae says dun worry, no need to take leave so early to wait....but if water bag burst, contraction begins or see spotting, call him immediately.

Hazel,

Ya, yr BD nice date! My hubby now busy with his business/work, not so much time spent on car already....those hot days were over...

okipoki,

I think I will go for epidural. 1st time is definitely not easy, I know that. Unless, i'm so lucky that my labour is so short n smooth that no time for epidural...

Celeste blur,

I'm night owl! It never make a different for me during this whole pregnancy! Bad habit hor?

Serene...me too nite owl like you...i normally dun sleep until 1 plus am...now pregnant sometimes very tired also sleep after 12 midnight..hehe

Btw, gals i went shopping the whole afternoon today..went to bugis and orchard, everywhere was packed with crowds rushing to grab GSS deals...i only bought some nice bb clothes from seiyu..

kk..
check with you.. can we mix EBM with FM? cos each time i only manage to express 30ml so far... with 30ml, my gal not enough leh.. so what hb do is let her finish the EBM first and continue with FM till she want to stop herself...

Do know what we doing is right or not hor... and any ideal bb can drink plain water or not? cos i heard people saying dun give plain water.. not very good...

Any advise frm any one?

Hi amy, congrats ... speedy recovery yah!
Dun worry abt the jaundice, my bb too has it, now after a day of phototherapy at d hosp &amp; 3 days under am sun at home, he's fine liao!

Hi, kk. Thks. My PD visit is only consultatn + cord powder. But, am still going to look for another PD nearer to Yishun/Sembawang/Woodlands.

Hi okipoki. During d confinemt, u'll hv lots of time being a parapazzi (of d baby) so u get to capture various shots ... heh ...

Hi Hidora, thks. Really! We derived at "Mathius", since we both love "Matthias" (aka Matthew) but Mathius is 2-syllabus (easier for older folks to pronounce) than Matthias which is 3-syllabus.

Hi Fondue, thks! Yes, God's been merciful to keep me with hubby &amp; bb. Learnt a few good lessons too. BUT, me fine now, though having gone under knife twice, I was out of bed on 4th day, and today 1wk later, I'm all well.

Yes, then, she said bb is too big for me to deliver naturally, too big a risk to take. So, we agree to Csec. No, she didn't tell me what the condition was known as, but did mention that my blood couldn't clot as well.

Thks, Spicegal &amp; Tinklebell. My galfrs got me d Pigeon Rapid Steriliser today, it works marvellous!

Epidural:
Btw, it doesn't hurt much during epidural administratn. So no worries, my dear ladies! Jia You!

Hi Serene,
Heh ... btw, it helps to be an night owl. My bb now wakes up 3x every night for feeds!

Hi Celeste,

I'm not sure if EBM &amp; FM can mix, but my advice is against it. I feel u should store ur EBM till it's enough for one feed (eg 60ml), the alternate feed just go FM (eg 60ml). Don't worry about the milk flow. I was told our BM supply will peak after a wk.

Yesterday, my PD says a bb just need 1 - 2 feeds of water max a day be it BFg or by FM.

Hello... Good morning gals!

Hi serene,
Actually, I want my baby to stay inside me longer... kekeke... I am running against time. I wanna finish my work before baby comes out
Seems like it's not going to happen...

Hi Amy,
Congratulations!

Hi Celeste(celk),
hmm... I will also be taking the citibank promotion. But when I look at their promo table on their website, 2 bedded for elective c-section more than $2k leh... Did they give you other offer?

Hi Hazel, okipoki,
Haiz... 06.06.06 looks nice hor? My feng shui master ask me to c-section on 06.06.06... the second "best" date. But I find it too fast... My hubby ask me to go for 06.06.06...

Yesterday, I fell down
sprained my left ankle and my right knee bleeding... Very long time never fall down like tat leh.. then my hubby want me to let baby come out earlier... so no need to worry too long...

carebear,
Thanks for your advise.. Then let say if i only manage to express 30ml, in the morning, do i need to freeze it or just put in fridge? then noon time i will have another 30 ml, then can mix hor?

Lyn,
I understand that the citibank thing ends 31may. not too sure are they extending it.. I still have not explore my bill.. will try to do so asap and let you know soon. k....

hi ladies~!
me here...been so long since I can come in here....the most stressful first few days have passed and things are going smoothly now.....

I managed to gave birth to my baby boy natural without epidural....

celeste,
newborn dun need to drink a lot of water...in fact, if your baby has jaundice, better to make him drink more milk than water...coz the 98% of the toxin passed out in stool and only 2% passed out in urine....

but I tell u hor...it can be very stressful coz everyone around u will tell u to give baby water...u got to be firm...for me, I insist my way and only feed baby a bit of water after each breastfeeding....

celeste,
if u express out the milk and u plan to have baby to consume it within 24 hours, u can just put it into the fridge....yes, u can mix your emb to get the amt u need...but if u plan to store the emb as emergency for future use, then u have to put it into the freezer....

my latest update, my appt w gynae on sat. On ctg, i hving early contraction, so my gynae said to get ready anytime nxt wk. So i m still in the waiting game.
Gynae gave me a 5-days MC for the whole of nxt wk as my EDD is 2 Jun. He said bb likely to come b4 my EDD. However, he mentions even if he issued MC, most companies will take in as Maternity Leave liao. keke

To all new mummies, Amy, Celest, Carebear,Okasan n those i hv missed out..
Congratulation to ur newborns. Hope to join u gals soon...

Aiyo Lyn
why u so lun jun? R u okie? walk slowly hor.... btw, jess given birth way b4 us..wahhhh.

lyn,
really ar !! u went to see those feng shui master on the best date ?? thats cheem !!

hey hope u are feeling ok.... better be extra careful cos u are going to due soon

okasan..
Welcome back !! Hey share with us ur birth story leh... U are giving us more confident not to take epi !! Good for yah

Dor,
more and more kian cheung liao hor !! well, hope to hear updates for u too

Lyn,
hope ur leg is ok now. I guess now we r more clumsy... have to take care when we walk. i also have several occassions when i almost fell.

Okasan,
When did u give birth? Do share with us your experience when u r free. Rest well

Dor/ Duffy,
few more days to go......

Been feeling extremely tired today... hub and son decided to go n watch Over the hedge... i decided not to go as i feel v tired... prob take a nap later on. been feeling quite moody these 2 days... aching here and there... cant sleep well too

Hi mummies! Cool weather out there ah.

Yest morning, i got some brown discharge, then went down to see gynac. Thought its show. Wow scare me ah. Luckily its not, gynac said its yeast infection and inserted a tablet into my V. But 1 thing is i oni experienced brown discharge once n not itch n nothing. She also did a VE for me n said bb not ready to come out.

During e VE n inserting of tablet for e yeast infection, i dun feel much pain. But after i left e clinic, my stomach was painful n crampy for the whole of yest. y ah?

anyway now dun hv brown discharge anymore, meaning e infection gone liao rite? 1st time encounter tis wor.

Who got yeast infection b4?

Last wk i was 55.8kg n tis wk i seems to lose abit of weight of 0.8kg (now 55kg). Heard its normal to lose alittle bit of weight during 3rd tri? how abt u all? i m quite worried wor even my bb is kicking me well n hving 3 to 4 sets of hiccups daily.

congrates to those mummies who has popped out.
i've also popped out liao at 38 weeks on 25/5/06.
a photo of my baby boy, javen to be share with all of the mummies.
429304.jpg

Okipoki:
i have collected my beansprout pillows last fri. Ordered 2 pillows + 1 extra casing. However, hv abit of bad experience w the organizer, find her blur.

Anyway i like e pillows very much

429325.jpg

429326.jpg

429327.jpg

kite,
i hv got yeast infection in my week 28.. but do u hv alot of those white discharge today?? If so, meaning it has been cleared. wow so fast ur gynae did the VE for u liao ar. my weight has been maintaining so i guess shld be normal to drop abit of weight.